Markham Stouffville Hospital

Markham Stouffville Hospital Employee Reviews

Found 22 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing environment to work in. Very welcoming and professional. A place I felt at home.
Unit Assistant (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON2 December 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed working at Markham Stouffville Hospital and would love the opportunity to work there again.
MHS creates a safe and welcoming environment no matter what time you are working or visiting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
Sales Associate and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON8 September 2016
There are very few positions available for students, and the good positions are given so much hype, but they cant live up to their title
Pros
free ice-cream
Cons
sometime only
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, energetic environment
Medical Secretary (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON26 July 2016
Volunteers, Staff are absolutely amazing and work very hard.

However, extreme staff shortages are not meeting staff requirements in relation to the direct demand of the ever growing "city".
Poor design of the new hospital in relation to location of departments and the departments needs to be closer to certain other services.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working enviroment
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON27 April 2016
VERY patient centred care, good staff and great patients.
The negative side, considering there is no unions the R.N's often work short, some favoritism amongst staff, and jobs never posted just given to people. Very unsafe environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Co-op Student (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON15 March 2016
It's a nice environment to work in. The staff is really nice and I enjoy the shift work. However, you sometimes bring home emotional stress that you get when dealing with certain patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work. Poor management and lack of skilled senior nurses.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON14 February 2016
Worked for markham stouffville hospital for several years in inpatient surgery. Very heavy floor with very little help available. Job requires lots of lifting and you must be able to cope with the ability of high patient turn over rates as well as icu equivalent patient acuity. Lots of new graduate nurses on the floor but unfortunately due to lack of experience senior nurses were put in compromising positions in order to ensure the health of the patients. Management was horrible. Unless you didn't speak up for yourself or enjoyed buttering up the manager; favoritism was always an issue. As part time staff there was no guarantee of hours. Either "feast or famine" where staff were forced to pick up hours due to sick calls or last minute changes. Or waiting to get called in when hours were scarce. High turnover rate for staff due to work conditions and high rate of staff injuries due to heavy patient work loads.
Pros
Clean new building
Cons
Variable work hours, poor management, heavy patient workloads
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Medical Laboratory Technologist (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON19 January 2016
Boys club
Staff are bullied
No staff support
No input involving staff
Full time staff only which makes it hard to have days off
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Medical Laboratory Technician (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON23 November 2015
Very professional Lab, with co-workers that are helpful. It's a great environment to work in. When I started at MSH they accepted me right away and were willing to help me when I need them.
Pros
breaks are longer
Cons
phone calls about stuff Nurses should know
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Corporation for those starting out in their careers
Pharmacy Assistant (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON23 March 2015
Very nice hospital environment, lots of technology in action! Good mix of people depending on the department you work at.
Pros
Relaxed work environment.
Cons
Lack of educational sessions (e.g. in services)
Was this review helpful?Yes24No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training
Patient Flow Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Markham17 March 2015
Manager was great. The manager appreciated what I brought to the organization.Colleague were not supportive of the knowledge I brought to the job.
Pros
Great Manage
Cons
Poor peer relations
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall
Pathologist Assistant (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON4 August 2014
Good Co-workers
Good Management
Flexible Hours
Good overall
Was this review helpful?Yes18No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was there from the start!
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Markham31 October 2013
Loved the atmosphere and autonomy.
Treated with respect.
Cross training expected
Patient nurse ratio was decent
Was this review helpful?Yes19No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A health care organization that is committed to excellence in serving its patients and their families
Employee (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON29 July 2013
I am continually amazed and proud of the dedication of staff, physicians, and volunteers
These people deliver the best quality of care to it patients and their families.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interesting to work for the hospital.
Data Entry Clerk-Infant Hearing Program (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON17 June 2013
Very much enjoyed the environment of the hospital setting. I was on contract for 5 years when employment ended.
Pros
Good people to work for and very interesting to meet clients.
Cons
Very long commute.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Managment
Pharmaceutical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON1 May 2013
Enjoyed working at the Pharmacy Department of Markham Stouffville Hospital. I volunteered there for two-three months.

Given me a lot of responsibility and trusted me with each tasks.
Pros
A lot of Work given
Cons
Short Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes12No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self satisfaction
Student Placement (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON1 March 2013
Leaned, enjoyed the job, helping &providing support who need it.
Pros
self satisfaction
Cons
long
Was this review helpful?Yes6No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, just need more hours
Housekeeping, Environmental Services (Current Employee) –  Markham Hospital20 November 2012
Great atmosphere to work in. Just not enough hours to pay for bills, yet..
Was this review helpful?Yes12No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Expanding Facility
Forms Analyst (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON28 October 2012
Opportunities arising from expansion. Great Employee wellness program
Pros
employee engagment
Cons
part time hours
Was this review helpful?Yes11No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Markham25 May 2012
I developed my analytical skills as well as my budgeting forecasting skills. I learned the month and year end procedures and was able to work in a fast paced environment under multiple deadlines.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company has appreciation day for employees.
Purchasing Assistant / Co-ordinator (Former Employee) –  Markham26 April 2012
I really working enjoy the work atmosphere. learned a lot was able to work independently with great success.
Pros
friendly, comfortable, safe, accomodating, clean evnironment
Was this review helpful?Yes15No7Report

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
4.0
Culture
3.6

Markham Stouffville Hospital Reviews by Location