Find companies:
Loblaw
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
127 reviews

Loblaw Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues but poor decision making in upper management
Director (Former Employee), bramptonDecember 3, 2012
Pros: nice job titles and seemingly decent pay but you work very hard for it
Cons: constant employee churn - no sense of stability
No job security.
Very little support for new employees.
Tribal learning system.
Upper management does not take the time to get to know you and your capabilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Loss Prevention (Current Employee), Bridgewater NSNovember 26, 2012
Pros: great company
Cons: long drive to get to work
My experience at Loblaw has been great so far. I really enjoy the atmosphere and my co-workers.

I've learned a lot about shrink and inventory that I feel could be helpful in a new role. The management team is great. Management meets for meetings weekly to discuss new and old news, to keep everyone in the loop. I found these meetings very helpful.

The – more... hardest part of the job for me is the commute to and from work everyday. I love the company and would be sad to go. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse of broken dreams
facilities (Former Employee), edmontonNovember 21, 2012
Pros: you get to go home when they let you
Cons: they will ruin your life
The warehouse in Edmonton has 2 main managers, they are racist, sexist and hot headed. One of them has thrown a can of cat food at an employee. You would like to leave an hour early to tend to your sick kid? Think again. The GM says things to the management like "the whip is worn out" meaning he's tired of whipping them. You are expected to work no – more... less than 10 hours a day on salary and on holidays. EVERYONE at DC04 HATES their jobs, even managers, but they have invested so much time into the compnany, it's hard to walk away. When upper management visits, we clean up and put smiles on so we don't get "managed out" afterward. DO NOT work there. You will get treated like an idiot everyday.

There are 12 supervisors employed, 19 shifts per week. About 3 supers per shift running a place with 100 employees per day. Do the math, it's a gong show with lots of short cuts done by over worked, under paid individuals. Stay in school kids! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
WMS Systems Coordinator (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONNovember 19, 2012
Great work environment, employees are generally happy and excited to do a great job. Many co-workers are enthusiastic and treat eachother like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loblaw is the greatest place in the world to work
Major Incident Owner (Former Employee), Brampton, ONNovember 15, 2012
Pros: the people that worked there
Cons: there were no cons.
Loblaw is the best. I love the way they support the community and kids.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
minimum wage job with very slow wage progression
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), ScarboroughNovember 14, 2012
Pros: great benefits after 1 year, great for student
Cons: slow wage progression and little hope for full time employment
Used to be a great company to work for but now they are downsizing and there is little hope for a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple job with its busy days
Courtesy Clerk/ Price Checker at Superstore (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBNovember 13, 2012
Depending on the day, collecting abandoned groceries by the checkouts, putting them away. keeping the front end clean. i learned to work as a team with my co-workers. the hardest part of the job is pushing carts. the most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with different customers, and the satisfying feeling of helping them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great facility, great people
Senior Manager, Learning & Development (Former Employee), Brampton, ONOctober 29, 2012
Loblaw is a great company to work for. The atomosphere is fast-paced, and individuals are held accountable for the work assigned to them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wish to be a member of this company
open (Former Employee), Penticton, BCOctober 29, 2012
I am available any days and hours required by your company. I know of people and have people that I know are currently emplyed and that are completely satisfied in all aspects of their employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Inventory Control Supervisor (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 24, 2012
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: closure of 2 sites
The day starts early, providing support as required for Receiving team, performing previous day's logistics reports to top-management for their KPI, followed by reviewing the inventory and looking for opportunities to maximize capacity, checking routine and demand setting for each item so operations never runs out of stock at picking locations, making – more... sure inventory on reserve locations is where it has to be, bin audits, cycle counts, especial projects such as relocating a family of product from 1 site to another, running reports to ensure putaways were correctly performed...
Management is good.
The work environment is good, excellent coworkers.
Actually there was not hardest part of the job.
The most enjoyable part of my job is the interaction with every one of my coworkers and the opportunity to learn new processes on grocery field. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great team spirit. Everyone got along well.
QA ANALYST - ETL TESTER (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONOctober 23, 2012
Pros: good timing. 9 to 5
Cons: sometimes we had to work weekends but that is part of the job.
The most enjoyable part of the job was that we all had deadlines to meet and in spite of that we found a few minutes during lunch to share and interact with one another.

