Find companies:
MAGNA ELECTRIC CORPORATION
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

MAGNA ELECTRIC CORPORATION Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company to work for at all.
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee), Kearl LakeAugust 15, 2014
Pros: the flights to kearl are nice
Cons: everything else.
Worked at the Kearl Lake project. Project was disorganized, never had any materials. Constantly having safety standowns. Was even threatened of site suspension at camp no pay for all of Magna.

They don't care about the employees. They have maybe one HR person for the entire site who does payroll and apprentice services. They promise to sponsor apprentices – more... and then never do. They pay '2 tiered' apprenticeship wages, meaning that depending on how experienced they 'think' you are you may be payed a discounted rate.

Supervision is young, inexperienced, disorganized and generally completely inept at their jobs.

If you choose to work for them best of luck! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company
electrical tech (Former Employee), regina. skApril 10, 2014
Cons: broken promises, lies, terrible working conditions travel constantly
If I could give this company less than 1 star I would, they promise the world and never deliver, employees are used and abused.

They take all the profit and do not invest back anything into the company.

Supervisors do not have a clue and are not qualified. They offer incentives and say you will receive an evaluation but they dont follow through.

Managers – more... encourage brown nosing and backstabing

The worst company i have ever worked for, don't even think about applying here – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really good conpany
electrician supervisor (Current Employee), wood buffalo regionApril 6, 2014
Pros: place for growth
Cons: fast track jobs
Funny how all the negative reviews come from people who were laid off, join Magna and see for yourself you will not be disappointed, if your a good worker with good work ethics, if you beleive in respect in the work place and like realizing great projects with nice challenges then This is the place for you..there's huge opportunitys for growth. Go ahead – more... send your resume and see for yourself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vindictive and doesn't care
Project Manager (Former Employee), WinnipegMarch 27, 2014
Pros: learned a lot about how a company shouldn't be.
Cons: had to represent them at times knowing they were wrong.
Total cut throats, they'll make any promise to get something and turn their back and ignore you right after. They don't plan ahead and when a job ends you're let go. Only friends of friends tend to stay or get called back or unsafe workers. If you're not a cut throat or willing to work unsafe or cut corners than don't apply at magna. They continuously – more... try to manipulate overtime and ask you to work straight time to save money, the manager gets a bonus for saved money you won't Even if they promise it! The manager all too often charges nights on the town to the jobs and the workers pay the price with tighter job lines and no money remaining, regularly cut off at suppliers too. This isn't an opinion, I was a project manager there and seen how corrupt and heartless they are internally, as long as upper management can blame someone they're happy. I quit just in time im happy to say, their offers wanting me to return were rejected so they laid off any of the guys who would be considered my friends as pay back. My advise to anyone thinking about applying there, sell rotary dial phones they have more security than Mec. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need a pay cheque in between real jobs? One stop shop
Seasoned electrician (Current Employee), Conklin areaDecember 9, 2013
Pros: shift
Cons: no benefits, lack of skilled management, low than avg pay, consistent lying.
This company has major management issues. They will lie to you just to coax you to work for them and then when you arrive you find out from your new co-workers what they promise is bs. Once you receive your paystub the truth stares back at you. You ask your supervisor/PM who in turn blow you off and tell you to call the construction manager that tells – more... you to talk to your supervisor :-/
Then you find yourself on indeed searching again. Basically the pay is lower than any CLAC company, no benefits but if you somehow get an option the plan is horrible (maximum 600$ expense for prescriptions). There's no retirement plan or pension. Advancement is not what you know it's who you know or how good you are at BN. In all honesty I'm doing you a favor by telling you to keep looking. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Shop Technician (Former Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 26, 2013
Cons: my trainer was on his computer more than he taught me anything
I got laid off after they gave me a contract for an apprenticeship.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive experience
Manager (Former Employee), SaskatchewanMay 24, 2013
Pros: good social environment
Cons: growing fast and often have to play catch up
The company was good to work for, I was in middle management but had to leave for family reasons. Work schedule was flexible, they are understanding of family commitments, and the pay/benfits were fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worest company ever
Electrician (Former Employee), Estevan saskMay 21, 2013
Cons: lies, pay out of own pocket till you get paid
This company treats there men like dirt.. You wanna be treated like jut a number you will get that there.. And it's not just magna it's there head hunters.. As t-works industrial also lied to every guy that works for them telling you there will be it hrs when thee is not. Hidden clauses as to why they don't pay your travel allowenance.. And missing – more... pay dead lines or not paying your loa(which comes out of your pocket first. This creates a hostile work place where ever one is miserable.. Good luck if you work for either of these companies – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT WORK FOR THIS COMPANY!
Assistant Controller (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKMay 1, 2013
Cons: too numerous to mention
Unfortunately I wasn't able to submit the review with zero stars which is exactly what they deserve. Complete lack of professionalism, backstabbing, immaturity, discrimination, favoritism, unfair salary compensation, no annual reviews or salary increases for those that do the work, lack of confidentiality, different policies for every employee based – more... on favouritism, poor work ethics, hostile working environment, unethical behaviour of all sorts, all of which were known and condoned by HR, I could go on and on. If all of the above traits describe you, by all means apply because it will be the perfect environment for you. Otherwise, run as fast as you can and find a respectable company to work for! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enthusiastic work enviroment
Safety Advisor (Current Employee), Sask Power, Boundary Dam, Carbon Capture ProjectApril 16, 2013
Pros: good work schedule
Cons: young crew
MEC is a good company to work for. Lots of up and coming young supurvision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volatile workplace. Explore at your own risk.
Journeyperson Electrician. (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBMarch 13, 2013
Pros: challenging work
Cons: total lack of support.
I had the unfortunate circumstance of dealing with toxic individuals and hopefully things will get fixed over there soon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not what i thought it would be
Industrial Electrician (Current Employee), Rocanville, SKDecember 14, 2012
Pros: camp is excellent, food is great.
Cons: long shift/ incompetent management
no benefits until 3 month probation period, which wasnt worth waiting for. management doesnt understand how to run a job properly or listen to reason. Never enough material or tools to do work on site. wages are too low. flights not paid for appretinces, journeymen get flat flight allowance (not chartered) that wont cover anyone but the closest workers. – more... Managament does not stand behind their employees and will not reimburse flights when they are bought in advance and then the work shift is changed. 20/8 shift is far too long and employee morale is so low, management and workers drop out in the dozens each shift. Multiple apprentices had major trouble getting their hours counted towards their school after coming to Magna. Terrible, terrible company to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
COULD NOT GET ENOUGH
Project Manager/Estimator (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJune 24, 2012
Pros: very good communication
Cons: no complants
EXCELLANT TO WORK FOR. A LOT OF GOOD PEOPLE. I ENJOYED MY TIME AT MAGNA ELECTRIC
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for
2nd Year Apprentice (Former Employee), Esterhazy SKMarch 7, 2012
Pros: great management
Cons: job ended
I really enjoyed working for this company, and I would go back in a heartbeat.I gained alot of really good experience working for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Experience, Very Stressful and no reward for performing
Engineer (Current Employee), ReginaJuly 13, 2014
Pros: easy to leave on a friday because nobody else is there
Cons: too numerous to mention
This company is poorly managed and thrives on promoting people who brown nose and are incompetent. There is a different set of rules for everyone and they always re-nag or break promises for raises.

The owners have no integrity and do not set a good example. You can gain some experience if you don't mind having work dumped on you with no direction, – more... then blamed when the job goes poorly.

Supervisors and mangers are incompetent and simply milk the company for overtime that they do not even work. – less