Find companies:
Maple Leaf Consumer Foods
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
110 reviews

Maple Leaf Consumer Foods Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Key Person (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONAugust 6, 2014
good place to work, good hours, good people
unfortunately the Kitchener location is closing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Production Team member (Current Employee), Hannon ontarioAugust 4, 2014
Pros: realistic break times
Cons: not any so far
I just started and based on my previous experience in other places,it is more better place to work.Easy to learn tasks and helpful envoirenment.Work schedule is very realistic Monday to Friday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with a strong focus on consumer products
Finance Manager (Former Employee), MississaugaJuly 10, 2014
Good company to work for, over the past 5 years major re-organization has happend which now brings a better focus to the core business, CFP.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people
salaried employee (Current Employee), WinnipegJune 22, 2014
Pros: exposure to new trends
Cons: long hours, off shifts, no family life
company has advancement opportunities, but managment tends to overlook those who have worked long hard hours in favor of family and friends
Lots of politics and uncertainty
SLT tends to favor,
No work life balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for with benefits and advancement
Labourer (Former Employee), Moncton, NBJune 9, 2014
Pros: free meals, medical plan.40 hours, pension plan
Cons: very cold, hard reppetative work
You were very busy so the time went fast and your coworkers were good hard working people. I had a day job monday to friday which made for a good family life
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plant was closing down
Industrial Electrician (Current Employee), Moncton, NBJune 6, 2014
Due plant closing, there was no advancement at all in the position. We worked 8 hrs a day 5 days a week. Carried out breakdowns of automated equipment that were ran by plcs. etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I always enjoyed working for this company because I was working outside mostly and meeting customers and dealing with people!
Territory Manager (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 4, 2014
Pros: company car with fuel and all expenses, yearly bonus, free lunches and great people!
Cons: you are on call 24/7 in case of emergency and there is always some!
Working for Canada Bread was always challenging and there was never really two days that were the same. A lot of daily crisis but I learned how to deal with them and I always surpassed my customers expectations!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never Fun
Labour (Former Employee), Lethbridge, ABJune 1, 2014
Pros: cold environment
Cons: short-staffed often, production numbers too high
A typical day at Maple Leaf? You show up to work and get ready and work on a production line. There are good people, and there are the one who are so two-faced. I have never in my life work with a company where there is so much sucking up to just management.
The life- work balance is very hard. Sometimes when you get the long weekend off, they usually – more... make the employees come in the following weekend. Overtime is pretty hard to get, and yet there have been cases where production gets shut down due to mechanical issues. It's hard to plan your life around this job. Especially when you are involved in a relationship. During the week if there are issues with working short staffed, they want you to stay for the overtime after a 8 hour work day. It was very frustrating to have to be put in that situation. Don't stay, loose extra overtime. They expect you to make the company your number 1 priority, this is because that is what is expected of the management team.
The wages are sub-par, it's designed to keep you grounded. It was almost next to impossible to save money for holidays or travel. Most employers keep the wages low, to keep you as a employee. Makes you feel stuck as a employee. I was glad to get out when I did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours and was cold
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 11, 2014
Pros: good location
Cons: too cold
the management was fine, but it was cold and the hours were way to long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good place to work
Industrial Electrician (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMay 2, 2014
I have a learned a lot at maple leaf consumer food. It has very solid and effective food safety program .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Meat Packager (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONApril 29, 2014
Pros: paid decent
Cons: everything else
Always cold and miserable people. The plant is closing soon, there is no future at that companies location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and a clean environmental place to work
Production Worker (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONApril 28, 2014
Pros: free coffee and tea
Cons: shoter hours
It's a rotational shift
I have learned a lot about Blackberry cell-phone and how to assemble.
The manager are kind
50% are kind 50% are unkind
Security checked, if you forget and enter in the working area with a smart-phone them you'll be fired.
All the jobs are enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and fun place to work
dresser/meat cutter (Former Employee), Burlington OntarioApril 22, 2014
Pros: bonuses and a different job every other day with pay increase
Cons: commute was 1.5 hours twice a day
the only reason I left was for my wife at the time became ill and we had to move out of the province.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work
PMO Coordinator (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 20, 2014
Very professional
Care about people
Work and life balance
Passion for excellence
Great co-workers to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for, good benefits and tremendous values.
Accounts Receivable Analyst (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 15, 2014
Pros: good employee prices.
Cons: working saturdays
Post daily cash to customers' accounts in CAD, USD and JPY funds.

Ensure that accounts are upto date and accurate. Part of a four member team, work together to ensure that all cash is posted and applied for the day.

My manager is very understanding and flexible, I would say we have a good working relationship.

The hardest part of my job is working – more... Saturdays for month end and quarter end.

I don't want to leave but at the present time my job is not secured. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cold storage
Quality Assurance Technician (Back-up) (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 1, 2014
learned many things in management and quality assurance. it is a cold storage that's why i quit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in a productive and fast paced environment
General Labor - Part-Time (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBMarch 31, 2014
Pros: free lunch on saturday overtime works
I worked as a part time employee at Maple Leaf Consumer Foods. It's an eight hour , five days work. It's a production work and I was assigned in central packaging dept. - packing of hams the finished product.It's a fast paced environment.My co workers are supportive eventhough they knew that i was only new in the company.The hardest part was carrying – more... and packing about 10 lbs of ham everyday in the rotation procedure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace with room for growth
varied (Former Employee), saskatoonMarch 21, 2014
My job varied each day
Friendly staff and management
As a staff we did many social activities together
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working at Maple Leaf and hope to to go there again one day
Sanitation Lead Hand (Former Employee), Brandon, MBMarch 7, 2014
I was looking forward to coming to work every single day. I like the meetings with the sanitation manager during which we would discuss my job performance and ways how to improve it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canada's Top 10 Workplace Cultures
Communications Coordinator (Current Employee), Mississauga, OntarioMarch 2, 2014
Fast-paced workplace environment. Emphasis on food culture and plenty of opportunities for employees to be involved in product development.

1 2 3 4 5

About Maple Leaf Consumer Foods

Maple Leaf Foods Inc. is a major Canadian food processing company, founded in 1927 as a merger of several major Toronto meat packers.

Maple Leaf Consumer Foods Photos