Find companies:
Lids
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
224 reviews

Lids Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with good team-work
Stagière en ventes (Current Employee), Brossard, QCNovember 4, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: none that i could think of
During work, we are productive and everyone does exceptional work in the workplace. Most days are usually pretty busy, but there are some relax days which are the ones I prefer, I get to connect with my co-workers and just relax for a bit. The hardest part of the job would be when there are absolutely no clients, but fortunately, that doesn't happen – more... a lot. In overall, I enjoy my time working at Lids very much. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee), Halifax, NSSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere
Cons: expectation is high for single coverage store
I enjoyed my time at lids. The hat culture is huge!! Custom stitching is an interesting service to offer. A lot of fun to create.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
associate
o Sales Associate (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABAugust 18, 2014
I was able to gain valuable experience with handle situation with aggravated people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Ship Without A Captain
Store Manager (Current Employee), Newmarket, ONJuly 8, 2014
Pros: everyone else at lids
Cons: extremely poor district management dm beaulieu
The apathetic and woefully lacking sales acumen of my District Manager makes working at Lids in District CA01 a trying experience.

Despite the fact I was the Top Manager in CA01 and one of the highest ranked managers in North America for KPI achievement.

The DM NEVER ONCE recognized or praised me for being the only manager to achieve store targets – more... consistently over the last two years.

If you are in the market for a job, I highly recommend Lids. However, avoid any position which places you under the POOR management of DM Jason Beaulieu. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun relaxing place
Keyholder (Former Employee), Timmins OntarioJuly 2, 2014
Pros: long hours
Cons: management was up in the air a lot
not a very high traffic place so in the mean time we usually would sort out hats do stock and i learned how to embroider hats t shirts sweaters etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Thunder Bay, ONJune 5, 2014
Pros: discount on hats and asscessories
Cons: not enough hours
was a very friendly environment enjoyed working there but not enough hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Enviroment & Fun
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Burnaby, BCApril 3, 2014
Great place to work if you enjoy hats, sports, well known name brands, and people. The management & co-workers are happy and easy to talk to
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lids Review
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Newmarket, ONMarch 20, 2013
Pros: discounts
Cons: managment and no hours
If your in high school looking for extra pocket money.. this is the job for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lids
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Kingston, ONJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: meeting new people everyday :)
Cons: long hours sometimes
I loved working at lids it was a fast pase retail position. I learned how to do payroll, interviews, paperwork, shipping and receiving, audits, I managed shrink. The hardest part of my job thats a hard question but it would have to be taking on other roles other then my own. I am a very reilable person and I was taken advantage of to the fullest. I – more... did enjoy going to work everyday and selling hats and designing hats to make my costumers happy. I enjoyed all the different costumers and working in a fast pase environment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace working with good people
customer service, cashier, retail, opening (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCDecember 13, 2012
Pros: staff discount
Cons: wage, slow job
4-5 hr day.
Learned how to up sell, inventory, close.
Manager was a fun guy to work with.
Co workers were also fun to work with.
Dealing with some customers.
Staff discount, crew I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very stressful and fast paced environment.
Salesman (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 30, 2012
Pros: close and easy to get to; good managment;
Cons: hours didn't really add up in pay. in other words pay wasn't overly great and there was no bonuses.
A typical day at work would be showing up and helping co-workers sell hats and lids cards along with embroidering.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced kiosk, no regard for availability
Sales representative & key holder (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 1, 2012
Pros: excessive free time
Cons: management changed constantly, employees changed constantly, visits from head office weren't frequent enough.
-Completed stock, organized and counted hats, sold hats, sold embroidery, sold accessories.
-I don't work well in slow paced environments
-New management, didn't understand the process of our daily activities
-Listened well, worked well as a team
-Counting hats and rendering discrepancies
-Interacting with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Assistant Manager, Sales Operations (Current Employee), Newmarket, ONMay 1, 2012
Pros: assistant manager
Cons: non-flexible hours
Lids is great, just needs a change in scenery they aren't flexible in hours, so I need to find something to fit my lifestyle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and dependable work place
Loss Prevention Agent (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INNovember 21, 2014
Steadily changing to keep up with the adjustments of the company, with a pretty dependable boss
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
sales associate and cashier (Former Employee), Albany, NYNovember 19, 2014
When i got into work i would view the goals of the day in sales and Lids cards. What i have learned from being at Lids, is to communicate to the costumer what we have and what they want. management was flexible in how we communicated with the costumer and as long as we got our work done there were no complaints. Everyone worked hand and hand and had – more... each others back, true teamwork. Hardest part of the job was counting all the hats and making sure each hat was accounted for. Most enjoyable part of my job was the interaction with the different costumers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid Back Job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VANovember 18, 2014
IT was a fun job. Ran the store by myself a lot since the store was so small.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medicore Young Company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Aventura, LidsNovember 16, 2014
Pros: nice discount for hats, meeting international customers, sports talk
Cons: terrible company, bad management, probably find better hats at champs, not enough pay, boring, too laid back
Man, where to start....

If you like the same old routine everyday, this is the job for you.
You'll feel like you're in a endless loop of the same thing, it doesn't get any further than selling hats embroidery or lids club cards.

You are expected to keep high numbers in those 3 categories, and your incentive is nothing. The manager gets a bonus at – more... the end of the month and everyone else gets a rousing "good job everyone" (yep no commission)

It's like any typical retail job, and even then, Lids is really late with trends. When bucket hats blew up they sent us the merchandise maybe half a year later. They have terrible sense of what's "in"

The district managers have no sense of communication which is another added hassle.

Customers will be customers.. Not much to say about that.

There's only 1 sale Lids knows and that's Buy 1 get the 2nd half off..

The company has this terrible habit of outsourcing and hiring people to Full Time AM or Managers that have never worked in the company, instead of hiring within. Which is stupid and doesn't commend the hard working people in our district working for a promotion. Sometimes it blew up in our faces, because they were so stressed from so much responsibility along with terrible training so they end up quitting or doing a half-butt job.

All in all:

You want a part time job or seasonal, I say, sure do it, don't stay too long you'll get sick of it

To make a living or to "move up" with the company.
Erase any thought of it, this company is too young, too cheap, and you'll get cut hours. It's just not a good idea. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Selling hats and embroidary
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), St. Louis, MONovember 12, 2014
Hit your embroidery numbers at all cost. Huge part of the job lies in this attribute.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Omaha, NENovember 3, 2014
Pros: creativity
Cons: hours
It was great being able to create unique hats for customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Retail Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Valley Stream, NYNovember 1, 2014
coming in and making sure store mets its goals and upselling products to reach its daily goals

1 2 3 4 5

About Lids

Founded in 1995 and comprised of more than 800 mall-based, airport, street level and factory outlet stores nationwide, and in – Read more