Find companies:
Maple Leaf Consumer Foods
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
121 reviews

Maple Leaf Consumer Foods Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was a cold damp and noisey place to work ..
Maintenance Worker/Machine Operator (Former Employee), Moncton, NBOctober 6, 2014
Pros: was a real hands on job, that cause u to think on yer feet as quick as u can
Cons: had to come to an end ..ill miss it
this place was hard going but yet had some good days ..in places it was cold ,so cold ur hands would stiffen in mins and yet there were other spots that were very hot ..in maint we worked in both quite regularly..it was fast pace ..every thing was by the min ..mistakes cost bundles ..was a tough job and i enjoyed doing my part as best i could ..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management, favouritism, lack of communication
General Labourer (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONOctober 1, 2014
Pros: adequate salary, pretty good benefits, employee market
Cons: poor management, favouritism, lack of communication
Supervisors had their favourite employees, most of these employees didn't even lift a finger for the entire shift. Why the supervisors were happier with the employees who did nothing, than the ones who worked hard is still a mystery to me. The supervisors mostly just sat in their office and did nothing, hardly ever went on the floor to see what everyone – more... was doing. The leadhands were even lazier. Job training was not very good, supervisors chose worst people to train new employees, ones that were not very good at their job, who needed more training themselves, Sometimes you weren't sure how a certain customer wanted something to be done, you ask a leadhand or supervisor, they wouldn't know either, lack of communication within the department, sometimes even with other departments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drive for Results
Senior Manager (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: benefits, advancement opportunity, development support
Cons: work-life balance, culture, pay (unless you leave and come back)
Overall a good company with lots of potential which is the Achilles heel point. The philosophy of driving the employees to advance as far as possible up the ladder as quickly as possible neglects to nurture and support the longer term potential of employees, With the 'promise' of high end management positions in short time is short sighted and either – more... good folks get frustrated (cannot have 100% directors in the company people) and leave or they wash out. The company needs to take time to let some workers be, and not paint all employees with the same brush. There are huge cost implications, both tangible and intangible, of constant workforce flux, not the least of which is training time, experience, and true development.
This company would do very well to tier its HR objectives and focus on nurturing long term or potential long term employees who are happy where they are; driving SOME employees to leverage their upper management potential, and finding a solid fit for good, but misplaced workers.

Work life balance is one of the core values, it is not followed one iota. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Health and Safety Coordinator (Former Employee), kitchener, ontarioSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: they closed
Most enjoble part of the job was how rewarding it was. The hardest part was driving machines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administration
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 17, 2014
Typical administrative duties. Travel planning, calendar organization, interpersonal relationships, MS office usage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i work at different locations ad every job i done in the past experience have learn alot of information about each company and it also been rewarding
Assembler n packing (Former Employee), Maple Leaf Food Kitchener ontarioSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: the pros it is a great place to work
Cons: it is a very cold environment .
My job review overall is a great place to work .. co workers are friendly... the job itself is very hard and demanding at times . It is a clean environment . The job entales alot of manual labor. different assembly lines using muti vac and delinkers. In the food industry is very cold environment and also used proper PPE always santize evrything . My – more... review is great love the job .. but it is closing down .. maple leaf foods Kitchener ontario – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive an fun workplace
Shipping/Receiving Labourer (Current Employee), Saskatoon, SKSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: is not long hours
It is warehouse job i learn every day with diferent orders to picking
i am abel to work alone problem solved the hardst part of this job happend wher they are busy like summer time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is fun.
Millwright (Current Employee), Brandon, MBAugust 28, 2014
Pros: training
Cons: week ends work.
Pay is good. Its is fun to work here. Only management have problem with managing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't work there
DZ Driver (Former Employee), New Hamburg, ONAugust 27, 2014
Cons: management
management is the main problem,I was let go after 2 years because I stood up for myself and others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avarage employer, but safe and stable
Maintenance Manager (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONAugust 27, 2014
Be prepared to work hard and don’t expect to hear “thank you” for your hard work. I would recommend this work place for someone who needs safe, long term employment, with avarage pay. It is kind of employer that you could plan your retirement with as long as you don't mind enviroment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Key Person (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONAugust 6, 2014
good place to work, good hours, good people
unfortunately the Kitchener location is closing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Production Team member (Current Employee), Hannon ontarioAugust 4, 2014
Pros: realistic break times
Cons: not any so far
I just started and based on my previous experience in other places,it is more better place to work.Easy to learn tasks and helpful envoirenment.Work schedule is very realistic Monday to Friday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with a strong focus on consumer products
Finance Manager (Former Employee), MississaugaJuly 10, 2014
Good company to work for, over the past 5 years major re-organization has happend which now brings a better focus to the core business, CFP.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people
salaried employee (Current Employee), WinnipegJune 22, 2014
Pros: exposure to new trends
Cons: long hours, off shifts, no family life
company has advancement opportunities, but managment tends to overlook those who have worked long hard hours in favor of family and friends
Lots of politics and uncertainty
SLT tends to favor,
No work life balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for with benefits and advancement
Labourer (Former Employee), Moncton, NBJune 9, 2014
Pros: free meals, medical plan.40 hours, pension plan
Cons: very cold, hard reppetative work
You were very busy so the time went fast and your coworkers were good hard working people. I had a day job monday to friday which made for a good family life
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plant was closing down
Industrial Electrician (Current Employee), Moncton, NBJune 6, 2014
Due plant closing, there was no advancement at all in the position. We worked 8 hrs a day 5 days a week. Carried out breakdowns of automated equipment that were ran by plcs. etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I always enjoyed working for this company because I was working outside mostly and meeting customers and dealing with people!
Territory Manager (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 4, 2014
Pros: company car with fuel and all expenses, yearly bonus, free lunches and great people!
Cons: you are on call 24/7 in case of emergency and there is always some!
Working for Canada Bread was always challenging and there was never really two days that were the same. A lot of daily crisis but I learned how to deal with them and I always surpassed my customers expectations!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never Fun
Labour (Former Employee), Lethbridge, ABJune 1, 2014
Pros: cold environment
Cons: short-staffed often, production numbers too high
A typical day at Maple Leaf? You show up to work and get ready and work on a production line. There are good people, and there are the one who are so two-faced. I have never in my life work with a company where there is so much sucking up to just management.
The life- work balance is very hard. Sometimes when you get the long weekend off, they usually – more... make the employees come in the following weekend. Overtime is pretty hard to get, and yet there have been cases where production gets shut down due to mechanical issues. It's hard to plan your life around this job. Especially when you are involved in a relationship. During the week if there are issues with working short staffed, they want you to stay for the overtime after a 8 hour work day. It was very frustrating to have to be put in that situation. Don't stay, loose extra overtime. They expect you to make the company your number 1 priority, this is because that is what is expected of the management team.
The wages are sub-par, it's designed to keep you grounded. It was almost next to impossible to save money for holidays or travel. Most employers keep the wages low, to keep you as a employee. Makes you feel stuck as a employee. I was glad to get out when I did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours and was cold
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 11, 2014
Pros: good location
Cons: too cold
the management was fine, but it was cold and the hours were way to long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good place to work
Industrial Electrician (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMay 2, 2014
I have a learned a lot at maple leaf consumer food. It has very solid and effective food safety program .

1 2 3 4 5

About Maple Leaf Consumer Foods

Maple Leaf Foods Inc. is a major Canadian food processing company, founded in 1927 as a merger of several major Toronto meat packers.

Maple Leaf Consumer Foods Photos