Marriott International, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning
Night Auditor/Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BC4 July 2017
Night auditor: Required to perform the typical front desk functions during the graveyard shift.
These functions include check-in, check-out, reservations, responding to guest complaints.
Making sure the Audit reports like daily transcations reports balance.
Pros
learning how the industry works
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement opportunities
Cook (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 July 2017
No advancement opportunities and poor middle-management. Poor recognition and ability to balance work/life due to inability of managers' to make proper schedules.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, but sometimes a little slow
Switchboard Operator and Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB30 June 2017
There was a high turnover rate. For those who stayed for some time, they were rewarded. For myself, this was an easy job that showed opportunity for advancement, but I was not interested. I was layed off because the business was too slow.
Pros
Good staff
Cons
Could be a little too slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
front desk/senior night auditor
Front Desk Agent / Senior Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK27 June 2017
great people great owner and management..
great benefits provide awesome training and everything seem in line with the company mission and vision... will work to this company again if i got the chance
Pros
great training
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic workplace that strives to accommodate employees needs
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS27 June 2017
The Westin is a great place to work if you're looking for fun, friendly, and accommodating employers who strive to meet your needs. The staff at The Westin really try to reward their employees and keep them happy.
Pros
Free lunches, flexible schedules, friendly staff, great salary
Cons
Disorganized, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible and stimulating work envirnonemt
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON19 June 2017
a flexible work place for anyone, flexible work hours. A great place to build on customer service skills and take control of your own growth and learn to work independently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB16 June 2017
I would recommend any one looking to start out somewhere it would be try the Sheraton. You have the opportunity to move within the hotel and try different departments. I have worked in both bars for 5 years. I started off as door security and moved to server then coat check, Now I work in the kitchen. I have also helped with events with bartending.
Pros
co workers are friendly and the managers are great
Cons
work weekends and late nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON13 June 2017
Had an incredible time working Co-Op at Sheraton Parkway. All the chefs were very kind and understanding and eager to teach the ways of the trade. Would work there if presented with options to again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay but thats about it.
Commis 1 (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 June 2017
worked here for 8 years. I had to beg for time off. Management team had more ego than leadership skills. Didn't even get a Thank You from HR when i resigned. Everyone is over worked and miserable.
Pros
good pay
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work - fun team!
Convention Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 June 2017
Typical day was always guest focused. My boss was an excellent Leader and Mentor. I loved assisting people with their events and always strived for the WOW. I always made sure clients understood what a contract involved when they signed it - explaining minimums and attrition.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere with great clients
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK30 May 2017
The Sheraton was a lovely hotel to work in. I met lots of very nice clients who stayed in our suites and the other employees were very friendly and helpful and really took me under their wings!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 May 2017
Everyone was was amazing and friendly. I would recommend anyone to work there. They cared about the staff and would help you out if you needed it at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun place to work and good collegeaus
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 May 2017
Very nice place to work with staffs from all over walks of life's
and different cultures. A lot fun, smart people to work with,
good benefits with an excellent employees fitness centre.

Management are very friendly as well, and it should be
recommended if you are a person who likes to work with
people, customers and co workers alike.
Pros
can learn a lot new stuff daily, like new computer system ...etc
Cons
no free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Sales (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON17 May 2017
Starwood was a good place to work at first but then I could not keep up with the demands that they told us we had to do. A typical day was usually very stressful with all the guests calling in and trying to make sure everything is right on their reservation, But we usually got maybe a 1 minute between calls. The most enjoyable part was either the listening to other peoples calls or doing hot topics.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
answering the phones
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
In-Room Dinning Server intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 May 2017
That was really nice experience I did my first intern with the brand. I learnt a lot from the workplace, my colleagues, and my supervisor. They treated me really well and tought me a lot about how to do my job quick and nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wer all well train in our work
MAINTENANCE ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 May 2017
First class,Commonly bc environment.The management is amazing.Respect everybody.The most enjoable part of my Job to make the guest feel at home.To overcome their expectation in our property.
Pros
free meals almost
Cons
regular time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a great company to work for, for an enrty level psotion into customer service
Training Coach (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON15 May 2017
I have enjoyed my time with this company. The opportunity for advancement has significantly changed and I feel they are not showing very much loyalty to their employees. Therefore it is time for a change
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Hotel Director (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 May 2017
Enjoyed the staff and customers coming in! Respectful place with a great attitude. Also very flexible with work and schedule. Management team always supports and pushes to to the top.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff was great to work with
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Baie-d'urfe, QC10 May 2017
Staff and guests were great to work with

New hotel

Nice pool

Lots of reports

Work with all the guest requests

Learned new computer system .

Loved being with the guests

Micro managed by manager
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Manager difficult to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and fun workplace
Housekeeping Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 May 2017
I felt so lucky when I worked in this company. They teach me everything about the job and they let me experienced all the work in the housekeeping department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marriott International, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 14,575 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0