Mac's Convenience Store Employee Reviews

Found 518 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working place to meet new people
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 May 2017
this place was real fun to work with all mixed people which led me to meet new people every day and I learned that it can be an interesting task, but the owner of the store was a dissatisfied guy who never had a smile on his face.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB18 May 2017
its a good place to work and gaining some experience owner has a great attitude with employees easy hours pay is also good I really enjoyed the job experience in macs
Pros
break time
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night-shift Customer service representative
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ON17 May 2017
Start of my day i serve customers for a short while than as it slows down i proceed to stock and face the store wiping down all surfaces and machines.

I've learned a great deal of time management and human relations as a clerk to customer. for example how to approach people and how to maintain a sincere but professional relationship with customers.

working along side with my managers not only as my boss but as a partner in the workplace. i see the work put in on both sides. my manager puts in a lot of hard work and its an obvious pay-off.

the hardest part of the job has to be simply the fact of straight night-shifts. And the most enjoyable would be the satisfaction of an honest effort and the feeling when you know you've done well with a customer.
Pros
Alot of person to person interactions
Cons
Straight nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place
Store Clerk (Former Employee) –  Penetanguishene, ON17 May 2017
Not a very save place to work. I was robbed twice in five months . Definitely do not get payed enough for the risk of work theire. Lost of long night shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON17 May 2017
the staffis very friendly and understanding. we had good working hours and the managers were friendly too. i had great time working with the staff and great experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Supervisor/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON13 May 2017
Nice work experience, helpful supervisors and kind co-workers. The Owner was present often to help out new trainees and teach them about new stuff. Overall a good experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a convenience store
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Penetanguishene, ON10 May 2017
Don't expect anything to grandiose here.
Average job, average pay with management being almost nonexistent. Not the worst but certainly nothing to polish the old resume for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting Job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Trenton, ON10 May 2017
Its a good starting job but they have a habit of messing the employees over. Shorting your pay or changing your hours on you without telling you. Know what you rights are
Pros
Starting job
Cons
Low pay, expected to work for min mage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work because of the interaction with new people
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON9 May 2017
learnt how deal with customers
Know how to sweep store.
the culture was very good
the most enjoyable part was when people give good comments about the services we are providing.
Pros
Free Drinks
Cons
Alone at the store
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 May 2017
I enjoyed working at Macs store and learnt a lot. I learnt to deal with difficult situations, Leadership experience. Hiring people, How to assign work, duties and also providing best customer services
Pros
Flexible Timing
Cons
24 hrs emergency
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work Place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ON6 May 2017
Would love working here if alloted chance again.Great working here as interaction with lots of people and i Love working with different people which makes me more interested towards this job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work attending customers and assisting them with there requirments
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 May 2017
personally i enjoyed a lot working there its a very challenging job to perform our daily task and attending customers and helping them to locate some of the stuff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work responsibilities
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 May 2017
I work as a supervisor and assistant to a MACS convenient store. My responsibilities include practicing proper safety protocol. I have also organized some events which gives me an experience of organising events, time management and interacting different people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Sales Associate
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON3 May 2017
great place to work, love the customers, hours are not too bad wish they were full time. quite the variety of work required. 24 hour location, not much chance for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring but safe place with nothing to do.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON3 May 2017
-dealt with customers most of the day
-learned that safety always come first
-managed poorly seeing how there was lots of theft
-staying productive with no customers
-meeting new people
Pros
You're on your own time once there are no more customers and small things to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON2 May 2017
Mac's store is a good palce to work. If you get a nice employer and nice co-workers than it seems like a very good place to work. My experience with working them was good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Service Clerk & Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Smiths Falls Ontario2 May 2017
Good place to work, learned a lot about customer service. Worked for several different managers some good some not. Fellow co-workers were great and always helped each other
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great managers!
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC1 May 2017
The job position is challenging, but with managers that provide the right guidance, it is easier to adapt to the workplace culture. The job requires restocking, being aware of what's going on inside the store, keeping the store clean and organized for the customers, and others.
Pros
In the heart of downtown, helps in getting an exposure to different kinds of people.
Cons
Long commute from where I lived.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 April 2017
Management was always good.
Increased my willingness to learn new things.
Enjoyed working.
Committed to teach the employees.
Will give ample time to learn and implement
Pros
Good Management
Cons
Lacks Trust sometimes :-P
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always at work.
Convenience Store Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 April 2017
Time goes by quick at work. Always constantly working, possibly having to multitask. Could be stocking an order on the shelves, but needed at the register at the same time. Constant cleaning always helps pass time too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mac's Convenience Store. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 573 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6

Mac's Convenience Store Reviews by Location