Find companies:
Loblaw
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
116 reviews

Loblaw Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security I thought would be good
Grocery Clerk and Dairy/Frozen Department (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONOctober 21, 2012
Pros: good shift, good team
Cons: warehouse closed in 2011
I worked 7am to 3pm shift. I was a certified forklift operator for 27 years with Loblaws in a warehouse. I also worked part time at Loblaws superstore in Dairy/frozen section making sure everything was filled for customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with good incentives
Allocation Analyst - Bakery (Current Employee), Brampton, ON Head OfficeOctober 17, 2012
Pros: cafeteria
Cons: long hours
Right from the get go it is busy, and continues all day. Prioritizing your day is a must or you will get overwhelmed. Its great to be part of a team and to know that at the end of the day you have done a good job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly faces and easy to adapt with different people
Front - End Cashier (Current Employee), North York, ONOctober 16, 2012
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: standing for long hours
Working at Loblaw with friendly co-workers and people is a dream come true. Everyday we meet different kinds of people whether it is from the upper class or lower class people. My day starts at Loblaw by greeting my customers with grace so that they will feel at ease to me. I feel so much happy when I start greeting them and they will response even – more... just a small simple smile. I make sure that giving them a customer satisfaction will make me uplift my morale. I may be able to apply what I have learned in College about managing at dealing with people and how to satisfy them by giving a 100% customer satisfaction. Of coarse, with the help of my superior and co-workers, we see too it that there is no customer that will go out of store mad or unsatisfied with our service. I enjoyed my job and Im proud of it, even though I see customers outside the store, It makes me feel happy when somebody will recognize you and treat you as one of their friends. It makes me feel uplifted! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, great people, great learning experience..
Receiver Loader / Machine Operator (Current Employee), Mississauga, OntOctober 15, 2012
Pros: learning experience!
Cons: some of the shifts were a litlle difficult.
Overall I found Loblaws companies a great learning experience. I learned how to operate a lot of different types of machinery, also how Logistics works in general. I believe I can take what I have learned to the next level. I wish I had the opportunity to explore and learn the management side. I got the chance to meet some great people, some of whom – more... I am still friends with. Since I love learning, I found the time in the beginning to be very fulfilling, I was able to learn a quite a bit. I also enjoyed working as a team but also individually when required. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse as time goes on
Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto/Niagara areaOctober 14, 2012
Pros: very little
Cons: too many to type
This used to be a good company but has been on a steady decline since I started. No opportunity for advancement and don't even think about getting a full time position. Been with the company for several years and still only getting 28 hours a week! They want new people hired too but if you are one of the new hires, only expect about 4-8 hours a week! – more... Company is cutting hours and still expects all jobs and more to get done. Expectations are ridiculous. Employee morale is extremely poor and will get even worse I'm sure. Try to go elsewhere for employment because you will get no where with Loblaws – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company-big problems, but great experiece.
QA ANALYST/TESTER (Contract) (Former Employee), MississaugaOctober 13, 2012
Learned a lot. Great cooworkers. Tested applications, performed UAT, tested system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative workplace environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Windsor, ONOctober 13, 2012
Pros: 10% discount card (not much of a perk since prices are more expensive)
Cons: favouritism, nepotism, overall negative environment.
Very low morale, negative atmosphere, very miserable co-workers because they are unhappy here, a huge amount of favouritism, so much nepotism in this company, overall a horrible workplace environment and horrible experience, better off working at a fast food joint.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reputation is going nowhere but down...
Cashier (Current Employee), Lower Mainland, BCOctober 3, 2012
Pros: 10% discount, eyeglass coverage, prescription coverage
Cons: too many to mention
After reading all of the highly positive reviews about Loblaw, it makes me wonder if those reviews are made up by those at corporate level to entice people to apply for a job.
Loblaw is definitely not a fun place to work. The work environment in their retail stores is highly stressful, as the company has greatly reduced the amount of hours departments – more... are allowed to schedule each week. We are expected to accomplish a lot more that is possible due to the cutbacks.
Part time employees are not allowed to work more than 28 hours a week. Those who are not even technically available to work on certain days can pick up hours during the times they are supposedly blocked from working. This means that someone who is scheduled 12 hours a week can end up working up to 28 hours, even on those days when they supposedly aren't even available to work. How is that fair? I am available to work anytime during business hours (which shows that I am dedicated and willing to work whenever needed), but I do not have any opportunity to pick up hours. The company obviously doesn't care that their employees have financial obligations such as bills, mortgages, car payments, and families to feed. If they did care, they would allow us to work more hours. They would rather hire more employees at the starting wage than allow hard working people to better themselves. If anyone at head office reads this review... Show that you really do care about your staff and make those changes that will allow us employees to enjoy working for you! We deserve better! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing enviroment.
Reporting Analyst (Former Employee), Brampton, ONOctober 1, 2012
It is a great company to work for with a lot of hard working professionals. I learned a lot during my stay at Loblaws.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loblaw Inc.
Inbound Scheduling/ Transportation Specialist (Current Employee), Brampton, ONSeptember 27, 2012
One of the Largest retail companies in Canada, friendly co-workers has ammenities such as gym (goodlife), out basketball court/ice rink, and a volleyball court. Free give aways, and chances to meet and greet with various celebrity personalities.

