Find companies:
Life Time Fitness
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
365 reviews

Life Time Fitness Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Massage Therapist (Current Employee), Woodbury, MNMarch 13, 2014
I perform full body massages
Bodywork trainging
Co-workers are very friendly and informative
The hardest part of the job are the long hours
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping people reach there total heatlh objectives and athletic aspirations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lifetime Fitness Helath Club
Account & Members Services Associate (Current Employee), Goodyear, AZMarch 12, 2014
Pros: free gym membership
Cons: high turnover rates with employees.
A typical day at work includes answering hundreds of phone calls regarding membership questions and concerns. Besides checking in members and guest into the members-only club, I change billing information as well as other various member information that is kept in our database systems. Taking payments and clearing existing balances from members accounts – more... is another part of the member services job. Finally, the most important in my opinion, is building the relationships with the members and really getting to know them. By building these relationships it helps the company grow and expand. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed me to do what I love when it comes to helping people, as well as learn more about the field of Health and Fitness as a whole
Fitness Professional/Personal Trainer (Current Employee), Novi, MIMarch 11, 2014
Pros: you choose your clientele, build your own programs
Cons: hard to have a work/life balance (if any), misleading salary markers
I was able to create the programs I wanted for the clients I worked with, however, you feel as though you're paying a very high rent compared to what you're contributing to the success of the club.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enriching environment for children
Kids Activities Team Member (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVMarch 10, 2014
Pros: free gym membership, 25% discount on cafe items, making lasting relationships with children and their parents
Cons: overstaffed, not enough hours, little engagement by some employees
A typical day includes walking into to your designated room and engaging in age-appropriate activities with the surrounding children. After one activity is complete, make transitions to the next one, and so on. In between lessons, provide a fun and safe play environment. This means ending conflicts between children, writing safety reports, providing – more... ice packs, and having discussions with children about their ideas on fun play-time. The hardest part of the job for me is attending to the nose-bleeds that occur during our sports activities. I don't like blood, so I have to remind myself of my responsibilities in the my current role to the children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Personal Trainer/Sales (Current Employee), Orland Park, ILMarch 7, 2014
Great place to help teach an individual how to run their own business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly recommend
Kids Activities Team Member (Former Employee), Saint Louis Park, MNMarch 7, 2014
Great company with great people. You get a free membership as an employee, and receive other great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Executive Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 6, 2014
check employees, work with customers. rotating shifts. make sure all need are met
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved job
Master Sales Advisor (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 5, 2014
Pros: getting pleasure from getting people healthy
Cons: commission only
helping people get healthy loved it
working at gym enjoyable
hardest part of job working for commission
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent facility with great service
FACILITIES OPERATIONS TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee), Gilbert, AZMarch 2, 2014
Pros: free membership to high quality facility
Cons: continuously cleaning up after people
• Performed maintenance tasks of facility
• Performed daily cleaning, vacuuming, polishing, and trash removal
• Greeted and assisted members in a positive manner
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a pay check and your experience really depends on your dept heads
Lifeguard Supervisor & Swim Instructor (Current Employee), SomeplaceFebruary 28, 2014
Worst part of the day is getting sick so frequently. Sicker in the last 6 months than the rest of my life. Pay is okay but not very good. Best part is some of the nice members (which helps to counteract the nasty mean members).
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Master Personal Trainer (Current Employee), MinnesotaFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: free membership
Cons: too many to list
Life Time Fitness is absolutely the worst employer I have ever had.
Somehow this company is getting away with running a pyramid scheme to compensate their employees which are mostly commission based.
The department heads are young and immature with absolutely no leadership or management skills.
Life Time wants you to have a work life balance. They want – more... you to spend your entire lifetime at work and have no life outside of work.

Basically working for Life Time is like working in the worlds oldest profession. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, Good Work Environment
Membership Advisor (Sales) (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: fitness focused job, highly motivating, inspiring, feel good job
Cons: sales and pt jobs needs revamping. premium clubs should be compensating for premium service.
Company and culture were great but compensation was nothing to live off of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to workout but not to work for..
Facility Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, GAFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: meet a lot of current and retired professinal athletes.
Cons: short breaks rude members bad management..
A TYPICAL DAY CONSIST OF PLANNING TEAM MEMBERS BREAKS AND LUNCHES, DELEGATING TEAM MEMBERS TO DO VARIOUS PROJECTS SUCH AS CLEANING LOCKERROOMS,BATHROOMS,DUSTING,BUFFING FLOORS,OUTSIDE TRASH AND INSURING MEMBERS HAD CLEAN TOWELS IN LOCKEROOMS..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very involved, Creative enviornment
Kids Activities Team Member (Former Employee), Fairfax, VAFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: never sitting still
Cons: dealing with bad kids
A typical day at Lifetime Fitness consisted of watching several children throughout the day while their parents worked out or took other fitness classes. I learned the importance of teamwork and cooperation with both management and other fellow team mates to care for the children's needs under our responsibility. The hardest part of the job is multitasking – more... between kids crying, misbehaving, not listening, wanting attention, attending to parents coming in to drop off and picking up etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The healthy way of life
Facility Operations Supervisor part time (Current Employee), Commerce, MIFebruary 10, 2014
Communicate with previous supervisor to talk about how their shift went and any important information that I should know about. Make my first walk through to see what kind of work that needs to be done. Depending on how the walk through goes I will formulate a plan as I rotate laundry in the front and back rooms. I may have to fold towels, clean bathrooms, – more... clean up the weight floor, or assist the locker room attendants. All is played by ear. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positively influencing someones life while doing what I like to do.
Assistant Personal Training Dept. Head (Current Employee), Overland Park, KSFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: a place to workout, meeting different people, changing lives for the better, creating healthy lifestyles for our members
Cons: commission based job, hours, lack of succession planning
Handling customer service request, while servicing clientele. We have a very diverse group of employees with many different skills and personalities. One of the hardest parts of my job is creating time to meet with staff and other personnel. On the other hand one of the most enjoyable aspects of my job is knowing that I am changing someone's life for – more... the better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you have lots of energy
Senior Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Gilbert, AZFebruary 3, 2014
Cons: long hours
A great place to start your career and gain insight into the world of fitness. This job is not for everyone. The sales team puts in extremely long hours; including weekends, nights, and holidays. Must have outgoing personality and lots of energy to make it in this role.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive for Enhancing Culinary Skills
Café Attendant/Hostess (Former Employee), Florham Park, NJFebruary 3, 2014
• Responsible for all Cashier/Hostess duties & procedures
• Provided excellent Customer Service
• Prepare/Prep many assorted foods, side dishes, sauces, & dressings
• Performed preparations for smoothies & shakes
• Insure clean work area at morning, mid, & night shifts
• Line Chef for breakfast, lunch & dinner shifts
• After preparing & cooking dishes, – more... was Food-Runner to designated tables – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Facility Engineer
Facility Engineer - Full Time (Current Employee), TexasFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules, great people to work around, good enviroment
Cons: not a clear line of advancement, pay tops out at $60k
Love this company but pay is lower than other facility engineering jobs. Flexible schedules, healthy enviroment, motivated people, not much advancement room though. Be ready to do anything from picking up towels to repairing a AC system.If you are looking for a stable job and can keep up with the work a great place to be. not a place for lazieness.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the members and facility!
Front Desk Team Member/Spa Coordinator (Former Employee), Beachwood, OHJanuary 30, 2014
I loved the facility! Anyone who enjoys fitness would love this gym! Management was poor, didn't seem to concerned about employees, not much room for advancement and poor pay.

Life Time Fitness Photos