Find companies:
Lids
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
216 reviews

Lids Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee), Halifax, NSSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere
Cons: expectation is high for single coverage store
I enjoyed my time at lids. The hat culture is huge!! Custom stitching is an interesting service to offer. A lot of fun to create.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
associate
o Sales Associate (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABAugust 18, 2014
I was able to gain valuable experience with handle situation with aggravated people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Ship Without A Captain
Store Manager (Current Employee), Newmarket, ONJuly 8, 2014
Pros: everyone else at lids
Cons: extremely poor district management dm beaulieu
The apathetic and woefully lacking sales acumen of my District Manager makes working at Lids in District CA01 a trying experience.

Despite the fact I was the Top Manager in CA01 and one of the highest ranked managers in North America for KPI achievement.

The DM NEVER ONCE recognized or praised me for being the only manager to achieve store targets – more... consistently over the last two years.

If you are in the market for a job, I highly recommend Lids. However, avoid any position which places you under the POOR management of DM Jason Beaulieu. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun relaxing place
Keyholder (Former Employee), Timmins OntarioJuly 2, 2014
Pros: long hours
Cons: management was up in the air a lot
not a very high traffic place so in the mean time we usually would sort out hats do stock and i learned how to embroider hats t shirts sweaters etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Thunder Bay, ONJune 5, 2014
Pros: discount on hats and asscessories
Cons: not enough hours
was a very friendly environment enjoyed working there but not enough hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Enviroment & Fun
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Burnaby, BCApril 3, 2014
Great place to work if you enjoy hats, sports, well known name brands, and people. The management & co-workers are happy and easy to talk to
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lids Review
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Newmarket, ONMarch 20, 2013
Pros: discounts
Cons: managment and no hours
If your in high school looking for extra pocket money.. this is the job for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lids
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Kingston, ONJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: meeting new people everyday :)
Cons: long hours sometimes
I loved working at lids it was a fast pase retail position. I learned how to do payroll, interviews, paperwork, shipping and receiving, audits, I managed shrink. The hardest part of my job thats a hard question but it would have to be taking on other roles other then my own. I am a very reilable person and I was taken advantage of to the fullest. I – more... did enjoy going to work everyday and selling hats and designing hats to make my costumers happy. I enjoyed all the different costumers and working in a fast pase environment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace working with good people
customer service, cashier, retail, opening (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCDecember 13, 2012
Pros: staff discount
Cons: wage, slow job
4-5 hr day.
Learned how to up sell, inventory, close.
Manager was a fun guy to work with.
Co workers were also fun to work with.
Dealing with some customers.
Staff discount, crew I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very stressful and fast paced environment.
Salesman (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 30, 2012
Pros: close and easy to get to; good managment;
Cons: hours didn't really add up in pay. in other words pay wasn't overly great and there was no bonuses.
A typical day at work would be showing up and helping co-workers sell hats and lids cards along with embroidering.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced kiosk, no regard for availability
Sales representative & key holder (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 1, 2012
Pros: excessive free time
Cons: management changed constantly, employees changed constantly, visits from head office weren't frequent enough.
-Completed stock, organized and counted hats, sold hats, sold embroidery, sold accessories.
-I don't work well in slow paced environments
-New management, didn't understand the process of our daily activities
-Listened well, worked well as a team
-Counting hats and rendering discrepancies
-Interacting with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Assistant Manager, Sales Operations (Current Employee), Newmarket, ONMay 1, 2012
Pros: assistant manager
Cons: non-flexible hours
Lids is great, just needs a change in scenery they aren't flexible in hours, so I need to find something to fit my lifestyle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and educative enviorment
ASSITANT MANEGER (Former Employee), white plainsOctober 14, 2014
it was a small hat store whih had very few staff learned how to be an assitant manager very quickly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ping Pong tables and company gym
Inventory Control Clerk (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INOctober 10, 2014
Pros: work environment was very laid back.
Cons: lack of all around management skills. workers were untrained and the turn over was daily.
Lids is a young company. The friendly outward persona is due to the lack of management expertise. The daily running of the company is on a hit and miss basis with the mentality of the "Good Ole Boy" mentality.

The hardest part of the job as an Inventory Control Specialist was getting the correct product from the vendor through distribution to the stores – more... in a timely manner, with very little error from start to finish. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upselling company
Sales Support (Former Employee), Nashua, NHOctober 6, 2014
Customer service; operating in cash and credit transactions; developed relationships with established and new customers; organized and stocked inventories
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Bloomington, MNOctober 1, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: little pay and hours
good place to work for. I wish that they gave more hours to part timers. A lot of respect from the managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Challenging, slow paced
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Aventura, FLSeptember 29, 2014
Cons: long shifts no breaks. eating on sales floor when only manager on duty
Size store, receive and sensor shipment, wait around for a customer to come in and give the best customer service and try to convince the customer to enroll to the club card.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: great selection of hats
Cons: not so great clientele
This job taught me a lot with sales. I learned how it was to work in retail and to work within a mall. My co workers were so nice into helping me adjust to the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Milford, CTSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: worked in the mall great people to work with
A typical day at work was to check the store and also made sure that employees know what they need to do during there shift. Co- workers were good then it change I was acting as store manager when the store manager got fired. The hardest thing about it at first was to make sure everyone got hours and to follow by the store allocated hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive enviroment to work in.
Store Manager / Market Training Manager (Former Employee), Visalia, CASeptember 15, 2014
Pros: recognition through the company for my success
Cons: standing for 8 + hours in a small area.
My team was on point at all times with customer service and had a blast while doing it. Nothing but positive energy in our work place. My coworkers were great to have around. The hardest part of my job was standing for 10 hours, but hey I muscled through it.

1 2 3 4 5

About Lids

Founded in 1995 and comprised of more than 800 mall-based, airport, street level and factory outlet stores nationwide, and in – Read more