Find companies:
Maple Leaf Consumer Foods
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
164 reviews

Maple Leaf Consumer Foods Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Take initiative and exercise timely and good judgment in day to day business decisions
Senior production team leader (Current Employee), Hamilton, OntarioMay 16, 2015
Physically fit and able to multitask, quickly adjusting from one task to another. I have a great team working around me and when I go to work I go with passion

At times presence is required on the production floor for long periods of time and/or repetitively but this makes the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive environment and leader in food safety
HACCP Specialist (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 13, 2015
Pros: good benefits
Cons: long hours
- Frequent communication between CFIA inspector and management teams
- MOPs, FSEP, HACCP
- Coworkers were friendly and hardworking people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst HR Team at Brandon Plant
Meat cutter (Current Employee), BrandonMay 10, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Everything. Worst HR. They should get fired all!!
Avoid working for these guys at all cost. You are just a number, no one cares about you whatsoever. If you are planning to relocate with their 'relocation allowance' please don't. It's a bad game they have to get money from the government not that they want to help you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good job to start you off in life
labour (Current Employee), Brandon, MBMay 9, 2015
Pros: noting
Cons: not good starting wage
well the job and the people are good but like any job it has its ups and downs the pay is not bad we do have good benefits if they want to keep people the starting wage would be 17 but the turn over right is crazy now everyone is gitting out for better money
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting fast paced
Industrial Mechanic (Journeyman Millwright) (Current Employee), Brandon, MBMay 1, 2015
Maple Leaf Foods processes up to 18,000 hogs per day for customers worldwide. My job is to keep the equipment in top notch order to produce excellent products to our customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
O.T was extreme. upper management would not support maintenance supervisor in disciplining maintenance staff
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), Weston,ONApril 22, 2015
Pros: diverse equipment, mostly good employers
Cons: too much O.T.
O.T was to the extreme. When scheduled to work O.T. weekend, it usually meant 2 shifts on Saturdays and again 1 shift on Sunday which equaled a 30 hr weekend or more.
Union ran the plant. Upper management would not support maintenance supervisors in disciplining union steward who refused to perform his duties as instructed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Effective caring place to work for. Very detailed to customer satisfaction of food products.
Packager/Loader Operator (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONApril 10, 2015
Cons: The company had to close down.
I learned the skills of safe food handlelling,and above all to make sure that the products going out to the customers are worthy of them eating.Management was caring yet firm in their dealings with employees.Coworkers were easy to work with, we all contributed in a team effort to ensure products met the standards required from us.The hardest part of the job was the temperature, it was a very cold setting to work in.The most enjoyable part of the job was the caring we all were like a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A slice of the Corporate Cake
Production Clerk (Former Employee), Brampton, ONApril 8, 2015
Being the leading consumer packaged meats company in Canada, Maple Leaf Foods is one of the biggest and strongest food operation firms to work for as an employee. A typical hierarchal corporation, the time there teaches one the skill to climb up the corporate ladder if one strives hard enough. Tightly regulated, Maple Leaf is a specimen corporation run under parameters and guidelines. The management roles are highly evolved to accommodate to the growing competition teaching one flexibility and strategic advancement but also limiting the boundaries within which one can innovate and improve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace + 3000 birds daily
Line Worker (Former Employee), Thamesford, ONMarch 27, 2015
Pros: B-B-Q's in the summer, Time and a Half for over time hours paid daily
Cons: Cold atmosphere in some departments
I learned many skills pertaining to the many departments at Maple Leaf Consumer Foods. Handling of knives and proper sharpening Technics. Proper wearing of Personal Protective Equipment. Identifying Utility birds and Grade A for shipping. The importance of Cross Contamination from one department to another, and the effects it could have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 15, 2015
Maple Leaf Foods is Canada’s leading consumer packaged meats company, head quartered in Toronto, Ontario. It has great work culture. Very cooperative people to work with. Lot to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work safe place
Multi-Vac Operator (Former Employee), KitchenerMarch 12, 2015
as an operator i will make sure we run the right product from start to the end, and follow schedule and do the aquarium test to prevent leak the packages. and use the right top and bottom film, top and bottom labels, date of the product. etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture has changed over that past decade.
Analyst (Former Employee), Mississauga, OntarioMarch 11, 2015
Pros: pension plan
Cons: extremely long hours unrewarded
Long hours including weekends, holidays, over vacation as well.

