Find companies:
Loblaw
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
134 reviews

Loblaw Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loblaw Review
IT Patch & Release Coordinator (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: free courses
Cons: salary
Excellent work life balance. Tasks assigned always kept me on my toes and willing to do more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding.
Department Manager Managing 5 departments (Former Employee), Stratford area and TorontoJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: dealing with customers, taking courses to improve myself, making my budget, beating my projections at the end of the week
Cons: having space for merchandise taking from me, employees calling in sick
My typical day at work is to set out a plan to start the day so everything runs smoothly and the job will get done, I have learned many things over the years working with Loblaw as I have worked in many stores and each store runs differantly. I always got along with managers and co-workers and have earn a lot of respect from all. My hardest part of – more... my job was to get space to display merchandise. My most enjoyable part of the job was to please the customers request and any problems they had if any I would resolve them in a proffessional manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
bulk foods clerk (Former Employee), Penticton, BCJanuary 14, 2013
Pros: great place to work
Cons: not enough hours
My co-workers are the most enjoyable people to work with.
Learned the care and stocking of the bulk foods department.
The most enjoyable part of the job was dealing with the public in a new store environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people to work with always a safe happy enviroment
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJanuary 13, 2013
fast paced enviroment
quality of loads
focus on safety
meeting departure time
recievieing times
co workers helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not recommend this company to anyone.....
employee (Former Employee), stoney creek, bramptonJanuary 13, 2013
Cons: work long hours for little money, no appreciation, negative environment
company only cares about the bottom line....there is NO work
life balance here or security! RUN for your life!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN PLACE WHEN IT IS
deli clerk (Former Employee), whitehorse yukonJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: free food
Cons: not enough hours
worked in this dept in the Yukon as deli boy it was fun and busy
and nuts .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
being with family and friends. movies, playing card and board games
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: working with people.
Cons: not enough hours
knowing i do my job well and to how to communicate with people and what their needs are. i learn everyday is a new day. i get along with my co-workers. if there is a problem, try to work things out without any controversy. the hardest part is you cant make everybody happy but i try. the enjoyable part is the people and who i work with. being a team – more... member is what counts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJanuary 4, 2013
Call centre environment. It was only a temporary job for me through an agency. I learned how products complaints were handled and resolved. I learned a lot about best before dates and proper food handling.

Managers and co-workers were great. There's always room for improvement. I would suggest acknowledging and recognizing people who perform a good – more... job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Accounts Payable Analyst (Current Employee), Brampton, ONDecember 10, 2012
Pros: good learning experience
Cons: trying to stay on top of things
-Check emails / voice mail
-Daily Reports
-attend meetings every mornings
-run pricing reports
- see if any pricing discrepancies , if any get in touch with Category team
- continue working on logged inquiries
- see if any quantity / pricing variances

i learned a lot of excel, as that used extensively
especially the usage of Vlookup and Pivot tables

Hardest – more... part of job: Constant emails coming in, as we are the first point of contact for the vendors. But we prioritize the daily activities which we should do first – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues but poor decision making in upper management
Director (Former Employee), bramptonDecember 3, 2012
Pros: nice job titles and seemingly decent pay but you work very hard for it
Cons: constant employee churn - no sense of stability
No job security.
Very little support for new employees.
Tribal learning system.
Upper management does not take the time to get to know you and your capabilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Loss Prevention (Current Employee), Bridgewater NSNovember 26, 2012
Pros: great company
Cons: long drive to get to work
My experience at Loblaw has been great so far. I really enjoy the atmosphere and my co-workers.

I've learned a lot about shrink and inventory that I feel could be helpful in a new role. The management team is great. Management meets for meetings weekly to discuss new and old news, to keep everyone in the loop. I found these meetings very helpful.

The – more... hardest part of the job for me is the commute to and from work everyday. I love the company and would be sad to go. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse of broken dreams
facilities (Former Employee), edmontonNovember 21, 2012
Pros: you get to go home when they let you
Cons: they will ruin your life
The warehouse in Edmonton has 2 main managers, they are racist, sexist and hot headed. One of them has thrown a can of cat food at an employee. You would like to leave an hour early to tend to your sick kid? Think again. The GM says things to the management like "the whip is worn out" meaning he's tired of whipping them. You are expected to work no – more... less than 10 hours a day on salary and on holidays. EVERYONE at DC04 HATES their jobs, even managers, but they have invested so much time into the compnany, it's hard to walk away. When upper management visits, we clean up and put smiles on so we don't get "managed out" afterward. DO NOT work there. You will get treated like an idiot everyday.

There are 12 supervisors employed, 19 shifts per week. About 3 supers per shift running a place with 100 employees per day. Do the math, it's a gong show with lots of short cuts done by over worked, under paid individuals. Stay in school kids! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
WMS Systems Coordinator (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONNovember 19, 2012
Great work environment, employees are generally happy and excited to do a great job. Many co-workers are enthusiastic and treat eachother like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loblaw is the greatest place in the world to work
Major Incident Owner (Former Employee), Brampton, ONNovember 15, 2012
Pros: the people that worked there
Cons: there were no cons.
Loblaw is the best. I love the way they support the community and kids.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
minimum wage job with very slow wage progression
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), ScarboroughNovember 14, 2012
Pros: great benefits after 1 year, great for student
Cons: slow wage progression and little hope for full time employment
Used to be a great company to work for but now they are downsizing and there is little hope for a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple job with its busy days
Courtesy Clerk/ Price Checker at Superstore (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBNovember 13, 2012
Depending on the day, collecting abandoned groceries by the checkouts, putting them away. keeping the front end clean. i learned to work as a team with my co-workers. the hardest part of the job is pushing carts. the most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with different customers, and the satisfying feeling of helping them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great facility, great people
Senior Manager, Learning & Development (Former Employee), Brampton, ONOctober 29, 2012
Loblaw is a great company to work for. The atomosphere is fast-paced, and individuals are held accountable for the work assigned to them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wish to be a member of this company
open (Former Employee), Penticton, BCOctober 29, 2012
I am available any days and hours required by your company. I know of people and have people that I know are currently emplyed and that are completely satisfied in all aspects of their employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Inventory Control Supervisor (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 24, 2012
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: closure of 2 sites
The day starts early, providing support as required for Receiving team, performing previous day's logistics reports to top-management for their KPI, followed by reviewing the inventory and looking for opportunities to maximize capacity, checking routine and demand setting for each item so operations never runs out of stock at picking locations, making – more... sure inventory on reserve locations is where it has to be, bin audits, cycle counts, especial projects such as relocating a family of product from 1 site to another, running reports to ensure putaways were correctly performed...
Management is good.
The work environment is good, excellent coworkers.
Actually there was not hardest part of the job.
The most enjoyable part of my job is the interaction with every one of my coworkers and the opportunity to learn new processes on grocery field. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great team spirit. Everyone got along well.
QA ANALYST - ETL TESTER (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONOctober 23, 2012
Pros: good timing. 9 to 5
Cons: sometimes we had to work weekends but that is part of the job.
The most enjoyable part of the job was that we all had deadlines to meet and in spite of that we found a few minutes during lunch to share and interact with one another.

I found everyone very helpful.

About Loblaw

Loblaw Companies Limited is the largest food retailer in Canada, with over 1,400 supermarkets operating under a variety of regional – Read more

Loblaw Photos