Loblaw Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was really good place to work
Transportation and Logistic Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON4 December 2017
this job was best one I ever work to the our was good and benefits was awesome and people was great to work with but with the big lay off was one of them to be lay off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Logistics Operational Manageer (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON3 December 2017
Lead a team of 15 staff responsible for executing the flow transportation for Eastern Canada. This encompassed grocery, floral, frozen, fresh, dairy, apparel and GM (Seasonal Items) commodities sourced from Canada and the US. Responsibilities include the identification of preferred carriers, negotiation of rates.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and a great atmosphere
HMR Clerk (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS2 December 2017
I love my job at Loblaws because the staff are friendly, and the atmosphere is so great. Everyone has such a positive attitude and we are all committed to getting the job done.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Hours cut a lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great exciting workplace
MANAGER, SUPPLY CHAIN NETWORK DESIGN (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON28 November 2017
Great culture, salary is low but it is an enjoyable place to work. Head office has a gym and great lunches. Work life balance is relatively normal and the type of work and opportunities are pretty good,
Pros
Culture
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Machine Operator/Assembler (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON27 November 2017
Fast paced work environment based completely off of seniority and ability to gain extra money from incentive bonus. Job security for the time being is excellent. Automation in the future may be a possibility due to competetors taking that route
Pros
Extra income available
Cons
Extremely physical
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in the pharmacy
Pharmacy Assistant (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC27 November 2017
Can be hectic with unending patients dropping off prescriptions while the phones are all ringing.

The hourly rate does climb faster; however; this may be because of working as a pharmacy assistant.

The best part of the day is when every patient is happy and gets their medication.

Pharmacy manager is generally a very down to earth kind of person.
Pros
Very busy
Cons
A bit lower salary cap
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place with friendly people to work with
Assembler (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 November 2017
My job title at Loblaw was an assembler. My job was picking food orders for Superstores groceries stores all over Calgary. The company has three different shifts.
Pros
Friendly people always willing to help.
Cons
heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Investigator Westerm Canada (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 November 2017
This company is a good company to work for and has room for advancement within the company. The company is a safe environment to work in as well with company always looking to improve.
Pros
good company
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful department and store to work in
Meat Clerk (Former Employee) –  West Kelowna, BC23 November 2017
I would have to agree with the guy/lady who also wrote a review for the West Kelowna store in the meat department...

The managers in the meat department are awful, the store managers do nothing about it. I worked there for 2 years and it was the worst job I ever had, period. Moody meat managers who act like children and the other staff didn't help either. The mood in the department was always grim, and obviously very cold. Do not apply here if you're someone who doesn't like the cold, your hands will be numb a lot and handling frozen product for 5 hrs. + is really hard on your hands.

I noticed the managers sometimes dropping product on the ground then picking it up as wrapping it anyways. The same floor we all walked on and used! The department is gross, the equipment and back rooms are always dirty. Cleaning up at night is the worst shift, you have to squeegee the floor of blood and guts then do tons of other jobs on top of that. Finishing your "list" is always a hard thing to do as you will almost never have enough time to do so. Especially around thanksgiving and Christmas when you have to fill the turkey bins every 30 minutes.

It may seem like all I'm doing is complaining but there really isn't many positives working in this department in this store. If you have feelings and want a positive environment to work in, this isn't the place. Apply elsewhere in the store. You can tell that no one likes working there because they're always hiring and tons of people quit when I worked there for reasons I mentioned above or because the manager gets picky with prospective
  more... employees. I had a couple friends who got written up for no reason in order to try and get them fired.  less
Pros
Medical benefits
Cons
Managers, cold, bad staff, no job security, very fast environment, no downtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy work environment
CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Kingston, NS22 November 2017
Happy colleagues make a happy day on the job. Staff members are always willing to help each other with everything they do. Very clean environment to work in
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Busy days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Loblaw?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dominion blackmarsh road
Photographer and electronics department assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL22 November 2017
great employees to work for, benefits were too expensive, there were no opportunities for advancement and no job security and amount of hours received changed too frequently
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay work place
Cashier / hmr worker (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 November 2017
at the beginning there was hours now that the wage keeps going up there is no more hours to give unless if you work at an unknown location you will be guaranteed hours
Pros
special occasions = free lunch
Cons
no hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 November 2017
Great work place and fun environment. This place has an amazing work culture. Lots of activities for the employees and customers, games, sports events, bbqs etc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst places I've ever worked
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK20 November 2017
If I could give one word of advice to people considering applying to this place, It would be don't. You are not treated as a person with them, but instead as a number, or an easily replaceable resource. There are multiple issues that lead to an alarmingly high turn over rate, but they refuse to address them, because it benefits them. They will keep you for the duration of the probationary period, and then get rid of you while they can, just to bring in a new batch of 15-20 employees.
Cons
incompetent supervisors, poor attitude
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy large food Retailer
Salad Bar Employee / Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON19 November 2017
I worked in the Salad Bar, preparing fruit and vegetables for individual serving trays; taking customer orders for specialized orders and preparing them as requested.
Pros
Employees received discount cards for purchases
Cons
Must work at least one day each weekend
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and creative place to work
Home Meal Replacement/ Coffee bar (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 November 2017
I've worked at loblaws for about 4 years now and can't seem to leave. Every summer i come back to a team thats ready to work and have a good time while doing. Most days i see families and friends come by and grab a coffee from the coffee bar which puts a smile on my face.
Pros
lots of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Autonomy and Advancement!
Transportation Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON18 November 2017
I loved working here. My boss was amazing. I learned a lot about distribution and transportation in the grocery business. Workplace culture was great, a lot of wonderful people worked for this company. Hardest part of the job was leaving to relocate back to BC.
Pros
Great people, great company
Cons
Pay could have been better
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close to home easy to get to
Customer Service desk (Current Employee) –  Riverview, NB18 November 2017
very busy all the time,loved that part. nice co-workers and fun at times. front end cash was hard that is not a fun job. hate standing in one position all the time.
Pros
sometimes free food.
Cons
standing in one spot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Flow Team Member (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON16 November 2017
Everyone is inviting and the people here are helpful and cheerful to everyone, the management could use a little help when it comes to part timers, they
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for teenager
Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON16 November 2017
I worked here during high school. it was fun and easy. where customer service life began. exposed to a life of grocery shopping i also sold lottery tickets and cigarettes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Loblaw. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,613 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4