Not rewarded for service or effort.

Cards played close to the chest from management.

Are some good people still trying to make it a fun place to work but morale is low ..

New direction of end products and wasted money on failed projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Central Lab is not well managed, high turnaround.
Microbial Technologist (Former Employee), Guelph, ONMarch 10, 2015
Perpetually understaffed with high turnaround, makes training difficult, chaotic.

Lack of middle management pushes tasks onto lab workers who are already swamped.

Managers do not give suitable feedback for development improvements in a timely manner.

Reviews/personal development not truly supported, but the actual PAD process is pushed way too hard--takes focus away from the actual job (never heard the end of it!)
- also, on the PAD note, management at Central Lab does not support staff reviewing themselves favourably, seeing most people as below average.

Rampant favouritism to support management's opportunity for promotion.

No budget for staff activities (team building, fun)--no time allotted for these things either.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i had a day shift job with benifits holidays paid and vacation
Maintenance Helper (Current Employee), Moncton, NBMarch 5, 2015
Pros: paid on a weekly basis
Cons: no pension to speak of
a meat plant life dress warm and work steady production jobs line work start shift lines do not stop until break or lunch production standards have to be reached each hour..paper work to track what is being done has to be filled out hourly...no exceptions..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Human Resources Coordinator (Current Employee), Saskatoon, SKMarch 3, 2015
Every day is different and has it's challenges. We are a facility of more than 500 people and operate 24 hours a day. I enjoy the hustle and bustle of the day, and having many coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TBC
Manager (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONFebruary 27, 2015
This section will be completed shortly upon review of further profiles on Indeed. Testing the waters in the IT job market to assess if there might be any opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
general labour 2 (Former Employee), hannonFebruary 26, 2015
i didnt learn much, no one would teach me.
not your typical work place, but a fun enviroment.
look forward to alot of forced in weekends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Production Worker (Former Employee), brandon, MBFebruary 23, 2015
Pros: benefits
Cons: not enough pay
A day at work on the cut floor at maple leaf foods is ok you have some hard workers and the ocassional slackers but does their work, what I learned there was communication skills and problem solving.
management is good and my co-workers were awesome people to work with.
the hardest part of my job was pulling rubs but got easier as the days went on, what I enjoyed working at maple leaf was meeting new people and learning different skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning opportunities and ability to work cross-functionally
Process Specialist (Current Employee), MississaugaFebruary 22, 2015
Pros: good management
Cons: cross-departmental communication/collaboration, adherence to values systems
Typical day at work will involve both commissioning on plant floor, as well as data management, and office work.
There is great opportunity to learn about processing of various categories, and majority of colleagues are willing to share their knowledge.
Majority of the time hours are reasonable, however there are periods of long hours and early mornings. The hardest part of work is collaborating on tasks that are not part of others' typical responsibilities. The culture tends to revolve around each department having their set of responsibilities and unwilling to add work on top of it.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the ability to travel among locations and gain experience in different categories.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over alll great place to work
Full time/Part-time/Summer Student (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONFebruary 18, 2015
Pros: relaxed
Cons: some times you have to give up your breaks because of problems but you do get rewarded for it.
i worked at the Kitchener plant for 4 almost 5 years. i have had many jobs there, i wont go into to much detail. i also was able to learn many things from this company about production, food handling and over all just how a corp. that sizes worked. management was a hit and miss. some supervisors knew what they were doing some did not, was really up to the workers and team to get things do. the foremen just kinda stood around or sat in there offices leaving there job to the lead hands to do. co-workers had good days and bad days like any one else but over all most of them were pleasant to work with. the hardest part of the job was communication between works and foremen. as i stated before the foremen just kinda so up and not really do any thing. most enjoyable part of the job was working with others, you become part of a family when working with the same people every day; looking out for each other, talking, some of my best memories where at maple leaf

1 2 3 4 5

About Maple Leaf Consumer Foods

Maple Leaf Foods Inc. is a major Canadian food processing company, founded in 1927 as a merger of several major Toronto meat packers.

Maple Leaf Consumer Foods Photos

my picture