Loblaw Employee Reviews

Found 1,474 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good and fun
Bakery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB9 August 2017
i learned a lot , enjoy working with good team, good benefits health and dental , happy to serve our customers, may co workers are good to work with,
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lackluster Pay
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON9 August 2017
They cut the wages and benefits a lot which led me to seek work elsewhere. It wasn't a very positive work environment either and the management held little respect for their employees.
Pros
Managerial skills and people skills were developped
Cons
Long hours, split shifts, company before family motto
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Accounts Payable Clerk (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON8 August 2017
Co-workers are nice and willing to help. My manager is nice, understanding and respectful to us her staff. It has a nice environment and always remind us of our safety at work.
Pros
Sometimes free lunches and short hours on coming holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exercise bike and table tennis in break room!
Assistant Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Saint Croix, VI8 August 2017
Great place to work with genuine staff.

Good hours, good pay.

Sometimes wish they could hire two people instead of one for children's birthday parties, became a bit too much work on own for parties of 16 children with cooking, clean-up, decorating and hosting the parties.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work place
Senior Supervisor of Cross dock Operations (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON6 August 2017
Great place to gain experience and move up the corprate ladder.
Always new systems and processes to learn.
Managers always assist and help you acheive your goal.
Pros
Fun place to work
Cons
work weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to work
Part time Senior Floral Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 August 2017
Hard work and not many benefits for part timers. Customers very entitled and often rude. You need a sense of humour! Store manager out of touch with the demands of the work involved.
Pros
saturday breakfast
Cons
tedium
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible Place To Work
Marketing Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON5 August 2017
This place literally changed my life. It's encouraged to learn about other departments of the company to make yourself better. Your compensation reflects your contributions to the company and your salaries increases and increase and responsibility and education are only limited by your desire. Top notch place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to wotk
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK4 August 2017
The company has a very strong policy on health and safety which I think is resourceful to workers. The management team is very approachable learnt a lot while I was there
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a non permanment place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 August 2017
They don't like to hire full-time staff.
Most times the orders aren't very direct into what your supposed to be doing. some departments are very unorganized.
Pros
staff huddles(free food)
Cons
not much advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recommended
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Port McNeill, BC2 August 2017
I definitely enjoyed working for Loblaws. I started low and worked my way up the ladder easily. I would definitely work there again if given the chance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
truly care for their colleagues
Rentention Supervisor Phase 2 (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK1 August 2017
I feel that Loblaw is a "great place to work" because they believe in the colleagues that work hard everyday to make sure orders are filled, shelves are stocked and are hands on with the customers. They are committed to providing a safe environment for our colleagues and take a great interest in the different cultures that work for us. They take the time to learn about other countries celebrations and beliefs and are considerate of them.
Pros
diversity
Cons
staff turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place, great people, wrong region.
Incident Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Saint-Laurent, QC1 August 2017
Great place to apply ITIL principals that aren't always practiced outside a large IT based company.
Got first had experience with outsourcing a service desk and the impact afterwards.
My managers at LCL were great leaders that were able to get the job done and immensely supported their teams.
Hardest part of the job was learning all the different silos and how they all relate to each other as there are hundreds of support teams within the company and vendors.
Best part was learning how much IT is integrated in a store and the impact it has on every day shopping.
Pros
In house cafeteria, employee discount program, benefits.
Cons
Constant lay offs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work
Children's Department Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON31 July 2017
Great atmosphere to work especially if it is a temporary point in a persons life. You can get great experience and move through the company and grow through your own professional development.
Pros
Employees
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good work place!!!
Independent Grocery (Former Employee) –  Edson, AB28 July 2017
Amazing work culture, some people always get in your way. But management was fantastic. standing all day was the hardest but was worth it. i loved it!
Pros
fantastic people
Cons
lots of non happy people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Environment
Meat Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 July 2017
I work as a meat clerk in a Loblaws store in downtown Toronto, Job environment is good and people are friendly. Store is quite busy, espcially after a long weekend but makes the hours fly by
Pros
good hours..
Cons
very busy store
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
IT Business Analyst CO-OP (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON25 July 2017
Great Company, Great workplace culture, people are really friendly and always there to help you. I enjoyed the job experience, great company for anyone to who wants to gain experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low salary, no job advancement
Sr. Analyst (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON25 July 2017
-constantly adding on to an already large job description
-hard to get promoted/advance job
-VERY low salary, always lowest among employers
-management is clueless as to what they are doing
Cons
low salary, no promotions, low bonus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced Environment
CUSTOMER SERVICE CLERK (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 July 2017
The most enjoyable part of my position was the interaction with customers and keeping busy completely tasks.

Management was easy to talk to about our opinions, issues, and concerns with regard to providing exceptional customer service.

The opportunity to learn all aspects of seafood department; raw, fresh and frozen seafood. From storing to steaming lobster; and presenting displays that entice customers to purchase products.
Pros
accommodate part-time hours
Cons
no long term positions available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stable company
Merchandising (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON20 July 2017
Loblaw is a good stable company to work for whether in stores or at the Head office. Great people to work with who are passionate about what they do. Strong leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment for learning
Pharmacy Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 July 2017
Excellent staff and good working environment. Different responsibilities given but all well within your scope of practice. Good compensation and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Loblaw. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,492 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4