Maple Leaf Consumer Foods Employee Reviews

Found 329 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good day to day work environment
Seasonal Employee (Wiener Stuffer) (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON28 June 2017
Overall working at Maple Leaf Foods was very great. Stuffing wieners for nine and a half hours may seem boring, but having to do 5 weight and length checks per hour, and the occasional machine issue made work little more interesting.
Cons
Forced overtime, having to work shifts that employees with higher seniority didn't want to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, always learning new things everyday
Packaging Technologist (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC27 June 2017
workplace culture: not much diversity
Learn: learnt alot from the job as you work on many things; you gain new experience every single day.
Hardest: minimal support from the head office, no partner to consolidate / give a second look on your work; then if there is a mistake in a big project; it will be a nightmare.
The most enjoyable thing: visit another plants; work more than 1 plant, gaining lots of experience, dealing with many stakeholder.
Pros
always being the first who knows new product on the market
Cons
Long hours, no training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very accommodating and pays attention to employees' needs and complaints.
Live Hanger (Current Employee) –  100 Ethel Avenue, Toronto23 June 2017
Very accommodating and pays attention to employees needs and complaints. Supervisors create a warm and good working relationship. They show respect to every employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Food Safety Quality Assurance Manager - Winnipeg (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB22 June 2017
ML really focuses on work life balance. The company believes in and follows their values that they have set out. I am very proud to work for the company and the only reason I am looking for employment is because my family is moving to Alberta.

One of the best things about the company is the collaboration between departments.

We work hard to produce high quality, safe products while maintaining a fun work place.
Pros
Employee engagement
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old Boys Club with no focus
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 June 2017
The business is being run by a bunch of old, out-of-touch managers that haven't made a real sales call in forever.

Out of touch with product development and economy and expecting growth in a market that is shrinking for everyone. Selling premium products under the tag lines of natural and ethically raised but adding no quality value to consumers.

Sales focus means to pick up any and all accounts based on the Maple Leaf name alone when other companies are developing sales staff and products that help gain market share.
Pros
Wages
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very routine work
Sanitation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB19 June 2017
Fun place with the wide variety of people there. Not so much gun to see the favouritism in management. Good large company but need to enforce the little things
Pros
All the people
Cons
Stuck in doors. Traffic to and from work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not ideal place to work
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB15 June 2017
Work/ life balance can be a challenge as the culture is extremely high-performing; expectations for work load are high" (in 26 reviews)
"Compensation, Limited Career opportunities, old boys club, Very Hierarchical, Very dated systems like BPCS"
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and productive work place environment
Fourth Class Power Engineering Student (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON9 June 2017
A very nice and safe, clean, and productive work place environment with competitive wages and benefits. The people there are very hospitable and educated in what they do.
Pros
Competitive wages and benefits, safe environment if you follow proper procedure.
Cons
Strong smell of spices, weiners, and occasionally waste water.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed the work and the people I met
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB6 June 2017
I was on the evening shft, most time working until midnight or later. I worked with various knives, cutters and saws, both hand held and stationary. I've worked with people of different ethnic origins and even learned how to speak some of their language. It was an experience that i will take with me wherever.
Pros
cafeteria, weekends off, lots of overtime
Cons
company number changes due to weather
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with a diversity in culture
IS Team Lead Operations (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON2 June 2017
A vast majority of days are quite intense, being in charge of the Operations groups assumes that the monitoring of the infrastructure is watched all of the time 24x7. The culture thrives on the organizations zest and good nature. The interaction with the diversity and culture of the organization is the most enjoyable part of the work.
Pros
work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive company
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB1 June 2017
i worked at maple leaf for 2 years as a butcher and i applyed for corporate trainer\ backup leadhand. my duties are making sure the production line is up and ready to operate smooth and efficient. part of my duty is to train other workers on how to de bone ham, pork butts, pork loin and picnic ham. meet with the customers for specific cut of the meat and introduce to the worker. and make sure the yield of the product is low. the hardest part of the job is to deal with other employees to make sure the job gets done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Building not made for humans
Blender opperator (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON31 May 2017
I loved working for Schneider's , but as it got bought out by maple leaf co, I ended up at the new plant in Hamilton. Where it was more machine orientated then people. And it was 10 times harder on the body. The bins that they use for meats are way to high, the lines way to closed in. And the way I was used to blending was meat % then spice, but at maple leaf co. they added the same amount of spice no matter the meat block. I just cant see my self buying that kind of product.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chance to do many different jobs of many trades men overseeing
Third class power and refrigeration engineer (Former Employee) –  North Battleford, SK31 May 2017
Refrigeration plant was overseen....operating and maintenance.I learned the responsibilities and dangers of running an ammonia refrigeration plant. Management was fair. Safety was the culture.Working with ammonia had its challenges but if ppe was used it was quite safe.The various types of maintenance I enjoyed
Pros
Good co-workers
Cons
On call for ammonia plant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work. Uncertain future
Food safety Quality Assurance Technician (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 May 2017
One of the best management to work. All employee benefits are provided. Only problem is the uncertain future. Its very hard to extend the contract positions. Even if u work a lot better and effective the current employees you are shown exit doors at the end of Contract.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team working environment
PRODUCTION WORKER (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB11 May 2017
typical day make easy with team work, and learned how to do multi task with positive managing with all different culture people.
Everyday day busy day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Program Coordinator/ Program Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 May 2017
Project portfolio Management and Reporting Data Analytics and Resource Management
Critical Problem Solving & Analysis Financial Tracking – Change Management
Process Improvement/Reengineering
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harsh
General housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Hannon, ON9 May 2017
They never explain properly they say just do it and to get proper training you have to essentially wing it or they won't train you for being "good" or they will simply say no training if you do poorly even on the first try.
Pros
It's a work out
Cons
Poor treatment of staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON6 May 2017
I worked here for over 15 years and would have retired there if they hadn't have closed down my plant. Great staff and pay and other then having a hard time finding employment after I left there are no complaints.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever!
Millwright (Former Employee) –  Hamilton (Hannon)5 May 2017
Management does not care about employees and the turn ove rate is over 65% , work conditions suck , terrible benefit plan ,worse pension. Run from this job as fast as you can!
Pros
None
Cons
Management, benefits, having to wear plastic all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Production worker/Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB2 May 2017
good place to work and comparative wages and lots of opportunities for new career. Co-worker are friendly and helpful flexible time fro student to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Maple Leaf Consumer Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 337 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4

Maple Leaf Consumer Foods Reviews by Location