Find companies:
Lids
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
171 reviews

Lids Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Woodbridge, VAMarch 15, 2014
Work at Lids is fun, but it's not my hot cup of tea. Since i only worked there as a seasonal hire, all i did was customer service, stock, and take embroidery orders. The store manager at the time was the nicest guy and you could tell he really enjoyed working with the company. What i found most difficult was getting on the ladders. I t's a simple task – more... that i could do now, but at the time i was pregnant and i couldn't stand on the ladder without getting light-headed and almost falling of from loss of balance. My favorite part of the job was the co-workers. They were all very nice and funny, even though i was a seasonal hire, they treated me as a regular p/t. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with big sales environment!
Co-Manager (Current Employee), Staten Island, NYMarch 14, 2014
Pros: fun, sports realted, good team, motivation, good work lie balance
Cons: working with no breaks, inconsistant hours, low wages
AS a co manager at Lids I was in charge of all the operational pieces of the store. I was in charge of hiring, training and scheduling the whole saff and management. I had to make sure all assiciates performed at company standard when it came to sales performance. Learned a lot on how to balance operational tasks with a very driven sales standard. Most – more... enjoyable part of the job was able o conversate with customers about their interests espcially in a sports related environment. The most dificult part of the job was trying to balance everything in the business with constant minimal coverage while operating an embroidery machine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wish I could give a no star rating
mgr (Current Employee), IndianaMarch 3, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: everything else!
PLEASE do not waste your time! Long hours and no respect for anyone with a family. Pay is terrible for what you have to put up with even if your are a "super star manager"

If you are working in the Indianapolis area you get to look forward to visits from cooperate workers who are very rude and give a "I am better than you" attitude on their visits. – more... You get to also work every single event in the area and leave your store low on staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong,hard worker and willing to learn as much as possible
Assistant store manager (Former Employee), Memphis,TNFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: stayed aware of the new fashion with ball caps
Cons: lack of business on days
A typical work day consist of opening and closing the store daily. I had to interact with new faces on a daily basis and give direction to staff to ensure the store is ran properly. Lids was not that difficult for me to maintain. I was able to polish up my leadership skill as well as my verbal skill. Meeting the store daily budget and goals was the – more... most interesting part of my day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WELL ROUNDED
Store Manager (Current Employee), Wichita, KSFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: work with schedules
Cons: not enough dm visits
WELL ROUNDED COMPANY BUT NEED TO PAY MORE ATTENTION TO ASSOCIATES NEEDS. BENEFITS HAVE TO TO BE EARNED AFTER A YEAR OF WORK. WORKED GREAT WITH MY SCHOOL SCHEDULE. ALL IN ALL AN IDEAL JOB FOR PROGRESSION AND STABILITY.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You must be innovative, take charge and expecting to go it alone...
Retail Store Manager (Current Employee), FloridaFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: hands-off management; store management bonus structure; limited amount of work; 5 day work week
Cons: management; corporate; disorganized; advancement; product inventory/ordering; compensation
I will start off by saying that this is more of my management style, I don't want a DSM or Regional hanging over my shoulder. It can be expected if things are not going so great, but considering I have put in 60 hrs a week to see a 40% sales gain in January compared to last year profit, I'd say we are doing great! So, my DSM not bothering me and showing – more... up constantly is a plus and to me, the way it should be.

However, when I do actually need something or have a question, maybe once a month, my expectation is that I will get a reply or at least a call back? I know, it's too much to ask, but that is what I'm seeing since I started a few months ago as a store manager with this company. That is a huge pet peeve of mine I would say, after busting my hump all week, every week, the least I expect is someone who can give advice or insight, given that the store I operate hadn't seen a profit in over a year and is now consistently 15-20% over budget. Is this too much to ask? Some correspondence? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Brockton, MAFebruary 19, 2014
Love working here its a fun and intertating place would love to go back
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Store Manager (Former Employee), San Juan, PRFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: competent salary, fun environment, discounts
Cons: no retirement benefits
sports oriented, fun workplace, clientele traffic varied per store
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun setting
Customer Service (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 11, 2014
Very fun place to work, easy to talk to customers, co-workers very diverse and full of energy. I learned a lot about different peoples styles with hats and a lot more about a great sports culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Store manager (Former Employee), Austin, TXFebruary 4, 2014
good place to work, poor pay great advancement to the point of store manager great culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Retail Associate (Current Employee), Grandville, MIJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: good staff, fun environment
Cons: n/a
I really enjoy my job at lids. working and laughing with customers customizing hats making people smile…hardest part of the job is not being paid a lot i do a good job and i don't feel like my pay reflects that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Stroudsburg, PAJanuary 30, 2014
Lids is a good store to work in, has a laid back atmosphere, and also has a fun staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just an ok place to work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Branson, MOJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: 40% off
Cons: no breaks
store duties and sales
learned all around store manager job
paper work would have to be the hardest part of the job
best part of the job is getting to meet new people everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: fun work environment
Lids is an awesome place to work. I would come in and just talk to customers about what sports they liked and I marketed all the products i thought they would like. I've learned many new things about working there,gaining experience working was the major learning experience. I also learned to be more social and how to sell many items.The managers and – more... co-workers are more like friends to me then co-workers.The job was mostly fairly simple. I enjoyed selling products that customers didn't even look at. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Lake Charles, LAJanuary 15, 2014
Every time I've clocked in for work I always clocked out with more knowledge. A learning experience every time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning to be a leader.
Assistant Manager/Store Manager (Former Employee), Rocky Mount, NCJanuary 15, 2014
At Lids, I was afforded the opportunity to develop leadership skills. I was also able to build on my customer service skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lids locker room is a very laid back environment.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Kenner, LAJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: laid back environment, not demanding, discounts on store items
Cons: unexpected projects
A typical day a work would include opening the store, doing maintenance on the various equipment in the store, doing follow ups on customer returns, and inventory control. I loved the fact that that I was able to meet new people and help them choose a hat the fit them and their personality. Working for LIDs helped me sharpen my people and interpersonal – more... skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there due to job security
Part-Time Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Bellevue, WAJanuary 9, 2014
I worked at Lids for 2 years on and off during breaks from school and there were always hours for me whenever I wanted to come back. The pay was not great and it is relatively unclear whether there are prospects for advancement within the company. I know that I enjoyed being with my co-workers on daily basis and being around them made me a better salesman.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Functional workplace
Customer service (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: everyone is socialable
Cons: n/a
This job was easy. Management was great and as well as co-workers. There was no hard parts of this job. If Lids is to complicated for you then you aren't ready for a job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at, nice and fun co workers as well as most management .
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Ocoee, FLDecember 26, 2013
Pros: flexibility, decent pay, sure advancement
Cons: limited hours
Typical day consist of doing daily counts, helping customers. The only things learned would be any extra knowledge that needs to be known as a new manager. The hardest thing if any would be keeping accessory sells up and being your own security while very busy. The most enjoyable thing would be the staff.

About Lids

Founded in 1995 and comprised of more than 800 mall-based, airport, street level and factory outlet stores nationwide, and in – Read more