Find companies:
Lowe's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,154 reviews

Lowe's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Forklift Operator, Receiver/Stocker (Former Employee), Texarkana, TXAugust 26, 2014
Pros: off every weekend
Cons: had to work overnight
Driving Forklift, Unloading trailers, Stock merchandise.
I learned more forklift operating experience
Management was okay
Coworkers were team players. Good crew
The hardest part of my job was very heavy lifting
Enjoyable part was the extra breaks and truck free days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low security as a contractor
Senior Initiative Program/Project Manager (Former Employee), Mooresville ncAugust 26, 2014
Pros: great office and location
Cons: to unstable as a contractor
The IT part of the company is in a large transition. Senior staff has change a lot over the past few years. This translates to not much vision that stays. .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you are hourly
Assistant Store Manager Administrative (Former Employee), Columbus, OHAugust 26, 2014
Pros: great associates to work with
Cons: upper management does not care about you as a person or your family only what you can do for them.
They do not take your family life into acct in any way shape or form when you are a salaried manager. Your expected to work 60 plus hours a week and sometimes more with no remorse for anything you have going on outside of the store. You on days off and vacation are expected to call in and answer emails and phone calls and if you done there are repercussions. – more... This is the expectation . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place for me
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXAugust 26, 2014
Pros: friendly people, customers
Cons: got bored standing in one place for hours when i didn't have anything to do
I loved working for Lowe's Home Improvement due to the continuous smell of fresh cut lumber, the smiling customer faces, and the opportunities to help others. When I was doing the beginning mistakes my managerial team was there to help me when I didn't know what to do. I am grateful for them. I even got to run the Seasonal Department for a day and I – more... loved being in control of it. Even though I am short I loved doing my best to help people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes the great.
Weekend Team (Former Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 25, 2014
Pros: amazing work environment friendly coworkers and tons of help.
This job was pretty fun. The people are amazing here. They are nice and sweet and help you when you're in need. Co workers take care of you as if you were family.
My usual routine as a weekend team member was to walk around and make sure costumers could find what they needed.
I also handled others things if they needed me too for example the Register – more... or the pain desk. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lowes review
Outside Lawn and Garden Associate (Current Employee), Camden, SCAugust 25, 2014
a place where it is hard to move up they tell you one thing and do another
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work
CSAII (Former Employee), Easley, SCAugust 25, 2014
Pros: lots of opportunity to goof off.
Cons: if you're conscientious and have a good work ethic you'll be doing all the work.
The store I worked at in Easley had absolutely no employee oversight. Management had no clue what the employees do every day, they're only concerned with the numbers coming up right. I routinely worked shifts with 1 or 2 other employees in my area who I rarely saw do anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice associates, central location
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Christiansburg, VAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: nice associates
Cons: garden center hadrd to get extra help when needed
fun place to work hard although receiving loading help when the outside en center became busy, getting backup for loading became a problem
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people..wrong place for me
Unloader/Stocker (Current Employee), Springfield, MOAugust 25, 2014
Pros: set hours
Cons: no breaks
I currently work in the back while unloading trucks each day, but I am such a people person that I would rather be on the floor helping customers with their projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting work place
Inside Garden Sales Associate (Former Employee), Whitehall PAAugust 25, 2014
extremely knowledgeable co workers, interesting customers with great stories.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay workplace but quick to fire you with out a reason
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee), Columbia, MDAugust 25, 2014
Pros: can learn somethings then go to a higher paying job
Cons: managers will do anything to get you fired
same routine everyday everyone is drained and tired learned how to use heavy machinery management is not the best all look down on co workers hardest part handling call outs and people quitting
most enjoyable your coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced environment.
retail sales (Former Employee), NCAugust 24, 2014
Pros: benefits, paid vacations, salary
Cons: hiring people just to fill a slot, rather than actually being qualified. working on christmas eve and thanksgiving.
A very fast paced environment under important deadlines.
A typical day is setting up the department, managing employees, ordering product, customer service with very little hours and a small crew. The hardest part of the job is not having enough hours to take care of the customers like we should be able to. The most enjoyable part of the job was the – more... salary and having good co-workers. I learned a lot in 13 years about myself and how to manage employees and run a tight department and striving to succeed corporates expectations. I learned how to deal with a lot of pressure and how to adapt to changes within the company quickly. As for management,I have worked with some great managers and I have also worked for managers that really do not need to be managers! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes's of the future
Operations Manager Of Install (Current Employee), Marrero, LAAugust 24, 2014
this job is horrible, it has so much potential, but with the new policies and procedures and the company seems to be cutting back
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
customer service associate (Current Employee), Cornelia, GAAugust 24, 2014
Pros: great place to meet new people
Cons: healthcare
i go in assist customers, help my co-workers down stock/top stock products, mix paint, cut blinds. The hardest part of the job is that you have no set hours one week you can open and the next you close. The most enjoyable part of my job is the people, you meet all sorts of new interesting people. I have learned a lot about different types of paint/stains – more... and the make-up of them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement
Dept. Manager (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CAAugust 24, 2014
Great place to work but really no advancement opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have to choose between work and family time
Associate (Former Employee), New YorkAugust 23, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: support
The company is a good company to work for its benefits. I would not recommend to work but only as an hourly associate and not a salary manager unless you do not have a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Blaine, MNAugust 23, 2014
Although Lowe's increased their demands on those who got the job done regularly, they only offered advancement to a select few. After Applying for 15 different internal positions it became clear that since they could not find people to work every weekend I would never be anything more than a Wee Team Employee. It was time to look for something worth – more... working towards – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoy my job, I just want to go futher in my life.
Customer Sales Associate (Current Employee), Danville, KYAugust 23, 2014
Pros: good co-workers
Cons: short breaks, poor management
A typical work day is an hour lunch with two fifteen minute breaks. Very fast work days during the summer and short work days during the fall and winter months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company cook-outs
Hardware Associate (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAAugust 23, 2014
Pros: fun work place, nice peolple
Cons: bad management
I enjoyed working at Lowe's, it was always something to do or to work on. I've never saw myself not being busy at Lowe's. A typical day for me was to clock in, he'd to the break room to get my vest, then to the floor. You'll enter act with some so many different people, it kinda make's the day go past faster. Management needs to improve I'd say. I've – more... seen a few zone managers fired, and a few hired in less than a year. For the most part Lowe's hires good people, so you always get a long with lot's of co-workers. One of the hardest things about my job was, management. It's like one is one the same page. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working People
Lumber Sales Associate (Former Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 22, 2014
Most everyone was really nice, the work was tough sometimes but they tried their best to take care of their employees.

About Lowe's

No longer a low-profile company, Lowe's Companies has evolved from a regional hardware store operator into a nationwide chain – Read more