Find companies:
Marriott International, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,332 reviews

Marriott International, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job diversity
Maintenance/Engineer (Former Employee), Anchorage, AkAugust 15, 2014
Handled all aspects of hotel work. Maintained hotel HVAC, Plumbing and electrical
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
conference and banquetting
Waiter (Former Employee), croft roadAugust 15, 2014
Pros: being a part of people's speacial day
Cons: working until late
Serving food and drinks for Weddings and conferences. Setting up rooms for funtions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with children
Front Desk Assistant (Former Employee), Norcross, GAAugust 14, 2014
A typical day at work was making sure the chldren did their duties as well as homework and job planning. I learned how children think and what makes them react the way they do. The hardest part of the job was to watch the children deal with their personal problems. The most enjoyable part was going on outings with the children and watch their face light – more... up because they realize someone does care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Food and Beverage Manager (Current Employee), Hollywood, FLAugust 14, 2014
Pros: benefits, growth potential
In my short time with Marriott, Inc, I've learned a tremendous amount. I learned this due to the unbelievable kindness and professionalism of the upper management staff. My F&B Director was very knowledgeable and helpful in assisting me with learning the ins and outs of the hotel industry. After working as a manger for 5 years at a free standing, family – more... owned restaurant, it was refreshing to learn a new system, a new side to the hospitality business. I learned how hotels operate and that, yes, I could survive and even excel in the hotel hospitality industry. The room for personal and professional growth totally outweighs that of the family owned restaurant where I knew I was going to go no higher than position held, Restaurant Manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Birmingham, ENGAugust 14, 2014
get there on time, sort out stock, and then help out with costumer and work at the till.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
postive workplace
Leisure Assistant (Current Employee), manchester airportAugust 13, 2014
Pros: free meals
Cons: salary
management are really good great companmany to work for great learning and all the co workers are fun enjoyable to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHAugust 13, 2014
I enjoyed working at the Marriott, in the laundry and housekeeping departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to grow and learn about hospitality.
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 13, 2014
Pros: gift cards, benefits.
Cons: schedule.
A typical day at the the Fairfield Inn on Time Square involves working with the Fosse system, assisting our guests, (check them in and out, help plan their vacation or celebrations, and explain any questions they may have about their reservations and invoice.) I make sure the hotel runs smoothly, and I communicate strongly with the staff to help resolve – more... any conflicts that should arise. My responsibilities for the day also includes filing, accounting, and answering all correspondence.

At the Fairfield Inn I learned a lot about hospitality and the FOSSE system. I also learned how to be more organized since I am dealing with about 60 new guests a day, It's important that I maintain ongoing communication with them to make sure they are having a great time.

The Management at Fairfield Inn is strong, but it is also change's consistently. My co-workers comes from all walks of life, they all have very different personalties. It is an absolute pleasure however, to learn how to work, and be productive with all types of personalties. We all bring something unique to the front desk.

The hardest part of the job to me is the schedule. Every week we get a new schedule. It's hard to make plans in your personal life when you do not know what day or time you will be working the following week. It is also hard for me to complete my last semester of college.

The most enjoyable part of my job is I get to meet people from all over the world. I get to help them enjoy New York and have a wonderful time! I also enjoy office work, I feel like it sharpens my mind to become an efficient well organized individual. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Cpmpany to work for.
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee), Winchester, VAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: only one break per day
Great work place,very fun and family orientated.By working at Marriot I have Learned that you can not make everyone happy its best to do your job and stay out of all the drama that comes along with this Job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Chief Engineer (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 12, 2014
Great place to work
Nothing but the highest regards for all the hard work they do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many expectations and lots of work for very little pay
Front Desk Clerk/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Fremont, CAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: good environment and location.
Cons: not enough pay
I did a lot of managements paperwork and reports every day at work. Couldn't accept the Operations Manager positions/Front Desk Manager position due to maternity/family leave. Always a busy day, worked 40 hours a week and always looked forward to work thanks to a good work environment and good people. Loved my coworkers. Loved meeting new people everyday – more... from different states and countries. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scheduling
Reservation Center Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Solon, OHAugust 12, 2014
Call Center
-Scheduling
-Dispatching
-Cancellations

