MAGNA Employee Reviews

Found 40 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working experience
Loader (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON10 February 2015
Hands on work environment, fast paced, work independently, load car parts and ensuring quality control, lots of overtime, competitive salary
Pros
Fast paced work
Cons
Factory closed suddenly
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
paint line inspector (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ontario15 January 2015
I worked as a student, therefore got student benefits and worked for 3-4 months. The work area is always busy, and it is loud and very fast paced. The overall experience was great, worked with people that had high authority as well as seniority.
Pros
Experience, people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid like the ebola
Machine operator (Former Employee) –  Penetanguishene, Ontario21 October 2014
I started working for a company with a temp agency. Everything was going great until Magna bought the place!! I was fired for being too slow. I was praised on the work I was doing before it was bought. Now all of a sudden I am too slow??? I really feel sorry for the full time staff there. I was early to shifts, took less then was allowed for breaks and this is what I get... MAGNA SUCKS!!!!!!!
Oh I forgot to included I have a disability so I am not able to run like a chicken with my head cut off. (injury to ankle so have a limp)
Pros
Got a free tshirt :)~~~
Cons
get fired if a temp for no good reason!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we have soccer fill and soccer team , golf event every year
Assembly Line Worker , inspection (Current Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON29 September 2014
Every day working with hourly rotation , make easy and enjoyment , new day always bringing something new always learning something new , never born , from team leader to G. M we have a great time we are one team one family , one big family try work best like one harmony , nothing is to hard when team work together , we working hard and smart , line is open , station is follow workers is close and a lot fan , happy family !
Pros
we have great food in cafeteria for good prize !
Cons
8 hours with one 15 min. break and 25 min lunch some area have overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NS15 August 2014
very busy place...lots of stuff to do all the time...working on an assembly line can get a bit boring after a while but we kept it fun
Pros
great people
Cons
it closed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
QUALITY CONTROL INSPECTOR (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 July 2014
if you plan on working on a production line, than you should mentally prepare your mind into performing physical work the entire shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
agency temp
Machine operator (Former Employee) –  concord9 April 2014
Work through agency no long term employment pay very low for type of work.co workers get along
Pros
co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work for
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 March 2014
it is made sure that everyone is provided with safe and healthful work environment
communication between all level of the company is encouraged
Pros
great team work enviroment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job was tedious
General Assembler (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, On26 January 2014
Overall I did not like this position, management was brutal and didn't look for the best of interest for there employees.
Pros
Breaks
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid management
Designer/Analyst (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON16 January 2014
Fully productive orientation; not a suitable place for a CAE Engineer
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at Magna
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON25 November 2013
Went in to work checked board to see which lines were running and where I would be that shift.Heavy Duty line was great,knowing how to do every job on the line meant being rotated every 2 hours.Therefore the night would go fast.We would meet with the shift supervisor and find out if there were any quality checks to watch closely for and they would tell us our standards that would have to met for that shift.The safety data sheets would have to be signed before running any machines. Sometimes I would have to train a new operator on a machine or different operation. Co-workers were not always the same
person.Worked as a team to train new people and make the production run smooth. It was difficult when there were new people came, alot of people were different nationalities there fore making it difficult to understand but it was a learning experience and very rewarding because alot of them were so greatful to be able to learn the proper way of doing things having the right teacher.Team leaders were happy with my way of training people the proper way. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people meeting the standards and quota for the day. Made it all worth while
Pros
overtime, fastpaced
Cons
Layoffs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long days
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  North Sydney, NS14 October 2013
long days workin on production lines and alot of bouncing around from job to job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to go
Auto Assembly Operator (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON10 September 2013
A good pay company with a lot of overtime opportunity. I signed up most of the overtime, soon I bought a house. It is the highest salary I have made in Canada.
Pros
Supervisor will offer pizza when team reached the production goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON1 April 2013
i learned how to be really quick at putting things together.most of the bosses were nice.The other nice.The hardest part was being on a slow line after being on a fast one.The most enjoyable is trying to beat my record with no defects.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok to work
CNC and Lathe Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Concord, ON4 March 2013
• Operated CNC machines and loaded and unloaded parts( input shaft) , minor machine offsets, minor tool changes, debarred, measured and documented quality records
• Compared numerical displays with process sheet data to verify dimensional adjustments
• Studied various manufacturing processes and techniques
• Set controls and regulated speed, feed, coolant flow and angle of cut
• Developed processes and procedures for personnel with similar responsibilities
Pros
pay for the break
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best paying company in southern ontario
tool maker (Current Employee) –  southern ontario13 October 2012
Pretty decent place to work. Employees are friendly and team oriented. Same as anywhere that is non union. Managements way is the only way!
They get us to wear the golden handcuffs with their good pay. Hard to leave.
Pros
employees. clean and safe.
Cons
management. shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its fun while working, great colleagues
Production Operator (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 September 2012
Best workplace to work in. Surroundings are so clean and unpolluted.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain experience on Mezak Machine
CNC machinist/ Operator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 June 2012
I have been working for this company and find it very good for having experience in machinig on vertial and horizontal CNC machine.

Like the enviroment and the safety policy.
Pros
good management
Cons
less margin of error
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON16 April 2012
liked working there meeting new people and learning new jobs daily
Pros
full time
Cons
night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

See more MAGNA reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MAGNA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 268 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4