Find companies:
Manulife Financial
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
101 reviews

Manulife Financial Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disciplined organization that demonstrates a commitment to process and being efficient
Vendor Relationship Consultant (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONOctober 30, 2013
A true blue chip company that affords employees a significant number of opportunities to grow their career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet and productive office environment
Property Administration Assistant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 12, 2013
Pros: great employee moral, incentive activities, volunteer and team building events
An office filled with hard-working, confident, and focused individuals - the perfect place to keep your mind on track. Fun personalities who are more than welcoming to everyone. Not once have I experienced a negative vibe in this office. Management is very understanding and approachable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of documentation to update, very long and old processes, Nice people.
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Kitchener-Waterloo, ONOctober 4, 2013
Pros: working from home
Cons: continue organization design
Organization design the last year has been hard on every team of the company since moving and shifting creates anxiety in a production level making that the enviroment a little tense, but the people here at your same level is fine, I guess every one is living and paddle in the same boat.

The hardest part for the job is actually all those moves making – more... documentaiton incomplete, outdated processes and not reliable.

As BA, that is a hard task but also in the same time is a great opportunity to test your strategy and build your experience, and help your users to have a better application and a easy way to do their job.

The most enjoyable is the fact that you can work from home make that flexible to compensate work and personal life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Investment Analyst, North American Fixed Income (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 25, 2013
Company supports learning, promotes healthy lifestyle, takes good care of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company with fair benefits and salary
Supervisor (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: decent salary, people, opportunities
Cons: long hours, no work/life balance
- Typical day at work is extremely hectic in particular during peak times (Jan to Mar). Very busy and took time to become comfortable with leaving work knowing I may not have completed everything in the day as it can be very hard to keep up
- I learned so much. I have been very lucky within the company and had many great mentors who were focused on – more... helping me succeed. I learned leadership, improved on multitasking and found my voice
- My co-workers are great. They are helpful, supportive and very knowledgeable
- Leadership is the most difficult for me. The leadership style for me and what I am used to within the organization has changed significantly after the re-organization. It's no longer enjoyable and has proved to be an impossible work/life balance.
- All of the opportunities I have had as been the most enjoyable. I have had the opportunity to work with so many different people from so many areas, and I'm truly grateful for that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for telecommuting
Business Systems Analyst / QA Specialist (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: telecommuting
Develop testing strategies. Performed Competitive Analysis. Learned Competitors' Life Insurance products. Management allowed me to be self managed, so little interaction. Co-workers relied heavily on my results. Many co-workers received great accolades and rewards with my help. Hardest part and most enjoyable part of the job was finding solutions for – more... competitor analysis – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my time there
Executive Assistant, Compliance Division (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONAugust 27, 2013
Great place to work. I worked in. A great department with great people. It's just too bad my contract was cut short.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, knowledgable and a great place to grow within the company
Office Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 18, 2013
Pros: the location and work hours
A very busy productive day.
Learned about team work, the company, how to multi-task, to work in a busy environment.
Management was great.
Co-workers were very nice, proactive.
Sitting at a computer all day.
The work, locations and staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manulife is a good place to work
Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 2, 2013
friendly working environment
limited exposure to financial instrument
strong insurance product development
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Sector
Control-M Administrator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 31, 2013
Learned about the investments market and how it works for Manulife to make them successful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Certificate Administrator (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONJuly 31, 2013
Pros: good pay, benefits and vacation
Cons: management
The Company as a whole is great, The Management is what sucks as they are suppose to encourage employees and promote a healthy work environment. Instead they make you feel like a child and take every opportunity to show it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract Positon
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONJuly 4, 2013
Pros: free lunchs
Cons: on contract
Currently on contract with this company. I work hard and take pride in what I do but I am looking for full-time but it seems they will just keep extending the contract. Not the greatest when you I can not receive benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promoted to Senior Contract Specialist - Group Insurance in 1997
Client Set-up/Implementation Specialist (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 24, 2013
Medium size company. Maritime Life was acquired by Manulife in 2005.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of volunteer opportunities. Great colleagues.
Supervisor, Direct Sales (Former Employee), Toronto.ONJune 10, 2013
Pros: stable, large employer.
Cons: somewhat limited mobility.
Typically, the day began as soon as, or before I removed my coat.

I loved the many chances I was given to support and foster performance improvements, new personal bests and win-win outcomes for both clients and advisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work, fun and enjoyable with the right challenges and rewards
New Business Associate- ILC New Business (Former Employee), 25 Water Street, KitchenerJune 4, 2013
Pros: excellent team, personal environment and team manager always a pleasure
Cons: no real cons perhaps only with salary
Came to work organized and ready to work. I prepared myself for my daily tasks and ensured all work was completed on time and in a proficient manner. There was a daily task to issue upwards of 30 life insurance policies daily and would strive to achieve, always going above and beyond the daily requirements.
Was involvement in training development amongst – more... our team, held regular meetings with staff to work out problem issues they faced, find solutions and have them organized and synchronized with the rest of the team. Was highly challenging but rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manulife has flexible work hours, many locations and a lot of opportunities
IS Project Manager (Former Employee), Waterloo, OnMay 29, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: lots of overtime
Lots of variety, open to process improvements, great people to work with, sense of team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
HR Data Compliance & Privacy Specialist (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMay 9, 2013
Great Company to work with. I like to be part of this setup. It gives opportunities to people to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weekly brunch ordered by our project manager
Junior Business Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 6, 2013
Pros: location - downtown, 10 am start
Cons: salary
I would be assigned multiple projects by my project manager through a ticketing system once the request for change was initiated by a person. Once the project was assigned to me, I would go to SMEs and gather requirements and ask them questions about the details of new business process. Mostly, I would go to interview clients with senior business Analyst. – more... I learned alot from her as she taught me tips and trick on how to become a subject matter expert yourself once you discuss requirements with clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy company with high but reasonable expectations
IS Infrastructure Integrator (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMay 2, 2013
Manulife is a great company that has a very high energy environment that is very progressive. I would definitely work with Manulife again as the environment provides challenges that are reasonable within tight timelines that pushes you to be the best employee that you can be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work if your looking for a warm atmosphere with chance of advancement
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), WaterlooApril 24, 2013
Pros: pay rate, break schedules, free lunches, amazing training
Cons: no support, not a warm atmosphere from management or staff, not enough time to complete callbacks for members.
I didn't have the same kind of experience some of the reviews listed have. I found there was very little support from management in regards to questions or concerns. In fact they spent more time talking down to myself and several colleagues then helping us succeed for them. Now we were all contracted, and reminded of which quite often, also reminded – more... how they don't hire contracted people... Perhaps this is why we were treated differently. I found most of the staff very helpful, but we were not allowed to seek their support and would infact get in trouble for asking for it. Definitely could just use more support, and be more warm and empathetic to their staff... Would be sufficient changes to make it a much better contracted placement... – less

About Manulife Financial

Manulife is a leading Canada-based financial services company with principal operations in Asia, Canada and the United States. – Read more

Manulife Financial Photos