Markham Stouffville Hospital Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super super busy/people come and go
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON8 December 2017
If u r a superwoman or Superman, definitely come here to work to show your abilities and skills . Otherwise, the super busy workload will kill you. Bad income/less vocation days/not unionized/not worth it!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair teamwork, non unionised (sometimes not a drawback)
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON8 September 2017
Decent ER. Cannot comment since the expansion of the department. Appears better than before sine the space was needed.
Workplace morale was good, good collaboration between medical, nursing and paramedical teams.
Pros
Good educational oppertunities.
Cons
Travel from outside the GTA.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a great place to work.
Registered Practical Nurse (psychiatry) (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON6 September 2017
I enjoyed working part time in the acute care psychiatric unit.
My passion has always been mental health and addictions.
The new unit is beautiful and well organized.
Pros
self scheduling
Cons
frequently short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned a lot of new things (medically)
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON26 August 2017
Had a great time volunteering here, I got the opportunity to help many people and learn new skills that can help me in the future, for example dealing with patient documents in a orderly manner
Pros
new learning experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did love my job
OCCUPATIONAL THERAPIST (Former Employee) –  Church street Markham8 August 2017
I was helping people return to increase general strength, balance coordination and able to transfer, sit to stand, walk and able to get dress and be able to return home safely
Pros
Satisfaction
Cons
Too much phyical demand
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was also volunteer work for so did not get paid money
Doctor uses (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON20 June 2017
I volunteered at Markham Stouffville Hospital for 1 whole year, here I took surveys on patient experiences which allowed me to interact with some of the patients in the ER department
Pros
Got to interact with patients which increased my communication skills
Cons
3 hours per week so there were no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hospital, needs better leadership
Porter (Current Employee) –  381 Church Street30 May 2017
The job consists of pushing patients to and from tests, delivering specimens and bodies. If you are not easily grossed out and are able to keep up in a fast paced work place then you'll do great. Some physical exertion required.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely people
Professional Practice Leader (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON30 March 2017
Good place to work with opportunities for growth. Staff feel valued. Great sense of teamwork. Loved working there, but was unable to keep up with the commute.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn
Porter (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON6 March 2017
it is a great place to work if you want to work in the hospital environment, also the people who work there are friendly and easy to get along. great place to work at
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really friendly environment
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON15 January 2017
Everyone here is very friendly, from the general staff to the doctors. The work is very fast pace, as is usually in a hospital, and it keeps you busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Placement Student
Unit Clerk - 3C - Medicine/Cardiology Placement (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON22 December 2016
I was a placement student at Markham Stouffville Hospital. The staff were very welcoming and very helpful. I really enjoyed my time there. The teamwork is outstanding .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing environment to work in. Very welcoming and professional. A place I felt at home.
Unit Assistant (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON2 December 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed working at Markham Stouffville Hospital and would love the opportunity to work there again.
MHS creates a safe and welcoming environment no matter what time you are working or visiting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
Sales Associate and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON8 September 2016
There are very few positions available for students, and the good positions are given so much hype, but they cant live up to their title
Pros
free ice-cream
Cons
sometime only
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, energetic environment
Medical Secretary (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON26 July 2016
Volunteers, Staff are absolutely amazing and work very hard.

However, extreme staff shortages are not meeting staff requirements in relation to the direct demand of the ever growing "city".
Poor design of the new hospital in relation to location of departments and the departments needs to be closer to certain other services.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working enviroment
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON27 April 2016
VERY patient centred care, good staff and great patients.
The negative side, considering there is no unions the R.N's often work short, some favoritism amongst staff, and jobs never posted just given to people. Very unsafe environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Co-op Student (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON15 March 2016
It's a nice environment to work in. The staff is really nice and I enjoy the shift work. However, you sometimes bring home emotional stress that you get when dealing with certain patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work. Poor management and lack of skilled senior nurses.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON14 February 2016
Worked for markham stouffville hospital for several years in inpatient surgery. Very heavy floor with very little help available. Job requires lots of lifting and you must be able to cope with the ability of high patient turn over rates as well as icu equivalent patient acuity. Lots of new graduate nurses on the floor but unfortunately due to lack of experience senior nurses were put in compromising positions in order to ensure the health of the patients. Management was horrible. Unless you didn't speak up for yourself or enjoyed buttering up the manager; favoritism was always an issue. As part time staff there was no guarantee of hours. Either "feast or famine" where staff were forced to pick up hours due to sick calls or last minute changes. Or waiting to get called in when hours were scarce. High turnover rate for staff due to work conditions and high rate of staff injuries due to heavy patient work loads.
Pros
Clean new building
Cons
Variable work hours, poor management, heavy patient workloads
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Medical Laboratory Technologist (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON19 January 2016
Boys club
Staff are bullied
No staff support
No input involving staff
Full time staff only which makes it hard to have days off
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Medical Laboratory Technician (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON23 November 2015
Very professional Lab, with co-workers that are helpful. It's a great environment to work in. When I started at MSH they accepted me right away and were willing to help me when I need them.
Pros
breaks are longer
Cons
phone calls about stuff Nurses should know
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Corporation for those starting out in their careers
Pharmacy Assistant (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON23 March 2015
Very nice hospital environment, lots of technology in action! Good mix of people depending on the department you work at.
Pros
Relaxed work environment.
Cons
Lack of educational sessions (e.g. in services)
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Markham Stouffville Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 38 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.7
Culture
3.7

Markham Stouffville Hospital Reviews by Job Title

Markham Stouffville Hospital Reviews by Location