Linamar Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 31 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money and hours when busy, not round year work, no job security/advancement
Welder (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ONMay 25, 2016
Production work, good pay if you are a quiet obedient slave, asked to take breaks late 9/10 days and some days miss breaks. 5 days a week, 6 when they are busy and overtime is mandatory whenever they feel like, family takes a back seat, overtime always during summer saturdays. hardest part of the job is knowing management says one thing and does another, they have mottos and slogans townhall team meetings but its all mental nonesense mindgames, only a child would fall for that BS. best part of the job is working with some real people who have lives and families just like you do, and who you can relate to.
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
Mandatory Saturdays during the best weather/weekends, low IQ management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
NA (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ONMarch 31, 2016
good place to work but needs to improve a few things such as technology processes and benefits.
Work closely with higher management including CFO/CEO
Coworkers are great. Nice small teams.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's factory manual labour, it's simple repetitive work that anyone can do.
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ONMarch 1, 2016
This is simple manual labour that is very repetitive. It's a punch in punch out and go home type of job.
I learned a lot about the machining and auto manufacturing business and how things are made. The co-workers were all generally very helpful and good people to work with. Rotating shifts in 2 week intervals was the hardest part of the job.
Pros
Steady dependable paycheck
Cons
Mandatory overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Auto parts maker
GUAGE TECHNICIAN/QA Tech. Level (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ONFebruary 26, 2016
I have worked for 9 plans in Linamar,I can do all jobs in QA department such as Quality inspector, Gauge tech and CMM programmer.
Pros
no
Cons
12 per day
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning place
Quality Engineer (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONFebruary 22, 2016
I like company and its management. It is a great place to learn and improve skills. I recommend this company to every one.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable
Senior MS Business Intelligence Analyst/Dev (Current Employee) –  Corporate Office, Guelph, Ontario, CanadaJanuary 5, 2016
Valuable
Contributed
Relax environment
Fun and supportive co-workers
Analysis, Design, Development, Test, Support
Pros
Valuable
Cons
Valuable
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical Day there
Tow Motor Operator (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ONAugust 28, 2015
I moved there for that job with Linamar and I drove a tow motor there and helped out others, love working for them. I'd move back there again in a heartbeat.
Pros
N/A
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work and learn
Electrician/Millwright (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ONAugust 25, 2015
I have gained a great deal of hands-on skills and experiences through the years of hard working in this company.
I am definitely willing to work for them again when my family life gets lesser busier in the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good food
CNC Machinist (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ONMarch 25, 2015
The people you work with are good and the supervisors are pretty good for the most part, The thoughts that the management team come up with don't make a lot of sense and they have a tendency to push employees a little to hard on some areas of the plant.
Pros
the food
Cons
long hours, pay and management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and shift rotations to different locations to sister companies.
Quality Inspector, Safe-Launch (Former Employee) –  OntarioJanuary 15, 2015
Provided safe-launch quality inspections of auto-parts in different locations to sister companies prior to shipment to customers.

I learned that understanding/clarifying the instruction/drawing of the auto-part prior to starting the inspection will make the job easier and faster.

Management were concerned of quality and the workers needed to be refreshed on the quality systems and procedures and also the business processes of the organization so that the workers will be reminded of the quality requirement and flow of the processes with in the area and to minimize waste.

Co-workers were friendly.

Hardest part of the job was when heavy auto-parts were inspected and were plenty to be done.

The enjoyable part of the job was during breaks, sharing of foods/stories during lunch and snack break.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetive
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ONJanuary 2, 2015
So many Hours , sometimes great people to work with of all ages! but can get hurt easily and can be pulled from the job quickly just if your not quick enough
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing life
Robotics & Automation/Process Co-op Engineer (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ONNovember 2, 2014
Decent pay for co-op student. Work was sometimes stressful and hard to complete. Very high pace and very demanding. Great learning experience though for a co-op job. Management was helpful and great to work with
Pros
good learning environment
Cons
long hours and stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ONOctober 14, 2014
workplace wasn't clean environment. and to hard work with not enough money. and team was racist.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace to experience fast paced enviroment
Maintenance/Electrician (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ONOctober 5, 2014
always troubleshooting , never boring , and room to grow for advancement
Pros
educational upgrades and advances
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good time working with linamar
Recently working as Gauge Technician (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ONApril 30, 2014
Tpical Day: Start day with calibrating the gauges and then the fixing the broken machines.
i developed my technical skills, how to work in team, communication skills etc
management is very helpful in supporting in every problem
having great time working with them
there is no hard part, i develop my skills with hard time
fining the rootcause of the problem
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Millwright (Former Employee) –  Guelph, OntarioApril 8, 2014
This company is good to work for but because they deal with automotive industry, lay offs are always happening
Pros
good poeple
Cons
lay offs to frequent
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1
Automation Technician (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ONFebruary 21, 2014
Work place is good but no more room for growth. I have learnt a lot from here and always try to make other people learn as much they can from me.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience but I am an equipment reliability specialist
Gauge Technician (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ONFebruary 1, 2014
-Analyze Organize and plan each day,
- I repair, design, and calibrate precision gauges for the production of precision parts based on ISO 17025 standards.
- I have enhanced my precision measurement skillsl.
I have found management to be talented, knowledgeable, competent, and personable.
- Member of a very close quality team.
- I really enjoy the high paced demanding environment of the automotive industry. I never find myself waiting for the day to end.
Pros
great experience
Cons
lowest rate of pay in twelve years.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervised machine shop
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ONDecember 3, 2013
Safety meeting first thing every morning.
Were starting up a line to make the gearbox housings for the wind energy.
There were to many new things at the same time. new employee's, Machines, Fixtures, and programs.
We could not produce the quantity of parts that the customer required.
Pros
steady day shift
Cons
read above
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operated CNC machinery is a mass production environment
CNC Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  GuelphAugust 17, 2013
This job was where I gained the most experience in learning skills as a machine operator. During the majority of my employment we were all working 6 days a week while rotating nights, afternoons, and day shifts two weeks at a time. I left the company on good terms and took a much more challenging position at Meadowland Manufacturing.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 49 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3

Linamar Reviews by Location