Loblaw Employee Reviews

Found 1,304 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good pleace to work
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON27 April 2017
a typical day you go in, check emails, talk to your business partners and see what is the next project that you need to work on. Sometimes you are tackling 3 projects at a time so you have to work fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Place to Work
Produce Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON27 April 2017
Learned a lot about the grocery business, business processes, and operations management. Enjoyed working on a variety of projects with my team members. Had the opportunity to work in different areas of the company before working in store operations. There are some opportunities for advancement.
Pros
Learning opportunities, Some opportunities for Advancement, Benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON27 April 2017
Its a great and Dynamic workplace with many accepting and friendly people. I felt involved in the day to day processes the minute i stepped inside. The management really makes you feel welcomed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great but not awful, a good first job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC24 April 2017
Worked with good people, but I had 3 different bosses in my 2 yrs there and they were both awful. Quit because it became un enjoyable. It's really flexible hours but the pay is not great.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Unorganized supervisors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good exercise for body
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK24 April 2017
It was a nice experience which made me a stronger person as I was afraid I would not be able to lift that much weights but I was capable enough to give my 98% in job. Working as a team was another plus point where teammate helps whenever you need help.
Management team was always supportive and there to help you maintain your work performance m.
Pros
Health benefits like insurance, dental etc.
Cons
Trouble finding a good headsets and equipment..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun safe workplace
Replenishment Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON24 April 2017
Lob laws was a great experience for me it taught me a lot of things that i didn't know already. lob laws was a safe environment where everybody was accepted and people were treated fairly .
Pros
union
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people poorly managed
PERPETUAL INVENTORY ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 April 2017
Not enough hours. Pay is not enough for the work you do. Always something to do when working, but expected to do more. Employees are covered by a union. Was on Nightshift and hated it,
Pros
Employee Discount Program and Union Benefits
Cons
Only night shift and no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Customer Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON23 April 2017
Really hate working here. Terrible workers, everyone hates their life, managers are horrible especially store and assistant store managers. No one really does their work
Pros
Accomodate hours
Cons
Terrible workers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place.
Click 'n' Collect (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON23 April 2017
The most enjoyable part of my job at Loblaws was making a customer happy.I also learned a lot about time management and working efficiently on a tight schedule.
Pros
benefits
Cons
unstable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful when bosses are micro managing
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 April 2017
as a department manager,you cannot decide anything, when you do
you are put down.
They don't like or listen to new ideas.
Some employees have been there too long and they won't try anything new.(MORE PRODUCTIVE WAYS)
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 April 2017
need more hours to run store, long hours, hard to find employees for night shift, more training required for managers, instead of delegating management should also work
Pros
CDP
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company
Staff Pharmacist (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC22 April 2017
provides work life balance even one of the busiest pharmacy in British Columbia. Nice supporting staff and ample opportunity to learn as current medical clinic proximity with pharmacy.
Pros
Lunch breaks
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick paced, serious about guidlines
Shelf Stocking Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 April 2017
Loblaw is the literal meaning of there's a place for everything, and everything is in it's place. The training is clear as to how they want shelves stocked and organized, and the work is quick. It's still a relaxed environment with who you work with so most of the time, it doesn't even feel like work.
Pros
Long shifts
Cons
Tired and sore at the end of the shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun wokrplace
Warehouse Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK19 April 2017
Loblaw is Food distribution company based in Regina. A typical day at Loblaw will start with a quick huddle to talk about the number of cases that we are expected to ship and receive from this shift.
Pros
decent wages, paid for over performing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
opening/closing
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON18 April 2017
working as a student helped with extra money for school supplies and extra activity spending
greeting patients
opening and closing of department
lock up
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was alright
Volunteer Experiences (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 April 2017
A normal day at work would be to come get ready and start bagging groceries. I learned how to endure standing on my feet for long hours and how to use my logic to bag the groceries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and clean workplace
Salad bar Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dixie road, Pickering17 April 2017
The workplace was very nice and clean
Management was great, cooperative, nice and polite
The most enjoyable part of the job is to decorate fruits and vegetables
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Longer you stay, the better it gets
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 April 2017
It's a long way to get past minimum wage and the pay increase has nothing to do with how you work -- it is based on the amount of hours you work only.

If you do happen to get a full-time job with Loblaw, it is an awesome job -- good benefits, pay, security, etc.,
Pros
10 percent discount after 6 months
Cons
Pay increase takes a long time for part time work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for students looking for a stress free environment, flexible hours and great benefits.
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ON16 April 2017
Unionized, great benefits, and flexible schedule.

The company is flexible and understands that school comes first. They do their best to accommodate you.

The union works well to ensure everyone is treated fairly and everyone is the same opportunities to advance.

Benefits are very good, helps take odd stress of having to worry about unforeseen financial circumstances.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Have to be available all day Friday, Saturday and Sunday.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't care to much for working in the cold
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON12 April 2017
My experience working with loblaws was interesting. I got to meet a lot of fun and outgoing co-workers.
I dislike the freezer department due to the cold temperatures. My favorite department was grocery side. I loved working on grocery side for the reasons being there was always a steady work flow and makes the time fly by, before you know it your shift is done and it's time to go home.
Pros
If we worked for the month accident free, all the employees were treated to a free lunch... usally pizza
Cons
Dont like the cold freezes. Not fun going from freezer side to grocery side
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Loblaw. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,320 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5