Maple Leaf Consumer Foods Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Thamesford, ON10 December 2017
i enjoyed going to work everyday sad to see them close the plant down for good, good paying job good benefits job security,and a fast pace job that makes the day go by fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average management style, top driven and less innovative. Aggressive management and culture. Cordial people to work with. Stakeholder management is
Sourcing Director, Capex and MRO Purchasing (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 December 2017
Average management style, top driven and less innovative. Aggressive management and culture. Cordial people to work with. Stakeholder management is difficult. Good ERP system in place.
Pros
People
Cons
Aggressive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Full time Salaried (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 December 2017
Great Leadership
Unfortunately few number of lay offs due to the organizational changes. Other than that great company to work with. Leadership trusts the employees and invest in them
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK23 November 2017
Safety is always the top priority in this company. Every month we have our monthly safety meeting. Where we watch a video and answer questions about safety.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Executive Assistant - Secretary Treasurer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 November 2017
It has been many years since I worked at Maple Leaf Foods. I was only there for a short term contract. I cannot say whether or not I could recommend this place.
Pros
No Pros
Cons
No Cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive to a lots customer
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 November 2017
Im working in maple leaf for almost 10years.. all around in the line to make ham. And to great job to opportunity. Im hard working hard. Good conversation to peoples.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Half and hour
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and time management for work assign to do
Electric hand drive forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 November 2017
In general the environment of the company are well managing for security and food safety produces to satisfy customer requirement and all the employee and management team are cooperative to each others.
Pros
Benefit from each month produces is payable to employee every after 6 month
Cons
Always 40 hours per week shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bullies
Quality Assurance Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 November 2017
Boss was a bully who got great joy out of making my coworkers cry. Even the plant manager was scared of her. Long hours with no overtime and no room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced.
Team Member - RTE Secondary (Current Employee) –  Hannon, ON7 November 2017
As a meat plant, it is a cold environment to work in. approximately 1-3 degrees Celsius, I recommend layers.
Team members are fun to work with, but, you need to have a sense of humour and a thick skin.
Frustration in production is common but some how the team members always get though it.
Pros
Enjoyable, multicultural enviroment.
Cons
A lack of organization and communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst job environment I've worked at.
Skilled Operator (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON3 November 2017
Starting at this place I thought the sky was the limit. However, I reached a ceiling after 2 years. I was told there were opportunities for further advancement, there isn't. There isn't a job higher than my current operator position. The mentality spoken of in orientation and the mentality displayed on the job were far room one another. I've only had 5 jobs in mutt working career since turning legal working age and this is by far the most stressful and unappreciated of my past jobs. Management is terrible, the turnover rate of management and employees is over 50%.
Pros
decent benefits
Cons
No growth, poor management, lack of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place was poorly run
Equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK2 November 2017
Management was so confused most of the time! Personnel changes too often. Starting wages not good, with no advancement in pay. Union was not there for the little guys.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, irregular shifts
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON26 October 2017
I worked by agency. The other emplyees there are quite nice, but the irregular hours can be tough sometimes. Never unreasonable, but you would work a night shift one day, and in a couple days work a day shift. Not very consistent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be good, not so much anymore
Intel Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON25 October 2017
Pros:

Work life Balance
Salary somewhat
Decent Benefits

Cons:

No longer promotes from within on a regular basis; they tend to hire what they need first.
Old boy's club, popularity outshines performance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits are great here.
Production worker (Former Employee) –  Thamesford, ON24 October 2017
Friendly managment and easy going employees. The work is not for the faint hearted or lazy. Definitely the place to work if you want to stay trim. I would still be working here, if part time shifts were available.
Pros
Paid holidays
Cons
Shortage of hours in dept
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is good place to start with
Worker (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON11 October 2017
Very poor management lead to very bad workplace culture. It is definitely not a good place for retirement. The turn over rate is very high. Workers do not get proper training at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Create People
MANAGER, CATEGORY INSIGHTS (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 October 2017
Great people and culture. However there is an unnecessary sense of urgency around every task that impacts work / life balance. High turn-over in marketing and lack of any sort of onboarding which makes learning a new organization more difficult
Pros
nice office, great people, pay well
Cons
lack of onboarding, work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Warehouse Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK9 October 2017
great place to work at, fun and friendly environment, great management. salary is not bad, fixed shifts, being safe and looking out for each other is main thing at the company
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work. Keep looking!
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Hannon, ON7 October 2017
The new Hamilton facility looks nice, but machines hardly ever work due to lack of proper maintenance. Management is terrible, its run by kids that have no idea how to actually do anything. Anyone with any real experience they do manage to hire leaves for better jobs. The union is weak inside the plant since people there only care about themselves. It's a poor choice for a job if you want to have any life outside of work, they expect you to work 50+ hours a week or face discipline for not doing so. So if you value your sanity and life steer clear of this prison like facility.
Pros
a pay check
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people and Great environment
Factory Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 October 2017
I worked 9 hours daily (except weekends). The hardest part was the hours but the best is how friendly and nice everyone was. They are all very welcoming and kind if you have a question or need help.
Pros
Friendly environment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary Job
Production Worker and skill operator (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB4 October 2017
It was a good environmental job.
Flexible hours, organized departments, clean areas.
The hardest part of the job was standing for long hours in a really cold environment and doing repetitive job.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Maple Leaf Consumer Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 392 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4