Winner – November 11, 2012

It looks like this person works at the Loblaw head office. Employees working at the actual stores do not get any of these perks listed.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Stocker (Current Employee), edmonton ,albertaSeptember 23, 2012
i enjoy working with them specially my supervisors,its not hard for us to approach them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fast paced workplace.
Forklift Driver (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 22, 2012
Pros: appreciation from management and above.
Cons: never meeting the deadline required.
The typical day at work was productive and energetic in a fast pace enviroment. The management was very supportive and gives alot of information. They like to bond with employees. My co-workers and I get along well and we treat everyone as a big family. The hardest part of the job was to accomplish the misson within the deadline. We had to give more – more... than 100%. The most enjoyable part of the job was to acheive the assignments by the end of the day. We feel proud that we finished. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal summary
Procurement-Merchant- Fresh Seafood & Poultry (Former Employee), Brampton, ONSeptember 18, 2012
Proven leadership ability. Spearheaded a group assignment in merchandising for Loblaw’s Poultry category to highlight strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats.
As Associate Merchant for Pork, Marinades and Sausage the category produced sales over $400M.
Managed procurement as a head buyer exceeding $200M in fresh seafood purchases annually.
Tactical – more... negotiation skills that resulted in a cost savings of $1.7M annually.
Trained a variety of different professionals for positions at the Loblaw main office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice kitchen at nice people to work with,,
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee), Brampton, ONSeptember 16, 2012
Pros: free food
Cons: regular hour
i learned a lot especially in food service and how to deal with people...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting
Inventory Control Supervisor (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 13, 2012
Pros: growth
Cons: nothing
Fun filled, exciting and very cooperative and friendly team members and managers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding atmosphere, dealing with employees and customers
Floral Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 13, 2012
Pros: employee discount cards
Cons: long hours were expected, and lack of family time
Scheduling, multitasking and time managememt. Coworkers felt more like family members we shared both the ups and downs of everyday worklife. The hardest part of my job was not being able to go beyond the company guidelines in a corporated structured invironment, including lack of staffing and not being able to provide the best service to our customers. – more... The most enjoyable part of my job was succeeding in bringing a warm and honest feeling into the corporate environmemt with positive feedback. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and profetional workplace
Sr. Specialist, IT Production Services (Current Employee), Brampton, ONAugust 8, 2012
Productive and profetional workplace.
Great environment to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
HMR Clerk (Current Employee), CanadaAugust 4, 2012
Pros: with benefits
Cons: only have a few hours of work per week for now since i'm new.
A typical day at work would be to prepare meals, make sure that the work area is clean all the time and be courteous and polite to each and everyone. I have learned that a smile goes a very long way. The people at loblaws are very friendly and accomodating. I was able to adjust because of everybody's help. The hardest part of the job would be the standing – more... 8 hours its a very far cry from seating in an office for 8 hours. Good way of losing calories I should say. The most enjoyable part of the job is that I'm surrounded by food. I love cooking and to add to that everybody is very kind and nice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very life balance oriented company
Human Resources/ Labour Relations Manager (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 30, 2012
Pros: life balance
Cons: very small hr structure that limits advansment
Is a very good company to start a career, the strucutre is limited but the management team is great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Operations Specialist (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 26, 2012
The most enjoyable thing was to face the daily challenges and find different ways to overcome them.

About Loblaw

Loblaw Companies Limited is the largest food retailer in Canada, with over 1,400 supermarkets operating under a variety of regional – Read more

Loblaw Photos