Find companies:
M&M Meat Shops
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

M&M Meat Shops Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Key Holder & Sales Associate (Current Employee), Cambridge OntarioMarch 15, 2014
Pros: never bored.
Cons: freezer is cold.
LOVE this job & staff. Always have something to do with many different aspects. Recommend working for this company!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place with lots to learn
Product Consultant (Former Employee), Saint John, NBJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: food samples
Cons: never a free weekend
Never a dull moment; between keeping the shop looking good for customers and customer services like working the till and answering the phone, changing signs and stocking the freezer, this job was both enjoyable and challenging.
The hardest part of the job was stocking the freezer and mopping up the floors at the end of a long snowy day. The most enjoyable – more... part was helping customers find what what they needed and suggesting complimentary up-sells. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Supervisor/Product Consultant/Cashier (Former Employee), Richmond, BCDecember 24, 2013
• Serving Customers
• Data entry
• Accurately balanced books and balanced deposits nightly
• Operating a cash register
• Stocking shelves
• Balancing of the safe daily
• Placing orders for necessary inventory
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service & Cashier
Customer Service & Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 12, 2013
Pros: incentives give us extra money in cash
Cons: working in the freezer for hours long.
A typical day at work would have to be working for Customer Service and dealing with customers on a face to face basis. So basically they come in to buy groceries, but all the food is in the other side of the counter where employees stand and help them out. We get what they want. and tell them more about the food, and also gives us the chance of upselling – more... products. I learned to do upselling and ways of marketing the food we have, which we get incentives on. My co-workers would be one other person who will be doing the same job as us, and when its not busy we stock food products and get it all organized. The hardest part of the job is when we get food coming from the truck and we stand in the freezer for more than 3 hours organizing all the food products. Enjoyable part of the job is a good working environment and the food are easy to remember and keep in mind. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Fun, Fun
Store Manager (Current Employee), Tecumseh, ONMay 16, 2013
Pros: free samples and dinners
Cons: working in freezers for hours at a time
A nice customer service job that lets you talk and really get to know your customers. A typical day would be talking to customers and getting to know what foods they like and making suggestions on foods you think they would like. Always having a smile and saying hello is a must when it comes to our store and staff. We want our customers to have the – more... best care and always leave with a smile. The hardest part of the job is when you cannot make a customer happy or help them find what they are looking for. The most enjoyable part is when someone is not having the best day and you turn it around and they leave with a smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun workplace
key holder (nights) (Former Employee), Ottawa, OntarioMarch 17, 2013
Pros: free samples
Cons: transition from the freezer to the front of the store
I was the key holder, which means i would be in charge of closing the store at night, checking if everything was in order, counting the cash in the register and putting it in the safe, mopping and sweeping the floors.

-I learned how to work a cash register, how to keep the logs in check, i learned how to prioritize, just basically better time management.

-The – more... co-workers were amazing, they were nice, reliable and very honest.

-The hardest part of the job was probably the constant transition between the freezer and the store front.

-The most enjoyable part of the job, was just having the privilege of working with these guys and the general ambiance of the work place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to be with, especially around Christmas-gets very busy
Product Consultant (Former Employee), Victoria, BCDecember 27, 2012
Pros: the discount of 15%. great staff.
Cons: working hours, management, breaks, legal issues, training was not done by management, but with other staff instead. very impersonal relationship with employer.
A typical day includes NO scheduled breaks- sometimes no break during the 8 hour day.
Management rarely showed, after a month and two weeks, I had still not received my record of employment.
Hardest part of the job would be just the cold of the freezer.
Hours would be either way too much, or too little- I would work one day for 10 hours, then the next – more... for 3.

I did not get paid over time.
Many legal issues and management would not pay over time, give out breaks, as well as very uncomfortable to talk to- would intimidate the worker. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, great customers
Product Consultant (Current Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONDecember 6, 2012
M&M Meat Shops has been a great experience for me so far being my second job. The customers are great, always so nice and patient, and the staff is great as well. Great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company culture.
Franchisee Qualification Specialist (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONOctober 26, 2012
What a great place to work. I have now worked in two departments there, and no matter what team you are part of, people genuinely care about you and what you have to contribute to the team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed customer inter-action
Customer service and food consultant (Former Employee), Saint John, NBOctober 15, 2012
Pros: experience i gained
Cons: salary
I really enjoyed the customer service and the people who came into the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Productive Workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Woodstock, ONAugust 26, 2012
Pros: working with people
A typical day at work would start with opening the store, followed by counting and balancing the previous day's till. If the store is busy I would immediately begin greeting customers and giving them suggestions and options on our products. Apart from serving customers, daily tasks include, stocking, cleaning, taking inventory, receiving orders and – more... taking freezer temperatures. At the end of the day I would be responsible for all the duties involved with closing the store.

Working for M&M Meat Shops has been an amazing experience. I've learned invaluable lessons on responsibility, commitment and customer service. At the age of nineteen I have successfully been able to put five years of work experience behind me with this company, and am lucky to have had such a positive experience. I have nothing but good words to say about my former boss, my co-workers and the customers I have come to know well. As my University journey begins I am well prepared to handle new career opportunities because of my experience with such a phenomenal company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Minimum Wage
Product Consultant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 24, 2012
Pros: 15% staff discount
Cons: work for a store manager from he@@.
Generally pleasant co-workers and customers. Alone in the evenings with no security cameras. Easy target for theft and robbery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Engaging and Enjoyable Workplace
Product Consultant (Current Employee), Lakefield, ONJuly 19, 2012
Pros: free product sampling
Cons: not enough hours
At M&M Meat Shops a typical day consists of helping customers with reliable friendly service, and aiding them in their frozen food needs. We also learn and use product rotation, product up-selling, and product deliveries. I have gotten to learn more business management practices while working here. My Management team as well as my coworkers are very – more... friendly, approachable, and easy to work with and get along with. The hardest part of the job is obtaining a decent knowledge of the products available to customers because there are so many. M&M Meat Shops is overall, and enjoyable place to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work with lots of incentives
Product Consultant (Former Employee), Caledonia, ONMay 6, 2012
Pros: a 15% discount on all purchases
Cons: working in the cold and working alone alot
during the day you would service customers, stock shelves inside the freezer as well as outside in the store area. Cleaning and handling cash, sampling products and cleaning of kitchen area. I learned many differnt things about cuts of meats, proper was of cooking different products, best ways to thaw food quickly and proper internal temperatures for – more... cooked food. The manager was helpful and knowledgeable with all the training on products and so were the co-workers, we all got along great. The hardest part of the job would have had to have been working in the cold for long periods of time, there was also a lot of lifting on order days. The part I enjoyed the most was being able to work at your own pace and meeting all kinds of people and getting to know many customers on a first name basis, whene you suggest many foods you knew would be exactly what they were looking for and would enjoy. – less