Multi tasking
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hotel management company
Employee (Former Employee), United StatesAugust 12, 2014
Great variety of locations and opportunities for those willing to learn and be flexible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work hours were a great benefit
Senior Technical Analyst (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDAugust 12, 2014
The job was never boring.
There was something new to work on each day
My co-workers were great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best first real job experience
Bellboy (Former Employee), København, D84August 12, 2014
Pros: co-workers, magement, the lunch, work place, helping quests and knowing u do something for others.
Cons: feets could hurt in the begining but got used to it
A typical day as a bellboy was very enjoyable. Helping and assisting quests and making relationsships with them made the work really great. I learned a lot especially responsibility, patience and being positive with a smile each day payed the work better :)
My co-workers and management were as one. Everyone became friends quick. I still this day chat – more... with my management on facebook and having such great co-workers helped a boring day to be more fun.
The hardest part of the job was my first day. My management thought that the best way to learn was "learning by doing", which is fine, but i started my day at the hardest workday they have had in years and therefore everything was really busy and frustrated. But i learned to cool my head and do one task at the time, which made the job way easier and less stressful.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the relationsships u made with the quests. Everyone was friendly and knew your name after 2 days. For example one lady and her husband needed some special water for his breathing machine which was my task to deliver and from that day she only wanted me as their bellboy and assistant to everything. Knowing that people want you because they like u and they know u do your job well, warmed my heart and i wish i could work for something similar as Marriot Hotel Copenhagen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning opprotunities, mgt willing to work with school.
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTIVE (Former Employee), Rogers, ARAugust 11, 2014
Pros: expanding language abilities, enforcing policies.
Handling confidential information was the norm on a daily basis. I made reservations, had dealings with corporate, and our management company a few times a week. We had many guests from the Middle East so my Arabic language skills were exercised almost daily. Management came to rely on me to interpret on their behalf to Spanish speaking house keepers. – more... Organization was an essential aspect to the job. Keeping track of billing cycles (when particular long term guests are billed), credit card authorizations, and other information that could be required at last minute notice was of utmost importance. I was often left unsupervised for extended periods of time during both day and night. Being knowledgeable of company policies, self relient, trustworthy, and responsible were necessary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marriott gave me the first opportunity to work in a contract food service.
Food Service Manager-Health Care Division (Former Employee), Kansas City areaAugust 11, 2014
Marriott/Saga gave me the opportunity to work in a contract food environment. I was employed in a Health Care setting. There was a learning curve for me to deal with special diets, patient needs and cycle menus. I managed a hospital cafeteria but responsibilities included tray line management and diet office supervision.
I enjoyed interacting with staff – more... and visitors, while nurses tended to be a difficult group to please, I respected their job and the stresses that they were under.
I learned a lot about management, budgeting, computerization which was just coming into vogue at that point. It was a period of transition in the industry which sparked my interest in the contract food industry and the possibilities that it could hold. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union Contract
Banquet Chef (Current Employee), Ypsilanti, MIAugust 10, 2014
Union contract hasn't been signed in 4 years, so no one has gotten a raise in that long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked Employees
Bartender (Current Employee), St Thomas, VIAugust 10, 2014
Pros: the location is beautiful
Cons: no breaks, no work/life balance, constant stress from people writing negative reviews about you
I think a large majority of the staff at my location is overworked. I moved to the islands because I was working 6 or 7 shifts a week, several of those were doubles. I wanted to get away, move somewhere laid back and relaxing, work and enjoy life. I am now working 6 shifts a week again and am so frustrated and tired that on my day off I don't really – more... enjoy it because of the anxiety of knowing I have to be back at work in the morning. Customers notice that the employees are frustrated and working all the time, but nothing is done about it. Instead of hiring more people, they've waited until it's almost slow season ( a time when it would be stupid to hire someone else) and now all the senior employees are starting to cash in on their accumulated vacation time leaving the newer employees to be worked literally like slaves. And speaking of stress, you constantly have to worry about someone writing a negative review about you or leaving a bad guest survey. I don't think those things should necessarily fall back on the employee all the time. I read TripAdvisor everyday, and a lot of times people who write negative reviews ALWAYS write negative reviews because they're probably just a negative person. I get it, if someone has 15 bad guest surveys, they probably suck. But one guest survey from a guest who is a proven asshat shouldn't have an employee shaking in their boots about job security. Also there is a giant culture clash in the way Caribbean people give service and stateside people. Some of them are very set in their ways, stoic, and obstinate. Getting them to learn new things and stick to it is nearly impossible, considering a lot of them have worked there since before I was born. Service can be slow and frustrating. Obviously, all of the Caribbean people can't be fired, but their way of working can clash completely with that of statesiders which is also a main complaint that I get from customers. All in all I am happy I got the job, because I will be using it to transfer elsewhere, however, I would not recommend it to anyone else and definitely wouldn't do it again starting here. It's been a very frustrating and tiring road. Hoping other Marriott hotels will show me a different face to the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work environment was average
At Yours Service Agent (AYS) (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 10, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: making sure the guest was fully satisfied all of the time was ndifficult
overall my experience at marriott was positive. i wish i could have grown further in the company.

About Marriott International, Inc.

Marriott International, Inc., is a leading lodging and hospitality company that develops, operates, and franchises hotels, corporate – Read more

Marriott International, Inc. Photos