Loblaw Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy large food Retailer
Salad Bar Employee / Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON19 November 2017
I worked in the Salad Bar, preparing fruit and vegetables for individual serving trays; taking customer orders for specialized orders and preparing them as requested.
Pros
Employees received discount cards for purchases
Cons
Must work at least one day each weekend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Autonomy and Advancement!
Transportation Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON18 November 2017
I loved working here. My boss was amazing. I learned a lot about distribution and transportation in the grocery business. Workplace culture was great, a lot of wonderful people worked for this company. Hardest part of the job was leaving to relocate back to BC.
Pros
Great people, great company
Cons
Pay could have been better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close to home easy to get to
Customer Service desk (Current Employee) –  Riverview, NB18 November 2017
very busy all the time,loved that part. nice co-workers and fun at times. front end cash was hard that is not a fun job. hate standing in one position all the time.
Pros
sometimes free food.
Cons
standing in one spot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Flow Team Member (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON16 November 2017
Everyone is inviting and the people here are helpful and cheerful to everyone, the management could use a little help when it comes to part timers, they
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for teenager
Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON16 November 2017
I worked here during high school. it was fun and easy. where customer service life began. exposed to a life of grocery shopping i also sold lottery tickets and cigarettes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great loyal co-workers
Assistant Manager Operations (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON15 November 2017
Loblaws employs some very knowledgeable people - unfortunately the biggest downfall right now and for the last 4 years has been their restructuring every Nov-Jan
Pros
flexibility
Cons
mandatory "needs improvement" policy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intersting
Dish washer (Former Employee) –  17 Leslie St, Toronto, ON M4M3H915 November 2017
Loblaws was great because of the amount of fresh products that were used in their kitchen. it taught me a lot about time management and sanitation. very memorable.
Pros
free juice
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very friendly place to work
click and collect (Current Employee) –  Maple Ridge, BC14 November 2017
I love working at loblaws, the hours are great since i'm a collage student and the pays okay. It's easy to make new friends at Loblaws, everyones nice and great benifits.
Pros
friendlyness, easy to make friends
Cons
nothing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and Trusting
Supply Chain Analyst (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON14 November 2017
Company has flex hours and ability to work from home some of the time to be able to maintain and good work/life balance. My manager is very good about trusting me to do my work and does not micro manage, but is always willing to answer questions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paste enviroment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Cavendish qc14 November 2017
Always a chance to advance worked many job department to better your experience to grain hour in other fields understanding emphathy when needed friendly
Pros
Not always having your break
Cons
Long hours at time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Loblaw?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, physically demanding work though
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON14 November 2017
I loved working there, especially in the produce department. Even though the work was physically demanding, it was still fun. The staff are all super friendly and they have great benefits.
Pros
Lots of free lunches
Cons
They didn't take my sports into scheduling and often got scheduled when I asked for time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and a very well cultural environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 November 2017
Loblaw is a very fun place to work at all the people are really nice the environment is filled with culture and I loved working with the people there.
Pros
Good shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It Was Okay
Packeger (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK11 November 2017
Loblaw's does not have shift flexibility and that was why I left. Loblaw's manager told me to paint pallets without necessary breathing equipment, and when I asked I was told to go home. Ever since that incident working there had never been the same. I felt like a rag that people could throw away anytime they wished and could replaced with a snap and that my judgement did not matter and I was just a mindless servant who would do anything for a paycheck.
Pros
Good hourly rates
Cons
Difficult communicating
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is work
Former warehouse worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 November 2017
If you can handle being on your feet all day , and listening to a computer in your ear , misconception everyone has is its hard work , but if you stick it out you get paid well not too many jobs where you get paid well , work is work mommy is not their to help so be a man and suck it up !!
Pros
Days go fast
Cons
Weekends, holidays, and mid week days off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Barrie9 November 2017
Passed the time, Payed for college. Nothing special.
Was an easy job while being in college so it was not too bad but obviously need a bigger challenge related to my work field.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not too bad companies good co-workers
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK8 November 2017
just good only for those who are building an experience.
not too bad environment for those like me that is just new here in canada that is just adjusting to the surrounding and culture.
Pros
no free lunch
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work but no hours
Meat Clerk (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 November 2017
everyone starts part time, average 20-30 hours a cheque, so in other words find another job to maintain while working here, doesn't seem to be appropriate for anyone other than stay at home parents or students
Pros
docile, lenient and benefits after probation period of 300 hours or something
Cons
not enough work, no organization in back, everything is just read box find box
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive and fun workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Melfort, SK5 November 2017
* always ready to work and have a smile and always polite to others
* always learning new things
*the hardest part of the job is to remember to do the paper work
* the most enjoyable part of the job is helping customers and making them happy
Pros
love working
Cons
work a lot of days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
reasonable place to work
Pharmacy Clerk/Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 November 2017
helped to get me an education and certificate as a pharmacy technician. then wouldn't hire me as a pharmacy technician.
Did not take into consideration having a family when giving out your schedule with only one days notice to shifts
Pros
good people
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced work environment
Senior Supply Chain Manager (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON1 November 2017
fast paced work environment, collaborating with cross functional teams sometimes with competing priorities. work place culture has greatly improved over the years. Hardest part of my job was balance the needs of the different departments of the business while always keeping customer needs top of mind. Most enjoyable part of my job was leading my team and watching us succeed.
Pros
great services such a on site gym, cafeteria, dry cleaning services, meditation room
Cons
managing expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Loblaw. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,551 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5