March of Dimes Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 19 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great clients, poorly staffed
Support Service Attendant (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ONJuly 29, 2016
The clients are awesome to care for but the staffing issues has been overwhelming. The worker travels from each clients house to care for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with consumers was interesting and enjoyable.
Support Service Attendant (Current Employee) –  Sarnia, ONMay 31, 2016
Working with consumers in their own homes with all aspects of daily living including medications and involvement with the community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Vocational Rehabilitation Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 30, 2016
This used to be a great place to work although the salaries were always below the industry standards and raises are non existent. Then management changed and it became terrible. They do not honour their employment agreements, micro manage like crazy and everything is about money even though they are supposed to be a not for profit. Would not recommend. There are far better places to work that pay more money and treat people like adults.
Pros
Working with clients
Cons
Micro managing, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Support Service Attendant (Current Employee) –  Hagersville, ONMay 9, 2016
It was a great job over all no complains.
Fun watching the children grow from year to year.
Seeinf the excitement on their faces on holidays and summer break.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONApril 16, 2016
Working together as a team, share experience together, series of training learn more on how to relate with seniors. good benefits for the employees both part-time and full-time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONMarch 1, 2016
Multicultural workplace
Save environment
Monthly Activities
Very open workplace where we have open conversations
Co-workers all work together to complete the daily
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a great pleace to work
ssa (Current Employee) –  Sarnia, ONFebruary 20, 2016
its consumer directed . they tell you what they want for their services . you do their care , house keeping . the girls i work with act like a family there . Ive learned a lot from the girls .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal support worker
Personal Support Worker Student (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ONMarch 4, 2015
I got an excellent practice from my placement. It is a community based organisation which helps to support clients for basic daily requirement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canvassing for good cause
Paid canvasser (Former Employee) –  OrleansFebruary 16, 2015
typical day at work:
-go door to door and treat everyone with respect and politeness
-write down tax receipts
-count money
-call purolator to pick up the money

what i learned:
-no matter how people treat you, always respond with respect and politeness
-go talk to people
-make conversation
-self motivation

management:
- only contacted her through phone calls and texts because it is an independent job

co-workers:
I would work either with one other person or alone. We would separate the job equally, communicate, motivate each-other through it, good team work.

hardest part of job:
-the weather

most enjoyable part of job:
-getting to know new people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Place to Volunteer
Volunteer Stroke Survivor Partner (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ONFebruary 8, 2015
This organization provides great support and opportunities to give back to your community. Various training and guidance ensure you are ready to volunteer when you choose to do so.
Pros
great way to give bac
Cons
must commute to stroke survivors house
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training and support from management
Senior Acquired Brain Injury Rehabilitation Worker (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ONNovember 26, 2014
There isn't anything negative about my experience in this work experience as a Senior Acquired Brain Injury Rehabilitation Worker. I always felt if I had questions or concerns the open door of everyone made me feel confident in my position to find the answers I needed to be the best support worker I can be.
Pros
great enviroment with an amazing collaborative team
Cons
lots of driving
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Support Services Attendant (Former Employee) –  Shelburne, ONOctober 20, 2014
March of Dimes was a well established place of employment. I enjoyed coming to a place of employment where I was able to flourish professionally.
Pros
great co-workers, great clients.
Cons
organization was lacking in the managment aspect of the company
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Services Support Attendant (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ONJuly 2, 2014
Very flexible and understanding organization, the services they provide to the community are effective and life changing for some individuals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning experience
Field-Based Consultant (Former Employee) –  TorontoJune 16, 2014
Challenging but fun.

Great opportunity to grow.

A lot of Research and tight deadlines.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
PSW (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ONAugust 14, 2013
I enjoyed my time working with MOD. I learned alot working with all my clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal Support Worker
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  st catharinesApril 10, 2013
i have learned respect client privacy, prompt indepenance. typical day- i worked midnights check on clients, reposition, answer the on call phone. management was alright, coworkers loved all my co workers. hardest part- working midnights alone,struggled with some of the heavier patients. most enjoyable is just the reward feeling at the end of the day when you know you are helping people and cheering people up and being positive
Pros
helping people
Cons
midnights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
March of Dimes
Job Developer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONApril 2, 2013
Non Profit Organization helping people disabilities become job ready and secure competitive employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, poor managment,,not recommended, frustrating
rehabilitation worker (Former Employee) –  sudbury ontarioMarch 20, 2013
great staff and consumers, very poor managment from the top down.
did not like male staff, 6 males fired within a 3 year period.Ratio too high for a predominated female company. Needs to be investigated.
say they are a non-profit company but managment would brag about making millions of dollars for the year?
Pros
staff, consumers
Cons
managment from the top down, nepatisum, did not like male staff
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport

See more March of Dimes reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 85 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8