Mac's Convenience Store Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 101 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with a chance to meet new people everyday
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ONJune 11, 2016
A great workplace which provides you an opportunity to meet new people everyday. I learned how to handle various types of customers respectfully.
Pros
Learning
Cons
standing for long periods of time
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Improved my multi-tasking ability. Improved my interpersonal skills in dealing with whole range of customers
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ONJune 7, 2016
Work is physically and intellectually demanding. I have learned a lot on how to manage multiple tasks at a time without compromising the quality of customer service. I, personally, did not have any issues in getting along with my co-workers
Pros
will markedly improve one's multi-tasking ability
Cons
long hours and tiring
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opportunity to meet with different kind of people
Independent dealer operator (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ONJune 5, 2016
Long working hours

Management was good

meet new people

great environment

long day

i was hiring employees so of course they always have been nice
Pros
None
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 12, 2016
love to interact with customers there. great place to work. nice co workers and great manager. learned how to manage a business properly
Pros
fun to work
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good management
Assistant manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary International Airport ,T2E 6W5May 8, 2016
I learned to deal with all customers , maintain good customer service . management is good , i learned to work in team worker
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to get to know people
Store Clerk / Manager (Former Employee) –  ColloingwwodMay 7, 2016
Work was good and the employees that you work with were great.
A day at work was very busy since there were 3 schools located within a 4 block radius.
Pros
meet people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job, interaction with people
Cashier, Attending the customers (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ONMay 6, 2016
I work at mac's as a cashier. So, it is not a difficult job. During night shifts there is some work as mopping, filling freezers etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for entry level job seekers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  London, ONMay 5, 2016
A nice place to get in to boost up your career! However, needs to provide more salary to the employees because the work load demands that...
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job but very stressfull
Night Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Carleton Place, ONMay 4, 2016
Mac's was an OK job because the owners and workers were very nice people. The night shift is a very hard job and I think that most people would have a hard time with it.
Pros
Good owners
Cons
Stressfull
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service manager.
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMay 3, 2016
customer service manager increasing the sales making the profit and breaking the records with my finest customer service skills
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My niche job
Manager (Former Employee) –  High River, ABMay 2, 2016
This job became an exciting adventure when co-workers brought their scheduling problems to my attention. I was able to sell the taking over of scheduling duties to the owner and soon after that taking on all management duties.
Pros
got paid to do what I love!
Cons
new owners took over and brought thier own staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with friendly customers.
Cashier and Site Security (Current Employee) –  London, ONMay 2, 2016
The overall experience at Mac's is Productive and enjoyable due to friendly customers. I love to work here as it provides me a very good and happy working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Counter Attendant (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife, NTMay 1, 2016
Working at Mac's convenience Store there are days when things become really hectic. The environment was usually fast-paced. The job itself is not hard but it is not easy either but the manager and co-workers are willing to teach you the ropes of how things work and how to process things and steadily you learn how to keep up with the flow of work. The hardest thing you may encounter is that you could possibly be thrown in the fray and it could be very stressful but as with all jobs. It takes time until you get the rhythm. Your co-workers are either you best friends or just part-time acquaintances. Overall, it was an okay job, its a like a gate-way job before you can move on to other things, as it teaches you how to handle customers and test how you handle pressure and etc.
Pros
free meal, friendly-staff, friendly environment
Cons
long hours, can be stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and nice place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BCApril 13, 2016
I would start the day with taking out the garbage, then do some stoke. When thats done around half through my shift my manager would leave and go home. and I would be alone to run the store.
Pros
free food
Cons
dealing with drunk people
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Less stressful and enjoyable job for me
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, ABApril 4, 2016
I used to work at Mac's from Friday to Sunday between 4-11 pm.

I learned how to handle various kinds of customers with respectful words. Also how to attract them by offering SALE.

There is very nice management including proper cleaning, organised and full products all time.

My co-workers are also very helpful and always teach me something new as they got experience.

I don't think so there is any hardest time for me except robbery. But I never faced it so I don't have any experience of that.

Offering customers to buy various kind of offers as they buy specific type of products. I also enjoy lottery sales to customers
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good family run buisness
Manager trained (Former Employee) –  Brockville, ONMarch 27, 2016
Mac's was a good place to work, family owned and operated. Good people to work for, and a good way to get to know the community.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun.
CASHIER TO FRONT DESK SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 8, 2016
Inventory, merchandising, deposits, cash out, handling different types of payment, orders on products, promotions, upselling.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was nice working with Mac's store
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 6, 2016
I had nice time working in Mac's store and learned alot in the customer service field.
the management was Okay, my co-workers was nice people and the hardest part of my job was to work over nights from 10pm till 10am.
the most enjoyable part of my job was to meet and greet my customers and had good times everyday with my customers.
Pros
gift cards
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Sudbury, ONMarch 1, 2016
Good Place to Work
Nice Management and got chance to do that as well.
Pressure handling is what i learnt






Nice Environment
Pros
Learning
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and new
Store Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Carleton Place, ONJanuary 18, 2016
I loved working at Mac's. You learn something new everyday and have fun interacting with everyday customers. I liked being trusted with the store alone on my shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 103 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture