Find companies:
Loblaw
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
139 reviews

Loblaw Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for students to work
Peer Recruiter (Current Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 6, 2013
It is fun place to work. This company offers part time jobs with flexible hours, however wage pay is on the low side.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where's the leadership?
Learning & Development (Former Employee), Brampton H/ONovember 25, 2013
Pros: free parking, quality food in the cafeteria, free coffee & tea
Cons: give up on your after work life
A typical day was chaos and work life balance was non existent.
What I've learned…you need to be heartless to work here, it's a shark tank.
Management and leadership is pathetic at best, they spend more time marketing how great of a company it is, spending less time walking the talk in H/O
Some of my co-workers were the most enjoyable part of my job.
The – more... hardest part of the job was being a fake unlike many others who had it down to a science.
The most enjoyable part of the job was helping to support the learning of individuals and seeing them apply new skills to the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Senior Analyst, Planogram Space Planning (Former Employee), BramptonNovember 23, 2013
Pros: working environment
Cons: low than average salary
Very good culture and work environment. A lot of activities to o during and after work hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Clerical Entry Level Positions
General Clerk (Warehouse) (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 15, 2013
A General Clerk for the Loblaw distribution center in Ottawa typically starts the day by coordinating with members of the previous shift to see what the activities of the day are, and to finish any work that could not be completed. Then the clerk goes through the warehouse and maintains the inventory, looking for products that are close to expiry as – more... well as making sure that products are suitable for the order pickers.
I learned basic clerical and office duties working for Loblaw. I also learned basics about load dispatching and receiving.
The management for the clerks are fair and knowledgeable. They can also be understanding and accommodate requests and needs if required.
Clerical co-workers are friendly and are always keen to help someone out or to provide assistance.
The hardest part of the job is trying to keep busy on slow days.
The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to walk around the warehouse, as it makes for a more dynamic workplace (as opposed to sitting around at a desk all day). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance; salaries could be more competitive
FINANCIAL ANALYST (Current Employee), Brampton, ONNovember 14, 2013
Pros: great facilities and work/life balance
Cons: salaries could be more competitive to industry
- Have learned a great deal working in the position
- Allows for a healthy work/life balance
- Great co-workers
- Approachable management
- Some overtime may be required dependent on work load
- Salary could be more competitive
- Enjoy the company overall
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun but sometimes hard place to work.
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 6, 2013
Pros: birthday celebrations, christmas dinners, event gatherings
Cons: not enough hours, little respect, a lot of rumors
I enjoyed the friends i made at loblaw.
I learned to always try to out do myself.
Management at my perticular branch was not the best unfortunately.
The manager did not treat the employees with the proper respect or care that they deserved.
The hardest part of the job was definitely not having enough hours seeing as i love to keep busy and i love to – more... work.
The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know the people as well as the company and being able to familiarise myself with the store and properly helping clients that needed my attention. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Environment
Business Analyst (Former Employee), BramptonOctober 31, 2013
I had an excellent time during my stay at this company. During the course of the day, while working as a Business Analyst, I enjoyed worked with all areas of the business learning new things all ways and if there are any things that are not right, I tried to find how to fix them. The co workers were just great, helping at all times and specially managers – more... were excellent and were always supportive – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a volunteer job to get canadian experiene
File Clerk/ HR support (volunteer) (Former Employee), Brampton, ONOctober 21, 2013
Friendly environment, long hours as a volunteer.
Its a nice place to work at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unless you are in upper management this is not a good job
supervisor (Former Employee), High River, ABOctober 17, 2013
Pros: 10% discount card
Cons: bad hours, poor pay, terrible managers, no job security
typical day as a department supervisor is very long hours and everything needs to be done on your hours, you are not able to schedule the hours you need to perform well in your department. This makes your bonus impossible to reach, even if you did it isn't much that you can call worth you giving up your life. I say life because there is no work life – more... balance you are in store at least once a day, if not you will be called and expected to fix it over the phone or drop what you are doing and go in to help out. This might be expected from non management staff but it comes more from incompetent managers that do not know how to do anything without the help of dedicated staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work with
Learning Centre Coordinator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 3, 2013
Pros: work life balance
Cons: temporary position
Very friendly environment, very positive and helpful instructors. Provided lots of support for all new colleagues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible wages and management
Cashier (Current Employee), Coquitlam, BCSeptember 14, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: terrible wages, unreasonable wage cap and break times
The store chooses your breaks, and they often abuse this power and put your break 1 hour into your shift, so you get no breaks for the rest of the day.

