Louisiana-Pacific Corporation (LP building Products) Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro managed click environment with self preservation
Electrical Supervisor II (Former Employee) –  Newberry, MIMarch 18, 2016
pretty much inline with what the guy in Alabama said is true of the Newberry facility. small town politics, coupled with a extended family click in upper management positions makes it hard to be an outsider, no matter how good you are at what you do, if you're looking for a place where nothing is ever good enough and working your self to death is considered part of the job by the plant manager then this is right up your alley if not and you like to be appreciated for how hard you work then heed my advice. All the
department managers are brainwashed with the same ideals there's no training, I had to learn everything on my own wasn't compensated 4 using my license for the company and had a boss that knew nothing about the trade that I'm in, yet him and the plant manager (who can't even rotate his own tires) conducted annual evaluations which you evaluate yourself and if you're honest Lookout to sum it all up run as fast as you can in the other direction don't say I didn't warn you!
Pros
Free pop for salaried people, some good people (not many)
Cons
there is no cost of living raise each year, the hourly get 3%, even if they are a bad employee, if you're in the maintenance department according to the plant manager you have to quote, catch babies from a burning building in order to get a decent raise
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad work environment
supervisor (Former Employee) –  Thomasville, ALJuly 4, 2015
I was hired at a very good salary and the promise that I would have control over my department. Quickly found that was not the case. He acts nice for a while, then gets mad at you. Once he gets mad, he stays mad. He tries to micro manage all his management and does not respect or listen to the people who know what to do. When the plant is down he create a lot of tension. People make bad decisions just to make it look like they are doing something. The plant itself has a lot of problems - mechanical and electrical. It will take a lot of time and money to correct them, if possible. The manager and plant make for a poor working environment. The medical is also poor. Until you reach your deductible you don't have insurance. I don't know if the plant manager's attitude is standard Louisiana Pacific. I definitely do not recommend working in a management position at this location.
Pros
Most people there are good to work with.
Cons
Plant manager is a tyrant. Won't let people do their jobs. Yells at people. Mediocre benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Logistics Coordinator/Off-site Inventory (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 23, 2014
great place and great work environment, a lot of nice people
Was this review helpful?Yes20No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun co workers
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  Two Harbors, MNSeptember 30, 2014
they make and manufacture great products. always room to grow and become a leader.
Was this review helpful?Yes25No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay and beneifts.
Operator (Current Employee) –  Hayward, WIApril 11, 2014
Swing shift is hard, but you adapt. Nice people to work with. Not the best as it runs 24/7 so even on Holidays you work.
Was this review helpful?Yes29No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsafe and dangerous place to work,uneducated management
Maintenance department (Former Employee) –  Houlton,maineMarch 25, 2014
A typical day started with a unorganized meeting with an department head that did not understand his job or responsibilities. I learned that when working at Louisiana-Pacific you did not need to know how to do a job to get promoted to a management position. Managers were usually uneducated and rude to work with. co-workers were told to be a good worker you need to report anything that your co-workers were doing back to management. The hardest part of the job was constantly defending yourself against uneducated managers and their unstrung claims. The most enjoyable part of the job was finally getting laid off.
Pros
decent pay
Cons
long hours in dirty, dusty and unsafe conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes31No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent in all aspects
Class B plant electrician (Former Employee) –  Newberry, MIJanuary 11, 2014
Great company to work for, excellent management, benefits, and safety programs.
Pros
great leadership, good benefits, excellent safety programs
Was this review helpful?Yes24No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Quality Control Technician and Packager (Former Employee) –  New Limerick, MENovember 2, 2013
STANDING FOR LONG PERIODS OF TIME.LEARNED ABOUT THE PRODUCTIVE SIDE OF A PRODUCTION LINE.MANAGEMENT WAS TOUGH BUT FAIR,CO-WORKERS KNEW ALOT ABOUT THE PROCESS,HARDEST PART WAS BEING ON MY FEET FOR 12 HOURS A DAY.GETTING A GOOD PAY FOR HARD WORK
Pros
good breaks, health care
Cons
12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes30No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didnt spend enough time to have an opinion
Lean Six Sigma Black Belt (Former Employee) –  Conroe, TXApril 9, 2013
Worked with them during a very challenging time so judgement will be skewed. Probably not a bad place to work. Enjoyed company of my colleagues
Was this review helpful?Yes16No12

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture