March of Dimes Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
there were nice to work for
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON27 September 2017
they were pleaseant to work for i did swepping ,mopping,vacuumming dusting, clean there lunchroom i loved working there i enjoyed it everyday and it was fun
Pros
close to home
Cons
not long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON21 September 2017
The March of Dimes is a non-profit organization. The staff were amazing from the Manager to the PSW's. They did so much while I was working there for their clients as well as the staff that it was a pleasure going to work everyday. The hardest part of the job was managing your time and making everyone feel like you are giving them equal time and not rushing through their care.I feel privileged to have worked for such an amazing company.
Pros
Amazing staff and company
Cons
lots to do in short time frame
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good non-profit company to work for
Accounts Payable Administrator (Former Employee) –  East York, ON30 May 2017
I worked with the Accountant at March of Dimes. She was very friendly and always helped me where I needed. It is deadline oriented non profit organization where the invoices needs to be entered into the system within time.
Pros
birthday cakes
Cons
Long hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Service Aid Attendant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON25 April 2017
A typical day at March of Dimes was never dull. There was always someone who required care ( lift, turns, to be fed ect.). We all worked as a team if a client required two people we were there. I learned so many great things from working at March of Dimes that I can apply to not only everyday life but in the workplace as well. This includes confidence, leadership skills, being punctual and many more.
Pros
A friendly work environment which made it easy to learn in.
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
thumbs down
Service Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Thorold, ON4 March 2017
Management doesn't treat all their staff the same... if they have friends that work below them no mater their seniority they will get the hours before you...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is the best
Support Services Attendant (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON27 October 2016
typical day at March of dimes can be really busy. I love working and I would recommend anybody for this job. The staff are great her
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
Cleaner/General Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON24 August 2016
gained a lot of experience on computers and filing. I'v gained more experience in my communication skills writin and typing and being organized . i liked greeting people and talking on the phone . the most enjoyable part was doing research on the computers .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great clients, poorly staffed
Support Service Attendant (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON29 July 2016
The clients are awesome to care for but the staffing issues has been overwhelming. The worker travels from each clients house to care for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with consumers was interesting and enjoyable.
Support Service Attendant (Current Employee) –  Sarnia, ON31 May 2016
Working with consumers in their own homes with all aspects of daily living including medications and involvement with the community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Vocational Rehabilitation Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 May 2016
This used to be a great place to work although the salaries were always below the industry standards and raises are non existent. Then management changed and it became terrible. They do not honour their employment agreements, micro manage like crazy and everything is about money even though they are supposed to be a not for profit. Would not recommend. There are far better places to work that pay more money and treat people like adults.
Pros
Working with clients
Cons
Micro managing, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Support Service Attendant (Current Employee) –  Hagersville, ON9 May 2016
It was a great job over all no complains.
Fun watching the children grow from year to year.
Seeinf the excitement on their faces on holidays and summer break.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 April 2016
Working together as a team, share experience together, series of training learn more on how to relate with seniors. good benefits for the employees both part-time and full-time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON1 March 2016
Multicultural workplace
Save environment
Monthly Activities
Very open workplace where we have open conversations
Co-workers all work together to complete the daily
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a great pleace to work
ssa (Current Employee) –  Sarnia, ON20 February 2016
its consumer directed . they tell you what they want for their services . you do their care , house keeping . the girls i work with act like a family there . Ive learned a lot from the girls .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal support worker
Personal Support Worker Student (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON4 March 2015
I got an excellent practice from my placement. It is a community based organisation which helps to support clients for basic daily requirement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canvassing for good cause
Paid canvasser (Former Employee) –  Orleans16 February 2015
typical day at work:
-go door to door and treat everyone with respect and politeness
-write down tax receipts
-count money
-call purolator to pick up the money

what i learned:
-no matter how people treat you, always respond with respect and politeness
-go talk to people
-make conversation
-self motivation

management:
- only contacted her through phone calls and texts because it is an independent job

co-workers:
I would work either with one other person or alone. We would separate the job equally, communicate, motivate each-other through it, good team work.

hardest part of job:
-the weather

most enjoyable part of job:
-getting to know new people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Place to Volunteer
Volunteer Stroke Survivor Partner (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON8 February 2015
This organization provides great support and opportunities to give back to your community. Various training and guidance ensure you are ready to volunteer when you choose to do so.
Pros
Great way to Give bac
Cons
Must commute to Stroke Survivors house
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training and support from management
Senior Acquired Brain Injury Rehabilitation Worker (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON26 November 2014
There isn't anything negative about my experience in this work experience as a Senior Acquired Brain Injury Rehabilitation Worker. I always felt if I had questions or concerns the open door of everyone made me feel confident in my position to find the answers I needed to be the best support worker I can be.
Pros
Great enviroment with an amazing collaborative team
Cons
Lots of driving
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Support Services Attendant (Former Employee) –  Shelburne, ON20 October 2014
March of Dimes was a well established place of employment. I enjoyed coming to a place of employment where I was able to flourish professionally.
Pros
Great co-workers, great clients.
Cons
Organization was lacking in the managment aspect of the company
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Services Support Attendant (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON2 July 2014
Very flexible and understanding organization, the services they provide to the community are effective and life changing for some individuals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at March of Dimes. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 131 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7