Find companies:
Loblaws
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
117 reviews

Loblaws Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work and precision
Assembler (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: mutual respect
Cons: missrespect
Starting a new job can be a scary and
stressful experience. Everyone wants to
fit in and be liked, but that can be hard
when meeting a new group of people
that know nothing about you or your
work ethics. When starting something
new, the best ad vice is to listen rather
than speak. Don’t rock the boat with
your own opinions too early; instead ,
ease – more... into a comfortable relationship
with your new colleagues. That's what describe my being at Loblaws Edmonton. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for as a student.
Grocery clerk (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONFebruary 3, 2014
A variety of opportunities, with the option of working up into managment if I wanted to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: great place and people to work with
Cons: customers usually the hardest part at times.
Loved working there n the people as well. Friendly peers and always willing to help each other when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not as good as they say
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Kingston, ONJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: nice customers.
Cons: power tripping management.
Loblaws is supposed to be one Canada's top employers but thats far from the truth. They don't allow there cashiers to bring water to there lanes and they have to wait to get water from a culligan located in the customer service area and thats when they are not busy , forcing them to wait to stay hydrated. The employees who have been there for 30+ years – more... are still fighting to get hours, and the regular staffs hours get cut when the students come back into town. Which makes no sense, they should be giving hours to the regular employees first.The staff members who have been there for a while or management are all on power trips. It's an easy place to work with not much thought to the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff was often nice but always stressed
Praised by management (Former Employee), Ottawa, OntarioJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: alot of break time
Cons: depressing working environment
When I started working there I was mainly on cash. After a few months I was trained for customer service and on the UScan. The staff was often complaining which is not the kind of work environment I wanted. Everyone seemed to have to be there more then wanting to be there. I wanted a job that I wanted to go to and work with people who wanted to be there. – more... The customers were very friendly and they are the ones I miss the most. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but with no sociable people
Cashier (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 7, 2014
Typical day work was going to the cashier and start running trough items.

I've learn working trough pressure

my co-workers where rude and isolated

the hard was during the first day in getting use to the environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Produce Worker (Former Employee), MississaugaJanuary 5, 2014
Not a very demanding job, had fun working there. Great co-workers and management.//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was working at my chosen profession and really did enjoy my job
dept mgr (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONNovember 30, 2013
had a great relationship with management right to the very top even today after 9 years of retirement i still get the odd assignment when there are problems or new store openings the hardest part of the job was trying to satis fy everones needs on the schedule as it is a 7 a day work week but that is becoming normal so we learn to live with it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low wages unsociable hours
Joe Fresh Sales Clerk (Part Time) (Current Employee), Kingston, ONNovember 29, 2013
Wages are low, takes a long time to get a raise.
Lots of weekends and late nights
You are expected to be a security person and watch out for theft..Don't get paid enough for that!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great company to work for
Full time (Former Employee), GTANovember 27, 2013
Have a lot of life long friends, well appreciated for work done in years gone past. Lately personality is severely missing within company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The staff have a very good work ethic. They work very hard together as a team and socialize together outside of work. Very good morale.
Pharmacy Assistant (Current Employee), Sydney River, NSOctober 30, 2013
A typical day in the pharmacy is very fast moving and busy. Due to labor cutbacks I have learned to work fast and efficient in all aspects of the pharmacy. One negative aspect of working there is that they aren't forthcoming with regular raises in salary.The girls in the pharmacy are a great bunch to work with. Everyone gets along together during and – more... outside of work. The hardest part of work has to be on days when it is very busy and there is no overlap of staff. It can get very stressful when the wait times for prescriptions are longer due to staff shortage. The most enjoyable part of my job has to be when a patient is thankful to me for my assistance in helping them, with whatever it is they need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met a lot of great people
Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: fun
Cons: far
it was good, just too far the enviorment was nice people were nice customers were nice everything was just nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Kingston, ONSeptember 13, 2013
Pros: great people
Cons: late nights
cashier duties, greet customers, process orders through the till fast and efficiently, handle inquiries while cover customer service, cash out till at end of night, restock shelves with returns etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment working in a Loblaws store.
Loss Prevention Representative (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 23, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: staying after shift ended
A typical day included computer emails, computer work, and necessary follow up phone calls. The hardest part of the job was having to stay longer at work. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with fabulous people who supported my role within the team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place to work . Management is excellent. I would take them with me if I could .
MANTANCE (Former Employee), ABAugust 15, 2013
Pros: my supperviser lets me do the job and is there if needed
Clock in 530 am inspect my scrubber - check oil - damage - clean brushes - check all fluids - check squeegees for damage or wornen out . scrub all receiving and shipping floors then all department assembly aisles . Clean up spills as needed. End off shift wash and clean out scrubber and check all moving parts and clean for next shift .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOT FUN TO WORK
CASHER (Current Employee), North York, ONAugust 8, 2013
Pros: rarely
Cons: on your feet with little pay
WORK STARTS OF SLOW DEPENDING ON THE DAY AND REALLY PICKS UP AT LUNCH HOUR. YOU ARE ON YOUR FEET AND DO SOME LIFTING. MOST OF MY CO-WORKERS ARE NICE AND HARD WORKING. SOME LEAVE THEIR JOB FOR OTHERS TO DO. THEIR IS A LOT OF FAVOURTISM. HARDEST PART IS DEALING WITH SOME CUSTOMERS AND SOME MANAGEMENT AND THE GOOD PART IS YOU MAKE GOOD FRIENDS AND MEET – more... DIFFERENT PEOPLE. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time work
Front End Employee and Garden Centre (Current Employee), Carlingwood Mall, OttawaAugust 8, 2013
Pros: good people and work environment
Cons: poor hours and pay
Loblaws is a great company because of its workplace values, but in recent years they have routinely slashed salaries and have replaced good paying positions with revolving door part time employees. It is a decent position only as a part time summer or school job, and this is almost entirely because their pay is not competitive considering McDonalds – more... or Tim Hortons pay the same rate and offer better hours, but the quality of work experience is slightly better at Loblaws. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Financial Administrator (Current Employee), Regina, SKAugust 6, 2013
Pros: na
Cons: na
payroll, all HR related issues, accounts payables, report writing and processing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work, Mistreated, overworked, underpaid
clerk (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 18, 2013
Pros: college discount of 10%
Cons: everything, do your self a favour and stay away from this company
Ive been here for almost 10 years and place has declined. All locations are the same. Everyone is unhappy about their treatment from the company. Its horribly mismanaged, workers are paid minimum wage to work long days. No weekends off maybe once a month if lucky, just an all around unpleasant place to work. Nothing but stress and worries every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
POSITIVE ATTITUDE
Customer Service (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 3, 2013
Try to positive thinking& acting make life easier.

I am a hard worker. Sometimes people take adventage of that,but eventually when they knew me,change their attitude.

The most enjoyable part of the job is making customer big smile & became to be a friend.