Manulife Financial Employee Reviews

Found 194 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive atmosphere
Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS20 March 2017
strong international opportunity
riske management
cross training
work from home available
Time out team tries to make the workplace fun
open door policy with management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Lots of Lerning and very fast paced environment
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON12 March 2017
Usually I found, Days at work at Manulife been very busy, active and lots of learning. typical day at work with lots of issues with system and report does give you challenging environment to achieve the daily deadlines but at the same time it turns out be an opportunity to learn and grow and deal with achieving daily deadlines under stress, how to deal pressure, how to accurately meet management expectation and how to improve process and documents the flow to deal the similar situation in future.
Pros
Good benefits, workign from home option
Cons
Lot of over time, high turn over
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
QA Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 March 2017
The culture of this is great and everyone I worked with was productive. Lot of support to do work as well to improve in career.
Learned new skills and produces more work than expected.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Internship
Social Media Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 February 2017
Working at Manulife was a great experience! I learned a lot and made meaningful connections. Even though it was a two and a half month intership the growth that I had achieved was extordinary. An opportunity I wont forget!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious, but friendly.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON27 February 2017
Very typical office environment for a company of its size. Tall management structure, with large teams at the bottom. Metrics are used to determine efficiency at all levels from middle management down.

Company culture was not maintained organizationally, but individually -- modern, open-concept office allowed teammates to be social, and feel included with he rest of the team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Supportive environment and awesome workplace
Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 February 2017
Its been a great experience at Manulife with an awesome team and management. Helps build your technical skills and provides with the opportunity to learn and enhance your skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 February 2017
Good company;
Option to work from home;
Canadian departments encourage health and wellness;
TTC accessible;
Cafeteria on site;
Great company location.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work, little pay for contract
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 February 2017
Good work and life balance, however, very little pay if you are a contract. Not lot of creativity in work. Work can get very boring if you do not learn new things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for.
Group Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 February 2017
Team Player.
Friendly environment
Workplace safety is administered
Learned a lot about the Insurance industry like benefits, policies.
Co workers are always willing to help out each other with deadlines to meet.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistance
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON22 January 2017
All day looking for information in order to resolve questions and problems to the clients
Learned how to deal with clients in a professional way
Pros
Customer Service experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work..I enjoyed working there..
Cash Management Administrator (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS17 January 2017
I enjoyed working at MANULIFE and the people I worked with..it was a very comfortable atmosphere.
Our department was being deleted from Halifax and that is the only reason why I am not still working there..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would rather not survey at this time
Plan Implementation Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 January 2017
I would rather not survey at this time due to not wanting to be surveyed at this time. Thank you for your understanding.
I will gladly do this at another time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to maintain work life balance
Senior Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 January 2017
Fast paced, which is great!
Difficulty in getting solid direction
Due to worldwide locations we are often working odd hours in order to accommodate the time zones
Always on call
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
IT Support (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 January 2017
good place to work, great colleagues, good work life balance. corporate culture but good benefits. experience depends on the group you work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment and people
Sr QA Analyst (Former Employee) –  2550 Victoria Park Ave, North York, ON M2J 5A99 January 2017
This job gave me knowledge which helped me a lot in my next job. The management and co-workers were great. The hard part was i didn't knew much about mortgage at that time and that was tough for me but after learning it it's so easy.
Pros
lunch and learn
Cons
Not really
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manulife Financial was an excellent place to work in.
Travel Claims Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 December 2016
The people were friendly to work with and the variety of work welcomed.

I worked daily with AWD queues. I would check my work entered in the queue by the Supervisor and work in date order.

I learned how to work with an AWD queue and about the travel claim industry. I highly recommend obtaining travel insurance for every trip taken.

Management was friendly and caring.

The hardest part of the job was not having any phone work as I worked mainly from the AWD queue.

However, it was very interesting to learn a new aspect of office work being the AWD system.
Pros
Independence, regular meetings
Cons
Having no access to phone work with customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is no typical day
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 December 2016
There is no typical day as an EA, you must always be ready to respond to the needs and wants of your team. You must also be able to anticipate what is coming down the pipeline in order to head off problems before they become problems.
Pros
good work life balence
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexibilty
Senior Compensation Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 December 2016
Manulife is a great place to work. I enjoy that they allow and trust their staff to work remotely. This allows for great life balance. I have more time to do the things I want, instead of spending additional hours on the road into the office.

Manulife is well known in the community and the volunteer opportunities are endless.

The people at Manulife are mostly friendly and social. Even though we work remotely, we still speak to each other on the phone or through Skye each day.
Pros
Work Remotely
Cons
Dated Systems
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Mixed Bag
Brand Marketing Analyst (Current Employee) –  500 King16 December 2016
Manulife is what you make of it.

If you are the type to show up and shrivel behind your monitor, you will not have a good time at Manulife, because nobody is going to force you out of that.

The people are all so wonderful and so helpful, there are social events happening all the time, there are so many great causes for you to get involved in and flex time is amazing.

So it can either be a place where you thrive and expand your realm of experiences or it can be the place where you sit in a grey box and work all day.

It's totally up to you.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forward thinking and customer oriented work place with bright minded employees.
Quality Analyst Administrator (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON15 December 2016
The flexibility of work time is a very positive pros about Manulife.
I have learned to always put our customers first in whatever decision we plan to make, as they are the core of our business.
Pros
Flexible work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Manulife Financial. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 228 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7
92%

CEO Approval

Based on 53 ratings
Add your rating