Find companies:
Loblaw
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
127 reviews

Loblaw Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great collogues, boss, and fun place to work at; really enjoy it there.
part-time clerk in Fresh To Go (Current Employee), Joseph Howe Drive, Halifax, NSFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: the atmosphere is great.
Cons: not enough hours given to live off of.
A typical day at work would be looking after production (making parfaits, vegetable trays, etc.), and doing prep work (cutting up vegetables and fruit to keep bins full for production).

All my collogues are a pleasure to work with and I have a great boss who is fair and looks after everyone.

The hardest part of my job to date is becoming faster with – more... production, but that should come in time ( I have only been doing it for a month now... and my speed has been increasing). The most enjoyable part of my job is doing the production and prep work, while looking after customer needs and wants. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast-paced
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCJanuary 22, 2014
Extra foods was not the place for me.It wasn't the most welcoming place for me
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE.
Cold Deli (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: benefits, having a job earning money, diverse culture of people.
Cons: not enough hours, breaks are too short (lunch), favouritism too much, managers slaving the employees within departments.
I used to work for Loblaws same location horrible staffing with the managers. They need new ones, benefits are amazing, pay is alright, not many hours and too much favouritism. Feels like elementary school. When it's break time for lunch you get 30 minutes. You walk to the back room and punch out. You walk from the back room to the lunch room and then – more... on your way to the lunchroom sometimes a customer will need your help. Would be bad to turn your back so you help and then that takes up time then you run out of time for your lunch and realize when you get upstairs you only have 5-15 minutes left for lunch. Not even enough time to eat or even heat up food if you wanted to. Or even to buy food. Certain things will not work you take extra time to eat and it's like you took 40-45 minutes on a lunch break when really your busy helping customers. A great place to work for benefits but there needs to be more respect given and treating people equally. It reminds me of high school haha. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
every thing in stor (Former Employee), any wear in scarboroJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: no
Cons: part time
I have experienced in stor work on five years managment in side stor janral work and cashiyar I do everything
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits are good but need more hours to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBJanuary 6, 2014
Its a good company. Meeting different kinds of people. Management is supportive to staff. Enjoy scanning items which I'm very good at it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad review
Inventory Control Assistant (Former Employee), ReginaDecember 27, 2013
Loblaw have bad management system.They donot entertain girls in their company.
so no respect for loblaw
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of oppertunities
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee), MississaugaDecember 17, 2013
I learned a lot by working at Loblaw's. Great coworkers. Management was reasonable to everyone's needs. The hardest part of my job was the day they closed down the warehouse I was working at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for students to work
Peer Recruiter (Current Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 6, 2013
It is fun place to work. This company offers part time jobs with flexible hours, however wage pay is on the low side.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where's the leadership?
Learning & Development (Former Employee), Brampton H/ONovember 25, 2013
Pros: free parking, quality food in the cafeteria, free coffee & tea
Cons: give up on your after work life
A typical day was chaos and work life balance was non existent.
What I've learned…you need to be heartless to work here, it's a shark tank.
Management and leadership is pathetic at best, they spend more time marketing how great of a company it is, spending less time walking the talk in H/O
Some of my co-workers were the most enjoyable part of my job.
The – more... hardest part of the job was being a fake unlike many others who had it down to a science.
The most enjoyable part of the job was helping to support the learning of individuals and seeing them apply new skills to the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Senior Analyst, Planogram Space Planning (Former Employee), BramptonNovember 23, 2013
Pros: working environment
Cons: low than average salary
Very good culture and work environment. A lot of activities to o during and after work hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Clerical Entry Level Positions
General Clerk (Warehouse) (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 15, 2013
A General Clerk for the Loblaw distribution center in Ottawa typically starts the day by coordinating with members of the previous shift to see what the activities of the day are, and to finish any work that could not be completed. Then the clerk goes through the warehouse and maintains the inventory, looking for products that are close to expiry as – more... well as making sure that products are suitable for the order pickers.
I learned basic clerical and office duties working for Loblaw. I also learned basics about load dispatching and receiving.
The management for the clerks are fair and knowledgeable. They can also be understanding and accommodate requests and needs if required.
Clerical co-workers are friendly and are always keen to help someone out or to provide assistance.
The hardest part of the job is trying to keep busy on slow days.
The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to walk around the warehouse, as it makes for a more dynamic workplace (as opposed to sitting around at a desk all day). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance; salaries could be more competitive
FINANCIAL ANALYST (Current Employee), Brampton, ONNovember 14, 2013
Pros: great facilities and work/life balance
Cons: salaries could be more competitive to industry
- Have learned a great deal working in the position
- Allows for a healthy work/life balance
- Great co-workers
- Approachable management
- Some overtime may be required dependent on work load
- Salary could be more competitive
- Enjoy the company overall
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun but sometimes hard place to work.
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 6, 2013
Pros: birthday celebrations, christmas dinners, event gatherings
Cons: not enough hours, little respect, a lot of rumors
I enjoyed the friends i made at loblaw.
I learned to always try to out do myself.
Management at my perticular branch was not the best unfortunately.
The manager did not treat the employees with the proper respect or care that they deserved.
The hardest part of the job was definitely not having enough hours seeing as i love to keep busy and i love to – more... work.
The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know the people as well as the company and being able to familiarise myself with the store and properly helping clients that needed my attention. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Environment
Business Analyst (Former Employee), BramptonOctober 31, 2013
I had an excellent time during my stay at this company. During the course of the day, while working as a Business Analyst, I enjoyed worked with all areas of the business learning new things all ways and if there are any things that are not right, I tried to find how to fix them. The co workers were just great, helping at all times and specially managers – more... were excellent and were always supportive – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a volunteer job to get canadian experiene
File Clerk/ HR support (volunteer) (Former Employee), Brampton, ONOctober 21, 2013
Friendly environment, long hours as a volunteer.
Its a nice place to work at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unless you are in upper management this is not a good job
supervisor (Former Employee), High River, ABOctober 17, 2013
Pros: 10% discount card
Cons: bad hours, poor pay, terrible managers, no job security
typical day as a department supervisor is very long hours and everything needs to be done on your hours, you are not able to schedule the hours you need to perform well in your department. This makes your bonus impossible to reach, even if you did it isn't much that you can call worth you giving up your life. I say life because there is no work life – more... balance you are in store at least once a day, if not you will be called and expected to fix it over the phone or drop what you are doing and go in to help out. This might be expected from non management staff but it comes more from incompetent managers that do not know how to do anything without the help of dedicated staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work with
Learning Centre Coordinator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 3, 2013
Pros: work life balance
Cons: temporary position
Very friendly environment, very positive and helpful instructors. Provided lots of support for all new colleagues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible wages and management
Cashier (Current Employee), Coquitlam, BCSeptember 14, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: terrible wages, unreasonable wage cap and break times
The store chooses your breaks, and they often abuse this power and put your break 1 hour into your shift, so you get no breaks for the rest of the day.

