Major Drilling Employee Reviews

Found 17 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Le domaine du forage d'exploration. A été tranquille. Quelque d'année.
Contremaître de forage (Former Employee) –  Contremaître13 May 2017
Bonne entreprise. Mais le domaine à tombe tranquille. La je me cherche quelque chose de plus stable
Pros
On voyage beaucoup
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low skill nightmare
labourer torture victim (Former Employee) –  Alberta27 January 2017
This company condones bullying and expected me to work with a broken rib. After discussing this situation with the health and safety guy nothing transpired. Forced to quit and seek medical attention, I was down and out for 3 weeks. Major Drilling was not concerned for my well being nor were they concerned about getting me back to work or paying me on time. Getting paid was its own battle.

No training, no PPE, no raincoats really? Lousy accommodations.
No locking out equipment to wrench. Lack of tools and supplies.
Straight up haywire operation.

Do yourself a favour and get into core drilling, stay away from exploration.
Pros
a few good men for sure
Cons
terrible line of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great managment, your hard work was reckognized and appreciated.
DIAMOND DRILLERS ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Timmins, ON27 January 2017
Typically a 10 foot section of core would be extracted with wire line approximately every hour. My day would consist of switching inner tubes and emptying core from the extracted tube. Although I had some freedom between drill runs it was my job to keep the drill area and supply pump clean and well maintained. I would also operate a robotic rod manipulator to extract and stack the drill rods in 30 foot sections during bit changes.
Pros
Got good experience operating rod manipulator, and got very proficient with hand tools (ie pipe wrench)
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They have favoritism, relative or a good buddy of someone!
Diamond Driller (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB9 November 2016
If you see something broken don't report it cause you will get the blame...if you see something and try to fix it you will probably get written up ...the company needs a complete overhaul....the devoted gets the short end while others gets the work...
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great work environment
Surface driller (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 August 2016
great company to work for, enjoyed my co-workers and got along with upper management well. I would definitely work here again. Wages were to my liking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Like it, but its not for everyone
Helper (Former Employee) –  international6 April 2016
Great place to work when its busy, Employees are like a family. but like any drilling company, your gonna have your slow times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Employer
Underground Diamond Driller Helper (Current Employee) –  Snowlake25 September 2015
Excellent company to work for. Great benefits and wages. A typical day consists of pulling rods, changing drill bits, and relocating drills underground. Excellent supervision, along with training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day
Inventory Controller (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 February 2015
data processing relating to inventory dept

in 38 years i learned about the historical software systems

management always gave me the freedom to learn and create

co-workers were complimentary about each others abilities

the hardest part of the job was the quality of data at times

the most enjoyable part of the job was my freedom to create
Pros
freedom to create
Cons
quality of data at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your a diamond driller
Diamond Drillers Helper (Former Employee) –  Flin Flon, MB23 January 2014
Get up, eat, go to work, get back, eat , wash , sleep, repeat. Alot of learning, you are the managment, if you wanna sit behind a desk and push pencils this is not the job for you.
Pros
Money
Cons
Time
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging
Head Mechanic, Canada, Africa,South America,Europe (Current Employee) –  Various locations around the world16 October 2013
The most enjoy part of the job is working with my co workers and dealing with all the challenges.
Pros
Exciting new places to see
Cons
Economy always controlling the market
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Diamond Drill Helper (Former Employee) –  ontario29 August 2013
liked working for them, lots of hours good pay. everything got fixed right away.
Pros
lots of hours
Cons
laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Employee (Current Employee) –  Moncton, NB2 August 2013
Good company when times or good but not so much when times are bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Drillers Helper Mining Industry-Fulltime (Former Employee) –  Thompson, MB7 June 2013
good communication.supervisors helped in every aspect.was a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome management
Heavy Equipment Operator-Driller Helper (Former Employee) –  thunder bay19 May 2013
Major Drilling was a very hard job as i would be away from my family for weeks, Long hours ,Awesome team work ,the hardest part of my job was to be away from my family ,the best part was the friend ship that i made
Pros
good people to work for
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stong based company
Rig Labourer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 January 2013
Higher safety policy and stong values and very well organized, work is 12 hours nights or days
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
drilling in the arctic, competative salary.
Driller (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife, NT10 September 2012
work in arctic , heliportable drills, drilling in extream temp,
using calcium in water to avoid freezing , drilling in permafrost.
Pros
good company, nice boss, nice camp.
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 8Report

See more Major Drilling reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Major Drilling. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 48 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0