I found everyone very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security I thought would be good
Grocery Clerk and Dairy/Frozen Department (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONOctober 21, 2012
Pros: good shift, good team
Cons: warehouse closed in 2011
I worked 7am to 3pm shift. I was a certified forklift operator for 27 years with Loblaws in a warehouse. I also worked part time at Loblaws superstore in Dairy/frozen section making sure everything was filled for customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with good incentives
Allocation Analyst - Bakery (Current Employee), Brampton, ON Head OfficeOctober 17, 2012
Pros: cafeteria
Cons: long hours
Right from the get go it is busy, and continues all day. Prioritizing your day is a must or you will get overwhelmed. Its great to be part of a team and to know that at the end of the day you have done a good job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly faces and easy to adapt with different people
Front - End Cashier (Current Employee), North York, ONOctober 16, 2012
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: standing for long hours
Working at Loblaw with friendly co-workers and people is a dream come true. Everyday we meet different kinds of people whether it is from the upper class or lower class people. My day starts at Loblaw by greeting my customers with grace so that they will feel at ease to me. I feel so much happy when I start greeting them and they will response even – more... just a small simple smile. I make sure that giving them a customer satisfaction will make me uplift my morale. I may be able to apply what I have learned in College about managing at dealing with people and how to satisfy them by giving a 100% customer satisfaction. Of coarse, with the help of my superior and co-workers, we see too it that there is no customer that will go out of store mad or unsatisfied with our service. I enjoyed my job and Im proud of it, even though I see customers outside the store, It makes me feel happy when somebody will recognize you and treat you as one of their friends. It makes me feel uplifted! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, great people, great learning experience..
Receiver Loader / Machine Operator (Current Employee), Mississauga, OntOctober 15, 2012
Pros: learning experience!
Cons: some of the shifts were a litlle difficult.
Overall I found Loblaws companies a great learning experience. I learned how to operate a lot of different types of machinery, also how Logistics works in general. I believe I can take what I have learned to the next level. I wish I had the opportunity to explore and learn the management side. I got the chance to meet some great people, some of whom – more... I am still friends with. Since I love learning, I found the time in the beginning to be very fulfilling, I was able to learn a quite a bit. I also enjoyed working as a team but also individually when required. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse as time goes on
Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto/Niagara areaOctober 14, 2012
Pros: very little
Cons: too many to type
This used to be a good company but has been on a steady decline since I started. No opportunity for advancement and don't even think about getting a full time position. Been with the company for several years and still only getting 28 hours a week! They want new people hired too but if you are one of the new hires, only expect about 4-8 hours a week! – more... Company is cutting hours and still expects all jobs and more to get done. Expectations are ridiculous. Employee morale is extremely poor and will get even worse I'm sure. Try to go elsewhere for employment because you will get no where with Loblaws – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company-big problems, but great experiece.
QA ANALYST/TESTER (Contract) (Former Employee), MississaugaOctober 13, 2012
Learned a lot. Great cooworkers. Tested applications, performed UAT, tested system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative workplace environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Windsor, ONOctober 13, 2012
Pros: 10% discount card (not much of a perk since prices are more expensive)
Cons: favouritism, nepotism, overall negative environment.
Very low morale, negative atmosphere, very miserable co-workers because they are unhappy here, a huge amount of favouritism, so much nepotism in this company, overall a horrible workplace environment and horrible experience, better off working at a fast food joint.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reputation is going nowhere but down...
Cashier (Current Employee), Lower Mainland, BCOctober 3, 2012
Pros: 10% discount, eyeglass coverage, prescription coverage
Cons: too many to mention
After reading all of the highly positive reviews about Loblaw, it makes me wonder if those reviews are made up by those at corporate level to entice people to apply for a job.
Loblaw is definitely not a fun place to work. The work environment in their retail stores is highly stressful, as the company has greatly reduced the amount of hours departments – more... are allowed to schedule each week. We are expected to accomplish a lot more that is possible due to the cutbacks.
Part time employees are not allowed to work more than 28 hours a week. Those who are not even technically available to work on certain days can pick up hours during the times they are supposedly blocked from working. This means that someone who is scheduled 12 hours a week can end up working up to 28 hours, even on those days when they supposedly aren't even available to work. How is that fair? I am available to work anytime during business hours (which shows that I am dedicated and willing to work whenever needed), but I do not have any opportunity to pick up hours. The company obviously doesn't care that their employees have financial obligations such as bills, mortgages, car payments, and families to feed. If they did care, they would allow us to work more hours. They would rather hire more employees at the starting wage than allow hard working people to better themselves. If anyone at head office reads this review... Show that you really do care about your staff and make those changes that will allow us employees to enjoy working for you! We deserve better! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing enviroment.
Reporting Analyst (Former Employee), Brampton, ONOctober 1, 2012
It is a great company to work for with a lot of hard working professionals. I learned a lot during my stay at Loblaws.

About Loblaw

Loblaw Companies Limited is the largest food retailer in Canada, with over 1,400 supermarkets operating under a variety of regional – Read more

Loblaw Photos