Find companies:
Lowe's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,303 reviews

Lowe's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Lowe's has it's ups and downs
Cashier (Current Employee), Mason, OHSeptember 15, 2014
Working at Lowe's has been a great experience for me. There is a wide variety of job opportunities and there is room for job advancement. My managers have been very understanding with my availability in transition periods in my life. I have obtained a large amount of experience in customer service. The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to – more... constantly multi-task. The most difficult part of my job is communication due to the large amount of employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic
Customer Service (Former Employee), Altamonte Springs, FLSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: standing all day
Fun place to work!!!

Management is very good with working with school schedules and making sure everyone gets about the same amount of hours (very fair)

You can move up or switch department easier. Everything is online just click and apply for the upper position when it comes available. Pay raises every year unless you get written up.

perfect for – more... students going to school and couples with kids running difficult schedules – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people
Stock Associate (Former Employee), Yakima, WASeptember 15, 2014
Greet people to work with and for. Typical day would be bringing in the carts from the parking lot and working with the stock team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Customer Service Associate - Front End (Former Employee), Sanford, NCSeptember 15, 2014
A typical day at Lowes was pretty good. Customers were great and friendly. Most of the management were great. Enjoyed working with my coworkers. I was mainly placed in the garden center running the register and answering customer questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, I got paid to talk and laugh all day with my customers
Cashier (Former Employee), Auburn, WASeptember 15, 2014
Pros: we would have bbq's potlucks, and started turning our break room into a seahawk themed room
Cons: not able to think of any
The day would start by someone telling or trying to tell a joke and it would just go wrong. I learned something new everyday, it might be a little tip on how to find an address without going through all the steps or how to look for an invoice in a different screen on the computer. Good variety of co-workers. Besides leaving, being out of stock on items. – more... When the alarm would go off so I could go back was enjoyable, I didn't not like not being at work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dreaded Work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Gulf Breeze, FLSeptember 15, 2014
Management played favourites and was extremely unfair.Had harassment claims THROWN AWAY because he/she was a good friend of the manager!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowe's is a big company
Cashier (Former Employee), Grand Junction, COSeptember 15, 2014
I loved working here because the management really cared and was very nice. I liked that I was sometimes outside and the employees were awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hated it.
Department Manager (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: benefits, that's it
Cons: working nearly every weekend and every holiday.
I worked there for 10 years. Transferring to another store is nearly impossible. They have done a lot of changing in the last 3 years. Made things a lot harder on the employees. Took away our commissions, monthly bonus and some of our employee discounts. They said it was to be able to lower the cost for customers. Funny thing I seen more prices go up – more... in that time then ever. I had only a few managers that worked on getting their people adviced the others could have cared less. Oh, and heaven forbid you start having health issues cause they will try and get you to resign. Hiring system is a joke. They are trying to get all the folks that been their years to leave so they can bring in people that don't know what their doing. Pay is also a joke. I know of sales specialist that got paid more then their managers. Talk about degrading. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Lexington, SCSeptember 14, 2014
great people, and benefits. very fast pace/slow pace days. pay is great also
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: friendly workers, good hours
Cons: pay, scheduling
busy, but really good job
friendly workers
decent pay
hardest part of job, was heavy work load
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes After 7 Years
Assembler (Former Employee), Orlando, FLSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: hour lunches
Cons: advancement, hours
Lowes good place to work for after high school. But very little advancement in the store I was in. Management didn't care about employees and really didn't care about anything except themselves. Good company to work for if your in the right store and good friend with management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New Lenox, ILSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: enployees
Cons: stress
Ok place to work. pay is ok. management kinda stinks. depending on which ones. i liked the paint dept. pretty cool co-workers. i would recommend this job for someone who is retired looking for some hours or kids going to school. not for a career position. it gets to stressful and the pay is not worth the stress.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, learing and productive
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Humble, TXSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: free lunch benefits, fun activities (bowling nights, fun meetings), they show that they care for their employees
Lowe's is a wonderful job to have, I enjoy my everyday customer experiences. I can honestly say that the team that we have are great, from the top of management to the bottom. My purpose of job searching now is to obtain more experience and stability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Work, Beautiful Staff
Product Service Associate (Former Employee), Providence, RISeptember 14, 2014
Pros: employee benefits
Cons: schedule
interesting environment

great staff

manageable workload
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Pricing/Signage Coordinator (Current Employee), Florence, SCSeptember 14, 2014
I go to work at 4am. I usually have at the most 250-300 price changes a day. Im finished no later than 11am. At 1pm I clock out and go home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I stocked shelves with product. Lots of physical work was required.
Night Crew (Former Employee), 8383 Topanga Canyon Blvd. West Hills, CA. 91304September 13, 2014
Pros: operating machinery
Cons: working at the grave-yard shift
A typical day would start with the entire night crew briefing. We were told where each of us would be working. I worked in the hardware and tools department for most my four years at Lowe's. I learned how to handle products and stock them in their correct place. I learned how to operate the forklift and reach truck and cherry picker. I learned how to – more... count and marked boxes for the quarterly inventory. I enjoyed working with all my manager and co-workers. The hardest part of my job was to work grave-yard shift. I enjoyed working at lowe's because I was treated with a lot of respect and love. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun
Cashier (Former Employee), Windham, MESeptember 13, 2014
Management was okay and the employees were not very encouraging
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment to work in.
Customer Service Department Manager (Current Employee), Gadsden, ALSeptember 13, 2014
I have learned so much over the past 6 years at Lowe's. I started out as a cashier and have worked my way up the ladder. A typical day at Lowe's for me includes audits, scheduling, providing customer service, and monitoring my employees. Our management staff is great! I have developed so many skills from them and continue to grow daily. I couldn't ask – more... for a better group of co-workers to call my Lowe's family. The hardest part of my job is dealing with difficult customers. The most important thing to remember is the customer's feelings. The most enjoyable part of my job is getting to build relationships with not only co-workers but also frequent customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Non-CDL Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Riverdale, UTSeptember 13, 2014
I loved working here wouldnt mind going back. Its always something different everyday and great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to shop
Lowes Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Dover, DESeptember 13, 2014
Awesome place to work and shop at. They have everything you need from lumber to garden items and everything in between.

About Lowe's

No longer a low-profile company, Lowe's Companies has evolved from a regional hardware store operator into a nationwide chain – Read more