With the current Loblaws union contract, your hourly wage caps at $14. That's just... bad. You can't even make a living with $14/hour.

Flexible hours, and they let you switch your shifts if you let – more... them know ahead of time if you have a good reason.

Co-workers are mostly friendly, but that has nothing to do with Loblaws - it's just how people are. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Friendly work culture
Administrative Intern (Former Employee), Brampton ONSeptember 12, 2013
Working at Lolaw Companies Limited:

It was a great experience for me to working at Loblaw Companies Ltd. My day started with a meeting of a dept. In the meeting we came to know about the achievements of the dept. and their plans for the coming week. The director and the managers addresses the meeting. After the meeting everybody went to their desks. – more... All the co-workers were very helpful & cooperative. There I learned the Canadian work culture. How to interact with co-workers and seniors. I also learned filing, scanning, making reports, various types of agreements, answering phone calls etc. To see my good performance The Director of the dept. gave me additional responsibility to work on the original document of an important project. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pharmacy management a disgrace (Westbank, BC)
Pharmacist (Former Employee), OkanaganSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: competitive wage and benefits. great support staff.
Cons: pharmacy manager and district manager
-instances of excessive selfish and grossly unfair scheduling by manager
-inconsistent rules
-abuse of power
-unwillingness of manager and district manager to show concern, acknowledgment, to apologize, and to rectify corruptness by simply laying out transparent rules
-unprofessional conduct and bullying by manager
-no accountability and transparency – more... in dealing with problems with manager as upper manager and HR investigate and take no meaningful action
-toxic environment
-district manager is ambitious but severely lacking experience in dealing with people and resolving problems – less

About Loblaw

Loblaw Companies Limited is the largest food retailer in Canada, with over 1,400 supermarkets operating under a variety of regional – Read more

Loblaw Photos