Find companies:
Lids
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
171 reviews

Lids Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work day
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Trumbull, CTSeptember 25, 2013
• Cashed out and assisted costumers.
• Completed cashed drops when needed.
• Answered phone and completed needed trainings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hats off to this company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Bloomington, MNSeptember 24, 2013
Loved working here, love the creativity. had great opportunity to advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible workplace
Store Manager (Former Employee), OhSeptember 23, 2013
Cons: no breaks, long hours, unachieveable goals, not for someone with family. terrible communication
Was the worst company I have ever worked for. Expected to work a minimum of 10-12 hrs a day with no lunch break or help. Management was terrible. They didn't care about meeting budget, just selling accessories. There is no family/worklife balance. I would not recommend this company to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lids Lies to there workers
Manager (Former Employee), Johnson City, TNSeptember 22, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: dis. manager and corp lies and steals your money
I worked as a manager at the lids store in the mall and it is a joke and the dis. manager lies to you and miss leads you, they do not pay you your bonus you never get breaks or lunch breaks most of the time you work 10 or 12 hr shift only 1 person, u report it to HR and they do nothing about it. the pay is very low and when u get hurt at work the company – more... will not help you at all – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place To start customer service experience
Sales Associate/Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 18, 2013
Pros: wear hats sell hats discounts
Cons: benefits, compensation
My first job after high school worked hard became assistant manager. Learned a lot of how a business is run and maintain. Showed off my customer service skills. Recommend this job to any teenager trying to get there customer service game on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Assistant store manager (Former Employee), Lima, OHSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: good employee discount
Cons: had to work weekends and all hours
Pretty good company but was not a career for me. After graduating college I moved onto a better job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with no where to go.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Howell, MISeptember 3, 2013
Pros: fun coworkers, discounts, creativity.
Cons: no benefits, low wages, corporate.
My co-workers and manager were and continue to be good friends of mine as we worked well together and created a great team. We stocked, cleaned, and routinely changed positions from register, customer service, and practice management position under our manager. The hardest part was the corporate aspect which gave us no way to advance. No benefits or – more... wage wiggle room made the employee turn over high. I worked closely with my manager for almost three years and we endured over 15 employees quit or loose their jobs in a store that had a maximum of four employees including me and my manager. The most enjoyable part was successfully creating teams and working together as well as helping people find their perfect accessory. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LIDS
ASSISTANT MANAGER SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Kentwood, MISeptember 3, 2013
Pros: pto
Cons: not enough hours
I AM CONTENT WITH MY JOB. I HAVE A GREAT MANAGER AND A GREAT TEAM.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Store Manager (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAAugust 26, 2013
Fun place to work, but managers have to work long days(12 hrs), sometimes with no help or breaks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very exciting place to work at.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Miami,FlAugust 26, 2013
Pros: good hours
Cons: short breaks
All employees tend to be hired for their love of sports and apparel. There is very little to bored with when your day involves talking to customers about sport stats or your fellow workers about the newest shipment of nice looking hatwear or jerseys. The most difficult part of this job being unable to stitch logos that are owned by companies that are – more... trademarked. You tend to want to help the customer but when you cant and its policy, you tend to oblige. This job will leave you satisfied if spending your day talking to customers about sports or teams and the occasional stitch on a hat is what your looking for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable environment, great conversation and a lot of hats
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAAugust 13, 2013
Pros: good environment, good people
Cons: healthcare
Lids is a great establishment to be a part of. A typical day on the job consisted of providing outstanding customer service to ALL of our customers and not just to sell product, but to make the customer happy and make them want to return to shop. My co-workers and I knew how to have fun on the job and also complete all objectives for the day. I learned – more... many things while being employed such as how to custom embroider a hat, suggestive selling, store audits and inventory checks, how to operate a cash register and many other extras that participated to me being the great salesman I am today. I wouldn't consider anything about the job to be "hard". I feel as if you pay attention and remain consistent with hard work everything should be fairly easy. I enjoyed working with this company very much, but if I had to choose the most enjoyable part of the job I would have to say it was customizing customers products with the embroidery machine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lied to, cheated out of job
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 12, 2013
Was terminated over a mistake the store manager made. They said it was my fault as well. Poor pay, lame scheduling process. Only Store managers get salary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is an enoyable first time job and has a fun sporty atmosphere.
Store Manager (Current Employee), Lakewood, COAugust 12, 2013
As a manager a typical day is reviewing daily sales numbers and monitoring inventory in your store. I learned multiple areas of retail and being a manager of high volumes sales. A few of these attributes would be scheduling, hiring, selling, customer service, and managing the store. My co-workers are fun and enjoyable. They can make the day at work – more... a lot easier with their contribution to the team. The hardest part of my job is understanding who is a good hire and how to find the right people to fit your team. The most enjoyable part about my job is the customers they make my day interesting and it is nice to see a new face everyday you come to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we have fun and sale hats
Asst. Mgr (Former Employee), Port Richey, FLAugust 1, 2013
Pros: 40% on hats
Cons: beign the only one in the store at times and closing to go to the restroom
i would get to the mall and unlock the store turn on the light count the till do my daily goal chart do a manager conference call go over the weekly numbers then stage the items on the racks open the door and let the day begin.
i learned how to be a better leader
management is not hard if u know manage time
all my co-workers was different so work harder – more... then other some come on time and some dont.
the hardest part of the job is trying to leave on time i guess and counting hats
talking to the diffrent people that came in the store – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Having Fun
Store Manager (Current Employee), Newark, DEJuly 24, 2013
A typical day is making sure everything is in place and make sure we hit our goals for the day. Management is always developing and coaching the staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 24, 2013
Pros: small work place
I made sure that all the registers were balanced properly and deposited money, I interviewed and hired staff, I made sure all members of the staff were abiding by the rules and regulations. I ensured that we maintained a high standard of customer service at all times and made our daily numbers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring Job to work at pay was horrible
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 23, 2013
Pros: meet different cultures
Cons: poor management on higher level
Sales
inventory
customer service
embroidery

Associates where wonderful to work. The company really only cared about themselves and their earning and not ours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no review!
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 20, 2013
i have nothing i would like to share,it was seasonal and i wasn't there long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Have fun, sell hats"
Assitant Manager (Current Employee), El Centro, CAJuly 13, 2013
Customers are our number one priority. Good vibe in the store, talking about sports and hats. Learned how to demonstrate accessories to persuade the customers to purchase them. Hardest part would have to stand up all the time but you get used to it after the first week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Amherst, NYJuly 11, 2013
Pros: good environment, good music
Cons: no breaks
A typical day at lids is quite entertaining. Usually I help people match an outfit to a hat. We are the last stop in a shopping experience. Management and my co-workers are an interesting group of people. We all have very different personalities and that just makes work that much more interesting. Hardest part is working alone sometimes and the most – more... enjoyable is making someones hat and seeing the joy in their eyes. – less

About Lids

Founded in 1995 and comprised of more than 800 mall-based, airport, street level and factory outlet stores nationwide, and in – Read more