Mac's Convenience Store Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ontario20 October 2017
learned a lot about customer service. shipping receiving, and ordering.
learned about hiring and firing. how to handle food and maintain pleasant environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed while interacting with customers
Customer Representative (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON18 October 2017
In the beginning it's very hard for me to remember the cigar names but once i got used to it I rocked the job

Interacting with the customers helps me to enjoy with the work and improve my communication skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Sturgeon Falls, ON7 October 2017
This was my first job in management i learned a lot. Normal days here was customer service and inventory. Enjoyed seeing my regular customers every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
customer service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 October 2017
good working there
good team work
good environment
they value your work
you get paid on time
team work
easy to learn new things
very comfortable to work
Pros
no
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best job
CSR/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Frankford, ON28 September 2017
I enjoyed this job somewhat, because of the team of employees I worked with and the customers I regularly saw and grew relationships with. Although, I didn't see my employer much at all, and I was usually blamed for too many things without being asked about it first. Mystery shops would not match my appearance at all and I would be blamed for it. Would recommend if you need money, because plenty of hours are offered, but not the most enjoyable experience.
Pros
Good experience working with customers
Cons
Not the best job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and interactive
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Carleton Place, ON27 September 2017
Mac's was very open on how they operated to the CSRs. They always asked for our input on how the store is orientated (easily movable displays). It was here that I earned self-confidence and the ability to spot potential issues
Pros
Best work atmosphere I had
Cons
Security measures often felt invasive
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was really enjoyable job
Counter Attendant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 September 2017
friday and saturday
teamwork and punctuality
management was really cooperative
it is really awesome
nothing is tuff for me
to deal with new and old customers
Pros
concession in bus pass
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a bit hectic job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON16 September 2017
In the start it was a bit difficult but with time every thing Started to be very good. Our Regional manager was Really cooperative. He would help me whenever i wanted help
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My team was like a family
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK12 September 2017
I really enjoyed working at Macs Convenient Store. We were like one big family. I didn't feel any pressure while I was working. Everyone was very understanding and patient.
Pros
Knowledge gained
Cons
Was only a temporary placement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was good
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 September 2017
i excel in customer service .Had lots to learn. Always achieved my budjet and increased sales every year through various sales techniques. Always passed 100%in all mystery shops .Excel in doing and preparing inventories,placing store orders,accepting deliveries and much more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Working Place
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON11 September 2017
I learned a lot about the retail bussiness and how to handle staff and how to improve busniess
the hardest part of the job was no social life but it was a nice place to improve my skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work as a cashier and responsible for stocking and arranging products on shelves
cashier (Former Employee) –  London, ON9 September 2017
friendly with workers and good production with best quality. save inventory and looking for safety of workers is always first priority. i learn to work in team and to make a team effort for production
Pros
free diets like coffee or sandwiches
Cons
long hours and good environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Sales Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 September 2017
Processed cash and credit payments rapidly and accurately.Placed special merchandise orders for customers.Greeted customers in a timely fashion, while quickly determining their needs.Answered customer questions about product availability and shipment times.
Accurately logged all daily shipping and receiving orders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
By far my favourite job
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Port Elgin, ON25 August 2017
This job was by far my favourite. It gave me a chance to prove that i was capable of independently working in a convenience store for 8 hours overnight.
Pros
Working alone
Cons
If the store got busy in the summer from the tourists, I was by myself
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is good company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC23 August 2017
they pay you minimum but the work isn't that hard and the management was good and you deal with a lot of customers and you have to stack up to the items.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
opinions regarding job
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Sarnia, ON22 August 2017
it was a great experience working at Macs store. As i have learned how to deal with customers and it enhances my communication skills as well. it was fun working there as the staff was all good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
Cashier (Part time) (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 August 2017
AT Mac's working environment is good, co-workers as good and helpful, here one gets to learn customer service as they get experience to handle different customer requirement, likes and dislikes. Most enjoyable part is day go fast on busy day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Melfort, SK17 August 2017
Not given too many hours but work in a fast paced environment with steady work to be done. Great for getting through the work day. Overall the job is great for the pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5 stars
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON15 August 2017
Macs is an awesome company to work for, learned a lot, always in training .
A typical day at work is to greet customers, serve them with their purchases, doing facing to products, stock and order, do the order of what is needed. Prepare coffee, check the expiry dates of the products.
Had training at the Lottery machine, tobacco sales, WIMS, security
Enjoy interacting with customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Crew Trainer (Current Employee) –  North Bay, ON4 August 2017
work as cashier is a good job because we can deal with customer in good and respectful manner.Job place is totally safe for employer and employee too.
Pros
salary on time
Cons
sometimes feel tired with long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mac's Convenience Store. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 625 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6