Find companies:
Lockheed Martin
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,769 reviews

Lockheed Martin Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT support
Computer Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Research Triangle Park, NCNovember 7, 2014
we were contractors for supporting the US EPA headquarters in Raleigh NC. eventually the company was under bid and the EPA went with another IT support contractor
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Systems Administrator Sr (Current Employee), Louisville, CONovember 6, 2014
A typical day at work can fluctuate between very stressful and limited activity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team, close to one-another
Informatics Vocabulary Specialist (contractor) (Former Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 6, 2014
Typical day was an 8 hour work day of designing computer programs
Learned how to apply standards of vocabulary to different healthcare systems
Very good managers and co-workers
Learning new methods was always a challenge, but applying them was always fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to launch a career
Sr. Master Scheduler (Former Employee), Palmdale, CANovember 5, 2014
Pros: work life balance, good benefits, and 9/80 work weeks
Cons: limited advancement in business operations (non-engineering fields) to management
The most enjoyable part of the job: Overall Lockheed Martin is a great place to work.Benefits are comprehensive. Pay is competitive. The staff members are extremely professional and focused. Stretch assignments are offered by which employees can expand their skills and competencies.

The hardest part of the job: Heavily tied to the US defense industry – more... so projects can be affected by congressional budget issues such as sequestration or program changes from the political level. A fact of life for any in the defense/aerospace industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company
F35 Crew Chief (Avionics Specialty) (Current Employee), Ft Walton Bch, FLNovember 5, 2014
Benefits are better than a lot of places, PTO and vacation time are fair at a little over 2 weeks per year. Medical and dental insurance are horrible in my opinion. Management is different, depending on where you work. However, in my location it would be a better place to work if management respected people more than money. This is a contract which – more... will end soon, therefore i gave a low rating for job security. Pay is set by contract and is very nice for the area. Work does require some overtime, and shift work so the work life balance is average. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great benefits
Sales Representative Associate (Current Employee), Malta, NYNovember 4, 2014
Lockheed Martin is a good work environment with some excellent benefits and compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits
Avionics Technician Specialist (Current Employee), Greenville, SCNovember 4, 2014
A great place to work. I have been able to apply my military experience while working here and it has been very rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/Life Balance was challenging
PANEL LEAD & PROJECT MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Rockville, MDNovember 4, 2014
As a seasonal employee, immediate managers were not flexible when it came to family emergencies, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Administrative Associate, Office of Space Launch (Former Employee), Vandenberg, AFB CANovember 4, 2014
Productive and fun workplace with good benefits and flexible work hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day on the Job
PTDS Project Management Officer (Current Employee), AfghanistanNovember 4, 2014
Pros: direct leadership with part of my people, dealing with high ranking military officers
Cons: away from my family in oklahoma, dangerous environment.
My typical day consists of managing 6 aerostat systems comprising 15 personnel per site. I report directly to US Army Senior leadership on the status of their assets and my personnel running those assets. I routinely check on the status of parts, order parts where required and where those parts are at in theater to support the war fighter. And report – more... to leadership whether I'm having difficulties in getting said parts or support. I call my sites continuously to see whether the needs of the war fighter are being met and if I need to push anything on my end to better accommodate my teams. I scheduled vacation insuring I have proper manning as directed by our contract, write evaluations and perform good as well as adverse counseling when required. Approve all timecards insuring accuracy and proper job codes are followed so that we are billing the customer properly. I travel throughout country extensively being extremely proactive in taking care of my people and myself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Training Project Lead (Former Employee), Lakeland, FLNovember 3, 2014
I cannot say enough good things about Lockheed Martin. Encouraging culture, great work-life balance, proactive, advancement possibilities, high emphasis on training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supporting our warfighhter
Database Administrator (Current Employee), Grand Prairie, TXNovember 2, 2014
Pros: lots of holidays
Cons: buildings without windows; cubicles
Fun and challenging environment; key to growing within the company is to move around laterally across programs and areas

Don't let old school managers impede your ambition or contribution to continuous improvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What they don't tell you when you get offered a job fresh out of college.
Software Engineer and Technical Intern (Former Employee), Chantilly, VANovember 2, 2014
Pros: lot's of options to move around the company, decent salary, leadership programs, tuition reimbursement and a few other benefits
Cons: failing to explain to new grads what exactly they can expect.
Please be aware that you will be waiting for a clearance that could take up to 5 years! Sometimes it comes in as fast a month, but on average I believe it is 6 months. I waited 2 years just to find out I was declined. I wish I could get those 2 years back. So if you are willing to gamble a little then go ahead and accept the offer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very exciting job with never ending rewards
Senior Field Engineer Level III (Current Employee), AfghanistanNovember 2, 2014
Pros: working with a team environment
Cons: i enjoy everything about the job
Launch and recover aerostat, monitor cameras, maintain equipment, maintain daily logs, communicate with the military, monitor the weather. It was a team environment and we worked well together. The whole part of the job was very enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Executive Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee), Fairfax, VANovember 1, 2014
I absolutely loved working at the Fairfax office. Very professional, very friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As an employee here I was not driven to do more and be my best
IS&GS College Intern (Former Employee), Boulder, COOctober 31, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: poor process, old technology, not stimulating, frustrating at times
As a young college grad, I want to work on projects that challenge me and force me to learn. At Lockheed Martin, the benefits of working hard and going above and beyond were insignificant. The work did not require me to bring my best and after each day I often left frustrated with how slowly everything moved. More often than not a small easy fix would – more... take the entire week to get through paperwork and process, using my skill inefficiently. Also there was a significant age gap between me and the other employees at the Lockheed Martin facility I was employed at. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, Exciting Work
Manager Business Development and Capture (Former Employee), Orlando, FloridaOctober 31, 2014
The ethos of Lockheed Martin aligned with the military culture I began my professional career with.

Co-workers and management have a common purpose and work together to provide the best product to our customer possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best place ever
Numerical Control Programmer (Former Employee), Palmdale, CAOctober 31, 2014
Pros: superb company
Cons: politics
I loved the 9-80 work schedule.
Great people, best company ever.
Awesome aircraft
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Educational Technologist (Current Employee), Camp Lejeune, NCOctober 30, 2014
Great place to work. Great opportunity to participate in the full life cycle of the instructional design process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience Overall
Project Engineer (Current Employee), Washington, DCOctober 29, 2014
Pros: benefits, ethical and fair treatment, good co-workers
Cons: bureaucracy, no job security, feeling like a number
Overall, I have been treated fairly in terms of salary, raises and special awards for a job well done.

Co-workers have been excellent and I have learned much from them.

The down side is having to fend for yourself when your contract ends. It seems that those who are well-connected in the company or with lots of seniority are retained, regardless of – more... their actual performance.

Also, I have run across some incompetent managers who seem to be protected, even though their blunders may have caused loss of contracts. The rest of us are at risk because of their incompetence, while they are moved around to other programs to keep them safe. I guess Lockheed, being such a large company, can absorb the costs of losing contracts because of incompetent managers.

Another pet peeve is the disparity of treatment between the select few who are being groomed in the leadership development programs and the rest of us. It seems they, mostly college grads, are given lots of training, visibility, stretch assignments and mentoring from upper management to enhance their careers and prep them for assuming corporate leadership roles. Interesting to see that so many of them are leaving the company before its huge investment in them is realized. – less

About Lockheed Martin

Breakthrough performance. Game-changing innovations. Unwavering sense of purpose. Our employees are the core of our business – Read more