Loblaw Employee Reviews in Canada

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Grocery crew member (Current Employee), North Vancouver, BCMarch 17, 2016
Nice co workers. Worked part time. worked an over night shift so it was pretty stressful considering.
got familiar with how stores are been run in canada.
the management was supportive of employees decisions to make the working environment a better place
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Pharmacy Manager (Former Employee), Brockville, ONMarch 16, 2016
A typical day at the work, is very busy. Spending lots of time with patient on counselling, spending time on answering phone and also receiving, filling and make it ready for patient
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worse
Design and Database Architect (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 16, 2016
Pros: Good pay
Cons: very high turn over .. no job security .. you are just a number
One of the worse places that I ever worked at as a FT ..

Management generally don't care about their staff .. in it for themselves ..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time job while not a career
Butchers Assistant (Former Employee), Markham, ONMarch 15, 2016
set up store displays. Wrapped and put out product not much responsibility. Overall pretty good experience. Not much more to say
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple work and good learning experience with good co-workers
Frontend Store Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 14, 2016
I found working at Loblaws rarely to be overly demanding but also rarely a boring slow day. What was asked of me was never to difficult but there was enough to sustain a good day whether it was stock, grocery, or carts. I learnt how to deal with all types of people such as customers, and high up managers, as well as be respectful, attentive, and act professional. The management was always nice but would not hesitate to tell you what you are doing wrong or discipline you. The hardest part of the job is customer service due to the fact that some customers may be rude or disrespectful but at the end of the day you must always be polite and act professional. The most enjoyable has to be the camaraderie and good times with co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Westwinds store is the worst store to work for!!
Courtesy clerk/price checker (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 13, 2016
Pros: Get paid 50 cent extra than regular retail store (11.65 to be exact)
Cons: Short Hours, No health and safety regulation for employees, Overworked, Cheap Management, No respect for low level employees
Don't apply if you don't want to be overworked and insulted! Management does not know how to deal employees with respect and dignity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Successful team Building
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), AntigonishMarch 13, 2016
Pros: Excellent respectful culture
Cons: Health Care change less coverage
Enjoy the engagement with the people on a daily basis. Like the challenge of getting entire team headed in the same direction.

Most frustrating thing about my job is the hiccups and set backs in regard to the team direction.



what I learned....


The biggest win for me is the process of giving respect and doing for others first. Then once the relationship is established asking for the same in return.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Mission, BCMarch 11, 2016
A fun place to work, staff are very nice. Also the work does not interfere with school so it is not hard to balance the both.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like working as a team
shipping and receiving goods (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 10, 2016
I love working as a team to increase the companies productivity i do like the company especially the orderliness and ways of approach .They pay so well and treat employees good
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed all fay to day tarnsactions
Store Manager (Former Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 8, 2016
Store Manager Daily Tasks are the following but not limited to:


400 plus unionized employees.
15 Salaried Managers
Shrink Control
Inventory Management.
Product Recalls
Manager Reviews
Staff Engagement Score
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work with.
Senior Analyst (Former Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 8, 2016
Great work life balance. Great co-workers. Constantly learning new technologies. Hardest part of the job is leaving when so engaged.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We Foosball table but employees don't have time to play.
Order Picker (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCMarch 8, 2016
Pros: Free cookies and candies sometimes plus turkey dinner every December.
I've learn a lot in this job, I learned how to drive eletric pallet jack and how to use rf scanner and they thought us a lot about safety and how to communicate with each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fun and challenging
Forklift Operator/Assembler (Current Employee), Regina, SKMarch 7, 2016
Pros: Friendly people and incentive for Safety
Cons: Real Hard work
Loblaw is a great place to work, but just like every work place you have to earn the money. Work hard and you will be rewarded. You get good benefits and overall the supervisors are verry friendly and ready to work with coleagues and help them with any issues and concerns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy Loblaws Companies Ltd
Photo Department, (Current Employee), Dartmouth, NSMarch 3, 2016
Pros: free breakfast
Cons: no hours
I enjoy the work environment at Atlantic Superstore. The only thing I do not enjoy is the limited amount of hours for workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace but mismanaged
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 2, 2016
Staff were talented and hard working but were let down by management in several departments. I enjoyed my job just frustrated by overstocking of non selling products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loblaws
Customer service (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 1, 2016
Pros: Free lunches on special occasions
Cons: long hours, over worked staff, not high enough pay
When i first started at Loblaws a year ago , it was fun learning new things and having the experience of working in a grocery store .. a year later , things changed and it became a very disorganized work environment. They work the part time staff with NO hours .. they over work all the employees. Their logic is just pathetic , people complain on a daily basis even the employees. Loblaws is a terrible work place now , i don't understand why are they giving part timers who are students who need money , only 2 shifts a week? and having the dumb " total numbers of hours " for each department ? It's just ridiculous. Another thing , They expect so much to be done in a certain amount of time during a shift , but how is it possible when they are not allowed to have more then one staff on in an department? And we are getting paid not enough , when some people are having to work a three person job alone and keep the customers happy. It doesnt make sense... Loblaws needs to get their prioritize straight!.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its okay if you have ran out of luck of finding a job
Order Picker (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONFebruary 29, 2016
you have to be a machine to work in that dead life I mean c'mon they expect a 3oo order done under 42 minutes and you gotta keep the pilet still so at best you'll do 1 hour and 30 min but that's not expectable so if your a crack head with lots of energy this might be a job for you!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and lively work environment
Deli department (Current Employee), Kingston, ONFebruary 27, 2016
Pros: store staff incentives- lunches, free skating, bowling ect
Cons: sometimes its chilly in the store
always great to walk into work and see people smiling back at you or asking you how your day is going.
It's a fun and inspiring place to work where all staff is approachable and management are friendly and knowledgeable if you ever have any questions you may have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee), Ancaster, ONFebruary 25, 2016
Pros: job experience
Cons: No store discounts for employees
Its a great first job for someone looking for work experience, its a friendly environment and work is constant but easily completed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Analyst (Current Employee), Brampton, ONFebruary 24, 2016
Pros: Subsidized lunches
Cons: departments operating in silos
Good place to work, good working culture, lots of benefits and great people. Work life balance can be difficult depending on volume of work In addition, company should invest in more corporate training.
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
Brampton, Ontario
Links
Loblaw website