Loblaw Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 996 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store Clerk
Store Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 18, 2016
I believe that if you're a student then this job will be valuable because of the flexibility in the scheduling that takes into account post-secondary schedules. This is because it is a unionized position.

However one of the downsides will be the fluctuating hours per week initially and dealing with some questionable store management.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
,,
Supervisor : Front End Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCMarch 18, 2016
It is nice and growing environment to work in. Very nice people and very nice things you get to learn really positive energy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, good enivronment and very flexible
Flow Operations Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONMarch 18, 2016
At Loblaws as a flow operations clerk there was a lot to learn because there are so many different types of jobs to do and there are 2 different departments in the flow department. There can be jobs you may need to do in the dairy cooler for example, filling eggs and milk or bring out grocery skids and making displays or filing shelves.
Pros
Constant work to keep worker busy
Cons
As a part timer, not many hours and not very consistent
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Grocery crew member (Current Employee) –  North Vancouver, BCMarch 17, 2016
Nice co workers. Worked part time. worked an over night shift so it was pretty stressful considering.
got familiar with how stores are been run in canada.
the management was supportive of employees decisions to make the working environment a better place
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Pharmacy Manager (Former Employee) –  Brockville, ONMarch 16, 2016
A typical day at the work, is very busy. Spending lots of time with patient on counselling, spending time on answering phone and also receiving, filling and make it ready for patient
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worse
Design and Database Architect (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONMarch 16, 2016
One of the worse places that I ever worked at as a FT ..

Management generally don't care about their staff .. in it for themselves ..
Pros
Good pay
Cons
very high turn over .. no job security .. you are just a number
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time job while not a career
Butchers Assistant (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONMarch 15, 2016
set up store displays. Wrapped and put out product not much responsibility. Overall pretty good experience. Not much more to say
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple work and good learning experience with good co-workers
Frontend Store Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 14, 2016
I found working at Loblaws rarely to be overly demanding but also rarely a boring slow day. What was asked of me was never to difficult but there was enough to sustain a good day whether it was stock, grocery, or carts. I learnt how to deal with all types of people such as customers, and high up managers, as well as be respectful, attentive, and act professional. The management was always nice but would not hesitate to tell you what you are doing wrong or discipline you. The hardest part of the job is customer service due to the fact that some customers may be rude or disrespectful but at the end of the day you must always be polite and act professional. The most enjoyable has to be the camaraderie and good times with co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Westwinds store is the worst store to work for!!
Courtesy clerk/price checker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 13, 2016
Don't apply if you don't want to be overworked and insulted! Management does not know how to deal employees with respect and dignity.
Pros
Get paid 50 cent extra than regular retail store (11.65 to be exact)
Cons
Short Hours, No health and safety regulation for employees, Overworked, Cheap Management, No respect for low level employees
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Successful team Building
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  AntigonishMarch 13, 2016
Enjoy the engagement with the people on a daily basis. Like the challenge of getting entire team headed in the same direction.

Most frustrating thing about my job is the hiccups and set backs in regard to the team direction.



what I learned....


The biggest win for me is the process of giving respect and doing for others first. Then once the relationship is established asking for the same in return.
Pros
Excellent respectful culture
Cons
Health Care change less coverage
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Mission, BCMarch 11, 2016
A fun place to work, staff are very nice. Also the work does not interfere with school so it is not hard to balance the both.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like working as a team
shipping and receiving goods (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 10, 2016
I love working as a team to increase the companies productivity i do like the company especially the orderliness and ways of approach .They pay so well and treat employees good
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed all fay to day tarnsactions
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONMarch 8, 2016
Store Manager Daily Tasks are the following but not limited to:


400 plus unionized employees.
15 Salaried Managers
Shrink Control
Inventory Management.
Product Recalls
Manager Reviews
Staff Engagement Score
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work with.
Senior Analyst (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONMarch 8, 2016
Great work life balance. Great co-workers. Constantly learning new technologies. Hardest part of the job is leaving when so engaged.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We Foosball table but employees don't have time to play.
Order Picker (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCMarch 8, 2016
I've learn a lot in this job, I learned how to drive eletric pallet jack and how to use rf scanner and they thought us a lot about safety and how to communicate with each other.
Pros
Free cookies and candies sometimes plus turkey dinner every December.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fun and challenging
Forklift Operator/Assembler (Current Employee) –  Regina, SKMarch 7, 2016
Loblaw is a great place to work, but just like every work place you have to earn the money. Work hard and you will be rewarded. You get good benefits and overall the supervisors are verry friendly and ready to work with coleagues and help them with any issues and concerns.
Pros
Friendly people and incentive for Safety
Cons
Real Hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy Loblaws Companies Ltd
Photo Department, (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NSMarch 3, 2016
I enjoy the work environment at Atlantic Superstore. The only thing I do not enjoy is the limited amount of hours for workers.
Pros
free breakfast
Cons
no hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace but mismanaged
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 2, 2016
Staff were talented and hard working but were let down by management in several departments. I enjoyed my job just frustrated by overstocking of non selling products.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loblaws
Customer service (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONMarch 1, 2016
When i first started at Loblaws a year ago , it was fun learning new things and having the experience of working in a grocery store .. a year later , things changed and it became a very disorganized work environment. They work the part time staff with NO hours .. they over work all the employees. Their logic is just pathetic , people complain on a daily basis even the employees. Loblaws is a terrible work place now , i don't understand why are they giving part timers who are students who need money , only 2 shifts a week? and having the dumb " total numbers of hours " for each department ? It's just ridiculous. Another thing , They expect so much to be done in a certain amount of time during a shift , but how is it possible when they are not allowed to have more then one staff on in an department? And we are getting paid not enough , when some people are having to work a three person job alone and keep the customers happy. It doesnt make sense... Loblaws needs to get their prioritize straight!.
Pros
Free lunches on special occasions
Cons
long hours, over worked staff, not high enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes18No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its okay if you have ran out of luck of finding a job
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ONFebruary 29, 2016
you have to be a machine to work in that dead life I mean c'mon they expect a 3oo order done under 42 minutes and you gotta keep the pilet still so at best you'll do 1 hour and 30 min but that's not expectable so if your a crack head with lots of energy this might be a job for you!
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,007 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture