Find companies:
Lutron Electronics
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Lutron Electronics Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job opp
Electronic Technician (Former Employee), Brookdale, PAJuly 31, 2014
smart people to work with need more activities to keep the cash flowing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old-style company stuck in the '50's
Contractor (Former Employee), Coopersberg, PAJuly 14, 2014
Pros: interesting work, many people are nice and will provide mentoring (but they are not necessarily your own managers, i learned a lot from my peers, beautiful campus with a lovely hiking trail steps away, the building is beautiful and the cafeteria's nice
Cons: people here are cold and there are no formal performance reviews or development plans, contractors are treated like second-class workers, some employees are rude to the point of borderline bullying, project plans are rudimentory or non-existant, many contractors are let go with two-day's notice, the owner and his daughter are feared, and are not very nice, all of upper managment are men, and mostly white with maybe one exception
My managers were downright mean sometimes. I often felt bullied. I was never given any control over my projects. I wasn't able to use my brain, and often felt like just a pair of hands working under someone else's direction. Micromanaging was a part of the culture. Projects moved at a snail's pace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-worker friendly environment but top level management needs great improvement.
Graphic Designer (Former Employee), Coopersburg, PAMay 7, 2014
Pros: experience
Cons: no job security
Lutron is a great place for experience and to bruch up on the latest computer programs. Co workers are friendly and it is a fun atmosphere, unless someone from the "top" is present, making the department feel awkward. Also, contractors and free-lancers beware! (especially Graphic Designers or Technical Illustrators) No matter how good your work is, – more... or how good an employee you are, Lutron can release you with no warning or reason. You are expendable. They make the hiring agency do the dirty work, by calling you in the evening to tell you it was your last day, and not to contact anyone at Lutron again... almost as if you had done something wrong. They have the hiring agency retrieve your personal belongings. I would not have written this review, if in my research, I have found many Graphic Designers who are "contract alumni" who have had the very same thing happen to them, sometimes after being there a year and making good friends, who are now no longer allowed to be in contact with you after your dismissal. – less

May 14, 2014

Agreed. I had the exact thing happen to me recently. Without warning or reason I was told they no longer needed me, and they had the hiring agency tell me on a Saturday that the day before was my last day. Classless!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
PRODUCT LINE EMPLOYEE (Former Employee), Alburtis, PAApril 21, 2014
Pros: good salary, two 10 min. breaks along with hour long lunch break, good security, friendly staff
Regular 40 hour job. I really liked my co-workers. The Line Leaders were very helpful and patient with all of the new employees. The hardest part of the job was trying to balance the line the way our superiors asked, since they tried different methods throughout my time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
warehouse worker (Former Employee), Coopersburg, PAMarch 21, 2014
Pros: 3 breaks per day. 2 15 min breaks and 1 30 min break
Cons: no benefits worked through a temp agency
learned a lot working here and i know have warehouse experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, theres always something to do
Technical Assistant (Former Employee), Ashland, VAMarch 18, 2014
On a day to day basis there may be some catching up to do between shifts but its becomes apart of the job. Most production positions are very easy to learn and master. Almost always an opportunity for overtime and the ability to grow within the company. Nothing out of the ordinary. I have learned a lot from this company, process, how a company is ran, – more... how to handle different situations, how to give ideas to promote the company. The hardest part of the job would most likely be getting on track and ahead with all work as a company. No in-house issues, mainly outside vendor and supplier related issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, lots of talent
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Coopersburg, PAFebruary 10, 2014
Many smart and talented people are employed there. It made the work environment enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start your career
Project Engineer (Former Employee), Coopersburg, PAJanuary 6, 2014
Lots of smart people in the company. The company strives on innovation, driven by the owner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World Leader in Lighting Control
Senior Sales Representative (Former Employee), Coopersburg, PADecember 5, 2013
World Leader in Lighting Control. Based in Coopersburg, PA
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity for advancement
International Credit Specialist/Project Specialist (Former Employee), Coopersburg, PADecember 2, 2013
Lutron ELectronics was a great place for my desire to learn the different aspects of the business.

I started in the International Customer Service, then moved the the Project Management area, and then I had the opportunity to go to the International Credit Department, where I was able to continue to use my bilingual skills and have the opportunity – more... to learn about stand by letters of credit, and commercial L/Cs, and learned the other side of the business (having leverage to negotiate new releases and keep a low past due balance, as well as keeping customer still happy and satisfied)

Good people to work with.

