Loblaw Employee Reviews

Found 1,168 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive and stress free, challenging , super friendly superiors
Part-time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Stony Plain, AB16 January 2017
productive and theres a lot of room to grow fun workplace, challenging . managers and supervisor are friendly and care for their people.
Pros
discount
Cons
hours is depends how busy the store
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 January 2017
Easy work. However shift schedule was horrible. They were not scheduling enough.. coworkers and managers were amazing tho
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"The Stupidstore"
Replenishment Associate (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON15 January 2017
This is what everyone called the place my first day on the job working midnights (great first impression, but I later learned its a valid term for the place). All the managers pass work off to the next one and there is NO communication skills between them. I was fired for medical reasons and will be pursuing action if my employment and shifts aren't reinstated. In my time there I also filed 3 grievances for them giving away or cancelling shifts or sending me home with no reason. Would never work or recommend this place. Poor pay, work 10 days straight with no overtime sometimes, Miserable staff, Union reps that don't know their own policies. Some people are better than others in there, but id work in the greenhouses again before this place. They will hire employees with the intent of firing them after Christmas for reasons they can easily falsify. It was well known as managers there have no regard for privacy and will outright talk bad about their employees on break or the whole store knows someone is getting fired.... but only once the store is done using them as scab workers over the holidays.
Pros
Its something till you find something better.
Cons
everything.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great enviroment
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 January 2017
i would personal strongly recommend this as a first job great working environment provides a great sense of humour with a great atmosphere along with great co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is a joke
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS15 January 2017
Company is run like employees are a bunch of slaves. Keep unrealistically raising expectations and firing people who have been there for 10 or 15 years when they cant meet them!! Dont work for these chumps. Dead end job
Pros
Prescriptions
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Dynamic fastpaced organization
Director (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 January 2017
Loblaw is a very fast paced dynamic organization. Organization is investing a lot on technology, people and processes. Management is progressive.Number of current initiatives that are currently under way will improve work life Balance in the future.
Pros
Good cheap food.dynamic technology driven environment
Cons
Location is west end. Any one travelling from East End will have it tough.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, easy,
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  The Pas, MB13 January 2017
it was fun because it was part time and was with other students.
we challenged other student to finish off work first.
it was easy because the shifts were small and we knew where everything went and what needed to get done first.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't expect to survive past probation
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee) –  Vanier, ON13 January 2017
A few of my friends were laid off from the Loblaws in Vanier a few days before the end of probation with no valid reason. One in particular never even met the manager that called him to give him the news. I know so many other companies that does this as well, all this to say it is not fair. Do not trust overnight stock managers.
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each day productive/challenging
Project and Budget Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 January 2017
At Loblaws, everyday was challenging! Removed roadblocks, generated multiple financial reports which included forecasting, budgeting, working with Finance team to ensure $18 million was being spent as per forecast, coordinating meetings between Sr. Managers and Sr. Directors and/or between Sr. Managers and multiple mangers of different vendors. Cost analysis of additional work, tracking change requests and work intakes, also working closely with PMO (Project Management Office).
Pros
Town Halls, free products during launch of new products
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
HMR Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 January 2017
it's a great job to have. well rounded environment. most enjoyable part of the job was the co-workers, they we're nicely welcoming to the rookies and in general. hardest part of the job was getting there.
Pros
break time wise, was nice.
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough pay, supervisors and management don't care about employees
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Penticton, BC11 January 2017
Overall not a good experience. No one cares about the employees Pay is low, employees not happy, dread going to work everyday.
Pros
None
Cons
Scheduling is not condusive to appointments etc
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Atmosphere
Front End Associate (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON11 January 2017
Good part time job, flexible schedule.
Very busy location so it's great, customers are typically friendly.
Only issue is that employee discount takes 6 months to get and still haven't received it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
receive orders from distribution centre , file them on computer and in accounting file
Receiver and Perpetual inventory clerk (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON11 January 2017
Not a very difficult job.
I applied during an employee shortage crisis and not all full time positions have been filled and hours are negligible .
Pros
easy
Cons
union environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This a fast-paced job that requires lots of energy
Assembler/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON9 January 2017
At Loblaws, an assembler drives a double pallet machine on which the assembler will put together their order. By using a talkman, an assembler will go around to each pick slot and place the items on the pallets. Before an assembler starts picking, he/she is taught how to properly and safely use a double pallet machine. For the first week on the job, an assembler is taught how to put orders together, and how to evenly weight them on the pallet. An assembler must maintain an average work speed of 95% per week. However, at the beginning you only have to be at 50%, and your average percentage should increase by 5% per week. The company gives you 8-10 weeks to reach the company standards, but if you are still showing progress the company will most likely extend the probation period. The hardest part about this job is that there is minimal conversation between employees because standards need to be met. So, if you enjoy hard work, and a fast-paced environment, this job is for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place with good team
Bagger/carts (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 January 2017
Typical day:
-punch in
-look over days work orders
-make sure shop is clean and safe
-start first job
-clean shop at the end of the day
- punch out

Loved the people i was working with, high energy, light harted people overall a great team to work with.
The hardest part of the job was keeping up with a very tight scedule, if there was a mistake it would throw off your time. this taught me to be quick but careful with work. the easiest way to combat is was geet it right the first time, which i prided my self on.
For me the most enjoyable part of the job was the high pressure, fassted paced working enviroment. When im focused on my job the time flyes by and i enjoy the job much more.
Pros
free oil changes and tire swaps when the shop was slow
Cons
Hour long lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Loss Prevention Representative (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON8 January 2017
Excellent company to work for, I definitely recommend it.
Great management team.
Great office and environment.
Many locations around Ontario.
Company has a lot of free lunches and team huddle snacks.
There is ample opportunity to change different departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 January 2017
it is good place to work but some times its stress full during holiday time but still i can manage it. I got very good experience with this job.i learned very good customer service skills.
Pros
Free lunches and breaks for every 2hours
Cons
i think there is nothing bad about that job
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place and recognized company
Inventory Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 January 2017
The best place I have ever worked. Fun, room for growth, amazing people and staff. The DC closed in 2012 or else I would still be there. Salary is not everything and would have been happy to stay there forever if I could.
Pros
Growth and recognized company. Work perks
Cons
Nothing.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Waitress and counter clerk (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON6 January 2017
A learning environment. Work ethic, punctuality, organization, professionalism and more were all taught through this job. I gained a great experience specifically; customer service, working with kids, gaining an ability to public speak and work with large groups of people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough full time staff
Cake Decorator (Current Employee) –  Bowmanville, ON4 January 2017
It takes an extremely long time for part timers to find opportunities to move to full time positions. Overall it is no different than any other grocery store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,181 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5