Marriott International, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Sales (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON17 May 2017
Starwood was a good place to work at first but then I could not keep up with the demands that they told us we had to do. A typical day was usually very stressful with all the guests calling in and trying to make sure everything is right on their reservation, But we usually got maybe a 1 minute between calls. The most enjoyable part was either the listening to other peoples calls or doing hot topics.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
answering the phones
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
In-Room Dinning Server intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 May 2017
That was really nice experience I did my first intern with the brand. I learnt a lot from the workplace, my colleagues, and my supervisor. They treated me really well and tought me a lot about how to do my job quick and nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wer all well train in our work
MAINTENANCE ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 May 2017
First class,Commonly bc environment.The management is amazing.Respect everybody.The most enjoable part of my Job to make the guest feel at home.To overcome their expectation in our property.
Pros
free meals almost
Cons
regular time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a great company to work for, for an enrty level psotion into customer service
Training Coach (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON15 May 2017
I have enjoyed my time with this company. The opportunity for advancement has significantly changed and I feel they are not showing very much loyalty to their employees. Therefore it is time for a change
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Hotel Director (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 May 2017
Enjoyed the staff and customers coming in! Respectful place with a great attitude. Also very flexible with work and schedule. Management team always supports and pushes to to the top.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff was great to work with
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Baie-d'urfe, QC10 May 2017
Staff and guests were great to work with

New hotel

Nice pool

Lots of reports

Work with all the guest requests

Learned new computer system .

Loved being with the guests

Micro managed by manager
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Manager difficult to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and fun workplace
Housekeeping Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 May 2017
I felt so lucky when I worked in this company. They teach me everything about the job and they let me experienced all the work in the housekeeping department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Front Desk Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 May 2017
friendly staff, great environment, management is good
no benefits .............
very interactive job
clean hotel
staff is friendly
job is fairly easy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
VIP and Club Manager (Current Employee) –  Montreal, QC1 May 2017
Never the same day twice. Working in a hotel, you deal with all kinds of people passing through. Sheraton makes you feel welcomed and needed as an employee and takes great care of their own.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, staff are friendly.
Porter (Former Employee) –  London, ON30 April 2017
Being there for only a year, I've learned what goes down in the hospitality services, the staff were very accommodating and flexible hours according to what you can work (varies by department). Excellent management skills shown by managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving at the airport
Server (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB29 April 2017
High Class Serving in a restaurant attached to a Lounge and Sports Bar. I learned alcohol knowledge and wine tastings so i can describe them to customers. Management was great. Workplace culture is great. Not a very hard job if your committed but can be busy at times.
Pros
benefits
Cons
evening and weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sheraton
Banquet Porter (Current Employee) –  London, ON29 April 2017
Sheraton hotel is one of the leading hotel chains in the world, and I really enjoy the work culture and the overall experience at the Sheraton. I only work at Sheraton from June 2014-January 2015. I left Sheraton because the work is conflicted with my school schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Leader, SK27 April 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed my time with Starwood - sad to see if come to an end as Marriott takes over and makes many changes. Starwood's management team was always supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
House Person (Former Employee) –  Blue Mountains, ON20 April 2017
It was alright had a good time didnt make enough money thought if the hourly wage was $7 more an hour then the job would be tolerable but since i couldnt
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Educational
Platinum Concierge (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON19 April 2017
Very positive environment. Interesting opportunity to book holidays. Also business trips for travelers. I found it very interesting to learn not only about the Hotel Industry. Also to learn about different cities and what they're famous for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job
Waiter/Server (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB9 April 2017
I was working as a busboy and then became a waiter given my hard working ethic. I enjoyed my co-workers and was upset that a company closed this location.
Pros
Great environment
Cons
closed and relocated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, great employer to work for
BANQUET SERVER (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 April 2017
It is a really good workplace that values and appreciates its employees. The work can be tough physically and schedules change often based on guests demand, just like all hospitality businesses, but overall, the pay and benefits makes it all worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company I have ever worked for
Guest Relations Officer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, MB29 March 2017
I worked for the Marriott in Melbourne in 2013 and by far the best hotel. Unfortunately I was only there for 3 months due to personal reasons but everything about the how they operate from the GM all the way down is like a huge family. They say no one leaves the Marriott and you wonder why. Would definitely work for them again hands down if given the opportunity.
Pros
Awesome Staff
Cons
Cant think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON28 March 2017
this housekeeping position is very tiring on the feet all day. You complete your room itinerary then go home.so there's no set hours when you finish work. especially since your on call.
Cons
long hours on feet
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nepotisium at its finest
Reservation Specialist (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON23 March 2017
Promotions were given out based on who people were related to not based on effort and skill. Shift availability was poor and those with out children were not allowed to work the day shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marriott International, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 14,808 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0