Find companies:
Marlin Travel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

Marlin Travel Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-op Position
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Sarnia, OnAugust 18, 2014
A Typical Day at Marlin Travel was:
- Checking Emails
- Answering Phone
- Taking Messages
- Filing
- Booking Hotels
- Calling Airlines
- Calling Cruise Lines
- Giving Air Miles
- Learning to book tickets online
- and more
What I learned was:
- How to work in a fast paste environment and learning everything really fast.
Management/Co-Workers
- They were – more... amazing we all got along and had a good time they all each took time to show me how to work and learn everything so I could help them out.

I enjoyed every part of working there even if it was just for co-op for high school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Senior Travel Consultant/Wedding Specialist (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 13, 2014
It was a great experience working with Marlin travel and the staff .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Vice President (Current Employee), Brampton, ONJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: travel
•a typical day at work
Meetings, meetings, meetings

•what you learned
Management

•management
Excellent

•your co-workers
Amazing

•the hardest part of the job
Nothing

•the most enjoyable part of the job
Clients
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Practicum
Trainee for Travel Agent (Former Employee), Grande Prairie, ABJanuary 7, 2014
I have to say that I enjoyed every minute I was at this company. The other Agents and Management treated me like I had been there for a long time. I learned a lot and it was a great start for me for the work world in Travel. Unfortunately they could not fit me into their budget to hire me as a full time agent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work
Leisure Travel Consultant (Former Employee), St. Albert, ABSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: loved every minute of it
Cons: commission based with retrograde salary
Loved the job
Very professional environment
Got to travel
Was able to sell travel for all over the world
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJuly 7, 2013
Worked as a personal assistance with the manager..
Took care of all the financial issues,billing, projet management etc ..
Reported the all days activities in an accurate and timely manner
Was responsible for keeping the records of all the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not so great
Independent Travel Consultant (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONJuly 2, 2013
nothing at all, no training...no advertising help. Left to fall flat on your face earning no income.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small and fun work environment
Travel Consultant (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 26, 2013
I was lead agent in a walk in travel agency. I was the first person someone would deal with when booking a vacation. In the agency we could book a wide viarety of vacations around the world including all inclusives, tours, cruises and FIT.

My manager and I got along very well as it was a small office and often worked on marketing plans together and – more... did promotion events as well.

I have learnt a lot about the tourism industry as i was with this agency for over two years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Travel Agent Trainee (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONApril 28, 2013
Pros: get to meet a lot of people
Learned to be on time, always have a smile on your face when speaking with potential travelers. Upbeat and happy place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job
Virtual Travel and Cruise Consultant (Current Employee), Grimsby, ONMarch 4, 2013
Pros: free training, free dinners by suppliers, free trips
Cons: streight commission
I love this job but, wish there was a base pay to go with the commission.

There is so much fun in the travel industry and constant learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good travel perks
Sr. Travel Consultant/Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Ajax, ONOctober 20, 2012
Pros: great product selections
Cons: need managment trining
was great to work for this company which help me to learn all about managment skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Travel Agent (Former Employee), CanadaAugust 10, 2012
My experience with Marlin was somewhat disapointing I have been searching to return to the travel industry for some time, and when recieving the opportunity to join Marlin, I was so thrill just to return to the industry, as well to learn the leisure side of travel when my experience was corporate.
I started with Marlin understanding, I was only one – more... day a week, and just being able to get my foot in the door was a thrill, I felt that I would have appreciated more time to training on a system that they knew I have not worked with, through the manager, I did get trained by a fellow employment, which was so helpful and meant so much to me.
My employment did not continue, when I was told I might not get any hours at all for a couple weeks, and at that time I realized through lack of business as well, two agents being hired at the same time, a job with my substance was needed, and this was not going to help me at all, when the hours and business was not there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the greatest company to work for
Travel Consultant (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBMay 12, 2012
Pros: nothing
Cons: no overtime, no compensation for trade shows
This company does not recognize a good hard working person
You are only as good as the revenue you bring in
They do not communicate well with their employees, they are divorced from the employees as this company is owned by Transat Distribution
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job...
Travel Consultant (Former Employee), ontarioApril 15, 2014
Pros: meeting people, making connections
Cons: low pay, negative work environment
A lot to learn, stressful at times, low pay, but that's normal for any travel agent job. Some days crazy busy, some days extremely long.