Maersk Line Employee Reviews

Found 18 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regular Business Workplace
Operations Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 January 2017
Regular business hours
Co workers are great
Hardest part of the job was silo thinking.
The people were the most enjoyable part of the job.
A lot of train provided.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free wifi
bosun/pumpman (Former Employee) –  worldwide10 September 2016
very good people to work with,very friendly and easy to work with them.good environment free wifi.good ship well maintain. allontment always on time,no delay thats the most important.
Pros
free wifi
Cons
long hours (dependable)
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they have good condition ships with gymnasium onboard
Deck Crew Ratings (Current Employee) –  On-board a ship26 August 2016
Working on-board provides attractive salary but the risk, danger, and psychological effect to seafarers not to mention the love ones left at home is not worth the pay. Everyday is routine, wake up at your watch, do maintenance. Life is so precious and has a lot of possibility, I realize it working at ship when I think of things that I can do and plans I have made what unfortunate about it is that I am bounded by the metals of the ship. Every 3 months a Captains contract ends which is the arrival of the new one and so the management change, what is good to the previous might be unpleasant to the new one. We are doing all our best as a Crew to finish our contract and looking at each other to be safe and go home alive and in one piece. As a Seafarer all of my job is tough my environment is tough but the hardest of all is complying with all the regulation of the sea and ship that even the act of common sense is being questioned. Visiting different countries is fun but when you realize that its not possible to go ashore then disappointment is your feeling most of the time.
Pros
everything you need is provided on board
Cons
after every vessel assignments is also the end of all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience, gained alot of knowledge with the crews.
Deckhand (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL18 July 2016
I bounced around many boats, and was able to pick up valuable lessons from experienced crews. I was able to travel, passed through the Panama Canal, and sailed to Nova Scotia a couple of times. Panama was definitely the highlight of my time with Maersk. I would love to see more of the world through this career. I thought the world of our captains, officers and deck crews. The weather is rough on the Grand Banks, but I've worked outside my entire life, it comes with the job. I would like to get back onto a time on/ time off routine again. Maersk also provided me with several courses, FRC being the big one.
Pros
Some travel involved occasionally
Cons
Wish I had started earlier on
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people to work with
Client Services Specialist, Inventory cordinator (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC27 May 2016
Enjoy the break with colleges; stable working environment; but less fair promotion opportunity, even a big global company.
Pros
finish work and go home, 24hrs opening
Cons
hard to promote
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Loss Prevention and Quality Control Officer (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC5 August 2015
The right blend of challenging work in a fun and friendly culture can be hard for most companies to perfect. But according to me, Maersk is not like most companies. People at Maersk get a lot of responsibility and they’re known for going the extra mile and get paid well for it too.
Pros
Free lunches, coffee, good salary
Cons
work-life balance, stressfull
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Management and Great people to work with
Dock Worker & Building Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC28 July 2015
When I first moved to Canada, this was my first job and I have learnt a great deal about receiving, maintaining, handling and shipping of inventory and supplies. There was a great team environment and an amazing supervisory staff.
Pros
Clean environent, high safety standards
Cons
Irregular hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a great time working here.
Yard Operations Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC30 January 2015
I coordinated a 40 door cross dock and helped coordinate the full trailers and ordered the MT trailers, while maintaining a yard full of containers. Also dispatched out our local guys and helped with the maintance of the shunt and shuttle trucks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Logistics Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga22 October 2014
Management was great.
Wished it was full time.
Co-workers were great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company
3rd Engineer (Former Employee) –  worked on their gas fleet8 October 2014
slow promotions, but excellent working environment, professionally managed,
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy, friendly work enironment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, Ontario4 October 2013
lots of customer contact, relationship building, autonomy
Pros
good benefits and salary
Cons
shrinking industry, out sourcing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Corporate and Customer Service Oriented
Call Centre Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, Ontario13 September 2013
Mostly answering inbound calls from Clients and problem solving.
Pros
Good pay and benefits. Job security.
Cons
Long hours, very stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Counter balance forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 August 2013
Amazing people that work at Maerk. very laid back and relaxed atmosphere where you are not feeling rushed to get your job duties done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able seaman
ABLE BODIED SEAMAN (Former Employee) –  ON SHIP13 April 2013
I have worked as a ABLE BODIED Seaman at MAERSK SHIPPING COMPANY i have completed more than 36 months of seaservice. i have learn all the navigation operation as well as cargo operation , it was a gd contract period for me i worked thr for 9 moths or depending on my contract like for 6 months as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its good
ABLE BODIED SEAMAN (Former Employee) –  Denmark, NS4 January 2013
its good to work with those brtish guys.we always do maintenance job.
Pros
free accomodation and the transportation
Cons
at sea always
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its good to work with the british people
able bodied seaman/helmsman or quarter master (Former Employee) –  Denmark, NS4 January 2013
wrking with the british people is cool and good.i've learned also thier values and the're life style.my co worker is good also.i love to owrk with thme.
Pros
free accomodation and the transportation
Cons
at sea always.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Canada10 August 2012
Great experience , excellent customer service and teamwork
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Maersk Line reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Maersk Line. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 460 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9