Macdonald Youth Services Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Youth care practitioner (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB6 February 2016
Working with youth is great, unfortunately the staff are extremely unqualified. In fact most are only a few years older than the youth they are charged to serve. The youth deserve more than the organization provides
Pros
Working with youth
Cons
Low pay, unqualified management and staff
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respite worker
Respite Worker (Former Employee) –  The Pas, MB4 January 2016
I have been Respite worker since 2007 and I kept going until 2014 I worked with kids with all ages, worked full time weekends if i got called in it was great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want experience this is a great place to get it!
youth care practitioner (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 May 2015
It's a great place to work to gain experience. There's multiple fields and different areas to work in with potential to upgrade. The hours in my position were not great and the salary was low for the amount I would work. But it was an open and friendly environment.
Pros
The experience and the people you work with makes the job worth it.
Cons
the hours and pay were not that great.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Work, Comes at a Price
Youth Care Practitioner (Former Employee) –  Thompson, MB18 March 2015
MacDonald Youth Services is a commendable place to work, they provide support and care to both their clients and their staff. Training is readily available and given, and the men and women who work there are all highly devoted to their kids and mission.

However, due to the nature of the work, burnout is often experienced due to stressful situations when dealing with youth and the shortage of people available to do this type of work. It's very easy to lose your equilibrium and either your home, school or work life is likely to suffer.
Pros
Very laid back, excellent pay, gaining relationships with kids
Cons
Demanding hours, lack of staff and emotional stressors due to nature of working with troubled youth.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Youth Care Worker
Youth Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB3 December 2014
Provide care for youth clients in a level 5 group home setting
Assist with de-escalation of harmful behaviors using crisis intervention skills and Non-Violent Crisis Intervention when necessary
Support individuals with various life issues
Teach basic life skills such as proper personal hygiene and money management
Accompany and monitor clients on home visitations
Transport and supervise clients to appointments, errands and daily activities
Administer medication
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting some of the best youth ever.
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  winnipeg,mb1 May 2014
I oriigally started in MYS so that I could asssit and support young people that did not have the same opportunities that I have.

The best part of my day is seeing the young people that we care for. The next best thing is hearing from staff who had a moment with the youth they were working with that made a differnce in their lives.

The people that work in this line of work for the most part are dedicated and loyal caring individuals.The work they do is hard and sometimes can be very challenging with very little ackowledgement of immediate sucess.
Pros
Great opportunity to work to make a differnce
Cons
long hours/ salary low
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Youth Care Relief Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 April 2013
A typical work day consisted of taking the youth out for activities, cooking for the youth and other staff members and being a positive support to the youth. Management was fair and supportive. I learned crisis intervention skills, counselling skills, problem solving and decision making skills. Co-workers were friendly and fun to work with. The hardest part of the job was dealing with a youth who would be disrespectful towards you when you were trying to help them. The most enjoyable part of the job was being a postive support in a troubled youth's life.
Pros
free meals
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and meaninful work
In home Respite Provider (Former Employee) –  winnipeg, manitoba14 October 2014
A typical day working for MYS involved being present at my assigned homes for shifts ranging from 8-12hours. Working with foster children between the ages of 1-12 years of age within foster homes. Helping the children with basic needs such as homework, preparing meals, following before and after school routines, as well as administering medication. I was the only staff per shift within a home assisting the foster parent when present. The hardest part of the job was learning, understanding, and accepting that not all the children can be helped beyond their basic needs. The most rewarding part of this job was watching a child grow and excel under your care and guidance. This made this the most satisfying and worthwhile job in my life to date.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
traveling distance
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At home respite with foster kids.
Respite worker (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB2 October 2013
While doing respite you get to know the child or children you are working with. If the child has severe A.D.H.D or fettle alcohol syndrome the job can get hard but being able to help people and work with them to show them that they are cared for is worth it.
Pros
knowing you're helping a family and or child in need
Cons
Dealing with children can at times be difficult
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace
Youth Care Worker (Former Employee) –  St.Pierre, MB27 May 2015
-Taking the girls out to their appointments and daily activities was entertaining
-Learned how to cope with high stress workplaces
-Co-workers were fantastic and so easy to get along with
Pros
Had fun days with the girls
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away
Youth Care Practitioner (Former Employee) –  winnipeg16 September 2013
Good place to get lots of experience in a short time. Lots of gossip among co-workers. Management gives little support after a crisis. The youth can be very violent. Not a good workplace and little job security. There are better agencies to work with.
Pros
free food
Cons
bad management, HR is unsupportive, bad co-workers, low pay, high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes31No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good night when the youth showed respect toward staff.
Youth Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 March 2013
It was good when the youth listened to what you had to say. However it was bad when another staff would interrupt while speaking to the youth.
Pros
free food
Cons
bad co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fourth Year Student Placement
4th Year Student Placement (Current Employee) –  Thompson, MB24 March 2014
I was a forth year student, it was voluntary placement.
I shadowed Clinical Case Managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not to talk about
Youth Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 July 2012
i thank God i worked with them the are wonderful like their client than staff.
Pros
diplomatics
Cons
be careful always
Was this review helpful?Yes3No16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN JOB BUT CAN BE HIGH STRESS
Youth Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB24 November 2012
GREAT JOB FOR THE YOUNG PROFESSIONAL. GOOD PLACE TO GAIN EXPERIENCE
Pros
free lunch
Cons
high stress at times
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.4

Macdonald Youth Services Reviews by Location