With the current Loblaws union contract, your hourly wage caps at $14. That's just... bad. You can't even make a living with $14/hour.

Flexible hours, and they let you switch your shifts if you let – more... them know ahead of time if you have a good reason.

Co-workers are mostly friendly, but that has nothing to do with Loblaws - it's just how people are. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Friendly work culture
Administrative Intern (Former Employee), Brampton ONSeptember 12, 2013
Working at Lolaw Companies Limited:

It was a great experience for me to working at Loblaw Companies Ltd. My day started with a meeting of a dept. In the meeting we came to know about the achievements of the dept. and their plans for the coming week. The director and the managers addresses the meeting. After the meeting everybody went to their desks. – more... All the co-workers were very helpful & cooperative. There I learned the Canadian work culture. How to interact with co-workers and seniors. I also learned filing, scanning, making reports, various types of agreements, answering phone calls etc. To see my good performance The Director of the dept. gave me additional responsibility to work on the original document of an important project. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pharmacy management a disgrace (Westbank, BC)
Pharmacist (Former Employee), OkanaganSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: competitive wage and benefits. great support staff.
Cons: pharmacy manager and district manager
-instances of excessive selfish and grossly unfair scheduling by manager
-inconsistent rules
-abuse of power
-unwillingness of manager and district manager to show concern, acknowledgment, to apologize, and to rectify corruptness by simply laying out transparent rules
-unprofessional conduct and bullying by manager
-no accountability and transparency – more... in dealing with problems with manager as upper manager and HR investigate and take no meaningful action
-toxic environment
-district manager is ambitious but severely lacking experience in dealing with people and resolving problems – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting career
Quality Assurance Specialist (Current Employee), OntarioAugust 13, 2013
Cons: extremely busy all the time
Working as a QA Specialist at Loblaw is definitely a good starting career. Management does want you to grow within the company, but with minimal growth opportunities, everyone is fighting for the same position. Daily work is the same every day and some times it is difficult to stay motivated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting workplace, staff was always great working with
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 12, 2013
Pros: employees, union backing
Cons: long hours, constantly changing management
A typical day at work may include stocking shelves, working product from the backroom onto the sales floor but it almost always involved helping to serve the customer. Because of the retail setting, management was frequently shifted around which lead to difficulties with staff adapting to management styles. From this experience, I became more flexible – more... and outgoing. The best part of the job was the union security while I finished my college schooling and the wonderful employees I made friends with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loblaw gave a wonderful oppurtunity to work in WMOS and SAP
WMS / SAP integration- Integration Consultant (Current Employee), PCC Circle / Matheson officeJuly 15, 2013
Its a great company to be part of. I was a contractor to Loblaw through Cognizant Tech Solutions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment
Industrial Engineering Analyst-Supply Chain (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONJuly 12, 2013
good people here to work with and lots of travelling for supply chain role.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and easy going work place
Administrative Assistant (Co-op Interim) (Current Employee), Brampton,onJuly 11, 2013
Pros: good office settings
Cons: have to go and work out of office too
Fun to work in this company as a co op, I feel it is a easy going atmosphere but everyone finishes there task in a timely manner
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
changing
Associate Merchant (Current Employee), Cambridge, ONJuly 8, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: lack of support
Loblaws is a fantastic company but as they are changing right now it is very difficult to work as it is very unorganized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hyper-Productive Work Environment with Great Food
Budget Team Lead - IT/SAP Quality Assurance (Current Employee), Brampton, ONJuly 4, 2013
Pros: awesome atrium/cafeteria and food giveaways
Cons: long hours; poor work-life balance
Loblaw is a demanding work environment as with any Retail company. A typical day extends well beyond the 9 to 5, but is a great place to learn how to be hyper-productive and take on many challenges in parallel.

About Loblaw

Loblaw Companies Limited is the largest food retailer in Canada, with over 1,400 supermarkets operating under a variety of regional – Read more

Loblaw Photos