Find companies:
Loblaw
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
165 reviews

Loblaw Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You will be hungry and they don't care. you need more hours they say get another job.
former employee (Former Employee), not my problem anymoreSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: coffee machine in breakroom
Cons: no coffee for the machine
Don't get stuck working for this slave driving company.
Abusive treatment from managers, small wages not enough hours, you'll be working extremely hard because there too much to be done and not enough staff or time.
This was once a great company until it turn greedy...like so greedy it makes me sick to my stomach.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste of time!
Stockroom (Former Employee), LondonSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: paying union dues when not in the union, paying for insurance that you can't use
Don't even bother. You'll get minimum wage, get minimal hours, pay union dues, a union 'initiation fee', and pay for insurance that you'll never be able to use.

When it's all said and done, you'll get less than minimum wage.

The union, UFCW, is beyond useless, and only exists to suck money from your meager pay.

Don't even think about doing this to – more... supplement your income, but again, it's not worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and resourceful
Senior Clerk AP Processing (Current Employee), weston winnipegSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: slow programs
its fun workng with people and mostly challenging
giving good workplace
sometimes too many invoices coming
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Loss Prevention Rep (Former Employee), AjaxSeptember 15, 2014
claims and audit
learned loss prevention
management kept changing
team work was excellent
working with truck drivers
being heard
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Company with many opportunities to make an impact
Senior Engineering Analyst, Flow Deployment (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: fantastic cafeteria, good social environment
Cons: no established career progression plan
Some of the nicest colleagues I've ever had, and the variety of projects and work available is exciting for someone just starting their career and looking to make a positive impact.

Overall it's a great company. There's just the same headaches you expect from all companies this size: lack of communication between teams, senior leadership that are either – more... too slow or too haphazard with their action plans, and the feeling that you're just this little cog in this massive machine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well supervised environment
Produce Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: always something to do, never boring.
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day in the Produce Department is displaying the product on the tables and answering customers inquiries.I learned how to lead a team and train new employees so that they can get the job done efficiently and right.the hardest part of the job is when we get too much overstock and we have to go through it all and organize everything while maintaining – more... the shopping floor. The best part is the positive work environment and being a part of a working team where everyone does their part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Management
Warehouse Assembler (Current Employee), Calgary,ABSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Receiving orders ,find the items, pick the items,
I learned how to control employee performance by software.
Strong management
Co-workers were so hard working
The hardest part of job was picking a lots of case per day
having experience with the one of the most efficient controlling software was the most enjoyable part .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at Loblaw Companies Ltd.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Brampton, ONAugust 28, 2014
I enjoyed working at Loblaw Companies Ltd. Loblaw Companies Ltd. has a very desired office location, provided a great salary and created a wonderful job culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and co-workers
Operation Specialist (Current Employee), winnipeg, MBAugust 27, 2014
Pros: holidays and salary
Cons: 7 days a week, with no days off
Developed, implemented and coordinated successful business strategies improving productivity, employee attendance, performance management best practices and increasing employee morale; managed multiple warehouse projects ensuring their development, communication, and facilitation throughout our facility and organization; supports and develops rewarding – more... business partnerships through relationship building.

Proven ability and skill to oversee operations coordinating and trouble-shooting in a busy and evolving environment; Creative problem-solving and conflict management skills; Active leader who employs analysis and workable solutions while managing multiple projects; Assesses and implements practical operational and training solutions exceeding organizational goals and measurements – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time working environment
Pharmacy Technician (P/T) (Former Employee), MissisaugaAugust 25, 2014
Great environment to develop

Always room for growth

Resourceful colleagues
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, no respect, low pay
Clerk (Current Employee), Winnipeg MBAugust 20, 2014
Cons: long shifts, low pay, ineffective union, incompetent management
Superstore is a really dreadful place. I've worked for the company for 5 years and I make 30 cents more than minimum wage.

Drama is abundant with management and colleagues talking behind others backs. Management frequently discusses personal manners with other employees.s

Avoid at all costs,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to meet great customers!
Cashier (Former Employee), Ottawa, OntarioAugust 15, 2014
I worked for over 15 plus year at Loblaws and had some good times and bad times while working there. I learned a lot about customer service while working with this company and made many friends with in the staff as well as the customers. Loblaws provided some security but little possibilities of advancement. The most enjoyable part of the job was the – more... customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended unless you're a student
Clerk (Current Employee), OttawaAugust 1, 2014
Pros: some great people to work with
Cons: lack of hours, low pay, raises are atrocious, head office has no clue what it's really like at store level, erroneous and outdated computer systems
I would never recommend this place to anyone other than students looking for a part time job. No respect in the workplace, head office only sees the bottom line, some department managers are horrendous to work for and the company preaches fiscal responsibility yet senior managers are handed very large bonuses while store staff are given 5 or 10 cent – more... raises every 750-1000 hours. Lots more to complain about but not enough time to do that now. In short STAY AWAY!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Brampton, ONJuly 28, 2014
People at my workplace are very nice and willing to provide any assistance as required. We also have regular team building events and company's events regularly. In general I would recommend for young people to work here since people at work are all willing to mentor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company.
Produce Rush Order Desk Representative (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONJuly 27, 2014
Good company to work for. Good location. Many job opportunities there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible!
Pharmacy Assitant or should I say Clerk? (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioJuly 21, 2014
Pros: hum?!
Cons: poor management in the whole company!
I had worked for more than 10 years with so called Loblaw as a pharmacy technician. Then one day I was told I was being laid off due to a so called store level test that I had failed and that there was no employment for me there. Kind of stupid to think that a company would keep you for all those years and then tell you that your not good enough because – more... you failed a store level test?! Something that's not even implemented by the Ontario College of Pharmacists?! That's not even a law? Hum?! Something is wrong with this picture!!!
As far as the so called "Union" they don' t do anything for the employee except harass you to find another job and that they'll try and get you your job back for unlawful dismissal...yeah right!
This must sound like I'm bitter and yes I am why shouldn't I be?
I was a loyal worker for number of years and I know for sure this was a inside job of the company to get rid of workers like me and it had everything to do with the management who could have protected the staff and decided not to do so. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Human Resources (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJuly 18, 2014
Learned a lot from working at Loblaw- team was very helpful and would collaborate well. I would recommend this company to anyone looking to get into a consumer packaging group company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Assistant Store Manager - Real Canadian Superstore (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONJuly 15, 2014
Pros: 10% colleague discount
Cons: long hours
Loblaw is a great place to work, with tons of perks for part-time staff all the way to management. They also have great health benefits their colleagues that want to opt in for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tests your mettle!
Inventory Control Assistant (Current Employee), Regina, SkJune 9, 2014
The entry level position in distribution centres does test your mental and physical capabilities and pushes them to extremes but once you settle down, it is a secured job with great opportunities to advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative fast paced environment with SAP implementation
Assistant Manager Business Process (Current Employee), Brampton, ONJune 4, 2014
Pros: managing a great team
Cons: not enough room for advancement
• Managed central data integrity team to assist in expedient daily store issue resolution and worked to determine opportunities to evolve processes and create efficiencies
• Managed team of 20 individuals as well as day to day program operations to help achieve objectives to decrease issues reported from stores
• Used in-depth analytical skills and – more... root cause analysis to implement a more agile issue resolution process saving 30 labour hours per week for my team – less

About Loblaw

Loblaw Companies Limited is the largest food retailer in Canada, with over 1,400 supermarkets operating under a variety of regional – Read more