Find companies:
Magna Powertrain
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Magna Powertrain Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and supportive work place
Materials coordinator, ICD (Current Employee), Mississauga, ON, CanadaMarch 7, 2014
Challenging time bound work.
Learned to meet time lines.
Supportive management.
Supportive co-workers.
Supplier issues.
Flexible break time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
IT Administrator (Former Employee), Concord, ONOctober 14, 2013
Highly recommended company, enjoyed working here in 2012!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start with and enhance your abilities
CNC ROBOTIC MACHINIST (Former Employee), Concord, ONJune 9, 2012
A good start with helpful people working around you, Lots of new things to learn. Fast paced environment with different kinds of work going on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place with high noise level, non-flesh air
Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee), Aurora On, CanadaFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: friendly, respected workplace
Cons: job security
Most time worked on production line to find opportunities to make improvements.
Management have too much non-efficient meeting.
All co-workers are helpful and friendly.
The hardest part of job is to identify root causes of problem.
The most enjoyable part of the job is when I resolve a problem.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work for
CNC Set-up Technician (Current Employee), Sterling Heights, MIJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: to many hours
I make sure all machine stay running and do what ever it take to keep it running, troubleshooting , working on different projected that come up. I have learned how to reteach different kinds of robots.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Magna provided a safe and clean enviorment
Production (Former Employee), Muncie, INDecember 19, 2013
Pros: management and the oppertunity they provided to learn new skills
Cons: wasn't allowed to hire on as full time
Magna was a nice clean place. I hired in under Staffmark and unfortunately was laid off twice and did not get seniority. I enjoy factory work and was disappointed when they closed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work with a great hard working group
Factory Worker (Former Employee), East Syracuse, NYNovember 17, 2013
Pros: team work and made good friends
Cons: heath care
I enjoyed working in a factory because there was a lot of team work and we got to know one another working 8 hours a day sometimes 7 days a week. Everyone helped each other so that was a good thing working here. There wasn't any hard parts of the job. I learned a lot from my supervisor's they showed us how to do the job and keep up pace with everyone – more... else in a safe manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity- Manager lacked management abilities!
Corporate Recruiter (Contract) (Former Employee), Troy, MINovember 13, 2013
Pros: great people!
Cons: upper managerment shoudl take a look at who is in charge, a lot closer.
Loved this job, except for Manager. Lacked management abilities. Loved the Hiring Manager and people that taught me so much while contracting at company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very challenging yet rewarding job. You learned alot about the manufacturing busniess.
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Muncie, INOctober 26, 2013
Pros: fast pace, opportunity to grow in the company.
Cons: when machines would go down and you couldn't meet your quota for the day.
My typical day at work would consist of operating my machine I was assigned to and making sure I met my quota each day to meet customer needs and requirements. I learned alot about the manufacturing business and how it operates. How to operate CNC and Lathe machines and how to adjust certain setting on the machines. Your co-workers and management was – more... always readily avaliable when you needed them. The hardest part of my job would be when my machine would go down and I would have to wait on maintanence would have to come and fix it. Then we wuld get behind on customer orders. The most enjoyable part of my job would be how fast paced it was. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too much outsourcing
Machine Operator/Assembler (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYAugust 23, 2013
with no regard to local workers poor management and outsourcing led to complete shutdown and sale of property, which at one time employed over 4,000 workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited manufacturing movement
Manager, Materials Planning & Logistics (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYMay 9, 2013
Pros: premier employer on resume
Cons: long hours
- limited sites for career advancement
- unfreindly culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
magna
Senior Support Analyst (Former Employee), East Syracuse, NYApril 10, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: communciation
a lot of work. Not enough communication
excellent salary
flex time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but very friendly atmosphere
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYApril 4, 2013
Pros: meeting alot of different people
Cons: hard working overnight
I went to work there expecting a office job and layoffs started within a week. I was working production and I would much prefer to work with families and children than staying up for the 11pm to 7am shift. People were great. Supervisors were great. Benefits were very good for the time I spent there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced manufacturing plant employing up to 4 k employees
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), East Syracuse New YorkMarch 4, 2013
Pros: the challange to do emergency repairs on equipment.
Cons: when you need a repair part and the o.e.m. tells you it is weeks out
Maintenance background, directing between 15 and 75 people on a 3 shift 24-7 work week. Typical day consisted of ordering parts, beginning and end of shift meetings with maintenance and production, and coordination of scheduled and emergency repairs of machines and facilities equipment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with a great team.
Engineering Manager - Assembly (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: coworkers and the products we were building
Cons: comapny decision to relocate the operation to mexico
Every day began with a "fire drill" to find the hot spot of trouble. Protect the customer and get a quality product out the door. Management team was very knowledgeable and skilled in performing their roles. Enjoyed all my coworkers, they were quite a diverse group of people. Hardest part of the job was when conflicting reqirements required hard managerial – more... decisions and the individual managers took the decisions personally when they did not get the support they were demanding. The most enjoyable part of the job was going to work every day and striving as a team to meet deliveries and expectations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
vert productive place with no reward
machine op/set-up (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYJanuary 27, 2013
Pros: discounted vehicles and parts
Cons: the new company changed many things
A good place to work until the plant was sold. The management wanted everything for nothing. My co-workers were great people to work with until the plant was sold. Morale was very low. the hardest part about the job was having fun. the best part was knowing that everything was going to work itself out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with many areas to excel
Heat Treat Technician (Former Employee), Syracuse New YorkNovember 8, 2012
A typical day at work would consist of daily logs that had to be checked, Troubleshooting instrumentation and Furnaces. Making sure operatore were present for duty and areas of operatin were clean and neat. Moving oils and gases as needed. Testing parts for serviceability. Checking furnace process for correct recipies. Keeping supervisor and upper managemant – more... aware of any problems encountered – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place closed
Assembly Line Technician/Set-Up Person (Former Employee), East Syracuse, NYNovember 7, 2012
It was a job, but morale was terrible due to the impending plant closure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MAGNA LIES TO IT'S WORKERS
Mechanic (Former Employee), East Syracuse, NYOctober 20, 2012
Magna lied to all of it's people in Syracuse NY.
They closed the plant never intending to stay in NY.
Beware of MAGNA
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
machine repairman
Repairman (Former Employee), East Syracuse, NYSeptember 7, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: company moving to mexico
Repaired and maintained industrial production machines.

About Magna Powertrain

Magna Powertrain is not a charter to restrain the tyrannical power of a high-speed bullet train -- the name is purely automotive – Read more

Magna Powertrain Photos