Find companies:
LifeLabs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

LifeLabs Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in both a team and independent setting managing operations
OPERATIONS SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCSeptember 18, 2014
The company allowed me to grow within the company from a front line employee to management. I will be forever grateful for the skills I acquired during my tenure. Work/Life balance could improve. A very demanding position in a 7 day operation. The people were the greatest aspect of my work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A really great company to work for
LTA (Former Employee), Victoria, BCAugust 11, 2014
Pros: union postion
Cons: the afternoon shift 2-10
I was constantly learning while working here. It was extremely challenging and interesting.
My co workers were wonderful and we all worked well as a team.
The most enjoyable part of the job was learning all the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you need an interim place to work
Customer Care Agent (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 9, 2014
I don't recommend their call centre as a permananent solution for your career goals, but if you're looking for someplace to make you realize what you want and don't want from a job....come here. It will straighten you out and help you realize your true goals and potential
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior QA Lead
Senior QA Lead (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 4, 2014
Excellent work environment, extremely cooperative colleagues. Great support from management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cytology dept good place to work
SENIOR CYTOTECHNOLOGIST (Former Employee), Kingston, ONMay 29, 2014
Cytology field has been affected by government regulations resulting in reduced volume of work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced professional environment
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: 2 breaks and a 30 minute lunch during 8 hr shift
Cons: physically demanding
I was responsible for patient identification and specimen collection
Processing of information and specimen prep for shipping.
Co-workers were apporachable and gave direction and answered any and all of my questions.
Hardest part of the job, would be language barrier ( as we need to instruct patients on procedures before specimen collection )
Most enjoyable – more... part of the job was working within a laboratory setting directly with the technologist in preparing and collection samples for testing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overview of my work at Lifelabs
Customer Care Associate (Current Employee), 100 International BlvdNovember 26, 2013
Pros: everyday there is something new to discover
Cons: need longer lunch breaks
Working as a Lifelabs Customer Care Associate is a learning experience each and every single day. Each day, thousands of specimens are collected, tested and reported; and everyday I get to give out information to doctors and medical personnel. These information aid them in providing their patients' proper care. Knowing that I’ve helped somebody; whether – more... a doctor who is treating a patient in his office, a patient asking what they need to know to prepare for a test, or a nurse who needs information on how to handle a specimen gives me a feeling of great accomplishment each day. On top of all these, I get to interact with people who are friendly, helpful and make you feel you belong. After almost four years, I am still taking calls and giving out information and doing my best to make a difference. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful place,strict adherance to timelines,low morale
Courier Driver (Former Employee), Kingston, ONNovember 20, 2013
Pros: the freedom of working on your own, working in an outdoor environment
Cons: hazardous driving conditions;being expected to work perfectly in all aspects
Load vehicle to prepare for your day
Most co-workers were easy to deal with
Hardest part of the job was having to know several routes at once,and being scheduled for several routes during the week.
Must perform to perfection,any mistakes were considered a "non-compliance event",and were written up.
Enjoyed the clients,and having the feeling of making – more... a difference.
Enjoyed the driving aspect of the job..
Management were more like disciplinarians rather than team members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, unfortunately very little chance of advancement
MLT (Current Employee), Belleville, ONOctober 19, 2013
Very good place to work, with little opportunity for career advancement. Great team environment, relatively good benefits for part-time employees. Excessive shift work, with few day time shifts, make work/Life management difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people are great!
Lab Assistant (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: great people, decent benefits.
Cons: evening shift only, too much upper management not knowing healthcare
No chance for work/life balance as there is only one shift, you're family is at work/school whie you are home and you're at work when they're at home.
Not much opportunity to advance because of favouritism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
effecient private lab
Laboratory Technologist (Former Employee), London, ONJuly 25, 2013
Pros: no evening and weekends in my department-this is rare
Cons: very repetitive
-must be very productive as it is a private lab
-management responsive to suggestions
-great co-workers
-good compensation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE TO WORK
Medical Laboratory Technician (Current Employee), Collingwood, ONFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: great team work
Cons: not full time
Fast paced job,
organized place to work,
team work,
company very understanding
straight days
closed weekends
lots of locations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and great Co-Workers
Medical Laboratory Technician (Former Employee), London, ONFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: shift work, co-workers and committees
Cons: lacking overtime opportunities
A typical day at work involved receiving, accessioning and aliquot specimens. We prepared reagents and processed specimens for testing; including centrifuging and separating blood. Some additional responsibilities included maintaining equipment, recording temperature readings, utilizing computers to look-up data, photocopying, faxing and filing. The – more... best part of my job was my co-workers. We were a large group of Women working closely in a very busy department. Skills that I enhanced from this position include my speed and accuracy in high volume situations, manual dexterity, computer working and knowledge of laboratory safety. I enjoyed being a member of both the Joint Health and Safety Committee and the Social Committee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Lab Assistant (Current Employee), Surrey, BCJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: good managers and lunches
Cons: hard working and stressful
Hard part of our job is the volume of patients and stress involved. We so 100 patients by 1100 and work hard. my co workers are fabulous.and love the patients. We do lots of extra work for the company and enjoy our selves at work..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Enviroment
Materials Handling Specialist (Current Employee), Belleville, ONSeptember 24, 2012
Very enjoyable to work with such happy people. Jobs are assigned accordingly and everyone knows what to be working on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company culture is people orientated and strives to provide a good work life balance
Senior Project Manager: contract role. (Current Employee), TorontoSeptember 16, 2012
Pros: na
Cons: hours can be long at project peak times
Team meetings, issue resolution, problem solvign and general project reporting.

Learned a lot about the Healthcare industry,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Medical Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 23, 2012
i really liked doing my placement there and i wouldnt mind getting hired

February 4, 2013

This isn't helpfull - This person was/is looking for a job. They didn't work there.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lifelabs is a good place to start a future, but their job security is poor
Mobile laboratory patient technician / Core Lab (Former Employee), Stoney Creek, OntarioJune 29, 2012
Pros: patient care has improved over the years, and their benifit package is good.
Cons: the lack of a union allows management to treat employees poorly, and favouratism is the norm rather than the exception.
My career at Lifelabs was steady and rewarding, but the management is lacking organization and the ability to grow into the future. There are to many "bosses" and they are not in touch with each other, causing mass confusion and a disorderly work place.

February 6, 2013

This Health Care Facility is a terrible , stressful, place to work at!!!!! Management and Human Resource are bind together. There is to much favoritism, Racism, inappropriate behavior. Making racism comments at other co workers, making sexual comments to employees, blood sample being put in other peoples Lab coats just to be Vindictive. This are serious allegations and but they are true!!! Nothing is being done about this inappropriate actions.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Good (Former Employee), Keele, ONJune 17, 2012
Pros: good management
Cons: lots of patients
Busy everyday
Phlebotomy, Specimen collection, Transport, sorting.Processing, Storage
Good Management
Friendly Co-Workers
Lots of Patients
Friendly Co-Workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Mobile Lab Technician (Current Employee), Peterborough, ONNovember 9, 2013
Pros: no weekends or holidays is great for my family.
Cons: very early mornings and lack of hours - i used to work over 30 hours and now i only get 20.
I love what I do but the cuts in hours in my department is causing me to seek other employment.

About LifeLabs

LifeLabs provides laboratory testing services, which help physicians and other healthcare providers prevent, diagnose, treat and – Read more