Find companies:
Loblaw
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
126 reviews

Loblaw Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid Back environment
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 7, 2013
Pros: great plance to work
Cons: poor compensation compared to industry
Great Co-workers, and good to start career. No consistency in compensation/benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, productive, Good Life Fitness in the building
Data Integrity Coordinator (Current Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 5, 2013
Pros: 3 weeks vacation
Cons: commuting
Investigate and support issues stores may have across Canada.
I have learned to use 6 different computer systems, how to use those systems to investigate probelms.
Have meet people in different parts of the business and help them solve issues.
Our team including managers works well, suports each other, covers when help is needed.
Hardest part for me – more... is the repetitiveness of the job and sitting for 7 hours straight a day.
The best part is knowing I helped solve issue and have them fixed for the stores to be able to work properly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply for job as a cashier for MLG
cashier (Former Employee), MLGMarch 2, 2013
Cons: lot
I am a former employee of this location. The front end manager treat enployees like we are her slave. The only thing that doesn't happen is physical beating, besides that you get threaten, yelled, accused. You complain to HR manager nothing happen. Take this to union, no action. Finally take this to store manager and then you are forced to quit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply for job as a cashier for MLG
cashier (Former Employee), MLGMarch 2, 2013
Cons: lot
I am a former employee of this location. The front end manager treat enployees like we are her slave. The only thing that doesn't happen is physical beating, besides that you get threaten, yelled, accused. You complain to HR manager nothing happen. Take this to union, no action. Finally take this to store manager and then you are forced to quit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work -
Supply Chain Analyst (Current Employee), Brampton, OntarioFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: flexible work hours
Constant collaboration with various deparements of the business.
The friends I have made throughout my time here are great people. Hardest part of my job is attaining company goals when I am only 1 piece of the puzzle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Head Office environment is the most enjoyable part of the job
Associate Merchant (Current Employee), Brampton, ONFebruary 23, 2013
Pros: flex hours, good life fitness on site, pc products, innovative company
Cons: barriers to advancement if within role for <1 year
Working at the Loblaw head office provides ample growth opportunities as well as work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Inspiring
Assembler (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 18, 2013
Amazing work experience.
Good for part time until you get a field job.
Learnt to meet standards and deadlines within specific time limits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace environment
Merchant/Pricing Manager (Current Employee), Brampton, ONFebruary 18, 2013
Pros: in house cafetaria
Cons: long hours
Great place to work. Very rich and multicultural.
Very hard to move up or excel!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loblaws is a great place to work providing opportunities for career advvancement
Senior IPFR Process Analyst - Flow Supply Chain (Current Employee), Brampton, OntarioFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: on site volleyball, dry cleaning, fitness center, banking and cafeteria
Cons: expectation for very long hours and not alot of flexibility to work from home
I have been fortunate to have Management who provides freedom in getting tasks accomplished. They have not only been my Managers and Direcors, but also mentors. I have been very fortunate to have been given the opportunity to work for Loblaw and have learned a great deal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult work environment
Former senior manager (Former Employee), Brampton head officeJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: intelligent people, nice office perks
Cons: long hours, difficult people, big workload, constant work changes
Had a great career there but a very challenging place to work. Upper management could be very argumentative and not always easy to get along with. Constant changes in the company that affected morale. Lay-offs happen frequently as company is not fiscally strong so affects staffing first. Budget cuts, hiring freezes, travel bans etc.
Am happier outside – more... of Loblaw and at better pay for pretty much the same work. – less

Jvpv – June 5, 2013

Do not work here. They will not give you the proper tools to do your job. The LP job is stressful and no cameras to detect crime. Management plays the pass the buck game and will not do anything to make sure you succeed. I was happy when I found another job. You cant trust your boss there and when you ask questions you are made to feel stupid. When you make suggestions to prevent theft they will not listen and give you the tools you need. STAY AWAY FROM THIS JOB !!!!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loblaw Review
IT Patch & Release Coordinator (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: free courses
Cons: salary
Excellent work life balance. Tasks assigned always kept me on my toes and willing to do more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding.
Department Manager Managing 5 departments (Former Employee), Stratford area and TorontoJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: dealing with customers, taking courses to improve myself, making my budget, beating my projections at the end of the week
Cons: having space for merchandise taking from me, employees calling in sick
My typical day at work is to set out a plan to start the day so everything runs smoothly and the job will get done, I have learned many things over the years working with Loblaw as I have worked in many stores and each store runs differantly. I always got along with managers and co-workers and have earn a lot of respect from all. My hardest part of – more... my job was to get space to display merchandise. My most enjoyable part of the job was to please the customers request and any problems they had if any I would resolve them in a proffessional manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
bulk foods clerk (Former Employee), Penticton, BCJanuary 14, 2013
Pros: great place to work
Cons: not enough hours
My co-workers are the most enjoyable people to work with.
Learned the care and stocking of the bulk foods department.
The most enjoyable part of the job was dealing with the public in a new store environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people to work with always a safe happy enviroment
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJanuary 13, 2013
fast paced enviroment
quality of loads
focus on safety
meeting departure time
recievieing times
co workers helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not recommend this company to anyone.....
employee (Former Employee), stoney creek, bramptonJanuary 13, 2013
Cons: work long hours for little money, no appreciation, negative environment
company only cares about the bottom line....there is NO work
life balance here or security! RUN for your life!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN PLACE WHEN IT IS
deli clerk (Former Employee), whitehorse yukonJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: free food
Cons: not enough hours
worked in this dept in the Yukon as deli boy it was fun and busy
and nuts .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
being with family and friends. movies, playing card and board games
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: working with people.
Cons: not enough hours
knowing i do my job well and to how to communicate with people and what their needs are. i learn everyday is a new day. i get along with my co-workers. if there is a problem, try to work things out without any controversy. the hardest part is you cant make everybody happy but i try. the enjoyable part is the people and who i work with. being a team – more... member is what counts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJanuary 4, 2013
Call centre environment. It was only a temporary job for me through an agency. I learned how products complaints were handled and resolved. I learned a lot about best before dates and proper food handling.

Managers and co-workers were great. There's always room for improvement. I would suggest acknowledging and recognizing people who perform a good – more... job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Accounts Payable Analyst (Current Employee), Brampton, ONDecember 10, 2012
Pros: good learning experience
Cons: trying to stay on top of things
-Check emails / voice mail
-Daily Reports
-attend meetings every mornings
-run pricing reports
- see if any pricing discrepancies , if any get in touch with Category team
- continue working on logged inquiries
- see if any quantity / pricing variances

i learned a lot of excel, as that used extensively
especially the usage of Vlookup and Pivot tables

Hardest – more... part of job: Constant emails coming in, as we are the first point of contact for the vendors. But we prioritize the daily activities which we should do first – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues but poor decision making in upper management
Director (Former Employee), bramptonDecember 3, 2012
Pros: nice job titles and seemingly decent pay but you work very hard for it
Cons: constant employee churn - no sense of stability
No job security.
Very little support for new employees.
Tribal learning system.
Upper management does not take the time to get to know you and your capabilities.

About Loblaw

Loblaw Companies Limited is the largest food retailer in Canada, with over 1,400 supermarkets operating under a variety of regional – Read more

Loblaw Photos