The hardest part was it was a tremendous amount of work for only one person, I worked 10 hours almost each day.

I enjoyed what I did very much, I enjoyed the customer contact and being a liason between the customer and different areas in the organization. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced work environment
Senior Specialist Technical Assistant (Former Employee), Ashland, VANovember 20, 2013
Lutron has a fast paced warehouse environment which keeps your day rolling and has an occasional surprise which keeps you on your toes. The best part of the job was having outstanding co-workers and a professional environment. Management will work with you to ensure you are feeling in a safe and honest workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard but fun work
Materials Assistant (Former Employee), Allentown, PANovember 18, 2013
Pros: always having rewards and events for workers
Cons: no music to keep you focused
You begin your day earlier than most but it ends before others. Fun environment, have to constantly stay focused. You get recognized for your improvements fairly quickly and are always allowing the workers to progress and re rewarded. The hardest part of the job is staying entertained while doing the same thing for hours. The most enjoyable is being – more... around so many different individuals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees; lousy management
Employee (Former Employee), Coopersburg, PAOctober 13, 2013
Pros: benefits are okay.
Lots of dissatisfaction among employees. Employees in general are very nice. However, unless you are "in" with someone or a supervisor, you're not treated well. Definitely a "watch your back" environment in most departments If you must get a job and you are able to get one here - ok for temporary. But most of the really good people leave within a year – more... or so, citing high levels of frustration. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forget about it for CAD
CAD Draftsman (Former Employee), Coopersburg, PASeptember 7, 2013
Pros: there are good people working there
Cons: management has a lousy attitude toward its workers, the company does not have a good reputation in the business community.
If you are thinking about any kind of career as a CAD operator with this company, FORGET IT! They have a policy not to hire any permanent CAD people. No matter how long you think you can hold out. They probably will just can you at 2 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunities to grow and develop for a long term career
Professional (Current Employee), Coopersburg, PAJune 5, 2013
Pros: challenging work, high quality coworkers
Private company with high quality employees. Their commitment to their customers, innovation and employees drives a high energy culture focused on achieving success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutting Edge Electronics Manufacturer
Sales (Current Employee), Coopersburg, PAMay 31, 2013
Pros: growth and advancement is only limited by what you are willing to do
Cons: very defined culture. if you don't fit the mold, it may be difficult to adapt.
Lutron is still owned and run by the founder of the company, the same man who invented the modern dimmer switch more than 50 years ago. It is a privately held company that reflects the value and hard work of the owner. It is cutting edge and leads the industry in innovation and design. However, it is an engineering company first and foremost. That is – more... not good or bad, it is just important to understand that mindset. Many of the salespeople began their careers as engineers, and so they are very good at selling to other technically minded people, but communicating and establishing a base with the average consumer is still a work in progress.

The company has grown so fast, that it is still working though how to operate as a medium-large company. It is still run in many aspects as a small company, where most employees know each other, and there is a sense of family and community. If you are a hard worker you can advance as far as your hard work will take you. They are very demanding in their hiring process. They want the best of the best to work there, and will compensate accordingly. The culture of the organization is vintage old school east coast. Wear suit and tie to work, don't walk on the grass, etc.

Overall, the organization favors innovators, hard workers, and people with vision and accountability. It is a great company to work for in an industry that is still growing and dynamic. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No complaints; Lots of advancement opportunities; Very good job to build character and progress in life with.
Material Assistant (Current Employee), Allentown, PAMay 24, 2013
Pros: health benefits, paid holidays and vacations, reimbursement for work related education
Cons: only two 10minute breaks throughout an 8hr shift.
I have no complaints about this company. They really care for all of their employees and take care of them in a manner that other companies don't provide. Their is always an advancement opportunity and they encourage all of their employees to further their education so they can grow within a constantly growing company. They provide training for all – more... types of industrial equipment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to gain experience
Collections Specialist/Billing Specialist (Current Employee), Coopersburg, PAMay 15, 2013
As a temp there is no possibility for full time employment. It is only because of that reason that I am seeking full time employment elsewhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Graphic Eye Panel Technician (Former Employee), alburtis,paJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: great place to work
no cons great boss, great benefits and job sites are good place to learn
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Pick Packer (Former Employee), Fogelsville PaOctober 7, 2012
Pros: half hour lunchbreak, walk around all day packing.
Cons: not enough fans, hot in some areas.
I had an awesome time working here. Warehouse Jobs are my favorite.

About Lutron Electronics

About Lutron:

Lutron Electronics Photos