Find companies:
Maple Leaf Consumer Foods
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
121 reviews

Maple Leaf Consumer Foods Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vending Machines
Stocker Nights & days (Former Employee), North Battleford, SKDecember 23, 2013
Pros: wages
Cons: worked in the cold
A typical day was like running a marathon.
What I learned from ML was how to work with rhythm.
Management..
Co-workers...
The hardest part of my job was...nothing really
The most enjoyable part was paydays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Sanitation Supervisor (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONDecember 10, 2013
Nice company, nice culture building up. Management is also helping. so overall experience is good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great management and company
sanitation technician (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBNovember 26, 2013
Pros: bonuses
Cons: only one shift - night shift
sanitation technician performing cleaning and sanitation of the production line and storages

Learned using of different chemicals

Management was great!

Team work

hardest part was when job was not performed according to the standards and would affect the whole team

Enjoyed working in a mentally healthy workplace with the great team and management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ok place to work if you don't mind the cold
labourer (Current Employee), kitchenerNovember 25, 2013
Pros: employee appreciation meals
Cons: plant closing
Some good supervisors and some not so good.
Cafeteria food sucks.
Co-workers are nice.
Job safety is unpredictable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Corporate Safety Team
Health & Safety Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 24, 2013
Fantastic Corporate Safety Team support. A company that is focused on working on the right things and reducing the safety frequency. A company that wants to see every employee go home the same way they came to work, in one piece.
The most enjoyable part of my job is working with the employees on the plant floor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work an looks good on a resume.
Production Crew (Former Employee), North Battleford, SKNovember 22, 2013
Pros: great environment to work in, company treats all its workers fairly.
Cons: work in -4 all the time.
I enjoyed working for this company for I got paid every Thursday. My bosses were great to work for, they would encourage you to try to be the best you could be at your job. The job is was easy to learn. Detail orientated was a must for you want to put out a high quality product. The hardest part of the job was keeping the 618(packaging machine) strait – more... an in order, the machine an I were not really good friends lol. I enjoyed working on the multipack line for boxing at the end of the line, you had to work out an see how many pallets you could do in a day. I liked it for it was a little challenging an I like that. Get behind an you had to rush an I enjoyed high speed for I am a high energy person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment.
SHIPPER/PALLET JACK OPERATOR/PRODUCTION WORKER (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBNovember 9, 2013
Pros: reliable hours to fit family life, free coffee on fridays.
Cons: long term employment was unreliable, plant shut down.
Maple leaf has now closed down. At the time my day consisted of doing very light physical labour at an extremely fast pace. I worked on multiple jobs including shipping, palletizing, packaging and operating forklifts. Everything was very repetitive and the overtime was minimal.

Management was not as involved at maple leaf. They dealt with employees – more... very professionally and with respect. Often they would watch from a distance or stop by periodically to see how thing's are running. It kept the atmosphere inside Maple Leaf relaxed and enjoyable.

At maple leaf while working in palletizing where i spent most of my years, you depend on other employees because sometimes 1 mans job can get overwhelming due to the speed so help is needed. In return you do the same when you witness someone else struggling to keep up. Not everyone has this quality and it brings departments closer together as a unit.

The high repetitions and constant standing was a bit tough to get used to. The job's performed were a bit mind numbing and not mentally challenging because there was no problem solving or planning.

Definately the most enjoyable part of the job was the employees. Maybe 1 out of 20 ever came to work in a bad mood or had a negative effect on other employees. Although the plant was 1000+ employees the bond between departments had a comforting feeling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company culture
Intern (Current Employee), mississaugaOctober 24, 2013
very repetitive work
coworkers are friendly
management team can be a little more straight forward
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of room for continuous improvement
Maintenance Planner (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONOctober 23, 2013
Pros: lots of room to improve efficiency, processes, and gather data
Cons: some rough, out of date practices -- lack of automation and technology compared to other machine-based sectors.
Maple Leaf Foods has great cultural values for developing leadership and being accountable. It is committed to continuous improvement to refine its practices for the purpose of safer food and profitability.

