Find companies:
Lids
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
204 reviews

Lids Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
associate
o Sales Associate (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABAugust 18, 2014
I was able to gain valuable experience with handle situation with aggravated people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Ship Without A Captain
Store Manager (Current Employee), Newmarket, ONJuly 8, 2014
Pros: everyone else at lids
Cons: extremely poor district management dm beaulieu
The apathetic and woefully lacking sales acumen of my District Manager makes working at Lids in District CA01 a trying experience.

Despite the fact I was the Top Manager in CA01 and one of the highest ranked managers in North America for KPI achievement.

The DM NEVER ONCE recognized or praised me for being the only manager to achieve store targets – more... consistently over the last two years.

If you are in the market for a job, I highly recommend Lids. However, avoid any position which places you under the POOR management of DM Jason Beaulieu. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun relaxing place
Keyholder (Former Employee), Timmins OntarioJuly 2, 2014
Pros: long hours
Cons: management was up in the air a lot
not a very high traffic place so in the mean time we usually would sort out hats do stock and i learned how to embroider hats t shirts sweaters etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Thunder Bay, ONJune 5, 2014
Pros: discount on hats and asscessories
Cons: not enough hours
was a very friendly environment enjoyed working there but not enough hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Enviroment & Fun
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Burnaby, BCApril 3, 2014
Great place to work if you enjoy hats, sports, well known name brands, and people. The management & co-workers are happy and easy to talk to
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lids Review
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Newmarket, ONMarch 20, 2013
Pros: discounts
Cons: managment and no hours
If your in high school looking for extra pocket money.. this is the job for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lids
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Kingston, ONJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: meeting new people everyday :)
Cons: long hours sometimes
I loved working at lids it was a fast pase retail position. I learned how to do payroll, interviews, paperwork, shipping and receiving, audits, I managed shrink. The hardest part of my job thats a hard question but it would have to be taking on other roles other then my own. I am a very reilable person and I was taken advantage of to the fullest. I – more... did enjoy going to work everyday and selling hats and designing hats to make my costumers happy. I enjoyed all the different costumers and working in a fast pase environment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace working with good people
customer service, cashier, retail, opening (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCDecember 13, 2012
Pros: staff discount
Cons: wage, slow job
4-5 hr day.
Learned how to up sell, inventory, close.
Manager was a fun guy to work with.
Co workers were also fun to work with.
Dealing with some customers.
Staff discount, crew I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very stressful and fast paced environment.
Salesman (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 30, 2012
Pros: close and easy to get to; good managment;
Cons: hours didn't really add up in pay. in other words pay wasn't overly great and there was no bonuses.
A typical day at work would be showing up and helping co-workers sell hats and lids cards along with embroidering.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced kiosk, no regard for availability
Sales representative & key holder (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 1, 2012
Pros: excessive free time
Cons: management changed constantly, employees changed constantly, visits from head office weren't frequent enough.
-Completed stock, organized and counted hats, sold hats, sold embroidery, sold accessories.
-I don't work well in slow paced environments
-New management, didn't understand the process of our daily activities
-Listened well, worked well as a team
-Counting hats and rendering discrepancies
-Interacting with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Assistant Manager, Sales Operations (Current Employee), Newmarket, ONMay 1, 2012
Pros: assistant manager
Cons: non-flexible hours
Lids is great, just needs a change in scenery they aren't flexible in hours, so I need to find something to fit my lifestyle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
super fun place to work at
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Brownsville, TXAugust 26, 2014
great coworkers. small store but the environment was great. managers were helpful, understanding and a pleasure to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, fun and awesome place to be
Store Manager (Former Employee), Glendale, AZAugust 21, 2014
Pros: co-workers, management, and the job
Cons: short breaks, no real time off and pay
I would go in to the store by counting the money to see if I need to go to the bank and then open the store. Once open I would help customers and embroider any hats that need to be done. Around noon I would do inventory and train employees on what areas they can improve on. Also I would make sure the store was always clean and well put together. I have – more... learned on how to be a manager and how to lead as one. Also learned many areas of the retail business and how to embroider hats. Management was great, always was around or on call when I needed assistance. My co-workers were always were great to work with. They were willing to learn and always had a drive to want to move up and be better. Hardest part was trying to manage the hours between all employees because everyone was wanting to work more and more but I only had so much I could offer in a weekly basis. Most enjoyable part was just the work its self. Every day I came in it was a fun place to work. It was like extended family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great growing expierience.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIAugust 11, 2014
Pros: benefits, vacations, and great pay
Cons: long days and a lot to do
Paperwork, sales floor managing, inventory control, customer service, scheduling, conference calls, bank deposits, sales recap, and organization are all daily task that take place during a work shift. This job allowed me to grow and learn how to multitask and be a above and beyond manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be prepared!!!
Store Manager (Former Employee), Midland, TXAugust 10, 2014
Pros: great customers in every city
Cons: lack of communication from dm
Long hours a must for store manager(I averaged68hrs per week and only compensated for 45hrs plus Korean overtime*) , very hard to staff up when your employer only pays $8.50-9.50 hr for part time help.. No benefits for staff, and no bonus structure for staff(only store manager). Responsible for opening/daily/closing operations, sales, training/development. – more... Company is well structured when it comes to sales procedures and training. Good luck!!!! I managed 6 different stores for this company(5 in Dallas@+800K in sales and 1 in Midland @+1.8million). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter job
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Wilmington, DEAugust 8, 2014
Great way to get into retail. Fun workplace with cool merchandise. Interesting customers and good way to learn sales techniques.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Sales Orrientated, Healthy and Fun Enviornment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Newington, NHJuly 22, 2014
Lids is a very goal orrientated, and driven company, I enjoyed this change in my daily lifestyle. This company not only gave me daily goals, they marked monthy standings throughout the company over the region, district and company employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is what you make of it
Consistently meets and exceed sales goals (Current Employee), Liberty, MOJuly 4, 2014
Pros: discounts!
Cons: bad pay!
I started working for the company when I was in high school, and it took me four years to get a pay raise! The atmosphere is fun when you have great customers, but for the most part your treated like dirt at time, hours tend to fluctuate back and forth, and management is really inconsistent
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not reward hard work.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAJune 17, 2014
Unfortunately, the company does not reward hard work. The sacrifice was not worth the compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Minot, NDJune 14, 2014
Learned a lot about embroidery. Management was sloppy as best.

1 2 3 4 5

About Lids

Founded in 1995 and comprised of more than 800 mall-based, airport, street level and factory outlet stores nationwide, and in – Read more