Mac's Convenience Store Employee Reviews

Found 81 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job, really
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 9, 2016
It wasn't bad, but it wasn't anything special either.

I had a fine time, but it was time for me to move on.

Manager was a good guy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, interactive with customers
Cashier/Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ONJanuary 4, 2016
Learned a lot about customer service, got to meet some nice people, worked in various locations throughout Thunder Bay Ontario.
Pros
Maintained a good rapport with the regular customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
taught me more about customer service
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ONDecember 17, 2015
By this job i get to know about so many things likewise it taught me various skills for sales and marketing also about customer services.


i learned.
> communication skills
> customer service
> sales skills
> ordering for products
Pros
pay on time
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours mostly you work on your own
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Langley, BCDecember 8, 2015
long work hours, no increase no benefits work is easy you meet lot of great people customers are great co-workers are nice. min wage not preferred long term
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with friendly team members.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ONDecember 7, 2015
That’s an interesting question. A typical day at work would start off by welcoming customers and stocking shelves back and fourth. The most enjoyable part I could honestly say is meeting new people everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work ,consitensy and temper demanding job
customer associate, night maintenance (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBDecember 4, 2015
I shifted from evening shifts to night maintenance shifts which resulted in me having good customer service skills plus good maintenance and inventory skills.Having experience with both shifts I could easily shift between night and evening shifts.The hardest part of the job was working alone throughout shifts which resulted in a lot of load on the employee, but ultimately it honed my skills even better as we learned the value of time and quality. What i enjoyed most was customer service as it helped me interact with my customers resulting in us both having a good time inside the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace customer service
Cashier, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONNovember 12, 2015
At this workplace I worked as CSR, Other than that I was responsible for the weekly store order, cash balancing, etc.
I also checked if there are any damaged or shortage of goods in incoming deliveries.
Pros
good experience of public dealing.
Cons
Low pay rate but great work experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mac's Convenience store
Assistance Manager and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ONOctober 29, 2015
At mac's convenience store I learn how to multitask, from taking customers to making a milk order. The most important skill I learned from this job is to how to deal with customers, which is also the most enjoyable part of my workplace. this gives me the opportunity to meet new people everyday. The hardest part of this job is the long hours, since this is a minimum wage job I have to work long hours.
Pros
meeting people
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
Counter and Lottery (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BCOctober 20, 2015
Loved the hands on experience. Meeting new people and seeing the same people everyday. Building a trust with people and almost like a bond.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  calgaryOctober 13, 2015
Great place to work as a student part time, or full time. Staff provides quick training and easy learning experience. Its a great place to work. Recommended
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and work
Cashier and Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ONAugust 24, 2015
The shift starts at 10 pnm in the night. As soon as the shift is started, the stocks needs to be arranged side by side. By 2pm all the stocks needs to be filled. After that, Sweeping and Mopping has to be done. By the time cleaning is done, coffee has to be made. Then start serving the customers.
Pros
Rotating Shifts, Free food
Cons
NIL
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to Work
Retail Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton AlbertaJuly 30, 2015
Nice Place to work
No Growth
Dealer Owned ( Low Salary)
No Benefits
Great Experience about Customer Service.
Great Knowledge about mechandise products.
Cons
Low Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Customer service representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJune 18, 2015
i like customer service and cashier job.and m happy with the customer and i can use my knowledge and skill for the organisation and gain the organisation to be successfully.
Pros
free gift
Cons
long hour
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work, fun workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 26, 2015
Eventhough the store is busy all the time, communicating with customers is fun. Usually friendly customers go by. Managers are so polite, friendly and easygoing
Pros
Free coffee, slurpee or hot chocolate
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love to Work with Macs
CSR (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ONMay 22, 2015
Nice job with cool stuff and staff.
Did billing,filling and cash counting as a daily job.
Mantaine the store neat and clean.
Check the product date to date.
Pros
Relaible job
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workpalce
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  sarnia ONApril 9, 2015
I have learnt many good things like, how to give a proper customer service, handle money with care and be on time.
Hardest part of the job was when there was inventory checks.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe and fun filled
Clerk/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ONApril 9, 2015
interesting and expressive work place that aids you to learn multi tasking and working with a public environment. a new and innovative space.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ONMarch 4, 2015
I have work my whole summer manager was nice. I was keyholder and never had any trouble I was alway on time and I got gift from mystery shopper.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BCFebruary 28, 2015
Working at Mac's is nice.
I enjoyed the work and especially the co-worker were very helpful. I learned a lot about how to take proper care of customers and especially how to properly interact with my co-worker. The job at Mac was pretty straight forward and it is not complicated at all
Pros
schedule
Cons
no lunch time
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work place, serving customers, and making sales
Cash sales (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ONFebruary 24, 2015
I was working at Macs as a cashier for 3-4 years
my duties were:

Cash sales- Balanced register and prepared daily sales summary and deposits
Wipe down coffee stations and other food areas, (Grill, Froster machine, etc.)
Stocking Merchandise
Filled in when short staffed at other locations
Opening/Closing shift duties
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 83 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture