Loblaw Employee Reviews

Found 1,411 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Confusing system yet caring staff
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Camrose, AB10 May 2017
The hardest part about working near the end of the day has to be the clean up duty. Especially the cleaning of the larger appliances (ovens, meat slicers, etc.). I found it most enjoyable just prepping ingredients and the various food trays to be displayed. Management was friendly and encouraging. However, I personally found my work schedule confusing and at times, unfair. I felt they should be giving their less experienced workers more time to learn and become better employees. Having to only work one day of the week is a demeaning feeling. Overall, I feel it was a positive work environment, but the way they schedule their younger employees needs work.
Pros
Care and understanding of management
Cons
Not enough emphasis on newer, part-time workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management is not organized
Cashier Smart Serve Qualified (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON10 May 2017
quick service to customers, packing groceries and taking payment.
hours are changed without proper notice to employee, management is unorganized and employees suffer from this.
Pros
close to home
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Project Coordinator Operations (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 May 2017
Project portfolio Management and Reporting Data Analytics and Resource Management
Critical Problem Solving & Analysis Financial Tracking – Change Management
Process Improvement/Reengineering
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced environment
SENIOR CATEGORY MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 May 2017
A typical day would begin with running sales on the previous day. You then do your best to balance all of your daily and weekly tasks while attending meetings that are planned as well as impromptu.
Pros
dynamic environment that yields a ton of learning
Cons
long hours and underpaid for all of the work that is expected of you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Front End Cashier (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 May 2017
it was a very inviting and everyone there allowed me to feel welcome. I was able to make friends quickly, as well as the manager was always flexible with hours and 'i got a lot of hours, it was conveinent to be oaid every week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and people
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 May 2017
Although there is not much room for pay advancement in the company, besides applying for management positions, Loblaw's union offers great benefits and has a great sense of community among its employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service a la clientèle
Gerant dept (Former Employee) –  Pierrefonds, QC8 May 2017
Commandez servir le client marchandises voilà le résumé de une journée
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i would not recommend working here
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC8 May 2017
terrible terrible this environment is not an healthy one they’re more into performance rather than the workers safety. i would not recommend not even my enemy to work there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Forest Hill, ON6 May 2017
really nice place to begin a future career, mostly part part of the work consist in attend costumer necessities as customer service support and sales inquiries
Pros
Benefits
Cons
work timing (hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Start of a brand new place
Part-time Cashier (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON6 May 2017
When I began working at Fortinos the store had just opened so they were a new running store. Amazing co-workers and good staff. Except management was not accommodating to certain needs that I had.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Learn
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 May 2017
Amazing team and great people to learn from. Management understanding to helping to achieve better results.
Flex working hours and work can start at 7:30 even.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place.
Supervisor/manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 May 2017
great work place, i learned a lot working for loblaw the experience anyone can get from working here is great it has all departments in one and you can learn them all if you wanted to achieve more within the company.
Pros
none
Cons
union.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy but boring
Produce Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 May 2017
Easy but boring. The job never changed, always the same old boring shifts.Also, management needs to work harder for the pay they get compared to part time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
PRODUCE CLERK (Current Employee) –  Riverview, NB3 May 2017
Nice people to work with, easy going place. Been there for 3 years, no real complaints about my time working there. Only reason to leave is I'm graduating and want a full-time job.
Pros
free food
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, low stress, very demanding
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Caledonia Mountain, NB2 May 2017
A typical day started at 2pm and went until 12:30am. I learned how to stack pallets and become a tetris star. The management had a very hands off job. The people I worked with were, well.. again. people who had no real future aside from where they currently were so it certainly pushed me to better myself as much as I could so I had a chance at making real money some day soon. The hardest part was lifting 70-80lbs over your head for hours at a time and the most enjoyable part was getting off at the end of the night.
Pros
cool people
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not organized but decent
Clerk/Night Crew Prep (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 May 2017
They are not organized at all making the work environment extremely confusing at times. However, the team is great, as is the management so it makes up for it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great part time job while in school
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON1 May 2017
The employees at Loblaws are really friendly and easy to work with. Hours are always steady and the managers really make daily routines easy to accomplish. From working at Loblaws I have learned how to communicate with customers on a professional level, and represent myself as a part of a company.
Pros
great co workers
Cons
min. wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Co-workers
Salad Bar Clerk (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK30 April 2017
Whenever someone had trouble managing in their department, other employees are friendly enough to help out and show how to do things properly if the managers are not around.
Pros
Free pizza and Birthday parties hosted
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people and great place to work
Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB29 April 2017
I worked there for practicum to get my college completed. It was a very nice place to work at, everyone was very helpful and friendly to me. I loved the Huddle
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
PC Cooking School Coordinator & PC Chef (Current Employee) –  Kanata, ON29 April 2017
Loblaw's is a great place to work and the management are great people they treat you very well making your work environment a safe haven to do your job they offer advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Loblaw. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,429 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

74%
447 ratings
Add your rating