Find companies:
Lowe's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,846 reviews

Lowe's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unsatisfactory workplace
Flooring Specialist (Current Employee), Brantford, ONAugust 26, 2012
management is horrible, poorly run, no communication, the only thing that was good was working with my co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no fun
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 26, 2012
no social committy! or christmas party perhaps no associate cohesivness because of the lack of social events.
typical retail job, unspoken seniority, 0-40 hours per week, few full time positions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job for when in school
Sales (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONAugust 21, 2012
wrok with dlients all day
sell product in your deparment
meet new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but stressful place to work.
Deli Clerk, loader and commercial loader (Former Employee), Balzac, ABAugust 13, 2012
A great place for people wanting to work for the summer or get some work experience. good for people new to the work force.
Lots of drama and gossip.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to help people build things.
LUMBER ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Kingston, ONJuly 24, 2012
A typical day included helping people build all kinds of home projects. good times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dm frieght flow Edmonton
Department Manager (Former Employee), EdmontonJuly 9, 2012
Very demanding huge responsibility. There is no training and hardly no support!! Expectation to succeed are near impossible. The vision is great but new store management needs to learn ALLOT about the people and the right way to motivate. Change in leadership from the top down is exactly that top down! No collaboration!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hrs, incredible expextations, no job security, horrible
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Vaughan, ONJune 30, 2012
Pros: non
Cons: all
5 am t0 5 pm open shift
12 to 11+ close
no labor
high expextations for what you have to work with
high turn over
zero on the job training for management
poor district manager leadership
basso looks after himself only askes you to change things from company policy then puts all the changes on you when his boss calls out the differences from policy
store – more... manager is a yes man
no sympathy for family deaths
too much to list
worst place i ever worked – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If it wasn't for the other people on overnights I would have KILLED myself.
Overnight stocking Associate (Former Employee), London, ONJune 27, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: poor (and lying) management
Typical day... start @ 10:30 NOT ONE MINUTE EARLY or else you will be penalized..
Go to store pep rally (whoopie). Be told store wouldn't function with out you (BLAH ..BLAH.. BLAH..).
Clean up day shift mess..Approximately 6 hours.
Attempt to put stock away (like putting a square peg in a round hole).
Be told by day shift manager that you didn't live – more... up to their expectations. Or that you didn't put forth 110 %.
Suck it up because the benefits were the only good thing about this company
Management would hide from any and every responsibility ( Well what do YOU think we should do ???).
Some co-workers were awesome others I wouldn't cross the road to urinate in their ear if their brain was on fire...
Hardest part of my job was going in everyday...
Most enjoyable part was going home at the end of my shift.
The best was when you get hired and told by the store manager that you will only be in a position for a couple of months....There will be lots of chances to move up....15 months later you quit to take a lower paying job just so you can return to a normal lifestyle and sleep patterns.
I know what your thinking but I'm not a whinner I received 2 exemplary performance reviews and I never missed a day of work and always pulled my own weight. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Work Load
Kitchen Sales Specialist and Designer (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJune 16, 2012
Pros: my experience has earned the the respect of my colleagues and clients.
Cons: retail hours
My recent employment in retail, I have quickly experienced and learned the many challenges pertaining to this industry. Currently, my management team, is virtually invisible. Which I can conclude, reflects the quality of my role.

A typical day consists of maintaining my order management, scheduling, designing, and providing exceptional customer service – more... to all that visit the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Building is a very emphasized quality
Cashier (Former Employee), Newmarket, ONApril 3, 2012
Make you feel as a valued member of a productive group
Management demand a lot but very fair
Co-workers were helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work with many opportunities
Credit/SOS Coordinator (Current Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 24, 2012
I have worked at Lowes for years and have always enjoyed my job. It is a retail job that requires retail hours and lots of hard work but Lowes is a company that gladly recognizes its employees and will give you plenty of opportunities to learn and grow within the company. Overall a great place to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes
Cashier Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), FlorissantJuly 20, 2014
Pros: learn, teammembers, schedule
Cons: various thngs and problmes that can occur
If we have enough employees we sometimes have a smooth day otherwise sometimes it can be kaotic. I have learned a lot out of my years being at Lowe's and continue to learn more from my coworkers and management. Enjoyable part of the day is just being their and love working with customers that come in the door.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Department Manager (Current Employee), Monaca, PAJuly 20, 2014
Helpful managers and friendly coworkers always willing to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co-workers and a fun enviroment to work in
Receiver/ Stocker (Former Employee), Saugus, MAJuly 20, 2014
Pros: employee discounts and the co-workers
A typical day at work would be taking in the truck and stocking inventory, assisting customers with questions, and loading heavy products into their cars. Daily use of heavy machinery and driving the forklift, reach lift, and using the order picker. I learned how to effectively use power equipment. Co-workers were always willing to help out and give – more... advice when needed my training with them helped me perform well on the job. Management was always very professional and communication was great. The hardest part of the job was learning how to sort the boxes from the truck. I loved the employee discounts and benefits that I received while I was there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AT WORK IT VERY MISERABLE
Lumber Cashier /Refund Clerk (Current Employee), New Orleans, LAJuly 20, 2014
Pros: 41k health care dental life insurancre
Cons: hard to move up in company
SOME OF MY COWORKER COMPLAIN EVERY DAY ABOUT MANAGEMENT .NEW WORKER CAN COME TO THE COMPANY AND GET A POSITION BEFORE PRESENT WORKER THAT BEEN WORKING THERE FOR YEARS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i liked the people i worked with
csa (Former Employee), Murphy, TXJuly 19, 2014
Pros: nice coworkers
Cons: management bad. they had there favorites. pay raises weren't that good and pay was ok if ur single, but married not good
Nice place to work. Management was very poor. Pay not that good
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work setting
Customer service Associate (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 19, 2014
Pros: ok pay, work enviorment was friendly, room for advancment
Cons: no overtime, short hours, little pay
Management was always on top of things. Room for advancement was optional. Pay was above minimum but not high $11.50 starting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Midlothian, VAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: 401k
Cons: working holidays and weekends
A typical day was helping a customer find what they needed
I learned how to multi-task
Management was good
Co-workers were good
Hardest part of job was closing time
Most enjoyable part of my job was the smile on customers face when you helped them what they wanted
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you have the right boss
Area Loss Prevention Manager (Former Employee), PAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: money
Cons: sue read
Once a regional or divisional decides that they don't like you (even if the reason is not valid) your days are numbered. I have seen this happen again and again
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier/Returns Associate (Former Employee), Bedford, OHJuly 18, 2014
Pros: career advancement and well deserved raises
Cons: full time hours with no health care benefits
Productive and career advancements,also offers career training advancement.

About Lowe's

No longer a low-profile company, Lowe's Companies has evolved from a regional hardware store operator into a nationwide chain – Read more