Mac's Convenience Store

Mac's Convenience Store Employee Reviews

Found 478 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Renfrew, ON18 February 2017
Typical day steady with customers and other store tasks you have to be great at time management. hardest part of job heavy lifting ie pop cases and milk crates
Pros
fast paced
Cons
very busy sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and busy environment sometime it's fun to do work so easily in fast environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC18 February 2017
It's good experience working at macs store so far.i have learned a lot how to solve problems how to work alone, leadership quality, time management.
Cons
Sometimes long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Kemptville, ON13 February 2017
Great place to work if looking for a laid back job. Great place to meet some very nice people. Customer basis is great always friendly.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Not enough breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work for mac's Convenience Store as Assistant manager
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Barrhaven, ON2 February 2017
I learned many new things while I am working with a well managed company. I learned team work, Good Leadership Qualities, Customer Service, Good communication skills. The hardest part of my job is to manage the store and guide the new employees how to work and train them.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenience Store
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON31 January 2017
It is good to keep me busy and survive. I learned more how to have good customer service. Learn about the different behaviour of individuals and more to my experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC29 January 2017
Being at a downtown location right by the beach definitely resulted in busy days and long shifts however, the customers and staff were so polite and friendly even long shifts felt a fun day at work.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
Short staff
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 January 2017
It is a challenging workplace with many aspects to the job. It will work well for someone who likes to work with people and have flexible hours,
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good job and great fun
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Brompton, ontario26 January 2017
The day is good at the store as i work.i learn how to deal with the customer and also learn to run till.the work place is good as i met with people who has different culture. i also made very good friends who are the regular customers of store. Their is no hardest part of the job.the most enjoyable part is dealing with the customer.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  London, ON23 January 2017
Have a great manager! great customer come by. great experience. All my customers love coming to the store when i am working on my shift hours. Like the environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night Time Job
Midnight Cashier (Former Employee) –  Perth, ON23 January 2017
I took this job after University only because I was in need of employment. My first manager was a good family man after he left I quit; mainly to move and acquire better paying employment. Would not have made enough if I wasn't living with my family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work while always learning
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON23 January 2017
I spent hours everyday doing data entry as well as serving customers, banking, ordering, scheduling, payroll. I learnt how to deal with different types of customer and their complaints, as well as how to provide excellent customer service. | was involved in hiring all different types of employees with different ethnic background and religious beliefs. The hardest part of my job was disiplining employees. The most enjoyable part of my job was entering data, helping customers and making sure that every person who came into my store was satisfied.
Pros
I loved everything about my job
Cons
having to be on call 24 hours a day, 365 days a year
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stress free work
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC20 January 2017
good place to work to get experience for customer service. flexible shifts, nice senior staff. the hardest part of the job is to work in coolers because its too cold temperature in the coolers. most enjoyable part of this job is that store is not too big to handle, it is a convenient store, easy to manage. workplace culture is good.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
franchised Business
Manager/Operator (Former Employee) –  Moose Jaw, SK19 January 2017
Not fixed hours
franchised business
good workplace environment
learned retail in depth
good knowledge of sales
day to day operation
Pros
personally own
Cons
not in same city
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work in get chance to interact with people
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  North Bay, ON19 January 2017
Mac's store has peaceful environment, get chance to share their experience with others and fulfill customers need. All employees are punctual and very dedicated to their work.
Pros
Good environment to work in and meeting with new people
Cons
Larger shift hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management = horrible customers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cashier19 January 2017
Ever woke up one day thinking "oh no! I have to work today!" I was terrified to even touch foot in such a horrible workplace, and I've worked for 3 different people. Yeah, put Mac's at the bottom of your resume list people. Customers were so rude to me because of how rude the bosses were to them.
Pros
N/A
Cons
Market manager sucks, horrible management, terrible customers, low pay, etc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional work environment
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ON13 January 2017
working in convenience store is amazing.
you get to learn how to do inventory and handle lottery section.
positive work environment and helpful employees.
Pros
free food sometimes
Cons
not fixed hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Working Environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB12 January 2017
Co-workers are helping to learn new things. and support a lot and treat as family member.improved my language ability working as customer service representative.management is good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provide good working condition
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  London, ON12 January 2017
- learned to handle cash and debit-credit transactions
- every day experienced a new good experience
- dealing with different kind of customers was good experience
Pros
flexible schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place To Work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 January 2017
A Great Place to work and healthy work environment to work i'll work over here even if i'll get another job because if you are working here you'll never want to leave this place,
Pros
A healthy environment for work
Cons
Less Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned some new things
Sales-manager, bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  Tilbury, ON9 January 2017
24hours work
I learned-customer expectation, business of corp.store
Too much pressure from management of corporation
Our team was very productive and successfully
The hardest part of the job was connection with supervisor
The most enjoyable part of job was the communication with customer
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 527 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6

Mac's Convenience Store Reviews by Location