Marriott Vacations Worldwide Employee Reviews

Found 177 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 June 2017
I enjoyed working there for a month ,..meeting different co worker n different areas to work in ,..was a greatfull experience ,....hope to do it agian
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unionized job
cook (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON15 June 2017
hotel benefits, staff meals. good people to work with. hardest part of the job was being understaffed. i loved coming into work and seeing everyone smile
Pros
uniform provided
Cons
distant walk
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Banquet
Server (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 June 2017
Working for Marriot hotels was a new experience for me, i have worked with many different people which has taught me to work as a team.
Pros
New opportunities
Cons
worked late nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with good co workers
Server/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS5 June 2017
Involves opening the restaurant or closing. Learned to work as a team here because our management likes to do team building activities. The hardest part of my job is while being the only person on the bar sometimes I have to leave for so long for room service which takes away from people at the bar.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
unsteady business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company people in management are too prejudiced
F&B Operations (Former Employee) –  various29 May 2017
Work culture is so much fun. Learned basics in hospitality from the best. Management gets too personal and prejudiced but still some good managers make life happier.
Pros
discounts, multiple transfer opportunities
Cons
advancement restricted on prejudice
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone knows Marriott
Purchasing & Stewarding Ops.Manager (Former Employee) –  British Columbia29 May 2017
I have worked at the Calgary Marriott only. It was fine but also more than 10 years ago so I am sure it has changed a lot. The benefits were very good.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marriott is always first class
Human Resources Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON26 May 2017
Marriott sets the standard for hospitality across all its brands. It is an excellent company to work for in terms of remuneration, education and skill training, community involvement and opportunities for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked over 20 years of working as a sever bartender and room service
Server bartender room service (Former Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON15 May 2017
It was a great job and great place to work for .but it was time to move on and be self employed .over the years I have thousands of different people of many nationalities .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Banquet shift leader
Banquet Shift leader (Former Employee) –  Canada8 May 2017
I worked in JW Marriott Absheron Baku.First I was banquet shift leader.In 2015 I start to work banquet shift leader.We made set-up for presentations,weddings,birthdays.Sometimes we went to catering to the embassies.000
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marriott Front office
Bellman/Doorman/Valet (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 May 2017
Strong workplace culture, strong family bonds between staffs
management is encouraging and understanding towards personal matter and show strong desire to engage with staff
Pros
good working culture
Cons
understaffing is common
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 May 2017
Marriott was good free lunch gifts at end of your parties for Christmas discounts on food and beverages at co-op hotels great staff friendly managers and supervisors
Pros
free lunch
Cons
tips
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marriott is an excellent company
GUEST SERVICES SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON18 April 2017
I agree with their values and mission statement.
I have fun at work, working with many people.
Management is very approachable and has great willingness to teach
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, good enviorment
Server/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS14 April 2017
Busy days with rushes at breakfast and supper.
Most guests are returning guests which has made me learn to build relationships with most guests.
My weeks consist of two 6am to 2pm shifts, two 2pm to 11pm shifts and one 11am to 8pm shifts. I find it very difficult to work these hours because they are so diverse.
Pros
Good work enviorment
Cons
Working mornings nights and days, hard to balance
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postive, and fun atmosphere filled with professional co workers.
Bistro Attendant/Server (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON11 April 2017
One of the best jobs to be greatly honored to work for. Definitely would recommend to anyone looking to enter in the industry as a first step in their career paths.
Pros
Positive atmosphere
Cons
Must go home after shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Night Manager / Auditor / Front Office (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON11 April 2017
Start my day with checking notes

check in and check out guests

Help clients with any questions in regards to the local area

Help the management with making the guests experience better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great!
HUMAN RESOURCES GENERALIST (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 April 2017
really enjoyed my time here! worked within a corporate location so it may vary within a franchise owned hotel.
would recommend this brand to anyone - not only to stay in but to work in. Really enjoyed the Marriott culture and its values!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON26 March 2017
Even though the year went so fast it was a good experience I enjoy my time there the staff are very welcoming and the guest I had the chance to interact with are friendly and kind I felt like I was apart of something really big wish I could of stayed longer
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with loads of activities
Bartender (Former Employee) –  JW Marriott the Rosseau15 March 2017
My job was a very high volume during the summer with families and during fall and winter months with corporate events. I learned during my tenure the value of teamwork, this came quite easy in Muskoka because who you worked with you inadvertently ' hung out' with because of living conditions. It is a close knit group. The hardest part of the job was long hours, the most enjoyable part was meeting world known celebrities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dishwashing at marriot
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON10 March 2017
There was ways two dishwashers at a time working because it was alot of work for one person, although sometimes i was required to work alone.

the job was simple and the managers were nice.

the job duties include:

restaurant dish washing, peeling and cutting potatoes from time to time, and taking out garbage.
Pros
free lunches, simple
Cons
couldnt buy food, bad working hours left me no free time
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean workplace comfortable setting but busy
Lead Hand/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL3 March 2017
Great workplace to work, the culture and people were very nice to work with. clean easy going environment. The position became very busy from increased sales . Interaction with people was enjoyable . : )
Pros
Clean, positive
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marriott Vacations Worldwide. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 5,925 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0