Lowe's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed being part of the new store opening in Barrie, working from the ground floor up.
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON7 December 2017
Long hours yielded satisfaction when able to solve a customer's problem, advancement was attainable, team was great to work with. Hardest part was dealing with disgruntled customers. Management was all over the place, no continuity in their policies.
Pros
Great team to work with
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhappy
Customer Service Associate Lumber (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK7 December 2017
they expect you to do every thing even when their are not enough people to do the work

they Lie to me about job advancements

they fire good hard working people for speaking up about bad work conditions

given terrible shifts, I am working morning, mid, and closing shifts all in one week and closing one night and opening the next with only 8 hours between shifts
Pros
none
Cons
too many
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Head Cashier
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 December 2017
I was a head Cashier and was responsible for approx 8 cashiers. Dealt with customer issues.Worked in returns and customer service. also was very good at signing up customers for credit cards.
Pros
nice environment
Cons
customer complaints
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work not very much training
Stocker/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Goshen, IN1 December 2017
Everyday I would get up at 3:30 am go to work and stock shelves until about 10:00 then go to the docking area unload trucks with the forklift and take products out to the floor when i wasn't busy i would usually move appliances or help out other people using a picker and forklift down stock stuff or put items up into storage until 4:00 and clock out
Pros
learned a lot and met some great people
Cons
training was very limited you were not always prepared for questions by customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail au rythme très rapide
Marchandiseur Outillage/Automobile (Former Employee) –  Boucherville, QC1 December 2017
Lowe's RONA est une entreprise en perpétuel changement et où les défis sont très nombreux.
Pros
Cpe, caféteria et Gym
Cons
Environnement stressant
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, enjoyable environment
LOSS PREVENTION & SAFETY MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON27 November 2017
Excellent culture to work within. The safety culture in the store is always improving. Great opportunities to coach and manage staff. Enjoy learning challenges that come with the position
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work enviroment
CASHIER & LUMBER ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK26 November 2017
Great place to get retail experience and to help customers with all their needs. Working with others make the job fun. Lots of information to learn and lots of ways to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stylish kitchen designing with matching counter colors
Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 November 2017
it was enjoyable shift time dealing with different customers demands & cultures providing best services and product knowledge supported by management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There was something new everyday
Delivery Assistant (Current Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC22 November 2017
The job never allows you to be standing still or bored, which in my opinion I love. There are times when the management do not work as hard as the workers which cause the store to go in a downward spiral of misfunction.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Head Cashier (Current Employee) –  Rocky View, AB18 November 2017
The company is a great place to work, with friendly staff that treat you like family. The company is growing opening a brand new conversion store in Crowfoot opening soon
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

Want to know more about Lowe's?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited room for advancement
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON10 November 2017
Lots of part time positions but difficult to move on, there seem to be limited full time positions . When applying to a full time position there is not feed back all of the sudden it's filled and you never hear anything about it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but Busy and tiring
Customer Service Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON8 November 2017
It was a good experience. They even do in-house forklift certificate but are most time under staffed and extremely busy. Due to which you really have to work a lot in order to manage all the customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Millwork associate (Former Employee) –  Sault-Sainte-Marie, ON6 November 2017
Worked there for more than 8 months and they started blaming stuff on me that I didnt do. This went on for a couple months until they finally brought me into the office and fired me, they said they didnt have a reason for it but it was effective immediately. I do not reccomend working here unless you want to work shifts that are all over the place and get yelled at in front of customers for absolutely nothing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong management team with clear vision on growth.
DC Operations Coach (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON6 November 2017
Unbelievable growth over the last 5yrs. Purchase of Rona creating opportunities. Great management team. Positive environment. Always looking for strong growth potential candidates from within the company.
Pros
Management team, encouraged growth.
Cons
3 DC moves in 3 years
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in Retail
Night Receiver/Stocker (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON3 November 2017
As with all retail positions, the job has pros and cons. I've enjoyed working here for 10 years, and now I'm ready for a new challenge. The management could use some work, and they could be more supportive, but they do take what you say under consideration. The pay scale they use is questionable sometimes, but I feel personally well paid for the work I do.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service front end
Customer Service Front end (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON2 November 2017
Good work life balance, good salary, good working atmosphere with good people around, Quality products and well known hardware store in Canada and US.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Night Crew (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON28 October 2017
Hard working individuals who make up a store of a variety of different areas of home improvement. Always willing to lend a helping hand to those customers in need
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and also fun
Specialist Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON20 October 2017
Awesome place to learn. The manager, assistant manager and the store manager are all awesome. They will take the time to hear from you and they are really understanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just Work hard
Load Puller (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON18 October 2017
I'm not going to lie the job can be stressful sometimes just like any other job. The load puller job itself is really easy basically you just pull orders for delivery for the next couple of days, if there's any problems email the department that the order applies too for help. It not complicated.

Lowes is a great employer to work for they recognize talent. I went from being an Overnight Stocker to the Overnight load puller and now I have been promoted to a Department Manager in less then 2 years. So there's alot of room for advancement here at Lowes, you just have to work hard and be humble. Don't complain about problems be a problem solver and come up with solutions that how you get ahead at Lowes or any company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes.
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK17 October 2017
It was hard to get ahead in this company as a cashier,
or peak Cashier. Peak is honestly the worst. At first when the store opened this were fine and one by one the crew/family started to quit or got fired. People in other departments were able to switch around with ease where as a cashier is stuck.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lowe's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 21,707 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6