Energetic, creative people will find lots of room to grow their skills amid skilled co-workers. Much of the supervision and management structure – more... is very receptive to new ideas for improving processes, and let dynamic individuals work and advance their projects.

The one drawback is the occasional manager who doesn't want their employee to outshine them in a role, and lets personal opinion matter more than the fact based approach espoused by the cultural mission.
This leads to some areas that are resistant to change and maintenance of the status quo -- so the hardest part of the job is staying motivated to conquer such roadblocks, because the rest of the company is hungry to develop and succeed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They say they're values is transparency. That's only if your upper management. Till than shut your trap or your deemed a trouble maker.
Supervisor (Former Employee), EdmontonOctober 12, 2013
Supervisors if same culture will ride coat tails of management. Sneak behind others backs to catch them in acts to make themselves look better. And even bully their own cultures on floor to spy for them
Management cares bout their own advancement and if that means making you look bad and taking the brunt of problems beyond your control . They will. – more... They always have an escape goat for issues. You'll last two years tops if your not a rat – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work and good people
Labourer/Sanitation Worker (Current Employee), Moncton, NBOctober 8, 2013
wish it would stay open. I like working there the people that are there are there good to work for and the safety is top.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Asst.Category Insights Manager (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONOctober 5, 2013
Pros: overall great place to work
Cons: many changes in structure and employment
Great place to learn and thrive, but no faith in some upper management leaders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of fun people to work with
Blender operator (Former Employee), Ayr, OntarioOctober 1, 2013
Pros: great people
Cons: cold environment
Pretty good company to work for, good pay and really cool coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always keeping busy but enjoying the people I worked with
Machine operator (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONOctober 1, 2013
A typical day at work would be just coming in servicing people that needed servicing at start and usually waited for my meat to come in and then i would dump it operation a machine. Hardest part is when machines break and we have a lot of work that has to be done. Best part is being there with the people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
food manufacturer
prod (Former Employee), ontarioSeptember 18, 2013
food manufacturer. be alert, aware...gmp, haccp also health & safety, with food safety
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maple Leaf Foods
Assistant Marketing Manager (Former Employee), Mississauga, OntarioSeptember 15, 2013
A very fast paced company with a lot of change; You're always learning and adapting to new situations; Great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Information Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Mississauga, OntarioSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: good people to work with.
Cons: extra hours and days worked with no extra pay.
Maple Leaf Foods is a hard-working outfit. I improved my ability to work in teams and be a complete team player. The co-workers were friendly and helped as much as possible to get the work done on-time. For the most part management left you alone, as long as you were being productive. The hardest part of the job was enduring the amount of work done – more... in evenings and weekends because of stiff deadlines with no extra pay. The most enjoyable part of the job was completion of a project or go-live with very little or no re-work necessary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Staff Accountant (Former Employee), St. Claire TorontoSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: good work environment
Cons: no cons
Great work experienced for the pas 6 years.
Opportunity to develop and grow my work skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business driven and a fast pace working environment.
Millwright (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBSeptember 7, 2013
Pros: food defence and safety are first priority
Cons: no paid sick days benefit
Support daily production start-up, troubleshoot machine failure and resolve issues.
Do preventative maintenance, update records and create notifications to correct deficiencies.
Modify machine lay-out or set-up using cutting, welding, grinding, polishing to improve equipment accessibility , maintainability and safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stable employment
Skilled Labourer (Current Employee), Brandon, MBAugust 26, 2013
Pros: decent pay, able to charge up meals.
Cons: too much stress, supervisors are difficult to get along with.
It's a highly stressful job. There is a lot of politics, supervisors and co-workers aren't always on the same page. But good pay, bonuses, benefits, and a stable job.

About Maple Leaf Consumer Foods

Maple Leaf Foods Inc. is a major Canadian food processing company, founded in 1927 as a merger of several major Toronto meat packers.

Maple Leaf Consumer Foods Photos