Magnesita Refractories Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Team Lead/Machine Operator/Press Maintenance (Former Employee) –  York, PAApril 18, 2016
Great pay, rough schedule no time for family and training program was not set up for people to florish, the guys that worked for me were great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly skilled people
multi task maintenance (Former Employee) –  York, PAFebruary 26, 2016
i was in maintenance for 1/2 a year. many very knowledgeable people work here. grafite dust everywhere is much finer than talcum powder and has silica in it. bag house was vented indoors due to epa regulations. management was not willing to fix the problem and that was where i drew the line. except for that i didn't mind going to work. i learned a lot here
Pros
lots of technology and challenging work
Cons
deadly fine dust bad to breathe
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No oppertunities to move up unless you are willing to move
Materials Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 22, 2016
In the position I have you work on the sales/services group as a contractor on the customer's site.

General Inventory Management, Added HR/QC/Safety/Purchasing responsibilities due to the nature of the business and not being at the corporate office.

They are a good company, they try to do the right things.

I just don't have much room for growth because I don't want to move.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Accounting Coordinator (Former Employee) –  York, PAFebruary 3, 2016
Too much work for people employed. Company keeps downsizing.
Co workers were fine.
Management does not listen to their employees.
Hardest part of job was the point that they were always changing the way things were done.
Most enjoyable was people I worked with
Pros
flex time
Cons
too much work, not enough people
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, shifts can be rough depending on dept
MultiCraft Maintenance (Current Employee) –  York, PASeptember 28, 2015
Hard work, dirty job but keeps you thinking. Constantly troubleshooting and learning. Co-workers are a great when asking questions.
Pros
Good Co-workers, people care, great benefits and pay
Cons
Shifts-some weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Engineer (Former Employee) –  York, PADecember 9, 2013
Worked here for a short period of time. Pay was good, hours were reasonable, and the people were especially nice.
They have a number of vacancies because they're located in a remote area, and their expectations can sometimes be unreasonable and turnover somewhat high.
Pros
pay, hours, facilities
Cons
brazillian-run it dept was overbearing and counterproductive
Was this review helpful?Yes21No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with good people
multicraft mechanic (Former Employee) –  York, PASeptember 19, 2013
Magnesita was a decent place to work.Although it was a very hot and dirty environment it was nice working with talented individuals.Management was trained and sort of indifferent to individual needs.The hardest part of working there was the extreme heat and the dirty air.
Pros
benefits
Cons
very hot and dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Magnesita has been great!
Materials Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Jackson, TNJuly 8, 2012
My typical day begins with doing inventory and meetings. I then do 3 different reports during the morning. The rest of the day I usually am working on orders to suppliers and setting truckload shipments up.

I have learned a great amount of the steel industry. I never imagined learning so much about the chemistry and how steel is made.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No9Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5