Manitoba Public Insurance Employee Reviews

Found 20 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and pay and that is it.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 November 2016
The only thing that is great about MPI is the benefits and pay. There is an uneven distribution of work between departments. Work life balance did not exist with me, working multiple hours of overtime without compensation was expected by some executive staff. The most enjoyable part of my work day was the people I had the pleasure of working with everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Call Centre Representative (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 July 2016
great place to work, great people! room for advance.
easy shifts to work, although you are always employed as temporary part time and unless there are positions to apply for permanant, you will have to wait 2 years to attain permanant status, at least thats how it was when I worked there.
Pros
pay, benefits, pension
Cons
hired as temporary at beginning
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable job
Clerk Typist IV (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, Manitoba15 March 2016
Stable work environment for a large company. Good benefits and pension plans. After first year, 2 weeks vacation. After 10 years, 4 weeks vacation.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work with
Clerk Typist 3 (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 August 2016
Fast pace environment
Management is always there to help with your professional growth
Co workers are nice
Fun place to work with
Helps promote career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to Work!
Network Administrator/Internal Help Desk (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 July 2016
This was the best place to work. Friendly staff, Friendly Manager and great advancement opportunities. I worked in a small team and had tons of resources to my disposal. Very supportive staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job with good pay and benefits
senior case manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg Mb.15 April 2014
I dealt with the public dealing on a one to basis with serious injuries which caused serious disruption in peoples lives and their family situations and dynamics. The work was challenging but I learned to deal with most any type of situation. I had to be empathetic of their situation but had to deal with the situation in a professional manner and help them out as best I could with in the limits of their coverage and the companies mandate.

The hardest part of the job was dealing with child fatalities or very serious child injuries. You dealt with people for long periods of time
and you got to know the families.

The best part of the job was seeing how well people recovered.

MPIC staff was great and |I still remain friend with some of them.
Pros
good pension and benifits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people
Claims Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, Manitoba9 December 2013
A nice environment to be around. You have the support of management to proceed with Education. Management will help you find what you need when you need it.
Pros
Good salary and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supervisors
CCA1 (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 October 2013
supes/mgmt are a nightmare. co-workers are great.
mgeu is great. great benefits/training
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, nice management, nice staff to work with
Clerk 2 (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, Manitoba16 October 2012
When I first started I was trained on their IWS system through in house course module training.

I learned a lot more about MPI.

Management was wonderful, always factual in their constructive critsisms if required. They were never mean or derogatory.

Co-workers were great, always ready to listen to questions and answer them promtly. It was quite a team environment.

The hardest part of the job was leaving it when my term came to an end, otherwise I had not one complaint.

Most enjoyable part of the job was that you were given the job to do, explained what it entaled, with always somebody there to go to for questions or problems.
Pros
excellant working conditions, people, management, hours, the pay, just about everything. i told everybody i knew that mpi was the best place i had ever worked at.
Cons
the cons were just one, my term was to short, 9 wks, and i can't collect ei, and i couldn't get another job with mpi.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnign experience
Driver Records and Suspensions (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 September 2015
this job was a job placement through Medix school i learned a lot of interesting facts as a Medical Office Assistant The staff there was very helpful in guiding me on the right path.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manitoba Public Insurance
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg18 June 2014
A typical Day would be Shift work, we were required to arrive early and load our programs. Generally we used about 6 programs for different Claims, and also we had a online manual for any questions that may arise.

Once a Week I would have a meeting with my Supervisor to review my progress and assess if there were any areas that needed to be improved on.

My Co-workers were excellent, my desk was next to someone who had worked there for 10 years and he was very helpful when I needed help on complicated Claims and likewise I would do the same for him.

The most enjoyable part of my Job was the Environment, it was a comfortable environment and very friendly people to work with.

One of the hardest parts of my Job occurred after my car accident and I was unable to sit for long periods if time, however with intensive care on my neck and shoulders I am able to return to work.
Pros
Staff Meetings and the ability to usually Trade Shift with other co-workers
Cons
Early 730am Shift Start (I commute from Winnipeg Beach)
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization and great working experience.
Clerk 2 (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, Manitoba24 October 2014
This was a great company to work for. The managers were great and friendly. I could easily go to my manager with any questions or concerns I had. The job was a term position with no chance of getting hired on no matter how well you performed was a little bit of a let down, however the experience and skills I gained were great. The variety of duties made going to work fun and enjoyable every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fast-Paced Environment
Clerk 2 / Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB20 February 2014
MPI has many positive and upbeat employees, but job security in regards to term employment proves to be very difficult and challenging. It take A LOT of patience.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Above Average Work, Friends & Extra Curricular Activity Enjoyed
Data Entry (Accounts/Payable-Budgeting) Clerk (Former Employee) –  Downtown Winnipeg, MB26 November 2011
Busy interesting work helping people with Insurance
Great Toastmasters Club 1989 to 1997
Company paid education training helped me learn effective skills
Great Lifetime friends coworkers
Pros
great accounting, payables, budgeting team i learned from-caring staff
Cons
to be treated like a person more
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience working in a crown corporation
Strategic Consultant (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, Manitoba4 June 2014
Typical day includes meetings with executive to develop and revise strategies and direction based on corporate expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work atmosphere
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 March 2014
- receive my next project to complete in Excel
- I learned a great deal of Excel and analytical thinking techniques
- managers and co-workers were very busy but were easy to talk to and had lots of knowledge to share
- learning to use Microsoft SharePoint was the hardest part of the job
- working in Excel, creating spreadsheets with tables and charts
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg12 August 2014
Was provided with exceptional training
A great resource and support system was in place while you get started
Getting a full time position would take a long while
Pros
Company treats its employees well
Cons
Full Time not available for a long while
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The staff in my department were great to work with.
Clerk Typist II (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB3 May 2012
A typical day consisted of typing from dictation from the Adjusters. Working with the staff was the most enjoyable part of the job and it was a great place to work.
Pros
team work.
Cons
nothing.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced work environment with public contact.
adjuster 1 (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg MB25 February 2013
Handled accident claim files for insured motorists to completion.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report

See more Manitoba Public Insurance reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
4.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8

Manitoba Public Insurance Reviews by Location