Mark's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Customer Service Representative/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB8 December 2017
was only there for seasonal work. Customers at times could be very rude, but management was awesome. Made lots of friends fast with other co-workers and always had a great time at work. Most days it didn't feel like a job.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Some days were too long.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with friendly staff and in a safe working enviroment
cash and merchandising (Former Employee) –  Orangeville, ON29 November 2017
Arriving to work at Mark's work wear house was always a pleasure, friendly staff and management created a safe working environment.
Here I would interact and aid costumers gaining customer service experience. The many tasks provided to me, helped positively shape my time management skills as well. Working for this company helped me grow tremendously as a person even in the short time I've worked there.
Pros
friendly staff, excellent working environment
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales duties (Former Employee) –  Penticton, BC14 November 2017
This place was a great place to work at. I enjoyed the people I worked with and my customers. I learned alot in customer service and the duties of my job where demanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Sales (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 November 2017
I learnt a lot about clothing sales which was new to me. The flexible hours were great and the people were awesome to work with. This was a fast pace environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun and fast paced Environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Aldergrove, BC25 October 2017
- Show up on time, be kind and willing to help any customer
- I learned proper customer service.
- Kind and to the point
- To be kind and informative
- Memorizing the location of every item
- Meeting new and fascinating people everyday.
Pros
the oppurtunity to meet new people
Cons
having to memorize each pro and con to every type of boot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Shipper/Receiver - Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Penticton, BC25 October 2017
Lots of knowledge to gain and enjoyable atmosphere Many repeat customers and staff was always very helpful. Many skills to be learned, from cash to folding to leaning about safety wear
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High speed, upbeat environment. Great boss.
Keyholder (Current Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC3 October 2017
Ive had many retail jobs, this is one of the best. Amazing boss that actually cares about her staff. Fast paced environment, always busy and makes the day fly by.
Great co workers, supportive team. Pay is above min so that's good.
Pros
Monthly bonuses, flexible scheduling, good management
Cons
open until 9pm, mon-fri makes for quite a few evening shifts, Great for students or someone looking for evenings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mark's was ok
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Port Perry, ON1 October 2017
It was an ok retail job, but poor wages and not very many opportunities for advancement. I started as a seasonal temporary hire and was kept on as part time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Business Account Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON27 September 2017
Management is good, not a lot of room for advancement . Pay is not worth any management position. They schedule according to school schedule which is awesome.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place with great staff
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB27 September 2017
Managers were very fair and hard working. Fun environment to work in and great staff that were always nice and in good moods. You always knew what was expected of you and it was never over the top.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours
Reciever (Former Employee) –  Kemptville, ON20 September 2017
The company worked around my children's school schedule very nicely. The manager was very accommodating, and the staff was very friendly and hard working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 September 2017
A culture of winning. Opportunity to advance and learn from knowledgeable co-workers and management team. Most enjoyable part of the job was traveling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy days and wonderful people
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB8 September 2017
The days went fast. Learned something new everyday either it was about myself or in store operations. Mulit-tasking at its finest. The best part of working here was meeting wonderful people.
Pros
wonderful people
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Retail Setting
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON5 September 2017
Typical retail job. District/Corporate management doesn't have a clue and don't listen or care. Good employee discounts on products. Customer base was generally good.
Pros
discounts
Cons
district/corporate management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job i ever had
Retail Sales Associate / Cashier (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON12 August 2017
I love working at marks, it was the best job i ever had, and sometimes i wish i could go back, and i always felt like a was helping someone out who may have needed it
Pros
working with people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON2 August 2017
good team environment, always something to learn with the innovations of new technology in the products. Head office always treats staff well. Always room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for students and begainers
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK1 August 2017
Good place to start with and learn basics of retail. Environment is based on store manager mainly so if you have good manager you can expect good environment.
Pros
staff discount
Cons
Long hours expectations for management and less training / development.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun staff and work place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC1 August 2017
enjoyable if you like folding... minimal customers, so store maintenance will be most of your life at work.... fun co workers, but some managers are questionable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's what you would expect from retail.
Customer Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 July 2017
Mark's has a very forced culture but, I absolutely loved the team I worked with. Mark's does have high standards for their employees but those standards can vary quite in extreme from store to store.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Shift Supervisor/ Keyholder (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON15 July 2017
I was happy to work for the company but at in the end sometimes you have to move on to bigger and better things

was there for a bit could have been better
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mark's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 238 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5