Find companies:
Manulife Financial
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
69 reviews

Manulife Financial Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for with advancement
Group Benefits Customer Service (Former Employee), waterloo, ontarioMarch 19, 2014
Just a temporary placement. it was an ok place to work for. I would work for them again if I had the chance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great ORIGINAL Co-workers
Business Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 19, 2014
Pros: long hours if you don't want to go home
Cons: long hours if you want to go home
Loyalty to the company (aka old elephants) in no longer an asset, Honest opinion is not the best policy, pro-active gets you in trouble, Some Street management style is "my way or the highway" States. Outsourcing is bad, since if projects fails, the resident employee is held accountable and not the outsource company. Extreme changes in technology, either – more... technology upgrades is waited till the last minute, or biting more than can be chewed on newer ones. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The team I worked with was the best!
Underwriting Case Coordinator/Issue (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 18, 2014
Cons: very far to travel to work every day..
Loved my job and all the people that I worked with!! It was a very productive and fun workplace...
at times extreme pressure and tight deadlines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique role with interesting learning opportunities
Analyst (Asset Liability Management, Strategy) (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 11, 2014
- Helped to faciliate the ALM teams strategy goals
- Managed an Excel model for investment demand
- Management was very helpful and provided great advice
- Co-workers were friendly
- Hardest part: first time working in the insurance industry, lots of new terminology and concepts
- Most enjoyable part: was given a lot of reponsibility with one major – more... project – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Contract Specialist (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMarch 5, 2014
Great culture, excellent opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great management that focuses on bettering thier employees
Disability Claims Case Manager (Former Employee), Toronto ontarioMarch 2, 2014
Pros: great management, good people and strong focus on work life balance
Cons: seniority structure for promotions.
for the two years that with worked with Manulife, I was supported in my career as well as my educational aspirations. They provided me with ample coaching to perform the job I was hired to do and was one of the most enjoyable experiences I have had working
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was always productive with a chance of working new skills.
Software Developer (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioFebruary 17, 2014
It was a very good experience working at Manulife Financial as the seniors (trainer and other co workers) were very supportive and I had the opportunity of learning new things and also expand my possessed knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad experience - E & E Valuation Project
Senior Business Analyst (Consultant) (Former Employee), 500 King Street North, WaterlooFebruary 13, 2014
I worked at 500 King, Waterloo for 2 months as a Business Analyst, it was the worst experience in my 25 years career. I have a banking and technology background. The AVP hired me knowingly that I did not have any insurance experience. But from the very outset my PM disliked me and every time I asked her questions she told me why don't you think, I found – more... her very condescending. I complained to the person who hired me but he did not do anything. So I decided to terminate my contract, at this time the AVP terminated my contract on the same day, I was working from home that day, he did not want me to come back to their building. I had to bring their laptop to my agent and pick up my personal belongings from my agent. This made me feel like a criminal. I find the way I was treated by the PM and AVP very inhuman. I don't recommend anyone to work for E & E Valuation Project at Manulife. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
having fun at work place
Junior Business Analyst (Former Employee), toronto, onFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: good company to work with
Cons: not much
its a pretty cool place..you will be relieved but doing duties on time..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Exactly Temp-Friendly
Temporary (Former Employee), Waterloo, OntarioFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: clean building, great cafeteria, location on the transit line, nice people
Cons: rigid corporate command structure, lots of paper documentation, disorganized leadership
Worked as a temp a while back during a project of theirs. Very disorganized and unplanned. Project manager did not think before making decisions, which caused more problems for the project. When asked if I wanted to do another project with them, I said I had other assignments which was a lie. Told my agency never to send me there again.

Corporate structure – more... is very old-school financial institution, still using a lot of paper documentation and having a style of management the employees must not deviate from.

