Find companies:
Longo's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

Longo's Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start but not enough communication
Customer Service Representative and Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 6, 2014
Pros: not enough communication
Cons: do not value hard working employees
Co-workers are great, management is turning over and too many newly implemented rules without enough communication enforced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Chain Store
Shipper/Receiver/Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 9, 2014
Regular shift work and average pay. I liked the position but, it is usually confined to the warehouse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work, friendly people
PPF Clerk (Current Employee), Oakville, ONSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: friendly people
Cons: work load
I have enjoyed working here, because I have made many great friends which made my working experience better. I have learned a lot including how to do inventory, make orders, cook, and how to handle stressful situations responsibly. The hardest part of my job is the work load. There are so many responsibilities I have throughout the day which makes it – more... stressful, but I have learned how to handle it through my experiences. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work place had really good party for the employee, bonus
Driver/shopper (Former Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 25, 2014
Pros: hours was great it work for me &children/dicount
Cons: poor management/ can't find anyone to help when needed
making sure order goes out on time,having patience with others, management was poor. when a company have young person who is runs the show not always a good thing. the hard part was not getting alot of hours. the good thing about this job was I was busy all the time till finish which make the shift goes faster.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun!!
QA- Inspector (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 9, 2014
Pros: early finishing
Cons: early morning start
Diverse products, Diverse people
not having fixed schedule
lack of management skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: great salary
Cons: no cons at all really
great management and peers to work with. Taught me a lot about working with customers and properly handling of meat etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment to work
Grocery Gateway Shopper (Current Employee), Etobicoke, ONDecember 16, 2013
Practicing accuracy and quality is my everyday life at work. I make sure that products that are ordered by the customer will be sent out and also will ensure that they are getting good quality items. I have learned to manage my time wisely, be efficient and to be very observant. Managers and co-workers are nice and very open to suggestions that will – more... make the company much better. The hardest part of the job is walking and standing for 8 hours or more and the shift is night time. It may be hard and strenuous at times but that has helped me a lot in improving myself better. This job has opened my eyes in a lot of stuff, being able to mingle with different kinds of people and learn from them had helped me in the way i look at life right now. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Longo's
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), Maple, ONOctober 15, 2013
Pros: busy, so the shift goes by fast
Cons: cleaning at the end of the night while customers are coming in last minute.
A typical day at work is just serving customers and communicating what needs to be done when we are not serving. I've learned that there's more to a job than what I and people think. I've learned that customers needs are important. My co workers make going to work worth it. The hardest part of this job is at the end of the night when we have to clean – more... and there's still customers coming in last minute. The most enjoyable part of this job is the people I help throughout the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace with high expectancy
Customer Service Clerk (Current Employee), Brampton, ONAugust 29, 2013
Becasue my manager and the supervisors always expected high quality work from me, kniowing that kept me on my toes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace for students
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Thornhill, OntarioAugust 27, 2013
Pros: occasional free lunches
Cons: long hours
This is a really great workplace for students because how flexible they are with hours.

I've learned good customer relationship management skills and how to use various CRM and accounting software.

I have a diverse set of co-workers with unique and varying personalities; I get along with everyone well at work with little difficulties.

The hardest – more... part of the job I would say is having to stand in the same place for hours at a time. The most enjoyable part on the other hand is being able to interact with all of the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low pay, tons of.work
grocery/produce (Former Employee), torontoAugust 13, 2013
Pros: most employees are great
Cons: management expects.u.to.kiss their.buttocks
Longos is not a.special.place.to.work. The company works many employees to the bone with little pay.
Management talks about profits all day long..and district managers visit.the.stores to.complain and whine without.knowing what's going.on..why.isn't this.there..etc etc... maybe good part time if in school temporarily . If you want a career at this place – more... expect to be kissing behinds and shining shoes all the way up the ladder.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is my longest job and I enjoy working here.
Bakery Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMay 28, 2013
Pros: bonus, good co workers
Some days are better than some, but generally I like working at Longo's. Its not perfect but This has been my longest job, being here for a year - versus 5 month, 3 month , 2 month - long jobs in car dealerships, a restaurant, retail and a theme park. I work with a few that are hard to work with, but a majority of the staff I'm happy to call my friends, – more... I also get to serve some really kind and thankful customers which makes the job a bit easier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many opportunities for students.
PRODUCE CLERK (Current Employee), Oakville, ONMay 7, 2013
Flexible working hours that allow me to earn an income while continuing to focus on school. Supportive relationships among team members. In-store purchase discounts. One of Canada‚Äôs 50 Best Managed Companies. Challenging work environment that allows for a productive enjoyable day. Great online training programs for safety, working with customers, and – more... being an honorable employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Representative/Dairy Associate (Current Employee), Woodbridge, ONMarch 26, 2013
Pros: long hours
Cons: short lunches
A typical day at work is to provide effective communication and respond daily to customer questions about dairy merchandise, I've learned while being at longo's is to provide total customer satisfaction which includes engaging and interacting with customers to create a positive shopping experience. The most enjoyable part of the job is that i get to – more... meet new people while enjoying of what i do best and that is satisfying customers needs and also getting more and more experience through out the years , so that i can gain the experience that i need to get where i am right now. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jolly environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Brampton, ONDecember 16, 2012
Pros: great benifits
Cons: non-flexible hours.
A typical work day involves ringing customer transaction in a timely manner, putting out shipment and keeping the store clean. I've learned a great amount of time management skills and being able to multi-task. The management is good and are always available to answer questions and give assistance when necessary. My coworkers are friendly and hard working. – more... We all work together towards the same goal of keeping the customers happy. The hardest part of my job would have to be the nightly cleaning only because it takes at least two hours to have the store properly cleaned each night. The most enjoyable part of my job is that I get to sit down to service the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-productive, no fun workplace
Cashier and Customer Service - Retail (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 27, 2012
Pros: 5% discount on groceries and store products for employees
Cons: breaks and lunches delayed or forgotten, panic workplace
Intense workplace, high adrenaline, management panic when its busy, no people's skills. Not friendly workplace at all, poor management.

May 10, 2013

I understand that you unfortunately had a negative experience, but it is reviews like this that need to be taken with a grain of salt. What was your part? How was your attitude? If your going to write a review that you'd like people to trust.....strive for some balance.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close to home and alot of work for very little pay
Customer Service - Part Time (Current Employee), Mississauga, OntNovember 15, 2012
Pros: close to home and kids school and in walking distance
Cons: hours all over the place
how to prepare food for customer and taking orders for cakes ,stocking shelves ,closing packaging all bread left over at the end of the day ,you have to watch co-workers because they are only for themselves ,management not nice ,the most enjoyable part of the job is when everything is done and you just have to clean up
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Companies values the diversity of its workforce and takes steps to create and maintain an inclusive, non-discriminatory workplace where colleagues can
Customer Service Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 21, 2012
Pros: benifits
Cons: long hours
helps customers all over the globe to realize their potential.

About Longo's

Longo's is a family owned leading food retailer which has grown and prospered since 1956. Longo's team members are dedicated to – Read more