Find companies:
Lids
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
198 reviews

Lids Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Ship Without A Captain
Store Manager (Current Employee), Newmarket, ONJuly 8, 2014
Pros: everyone else at lids
Cons: extremely poor district management dm beaulieu
The apathetic and woefully lacking sales acumen of my District Manager makes working at Lids in District CA01 a trying experience.

Despite the fact I was the Top Manager in CA01 and one of the highest ranked managers in North America for KPI achievement.

The DM NEVER ONCE recognized or praised me for being the only manager to achieve store targets – more... consistently over the last two years.

If you are in the market for a job, I highly recommend Lids. However, avoid any position which places you under the POOR management of DM Jason Beaulieu. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun relaxing place
Keyholder (Former Employee), Timmins OntarioJuly 2, 2014
Pros: long hours
Cons: management was up in the air a lot
not a very high traffic place so in the mean time we usually would sort out hats do stock and i learned how to embroider hats t shirts sweaters etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Thunder Bay, ONJune 5, 2014
Pros: discount on hats and asscessories
Cons: not enough hours
was a very friendly environment enjoyed working there but not enough hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Enviroment & Fun
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Burnaby, BCApril 3, 2014
Great place to work if you enjoy hats, sports, well known name brands, and people. The management & co-workers are happy and easy to talk to
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in locations
Manager/Key Holder (Open/Close), Cashier (Current Employee), London, ENGMarch 21, 2014
Pros: people skills, and flexible
Cons: no hours, terrible management, bad hours
London - amazing and where i started. I love the job for the support and management there.

Toronto - words can not fathom how i loath this place now
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lids Review
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Newmarket, ONMarch 20, 2013
Pros: discounts
Cons: managment and no hours
If your in high school looking for extra pocket money.. this is the job for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lids
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Kingston, ONJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: meeting new people everyday :)
Cons: long hours sometimes
I loved working at lids it was a fast pase retail position. I learned how to do payroll, interviews, paperwork, shipping and receiving, audits, I managed shrink. The hardest part of my job thats a hard question but it would have to be taking on other roles other then my own. I am a very reilable person and I was taken advantage of to the fullest. I – more... did enjoy going to work everyday and selling hats and designing hats to make my costumers happy. I enjoyed all the different costumers and working in a fast pase environment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace working with good people
customer service, cashier, retail, opening (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCDecember 13, 2012
Pros: staff discount
Cons: wage, slow job
4-5 hr day.
Learned how to up sell, inventory, close.
Manager was a fun guy to work with.
Co workers were also fun to work with.
Dealing with some customers.
Staff discount, crew I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very stressful and fast paced environment.
Salesman (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 30, 2012
Pros: close and easy to get to; good managment;
Cons: hours didn't really add up in pay. in other words pay wasn't overly great and there was no bonuses.
A typical day at work would be showing up and helping co-workers sell hats and lids cards along with embroidering.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced kiosk, no regard for availability
Sales representative & key holder (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 1, 2012
Pros: excessive free time
Cons: management changed constantly, employees changed constantly, visits from head office weren't frequent enough.
-Completed stock, organized and counted hats, sold hats, sold embroidery, sold accessories.
-I don't work well in slow paced environments
-New management, didn't understand the process of our daily activities
-Listened well, worked well as a team
-Counting hats and rendering discrepancies
-Interacting with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Assistant Manager, Sales Operations (Current Employee), Newmarket, ONMay 1, 2012
Pros: assistant manager
Cons: non-flexible hours
Lids is great, just needs a change in scenery they aren't flexible in hours, so I need to find something to fit my lifestyle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Sales Orrientated, Healthy and Fun Enviornment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Newington, NHJuly 22, 2014
Lids is a very goal orrientated, and driven company, I enjoyed this change in my daily lifestyle. This company not only gave me daily goals, they marked monthy standings throughout the company over the region, district and company employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is what you make of it
Consistently meets and exceed sales goals (Current Employee), Liberty, MOJuly 4, 2014
Pros: discounts!
Cons: bad pay!
I started working for the company when I was in high school, and it took me four years to get a pay raise! The atmosphere is fun when you have great customers, but for the most part your treated like dirt at time, hours tend to fluctuate back and forth, and management is really inconsistent
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not reward hard work.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAJune 17, 2014
Unfortunately, the company does not reward hard work. The sacrifice was not worth the compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Minot, NDJune 14, 2014
Learned a lot about embroidery. Management was sloppy as best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at Lids
Part Time Sales Associate (Former Employee), mesquite txJune 11, 2014
Pros: cool manager
Cons: bad assistant manager
Overal it was a good job but at the end of the day if u wanted to make more money Lids wasn't the place to be. the whole time i was there i never got a raise and let me tell you 7.25 really is bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Assistant store manager (Former Employee), south county moJune 9, 2014
it is a fun and productive work space. i learned a lot while working here. Here you come across some of the most friendly customers ever.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, Productive,
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Hyattsville, MDJune 5, 2014
Pros: paid time off, discount
Cons: no raise, work by yourself alot
Managers open the store and work by themselves until the next associate arrives at 1:00 sometimes 2:00. No retail establishment should have one person on duty in high volume high traffic areas. I worked at a very large and always busy store in Hyattsville, MD. Second largest store and always in the top two or three in the Mid Atlantic DC region. Test – more... checks, customer service, phone calls, custom embroidery and general store attention is required. If you're not self motivated and strong enough to survive the long hours this not the place for you. Enjoyable co-workers, great management, great culture and environment. Hardest part of the job is learning the embroidery machine and troubleshooting issues you may have. This could be a problem on busy days, or when you have multiple customers waiting on embroidery. Most enjoyable part is training and developing the team members you recruited and interviewed. The discount is 40% you will shop alot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, very laid back but we always got the job done and tried our very best to make our customers day
Part Time Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Florence, ALJune 5, 2014
Pros: fun place, very easy
Cons: no job security
All you have to do is know the product and find out the customers needs you'll do great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Baraboo, WIJune 4, 2014
I had a lot of fun working at Lids. I did a lot of embroidery on the merchandise, which was my favorite part of the job.

1 2 3 4 5

About Lids

Founded in 1995 and comprised of more than 800 mall-based, airport, street level and factory outlet stores nationwide, and in – Read more