It was not all bad. People in general were nice and they had a well-staffed cafeteria. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toronto Head office for US Divison
Claims Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto ONJanuary 26, 2014
process work pulling from the queue, emails, inquiries

interacted well with all levels of employees

learned all I know about processing claims, including handling rival claims without formal training

liased with our Investigative Services, and seeing how some cases unfolded

hardest part of the job is not being recognized for the full workload of – more... the desk – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing atmosphere, you are free to go for lunch, but you must be responsible for time taken
Contract Position - Implementation Specialist (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONDecember 29, 2013
Pros: you are given all the tools that you need to do your job, relaxing environment
Cons: pay is not adequate for the responsibilities given, not easity recognized for your contributions
A typical day is to underwrite a case, answer phone, interact with other departments such as Finance, Accounting, Marketing, deal with customers over the phone, allocate funds to accounts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Building Operations(Alberta)
Building Operations (Former Employee), Calgary, AlbertaDecember 10, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: see above
I do stress that being in building operations in this part of Canada with little experience, you are setting yourself up for failure.
I personally have not been so disgusted by a bunch of adult employees, the way they treat newcomers/juniors.
You can not learn anything in particular without being treated like a little child or an uneducated fool.
The – more... Building Operations line of work is horrible. Many people have come and gone, no movement in this company. Stay away. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun with different teammates
Business Process Associate (Former Employee), Quezon City PhilippinesDecember 5, 2013
Pros: free seminars
Cons: night shift
Free business writing and e-mailing workshop was conducted in our office. I have met different types of personalities among the participants within the office and have learned the importance and tips of writing accurately and professionally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disciplined organization that demonstrates a commitment to process and being efficient
Vendor Relationship Consultant (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONOctober 30, 2013
A true blue chip company that affords employees a significant number of opportunities to grow their career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet and productive office environment
Property Administration Assistant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 12, 2013
Pros: great employee moral, incentive activities, volunteer and team building events
An office filled with hard-working, confident, and focused individuals - the perfect place to keep your mind on track. Fun personalities who are more than welcoming to everyone. Not once have I experienced a negative vibe in this office. Management is very understanding and approachable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of documentation to update, very long and old processes, Nice people.
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Kitchener-Waterloo, ONOctober 4, 2013
Pros: working from home
Cons: continue organization design
Organization design the last year has been hard on every team of the company since moving and shifting creates anxiety in a production level making that the enviroment a little tense, but the people here at your same level is fine, I guess every one is living and paddle in the same boat.

The hardest part for the job is actually all those moves making – more... documentaiton incomplete, outdated processes and not reliable.

As BA, that is a hard task but also in the same time is a great opportunity to test your strategy and build your experience, and help your users to have a better application and a easy way to do their job.

The most enjoyable is the fact that you can work from home make that flexible to compensate work and personal life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Investment Analyst, North American Fixed Income (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 25, 2013
Company supports learning, promotes healthy lifestyle, takes good care of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company with fair benefits and salary
Supervisor (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: decent salary, people, opportunities
Cons: long hours, no work/life balance
- Typical day at work is extremely hectic in particular during peak times (Jan to Mar). Very busy and took time to become comfortable with leaving work knowing I may not have completed everything in the day as it can be very hard to keep up
- I learned so much. I have been very lucky within the company and had many great mentors who were focused on – more... helping me succeed. I learned leadership, improved on multitasking and found my voice
- My co-workers are great. They are helpful, supportive and very knowledgeable
- Leadership is the most difficult for me. The leadership style for me and what I am used to within the organization has changed significantly after the re-organization. It's no longer enjoyable and has proved to be an impossible work/life balance.
- All of the opportunities I have had as been the most enjoyable. I have had the opportunity to work with so many different people from so many areas, and I'm truly grateful for that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for telecommuting
Business Systems Analyst / QA Specialist (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: telecommuting
Develop testing strategies. Performed Competitive Analysis. Learned Competitors' Life Insurance products. Management allowed me to be self managed, so little interaction. Co-workers relied heavily on my results. Many co-workers received great accolades and rewards with my help. Hardest part and most enjoyable part of the job was finding solutions for – more... competitor analysis – less

1 2 3 4

About Manulife Financial

Manulife Financial Corporation is a Canadian insurance company and financial services provider. Manulife Financials global head – Read more

Manulife Financial Photos