Find companies:
Maple Leaf Consumer Foods
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
97 reviews

Maple Leaf Consumer Foods Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work
PMO Coordinator (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 20, 2014
Very professional
Care about people
Work and life balance
Passion for excellence
Great co-workers to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for, good benefits and tremendous values.
Accounts Receivable Analyst (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 15, 2014
Pros: good employee prices.
Cons: working saturdays
Post daily cash to customers' accounts in CAD, USD and JPY funds.

Ensure that accounts are upto date and accurate. Part of a four member team, work together to ensure that all cash is posted and applied for the day.

My manager is very understanding and flexible, I would say we have a good working relationship.

The hardest part of my job is working – more... Saturdays for month end and quarter end.

I don't want to leave but at the present time my job is not secured. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cold storage
Quality Assurance Technician (Back-up) (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 1, 2014
learned many things in management and quality assurance. it is a cold storage that's why i quit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in a productive and fast paced environment
General Labor - Part-Time (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBMarch 31, 2014
Pros: free lunch on saturday overtime works
I worked as a part time employee at Maple Leaf Consumer Foods. It's an eight hour , five days work. It's a production work and I was assigned in central packaging dept. - packing of hams the finished product.It's a fast paced environment.My co workers are supportive eventhough they knew that i was only new in the company.The hardest part was carrying – more... and packing about 10 lbs of ham everyday in the rotation procedure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work,lots of opportunities for growth.
Production Worker (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBMarch 25, 2014
Typical 5 days 8 hours shifts. Lots of health and safety training, and power equipment training provided. Great people to work with. Salary is OK. Management is fair.Most enjoyable part is to get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace with room for growth
varied (Former Employee), saskatoonMarch 21, 2014
My job varied each day
Friendly staff and management
As a staff we did many social activities together
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working at Maple Leaf and hope to to go there again one day
Sanitation Lead Hand (Former Employee), Brandon, MBMarch 7, 2014
I was looking forward to coming to work every single day. I like the meetings with the sanitation manager during which we would discuss my job performance and ways how to improve it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canada's Top 10 Workplace Cultures
Communications Coordinator (Current Employee), Mississauga, OntarioMarch 2, 2014
Fast-paced workplace environment. Emphasis on food culture and plenty of opportunities for employees to be involved in product development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company
Accounts receivable analyst (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 1, 2014
I am working in a great finance team. Maple leaf is a good company to for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, with lots of great people
Spice Room Controller (Current Employee), Moncton, NBFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: it allowed me to provide for my family for 31 years
Cons: working with chemicals
Maple leaf Consumer foods was a place with lots of different jobs .
Giving you a chance to learn new skills like cutting meats to working with forklifts. And many good employee benefits. I was lucky to have very good foremans to work for . The most enjoyable part of my job was the feeling of accomplishment when I completed my days work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Formens and friendly co-workers
Material Control (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: free lunch once a month
Cons: meat smell
I enjoy the people I work around and the bosses. The cafe normally has a good selection.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company is in the midst of updating their building and processes.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Burlington, ONFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: summer bbq's
Cons: stress due to down sizing of departments/buildings
The management team is professional, friendly and very hard workers.

The other employees were all fun loving but completed all work responsibilities in a timely manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
admin asssistant (Former Employee), torontoFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: nice salary
Cons: too much politics
My typical day starts with checking all details and greeting customers and helping them with their debit and credit accounts.
Most enjoyable part is when we have a challenged projects and meetings.
My co-workers were very co-operative and worked well as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment and management is very nice
CO-OP STUDENT (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: parties
I went to Maple Leaf Foods as a CO-OP student but all employee treated me like I am also full time employee. It was really good experience for me . I learnt a lot of things like for 3 weeks I worked in a reception area where I used to attend phone calls, sorted out production papers and file them and also made binders . always did welcome to our visitors – more... and also did photocopies, fax,scanned documents . I also did work in QA department for 3 weeks, over there I made sample and then tested the temperature of the sample and weighted them and wrote on a QC paper . I handled QC papers ,check the supervisors sign and sorted out and file them according to the product code. My co-workers were so nice and helpful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, room for advancement- new skills and trainings
Supply Chain Analyst - Planning (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: training sessions- group and individual
Cons: keep closing facilities- ? job security
Many benefits, always room to grow and learn new skills. Team work as well as solo - good mix. Enjoyed the people and the job at Maple Leaf Foods.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hop to go back
Production Worker (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJanuary 28, 2014
I was very happy working with compony and depand on the my job becost I ben working for longtime with deferent department I have I lord of exprence with campony
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weed out the ignorant management transplant and it'll be a great place to work
Production (Current Employee), Hamilton OntarioJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: only one so far
Like the work, like my co-workers. One of the managers that came from kitchener is an ignorant, arrogant know nothing that seems to think that people are in his department (RAW) for him to abuse. The feeling towards him on the floor seems to be unanimous. He's not going to make it if he doesn't learn to respect the people that are busting their backs – more... to get the department running. Don't forget J, YOU are overhead. I might have given the management team a four star as well, but you earned the one star rating for your team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vending Machines
Stocker Nights & days (Former Employee), North Battleford, SKDecember 23, 2013
Pros: wages
Cons: worked in the cold
A typical day was like running a marathon.
What I learned from ML was how to work with rhythm.
Management..
Co-workers...
The hardest part of my job was...nothing really
The most enjoyable part was paydays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Sanitation Supervisor (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONDecember 10, 2013
Nice company, nice culture building up. Management is also helping. so overall experience is good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great management and company
sanitation technician (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBNovember 26, 2013
Pros: bonuses
Cons: only one shift - night shift
sanitation technician performing cleaning and sanitation of the production line and storages

Learned using of different chemicals

Management was great!

Team work

hardest part was when job was not performed according to the standards and would affect the whole team

Enjoyed working in a mentally healthy workplace with the great team and management

1 2 3 4 5

About Maple Leaf Consumer Foods

Maple Leaf Foods Inc. is a major Canadian food processing company, founded in 1927 as a merger of several major Toronto meat packers.

Maple Leaf Consumer Foods Photos