Find companies:
Magna Powertrain
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34 reviews

Magna Powertrain Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and supportive work place
Materials coordinator, ICD (Current Employee), Mississauga, ON, CanadaMarch 7, 2014
Challenging time bound work.
Learned to meet time lines.
Supportive management.
Supportive co-workers.
Supplier issues.
Flexible break time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
IT Administrator (Former Employee), Concord, ONOctober 14, 2013
Highly recommended company, enjoyed working here in 2012!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start with and enhance your abilities
CNC ROBOTIC MACHINIST (Former Employee), Concord, ONJune 9, 2012
A good start with helpful people working around you, Lots of new things to learn. Fast paced environment with different kinds of work going on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was the best place to work
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYJuly 29, 2014
Pros: everyone was there for one another
It was a very busy place to work all my co-workers were always helpful and there if I needed them. My boss was always checking on my to make sure everything was good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Supply Chain Intern (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYJuly 5, 2014
A great experience overall. If the company didn't leave the area I would have tried to pursue a career there after I graduated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND GREAT LEARNING
Assembler (Former Employee), East Syracuse, NYJune 19, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: stressful work
THIS WAS A GOOD PLACE TO WORK. WITH GREAT PEOPLE. UP TO THE DAY THEY SAID THEY WERE CLOSING. THEN IT BECAME A HIGH STRESS JOB.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with happy co-workers.
Machine Operator (Current Employee), Muncie, INMay 1, 2014
Pros: birthday cakes every month, easter for kids, thanksgiving dinner, turkeys, cookouts, christmas parties for adults and kids, gift cards, profit sharing
Cons: not fair in the work place, some managment has there favorites, not given many chances to advantance.
The best thing about Magna, is the people. Management treats you like a human, not just another body that they can get someone else off the street. Typical day would be going to my cell or area and get machines running and keep them running throughout the day. Keeping and checking parts for dimensions specified. Make changes as needed. I have a co-worker – more... that helps keep them running while I take breaks, so they run all day long. Hardest part of job is if we have problems with a machine or two and fight to keep them going. Overall there is not a bad job in the workplace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Factory Work as a Manager in a Union SHop
Evening Plant Manager/Supervisor (Former Employee), East Syracuse, NYMay 1, 2014
Pros: challenges
Cons: management was not very professional
Typical Day, Meetings

Learned, Unions, Contracts, Customer Satisfaction, Machining, and Assembly Operations.

Management, DIfficult and Ruff

Co-Workers Excellent Workers

Hardest part-Union Environment

Most enjoyable - Learning process improvement and KAZAN
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay & advancement opportunities, but upper management is unorganized
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Sterling Heights, MIApril 28, 2014
Pros: good pay & plenty of ot
Cons: hot in summer, cold in winter, & unsafe all year long! it is unorganized and uppermanagement does not follow through (lies).
Good company (overall) but the management at the Sterling Heights plant is unorganized, they do NOT follow up or follow through (lies), and HR is not consistant! The pay was good, with plenty of overtime. The people were good to work with but the culture needs to change starting with upper management! The facility is hot in the summer & cold in the – more... winter. There are so many unsafe practices at the Sterling Heights facility! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place with high noise level, non-flesh air
Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee), Aurora On, CanadaFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: friendly, respected workplace
Cons: job security
Most time worked on production line to find opportunities to make improvements.
Management have too much non-efficient meeting.
All co-workers are helpful and friendly.
The hardest part of job is to identify root causes of problem.
The most enjoyable part of the job is when I resolve a problem.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work for
CNC Set-up Technician (Current Employee), Sterling Heights, MIJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: to many hours
I make sure all machine stay running and do what ever it take to keep it running, troubleshooting , working on different projected that come up. I have learned how to reteach different kinds of robots.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Magna provided a safe and clean enviorment
Production (Former Employee), Muncie, INDecember 19, 2013
Pros: management and the oppertunity they provided to learn new skills
Cons: wasn't allowed to hire on as full time
Magna was a nice clean place. I hired in under Staffmark and unfortunately was laid off twice and did not get seniority. I enjoy factory work and was disappointed when they closed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work with a great hard working group
Factory Worker (Former Employee), East Syracuse, NYNovember 17, 2013
Pros: team work and made good friends
Cons: heath care
I enjoyed working in a factory because there was a lot of team work and we got to know one another working 8 hours a day sometimes 7 days a week. Everyone helped each other so that was a good thing working here. There wasn't any hard parts of the job. I learned a lot from my supervisor's they showed us how to do the job and keep up pace with everyone – more... else in a safe manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity- Manager lacked management abilities!
Corporate Recruiter (Contract) (Former Employee), Troy, MINovember 13, 2013
Pros: great people!
Cons: upper managerment shoudl take a look at who is in charge, a lot closer.
Loved this job, except for Manager. Lacked management abilities. Loved the Hiring Manager and people that taught me so much while contracting at company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very challenging yet rewarding job. You learned alot about the manufacturing busniess.
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Muncie, INOctober 26, 2013
Pros: fast pace, opportunity to grow in the company.
Cons: when machines would go down and you couldn't meet your quota for the day.
My typical day at work would consist of operating my machine I was assigned to and making sure I met my quota each day to meet customer needs and requirements. I learned alot about the manufacturing business and how it operates. How to operate CNC and Lathe machines and how to adjust certain setting on the machines. Your co-workers and management was – more... always readily avaliable when you needed them. The hardest part of my job would be when my machine would go down and I would have to wait on maintanence would have to come and fix it. Then we wuld get behind on customer orders. The most enjoyable part of my job would be how fast paced it was. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too much outsourcing
Machine Operator/Assembler (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYAugust 23, 2013
with no regard to local workers poor management and outsourcing led to complete shutdown and sale of property, which at one time employed over 4,000 workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited manufacturing movement
Manager, Materials Planning & Logistics (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYMay 9, 2013
Pros: premier employer on resume
Cons: long hours
- limited sites for career advancement
- unfreindly culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
magna
Senior Support Analyst (Former Employee), East Syracuse, NYApril 10, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: communciation
a lot of work. Not enough communication
excellent salary
flex time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but very friendly atmosphere
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYApril 4, 2013
Pros: meeting alot of different people
Cons: hard working overnight
I went to work there expecting a office job and layoffs started within a week. I was working production and I would much prefer to work with families and children than staying up for the 11pm to 7am shift. People were great. Supervisors were great. Benefits were very good for the time I spent there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced manufacturing plant employing up to 4 k employees
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), East Syracuse New YorkMarch 4, 2013
Pros: the challange to do emergency repairs on equipment.
Cons: when you need a repair part and the o.e.m. tells you it is weeks out
Maintenance background, directing between 15 and 75 people on a 3 shift 24-7 work week. Typical day consisted of ordering parts, beginning and end of shift meetings with maintenance and production, and coordination of scheduled and emergency repairs of machines and facilities equipment

About Magna Powertrain

Magna Powertrain is not a charter to restrain the tyrannical power of a high-speed bullet train -- the name is purely automotive – Read more

Magna Powertrain Photos