Luxottica Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great supplementary job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 September 2017
Used to love working here but they will not give anyone more than casual part time. Had to get another job to make ends meet. Pay is minimum wage unless you're an optician or manager. My manager specifically was extremely insensitive. Told me "at some point you have to move on" after a family death because she needed me to work that week.
Pros
great discounts
Cons
No advancement, no employee appreciation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Retail place I'd ever worked.
Part-time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS25 September 2017
Sunglass Hut is great spot to work. The staff I worked with was great, the benefits and chance for advancement is wonderful, and if you work hard the commission at Christmas can be pretty great!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place
Licensed Optician (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC11 September 2017
Very good benefits and very good compensation the workplace is very relaxed at the same time very efficient.The managers are very nice and understanding,and they help you when you were in the pinch with a customer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very fun and a high gossip store and backstabbing
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Arizona, MB5 September 2017
It was great at first but then the gossiping and backstabbing and drug use was too much and the guy managers trying to F em and talk inappropriately to women or about women etc etc made me feel uncomfortable and uneasy since i love and respect women like my Mom and daughters so it was very disrepsectful i can go on but the point is made
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you get what you give, but there's a lot of red tape
Licensed Optical Manager (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON24 August 2017
difficult to make changes in a large company. commission structure continued to change for the worse. Those that work will get rewarded better and if you have a good boss you'll do fine. Beware of the other employees who play the "I don't speak English/I have a "disability"" card. all a scam so they can be lazy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environment
Sales Associate/Eyewear Consultant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 August 2017
It is a fun and supportive place of employment and the training is extremely thorough. Once you have completed your training you are almost immediately confident in your knowledge of product.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Supervisor and Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 August 2017
Working at Sunglass Hut has been the most amazing experience of my life. Everyone is really friendly and there is so much that you learn from everyone. Not only from your superiors, but from your coworkers and from the customers that come in. I have such a better understanding about different brands and types of frames and lenses. I love Sunglass Hut
Pros
Free sunglasses
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
as a first place for working in Canada, I find it nice
Optical Laboratory Technician Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 July 2017
Nice place, as a first job for newcomers in Canada! Good management and starting wages, nice coworkers atmosphere there, and team workers, but no so much possibilities for promotions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace and friendly environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 July 2017
Got to learn more about sunglass while working, and great method of teaching about brands and styles and every part of a sunglass as well as different types of lenses.
Pros
great deals on sunglasses
Cons
security is low, so every associate have to be the store security person
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple and very nice to work with!
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 June 2017
The staff and managers were very nice.
only complaint was that there just isn't very many hours to go around and the pay is very little above minimum wage.
other than that I can't complain and those two things aren't any ones fault anyways.
Pros
staff and managment
Cons
little hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about Luxottica?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for students
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 June 2017
A day at the hut was usually busy, always something to do. i learned tons of different sales tactics here, but the one thing i learned the most was theft. sun glass hut has very high theft issues, cause of that i learned all the things to look for in situations, and how to deal with them, and all the paper work that goes with it. Management was ok, little to pushy, i understand why but sometimes being little to pushy with staff can just annoy. met a lot of great people and had lots of fun working here.
Pros
great discounts
Cons
high theft
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job security
Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 June 2017
Flexible scheduling during my undergrad year. Most importantly, great student job! If you are looking for a job during school that is flexible, LensCrafters is for you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a pretty boring position
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB31 May 2017
Like working at any kiosk or specialty shop, there is a lot of downtime, which can be nice at times, but for the most part shifts tend to drag on forever in the slow season.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice coworkers
Optician (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC9 May 2017
nice place to work at. have to deal with different customers. be patient, up selling product. have goals everyday. little stressful. managers are always observe you.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
content but complacent
PRODUCTION MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 May 2017
Great place to learn and grow a completely unique set of skills. They provide good training, cross training to other departments is encouraged and appreciated by everyone. It's a luxury retailer, so price is a big objection, and it feels like the stores are left to fend for themselves as to the overcoming of those objectives. Vague answers from some of the coaches for the different day-to-day struggles different teams have to face. The few great managers, that genuinely seem to care about the job and their teams, are not provided with the tools to support their teams.

VERY difficult to remove any associates that are bad for the business, but great open door policy means there is always another avenue if you need guidance.

Overall, the good outweighs the bad on any typical day.
Pros
very close and supportive teams
Cons
very poor support from upper management, they're mostly interested in numbers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Eyewear Consultant/Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ON1 May 2017
I think this depends on which store you work for. My managers are amazing and they manage the store efficiently and transparently. The store manager has an open door policy and is really easy to communicate with.

I've learned so much working there and I wouldn't trade it for anything. Luxottica provides a lot of training material which is fairly interactive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Eyewear Consultant (Current Employee) –  Pickering, ON29 April 2017
good company to work for, I've been with the company for about 2 years. dealing with clients and assisting them with the process of picking glasses contributes to developing your social and customer service skills
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not enjoy working for this company
Optician (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON2 April 2017
Very regimented environment. Had to punch a clock. Retail environment and opend 7 days a week. No work life balance. Not the best place to work. Industry is changing so there is more pressure on sales and was very tough to work in this environment.
Pros
none
Cons
lots
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC31 March 2017
Productive and fun workplace with amazing co-workers and very nice communication between supervisors, sales associates and managers. Very good environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Workplace
Medical Receptionist/Administrator (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON3 March 2017
It is a good workplace, filled with friendly people. However, due to the nature of the work there is minimal advancement opportunity.
Pros
Friendly Work
Cons
Minimal advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Luxottica. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,632 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7