Magna Powertrain Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working and safety is priority
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 November 2017
I enjoyed a lot and learned to work on automated stations.Job was highly paced and we have to work precisely and fast.Environment is very friendly and heloing.
Pros
extra break in high temperature. quarterly BBQ
Cons
no security for agency workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work and learn new things
CNC Operator (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON27 August 2017
I like to work there people are helpful there they give two to three days training and they do not force to you to learn quickly which is good thing.
Pros
helpful people
Cons
not a fixed time for break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, not paid enough
Project Engineering Assistant (Internship) (Former Employee) –  Fluid Pressure and Controls Group21 May 2017
This review is specifically for Magna Powertrain Fluid Pressure and Controls group in Concord. This is a good group of people, but the compensation isn't where it needs to be to get enough talent onto the team. Typical cubicle atmosphere and multidisciplinary work force attached to a manufacturing centre. Overall this was a good place to work.
Pros
Decent work/life balance
Cons
Low compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Material Handler, assembler, shipping/receiveing (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 February 2017
very good job good people didn't have the shift that i needed so had to leave overall the job was very straight forward and all of us employees would help each other out when we came across something we weren't familiar with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Productive as well friendly
CNC Set-up Operator (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON29 January 2017
With my loud and clear voice I want to say about best experience at Magna
- Learn a lot how to operate CNC machine and setup
- love all team member working with me. They all very friendly and willing to teach me no matter how busy they are.
- Management is good as they understand staff members working under them.

Overall 5 Stars all the way...
Pros
Good management, salary, a lot to learn
Cons
I did not found any..hope fully not in future
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Magna Powertrain was a great place to work and have fun.
Assembler, Divison (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON8 October 2016
At Magna Powertrain it was a life lesson, it taught me a lot. It taught me that its hard to make money and you need to work hard and succeed. It was a great environment to be around. Everyone were team-players. A typical day at work was having fun and doing a lot of work and that was really enjoying.
Pros
Great Environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i learn to operate amd work on different machine such as pressing machine and washer, CNC machine.
assistant machine operator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 September 2016
I learn so many things in this job about machine, how to deal with the people of different country. I also learn to manage the production of the company in hour.its good job but i have to left this jov because my college is started.
Pros
get knowledge about different products of company.
Cons
sometimes i have to lift the blanks which is too heavy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Machine Operator/Assembler (Current Employee) –  Rexdale, ON9 May 2016
Good Hands on Training,good management,Team Work ,Nice,Enivronment,Diversity of people. I learned the streamline production work and the continuous process improvement method.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
manager (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 November 2015
good co-workers, exciting work, lots of variety. Magna is well respected as an OEM. Work is slowly moving out of Canada to low cost countries so can be demoralizing at times.
Pros
good place to work in general
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Concord27 August 2015
I work with genuinely nice people. Most have a strong work ethic and sense of fairness. My immediate supervisor is a great mentor.

The company offers very good benefits and compensation.
Pros
Learning opportunities
Cons
commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, good training p[rograms, safe work place
Engineering Group Leader/Launch Manager (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 July 2015
It is nice company to work with, safe work place, good pay, with nice people, good support from management, and one of the best companies I have worked.
Pros
Safe work place, nice people
Cons
management above division level made decision to close the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable learning experience for those willing to search for it
Engineering Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ON20 February 2015
Uni-motion Gear, a division of Magna Powertrain was a positive work experience. There was ample opportunity from all major departments at the facility to take on meaningful and challenging projects. Many of the managers, embraced my ambitious attitude and made sure that I was always involved in a project that utilized my fullest potential. In general, the vast majority of fellow employees and managers were easy to work along side, and provided guidance when needed, and recognition of results.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industry leading organization
Advanced Purchasing and Business Development (Former Employee) –  Troy, ON1 January 2015
Magna Powertrain is a premier supplier for the global automotive industry with full capabilities in powertrain design, development, testing and manufacturing. Offering complete system integration sets us apart from our competitors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the company was a welcoming company
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  rexdale18 September 2014
nice co-workers and great supervisors, easy fast paced jobs, friendly co workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity and nice culture
MAFACT LEAD/Tooling Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON21 May 2014
This company is very good for career and can provide a good technical and management experience with the chances to learn new skills and explore the existing skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON11 March 2014
Fast paced working environment. Professional in their approach
Pros
Excellent co workers
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and supportive work place
Materials coordinator, ICD (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON, Canada7 March 2014
Challenging time bound work.
Learned to meet time lines.
Supportive management.
Supportive co-workers.
Supplier issues.
Flexible break time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all benefit provided by management
CNC Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 March 2014
good company,

You can submit your idea to develop and growth of company.
management train frequently to employee and employee are always aware to their responsibilities.
Pros
feel free to explain your idea
Cons
short hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place with high noise level, non-flesh air
Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee) –  Aurora On, Canada20 February 2014
Most time worked on production line to find opportunities to make improvements.
Management have too much non-efficient meeting.
All co-workers are helpful and friendly.
The hardest part of job is to identify root causes of problem.
The most enjoyable part of the job is when I resolve a problem.
Pros
Friendly, respected workplace
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
IT Administrator (Former Employee) –  Concord, ON14 October 2013
Highly recommended company, enjoyed working here in 2012!
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 11Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Magna Powertrain. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 159 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6